Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So this is why "7" is a lucky number...
The seventh season of "Frasier" has some really good episodes in it, but then again, that's not really a surprise.
This season is probably my favorite, mostly because Niles finally finally FINALLY ends up with Daphne, after a highly-medicated Frasier tells Daphne how Niles feels about her. (This episode is really good, but its title currently escapes me.)
This...
Published on September 29, 2005 by Ren Culpepper

versus
16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad 'Frasier' still better than good 'According to Jim'
'Frasier' was unassailably one of the ten best series of all time. But the creaking in its structure that began with season six became an ominous rattling in this year's collection. It was the last season for which I didn't miss a first-run episode and that was very telling to me.

Here is where the writing shortfall began. Much of the characterization devolved...
Published on December 23, 2005 by J. SHARP


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So this is why "7" is a lucky number..., September 29, 2005
This review is from: Frasier: Season 7 (DVD)
The seventh season of "Frasier" has some really good episodes in it, but then again, that's not really a surprise.
This season is probably my favorite, mostly because Niles finally finally FINALLY ends up with Daphne, after a highly-medicated Frasier tells Daphne how Niles feels about her. (This episode is really good, but its title currently escapes me.)
This season is also great because one of my very favorite episodes is on this set, and the episode is "Rdwrer". In this episode, Frasier, Niles and Martin go off in Martin's Winnebago (a. k. a. the "Road Warrior") for a new year's celebration in Idaho. However, during a brief stop during the trip, Niles accidentally enters the wrong RV, and a farce ensues.
I also like "The Apparent Trap", the episode where Lilith and Frederick come for Thanksgiving--particularly the part where Niles attempts to play a video game.

Anyway, this season is great, and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best season of Frasier yet. Also the first year Kelsey Grammer Executive produced the show., September 13, 2005
This review is from: Frasier: Season 7 (DVD)
Here are the episodes for season 7.

1.) Momma Mia

2.) Father of the Bride

3.) Radio Wars

4.) Everyone's a Critic

5.) The Dog That Rocks the Cradle

6.) Rivals

7.) A Tsar is Born

8.) The Late Dr. Crane

9.) The Apparent Trap

10.) Back Talk (Part 1)

11.) The Fight Before Christmas (Part 2)

12.) Rdwrer

13.) They're Playing Our Song

14.) Big Crane on Campus

15.) Out With Dad

16.) Something About Dr. Mary

17.) Whine Club

18.) Hot Pursuit

19.) Morning Becomes Entertainment

20.) To Thine Old Self Be True

21.) Three Faces of Frasier

22.) Dark Side of the Moon

23.) Something Borrowed, Someone Blue (Part 1)

24.)Something Borrowed, Someone Blue (Part 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Season..., November 17, 2005
By 
This review is from: Frasier: Season 7 (DVD)
For diehard "Frasier" fans, Season 7 represents a highpoint as the long awaited Niles/Daphne relationship finally culminates in "Something Borrowed, Something Blue" and leads to the best cliffhanger in the series.

The best episodes of the season all have either veteran or new character actors featured in some wonderful episodes. Lilith returns in "The Apparent Trap", with Frederick doing all he can to manipulate his parents into giving him a mini-bike. "The Dog That Rocks The Cradle" brings back a finger-dislocating Bulldog and is really a howler. And Frasier's notorious agent Bebe makes "Morning Comes Entertainment" (a wonderful episode title) a sheer delight. The image of her 'n Frasier riding on a donkey while Niles proclaims, "Via con Dios." is very funny.

Let's not forget the newcomers to the series as well, like the irrepressable Jean Smart in "Big Crane on Campus", she's both beautiful and frightening at the same time. Kim Coles is delightful in "Something About Dr. Mary", an episode that addresses the issue of Frasier's inability to tell Mary the truth because she's black. Which is interesting considering that very few African-Americans have ever been on "Frasier". But the real star is Anthony LaPaglia as Daphne's wayward, drunken brother Simon. He is terrific in back to back episodes ("Dark Side of the Moon", "Something Borrowed, Something Blue").

Despite some very good episodes, it's clear that the writers were running out of ideas during this season as several shows repeat themes or even lift parts of previous episodes. Take for example "Hot Pursuit", which vitually remakes Season 3's "Roz Loves Frasier", although this version is slower and unnecessary. "Rivals" uses the same ballroom set as Season 3's "Moon Dance" and even has a tango. And "Out With Dad" reworks Season 2's "The Matchmaker", even Daphne's cackling in the kitchen is identical to Martin's laugh in "The Matchmaker".

It should be noted that Paramount has apparently listened to the hues 'n cries of the masses as Disc 1 gives the viewer a choice of either previews or the menu page, unlike Season's 4, 5, 'n 6 when you had to no choice but to skip through the previews.

I really enjoyed this Season even more than I remembered when it originally ran on NBC and it's argueably better than the erratic Season 6. In fact, had the "Frasier" series ended with Daphne 'n Niles driving off to a new destiny, it might have been the perfect ending. Oh well, this DVD collection stands on it's own and is a welcome addition to the "Frasier" family.

Enjoy!

Tidbits:

- GOOF: In "Something About Dr. Mary", Daphne injures her RIGHT wrist after Niles accidently kicks her in the behind (a very funny scene). Later on, we see the bandage on her right wrist. But during the stinger, the bandage is now on Daphne's LEFT wrist.

- Rebecca Schull turns in a very un-"Fey" like performance in "RDWRER". She's becomes the second "Wings" star to appear on "Frasier".

- "Fight Before Christmas" has another first for the Frasier series, the title card introducing the "Wassling" uses a different typeface for the first time.

- GOOF: In "Dark Side of the Moon", Daphne clears all the trash 'n beer cans off the coffee table and then stands up just before Frasier enters. When we see the coffee table again, a beer can and some trash magically reappear.

- The stinger for "Something Borrowed, Something Blue" is the first one NOT to have any actors in it (apart from the "Thanks for Calling" stingers that usually appear during the last episode of the season). All we see is a darkened set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the finest, April 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frasier: Season 7 (DVD)
Simply the finest comedy ever produced, written or acted. We've watch the episodes over and over for the witty dialogue and perfectly-developed characters. We just needed to own them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Frasier would say- nutty, fruity, with a hint of sauce., January 4, 2014
This review is from: Frasier: Season 7 (DVD)
This is my favorite Frasier season, though they are all excellent. By this point in the show's long run its success was established and the writers took the opportunity to take it a bit further, with surreal humor and a wonderfully satisfying development of the Niles/Daphne love story. One of the show's real strengths is the laugh-out-loud one-liners, sometimes slipped in subtly so you have to think for a moment before getting the joke, and this season abounds in those.

The main characters are as solid as always and there is the usual array of accomplished guest stars, including Daphne's brother Simon, played by Anthony LaPaglia, who is hilarious although strangely seems to come from a different part of England than Daphne and her mother. Daphne's mother is played by Millicent Martin and those of us with long memories remember her singing the theme song to 'That Was The Week That Was', the show hosted by the late David Frost which introduced satire to the UK.

This series was one that got all the relationships between the five main characters exactly right and that is fully in evidence here. A brilliant concept realized to the utmost in this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing episodes?, October 16, 2011
By 
I love Frasier, and am really glad that it's available for free streaming on Amazon Prime. However, I find the streaming experience has a lot of room for improvement. Not only is it not as seamless as Netflix, it also leaves out certain episodes! The seasons since S6 are not complete -- only 1/2 or 2/3 of the episodes are available. What gives?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, October 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frasier: Season 7 (DVD)
Why did this show ever end. It is absolutely hilarous and the acting is flawless. We started with Season 1 and are purchasing to the end. No problems with viewing of disks or receiving.. everything went perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars frazier 7th set, February 26, 2009
By 
This review is from: Frasier: Season 7 (DVD)
great series and gives me a boost when I need a laugh. great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad 'Frasier' still better than good 'According to Jim', December 23, 2005
By 
J. SHARP (Alabama - United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frasier: Season 7 (DVD)
'Frasier' was unassailably one of the ten best series of all time. But the creaking in its structure that began with season six became an ominous rattling in this year's collection. It was the last season for which I didn't miss a first-run episode and that was very telling to me.

Here is where the writing shortfall began. Much of the characterization devolved into either inconsistency (poor Roz) or self-parody (Niles's out-of-the-blue bug phobia). And the increased poaching of gags and scenes from previous seasons became glaringly obvious. Most series lose much of their steam after three or four years but 'Frasier' maintained superb output through six and that's very commendable.

Then it became 'Three's Company' and ... well, not so commendable. You can call it French farce all you like but it's still lazy writing in the long term.

Still, as I say in my title, this show on a bad day beats ninety-five percent of other sitcoms at their best. I own it, don't I?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy series, September 6, 2014
By 
Dave F (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frasier: Season 7 (DVD)
What can I say. I'm a big Frasier fan. I think the series got even better in the later years. It's also nice to watch without all the commercials as the program was intended to be watched. You don't lose the moment while watching an ad of laughing people be warned of possible death if you take such and such prescription medicine. Anyway, I've only caught episodes here and there on TV but now I can view the whole season with continuity. For me this is a quality show. Never an episode without a "good" laugh. I especially like the scenes with Martin's dog Eddie. On a personal note, Frasier and the cast of characters help me through a sad time dealing with the loss of my mother a few years back. They may be nothing like my family but they are entertaining with all their characters flaws and good intentions, wants and desires, momentary setbacks. Basically life's ups and downs, just like the rest of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Frasier: Season 7
Frasier: Season 7 by Wil Shriner (DVD - 2005)
$29.98 $17.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.