Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! A welcome addition to the DVD collection
If you're a fan of the spontaneous humor of the Animaniacs, then you'll love this show. Dexter Douglas uses the power of cyberspace to become the superhero Freakazoid (this was in the early days of the internet, so it seemed like a mysterious thing at the time). Unfortunately, Freakazoid isn't your normal superhero. Yes, he has superpowers (the funniest being when he...
Published on April 12, 2008 by Brian Reaves

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another animated TV show that had such a memorable song!
Like Captain Planet, Freakazoid has what I think is the second most memorable song to an animated show (Captain Planet being the first). While Freakazoid is not the best of the many, many animated superhero shows that were on TV, it is still a good one, and memorable. I recommend this to fans of animated superhero shows, but honestly, it's not great, or even excellent,...
Published 10 months ago by Supercalafragilisticexpealadocious


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! A welcome addition to the DVD collection, April 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freakazoid: Season 1 (DVD)
If you're a fan of the spontaneous humor of the Animaniacs, then you'll love this show. Dexter Douglas uses the power of cyberspace to become the superhero Freakazoid (this was in the early days of the internet, so it seemed like a mysterious thing at the time). Unfortunately, Freakazoid isn't your normal superhero. Yes, he has superpowers (the funniest being when he flies by stretching his arms out and making wind noises as he runs around). Yes, he has supervillains. But he's not Batman by any means! He's fun and frantic and full of humor.

Each episode usually had one skit running throughout the show, with tiny sketches built into it like little commercial breaks. One of the best was "Frenching with Freakazoid", in which he would teach a French phrase. Most of them wouldn't be something you'd use in a normal conversation however ("Who cut the cheese?"). The frenetic pace of the show keeps it from being boring, and I'm so glad to see it finally make it to disc.

Superman has Lex Luthor, Batman has the Joker, and Freakazoid has Mo-Ron (yep, just like it sounds). Like I said earlier, if you're a fan of Animaniacs and Pinky & The Brain, this show will be a perfect fit for you. Never boring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F! - The Complete First Season!, July 28, 2008
By 
Servo (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Freakazoid: Season 1 (DVD)
Check out nerd computer ace Dexter Douglas and his strong and super-quick lunatic alter-ego The Freakazoid in Freakazoid! - Season One. Not at all the straightforward superhero program Bruce Timm ("Batman: The Animated Series") had in mind when he conceived the show which was inspired by Mike Allred's Madman comic but Freakazoid! went on to become a cult, comedic hit just the same for its zany wit and humor. This 2-disc set contains all 14 uncut Season One episodes as originally aired (including repeats); 5.1 and 2.0 English audio; English subtitles; plus extras. Here are the episodes and how the discs will be configured.

Disc 1:
1. Five Day Forecast / Dance of Doom / Hand Man
2. Candle Jack / Toby Danger in Doomsday Bet / The Lobe
3. Mo-Ron / The Sewer Rescue / The Big Question / The Legends Who Lunch
4. And Fan Boy Is His Name / Lawn Gnomes: Ch. IV - Fun in the Sun / Freak's French Lesson
5. Foamy the Freakadog / Office Visit / Ode to Leonard Nimoy / Emergency Broadcast System
6. The Cloud / Candle Jack (repeat)

Disc 2, Side A:
7. The Chip (Acts I-III)
8. The Chip (Act IV) / Freakazoid is History
9. Hot Rods From Heck / A Time for Evil
10. Relax-O-Vision / Fatman and Boy Blubber/ Limbo Lock-up / Terror Palace
11. In Arms Way / The Cloud (repeat)
12. Next Time, Phone Ahead / Nerdator

Disc 2, Side B:
13. House of Freakazoid / Sewer or Later
14. The Wrath of Guitierrez

Special Features:
* Freakazoid: The Original Freak featurette
* Freakazoid-less Freakazoid Promos
* Commentary on 3 Key episodes by Tom Ruegger (Senior Producer), Paul Rugg (Voice of Freakazoid) and John McCann (Writer)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES!!!, April 14, 2008
By 
Retro Cat (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freakazoid: Season 1 (DVD)
IT'S ABOUT FREAKIN' TIME!!!

I can't even begin to tell you how excited I am that this is FINALLY being released on DVD. I never missed this show when it was on the WB. In fact, I woke up early to watch it ... and I'm definitely not known for waking up much before 11 on the weekends!

If I had one more wish, though, it would be that this set would've contained the complete series because the show didn't even last that long. Oh boy, oh boy ... I get to watch Fanboy to my little heart's content. "Sulu! I'm walkin' with Sulu!"

Think I'll go get a snowcone with Cosgrove. K, bye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-buy, but a little overpriced, May 22, 2008
This review is from: Freakazoid: Season 1 (DVD)
When Warner Bros. started up their own Saturday morning programming block in the form of the now-retired Kids' WB!, new shows were needed to fill up its schedule. One of those shows was "Freakazoid!", named for its zany titlular superhero. An example of this guy's wackiness is that, in the first episode, he draws a face on his right hand and calls it his new sidekick, then has it engage in a romantic relationship with his other hand. In a piece of irony, given the huge fandom it's gathered, fans of this show were reportedly hard to come by back when the show was originally airing. The show would eventually gain its cult status through its Cartoon Network reruns, but unfortunately for the fans, production on the series was now cancelled. "Freakazoid!" briefly reappeared on In2TV, during which Warner Home Video hinted that it was being considered for the DVD format, and now, about two years later, we're getting that in the form of this.

As with Tom Ruegger's other productions for WB Animation, I'm a big fan of the show, so you're probably wondering why I gave it four stars instead of five. Well, the answer lies in a problem I have that has suspiciously not been mentioned in any of the other reviews posted thus far. "Freakazoid!" only ran for 24 episodes, and as we've seen with some of their other DVD sets, Warner Home Video is clearly capable of putting that many episodes on one four-disc set. But for whatever reason, they decided to split this up over two seasonal sets. That doesn't make much sense to me, and it kinda puts the kibosh on a theory I'd been going with last year (that a "Freakazoid!" Complete Series set would be released alongside "Animaniacs"' final volume). I'm told they're doing this in the hopes of generating a lower price tag, which would supposedly make it easier to sell more copies. But if this is how they're going to go with releasing this and "The Sylvester & Tweety Mysteries", I may have reason to worry when they get around to releasing "Histeria!" Plus, since the second season had only 11 episodes, one can only wonder how they're going to handle that set.

But that doesn't bother me as much as an even bigger oddity on the set itself, in the form of the last episode on the first disc. That particular episode contains the segments "The Cloud" and "Candle Jack", both of which are already featured in episodes 10 and 2, respectively. In other words, this set is including one of those re-arranged filler episodes that Kids' WB! aired early on in the show's run ("Animaniacs" and "Histeria!" had a few of these as well). The "Pinky and the Brain" sets didn't overcharge us for the same material by including the filler episodes compiled from segments originally featured on "Animaniacs", so why is "Freakazoid!" saddled with a similar problem?! Is it so that they can both parts of the two-part episode, "The Chip", right at the beginning of disc two? If so, I think it's a rather farfetched excuse. The adjacent "Tiny Toon Adventures" DVD set contains eight episodes per disc; therefore, WHV could've just as easily put both parts of "The Chip" at the end of disc one if they'd just gotten rid of that giant waste of disc space that is this stupid filler episode. Maybe then they wouldn't have had to make disc two a flipper disc. But no, instead they're giving us a 13-episode set incorrectly advertised as having 14 episodes and making us pay more money for it than we need to, which kinda dilutes the intent of this set being cheaper to buy. This is why I am going to preorder this set here instead of purchasing it at Best Buy.

That's right; despite those above-mentioned flaws, I'm still buying and recommending this set. "Freakazoid!"'s probably the most popular of WB Animation's collaborations with Amblin Entertainment today, in spite of having a shorter run than its predecessors. And I have to admit, I subscribed to the show on In2TV's now-defunct Hi-Q Video service, but I didn't really watch it much there since I was busy focusing on the woefully-neglected "Histeria!" (which, along with "Road Rovers", also seriously needs to be released on DVD, in case anyone from Warner Home Video is reading this review). And since the AVI files of all the episodes would probably take up too much space on one's hard drive, this and the eventual second season set is pretty much the best route to go. Besides, in addition to the obligatory retrospective featurette, which will apparently be highlighting the original concept of the show (Freakazoid wasn't always planned to be the crazy guy we know), we're also getting audio commentaries on three episodes (I'm hoping we'll find out who Freakazette was supposed to be) and, unless I'm mistaken, actual TV promotional spots (something previously unheard of on DVDs of Kids' WB! shows). So yes, this DVD set is definitely a recommended purchase; just be sure you get it for a cheaper price like I'll be doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Funny!, August 6, 2008
By 
Monty Moonlight (Austin, TX, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Freakazoid: Season 1 (DVD)
When a teen computer nerd named Dexter Douglas, with the help of his cat, types in a strange combination of letters and symbols on his keyboard followed by the delete key, he is sucked into the internet only to return a zany blue superhero in a tight red suit! As Freakazoid, Dexter defends Washington, D.C. against a rather unique gallery of rogues that includes The Lobe, Cave Guy, Longhorn, Guitierrez, Candle Jack, Cobra Queen, and more! Freakazoid's madcap style is part Robin Williams, part The Creeper, part The Mask, and channels Jerry Lewis quite frequently. He's a lot like a fourth Warner, if that Warner were a superhero. As a human, Dexter's still quite a nobody, but as Freakazoid, he hangs with Police Sgt. Cosgrove, drives a cool car, and has one of the hottest girlfriends I've ever seen, Stephanie, AKA Steff. However, all this stuff is only a small portion of the show. Most of your average Freakazoid episode is nonsensical comedy bits/skits ala Monty Python's Flying Circus. It's a lot like "Animaniacs", only much crazier! The result is a show that at times is just as funny as anything on Cartoon Network's Adult Swim without having to resort to R-Rated humor (or does that stuff pass for PG13 now? I guess it's TV14 or some boloney rating like that).

This 2 disc set is a great example of what certain OTHER studios SHOULD be doing with their beloved animated shows. Here is a show that has a fairly small cult following, yet WB has seen fit to give it a Season One set release complete with a nice crop of extras. Meanwhile, a big studio like Disney (which I for the most part LOVE as an obsessive Disney fanatic) with hugely popular shows like DuckTales gives us barebones releases of only a few of their titles and sometimes doesn't continue beyond the first season or season and a half if they don't think sales are high enough, and just reflects very little respect or appreciation for the material or the fans in doing so. This "Freakazoid" set provides creator commentary for 3 episodes that is a joy to listen to and provides great insight into what is on the screen. In fact, you'll wish every episode, or at least your favorites (which are bound to be different for everyone) had a commentary track. The set also offers a look at some curious promos for the show that give little clue as to what it's about, and there's even a great making-of featurette! Where is all this stuff on the TaleSpin, Darkwing, or Gummi Bears sets, Disney? At the very least, you'd think DuckTales would have had something...

The Steven Spielberg produced comedy show (which originally was going to be a Timm/Dini superhero show that was more hero than comedy, in the vein of Batman's Creeper) offers up 14 episodes in this Season One set, which consists of one single-sided disc and a second, double-sided disc. The episodes are as follows:

1. Five Day Forecast / Dance of Doom / Handman (optional commentary): This first episode is an absolute fave of mine. I'd call it the funniest of Season One, largely due to some zany improv work by the voice actors. Love it! The disturbing Handman bit that never ends when it should is hilarious too!
2. Candle Jack / Toby Danger in Doomsday Bet / The Lobe (optional commentary): Candle Jack is another really hilarious one, a supernatural villain who steals kids from a summer camp simply because, "He's a nut." Toby Danger is an extreme spoof of the classic Johnny Quest series, and The Lobe introduces one of Freakazoid's best villains, voiced by the always wonderful David Warner!
3. Mo-Ron / Sewer Rescue / The Big Question / Legends Who Lunch: Mo-Ron is an extremely annoying alien visiting Earth. British hero Lord Bravery attempts to prove his prowess by doing a reluctant sewer rescue. Some aging superheroes chat up a storm while they have lunch.
4. And Fanboy is His Name / Lawn Gnomes: Chapter IV: Fun in the Sun / Frenching with Freakazoid: A character many like but I find too annoyingly stereotypical gets introduced here, supernerd Fanboy. Still a pretty funny story though. Lawn Gnomes is a humorous spoof on Disney's Gargoyles, and Frenching with Freakazoid is a French lesson with the hero himself.
5. Foamy the Freakadog / Office Visit / Ode to Leonard Nimoy / Emergency Broadcast System / Cönversational Nörwegian: Freakazoid introduces us to one of his favorite failed sidekicks, Foamy the Freakadog. Lord Bravery tries to deal with copyright issues in Office Visit, and one of then comes one of the less funny bits of the show, when Fanboy gives us his Ode to Leonard Nimoy. Lastly, Freakazoid does an emergency broadcast test and gives us some instruction in Norwegian.
6. The Cloud / Candle Jack: In a Hitchcock spoof, a strange cloud in the mountains turns people into clowns. This one is most enjoyable to me because of a very personal Disneyland-referencing running gag. The second story in this episode is just a repeat of the fun Candle Jack.
7. The Chip: Part I: The fabulous origin story of Freakazoid is finally told!
8. The Chip: Part II / Freakazoid is History!: The fabulous origin story of Freakazoid is finally finished! Then, Freak spoofs Quantum Leap and travels back in time to stop the attack on Pearl Harbor!
9. Hot Rods from Heck! / A Time for Evil: Dexter's family has a highway run-in with the villainous Longhorn, and then the Huntsman, a Charleton Heston-like hero, is disappointed to find that there is nothing for a superhero to do when crime takes a break.
10. Relax-O-Vision / Fatman and Boy Blubber / Limbo Lock-up / Terror Palace: An encounter with the Lobe is repeatedly interrupted by the show's new feature, Relax-O-Vision, we meet a new superhero team that doesn't seem to be much help, Freak is subjected to the punishment of Fanboy's Disney sci-fi knowledge in the Limbo Lock-Up, and the Hunstman gets disappointed yet again.
11. In Arms Way / The Cloud: A Christmas shopping scene is disrupted when Freak encounters Arms Akimbo (after a delightful meeting with The Lobe). Then, a holiday-themed musical interlude, followed by a repeat of The Cloud.
12. Next Time, Phone Ahead / Nerdator (optional commentary): Steph looks hotter than ever in the background of an E.T. spoof where Mo-Ron returns as Bo-Ron (maybe they're two different idiots who look the same). Then, Freakazoid must save the world's nerds from a villain out to get 'em.
13. House of Freakazoid / Sewer or Later: Another fave of mine due to the subject matter, Lon Tallbutt (a great caricature of Lon Chaney, Jr.) seeks Freakazoid's help to cure him of his werewolf problem, and then Freakazoid must deal with his distaste for poo-gas when he has to go into the sewer to catch Cobra Queen.
14. The Wrath of Guitierrez: Finally, Guitierrez, a villain from the two-part Chip origin story, returns to exact his revenge on Freakazoid! Guitierrez is voiced wonderfully again by Ricardo Montalban.

The funny thing about the 1995 WB animated series "Freakazoid", and probably its downfall, is that the humor was really for a much older audience than the early Saturday morning crowd which was exposed to it. A few slightly older audience members with a never dying interest in animated shows are probably the ones who make up the Freakazoid cult-following today; those of us out there buying this great set. And we all hope the second and final season comes to DVD soon too! If you ever enjoyed Animaniacs, Monty Python, the Marx Brothers, or anything wacky, weird, random, and hilarious, you need to give Freakazoid a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious show... subpar DVD, October 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freakazoid: Season 1 (DVD)
I'm finding it challenging to accurately "star" this review because I am frankly overjoyed to be able to own this gem of a show on DVD.

THE SHOW: First the good news: The show is hilarious. Rating the DVD on the episodes alone I'd give it a 5 of 5. Some of the humor is decidedly childish, and alot of it relies on a knowledge of the events and culture of the mid-1990s, but when it hits it can be side-splittingly funny. The extended lament on the loss of the aerial tram at Disneyland has made me laugh for over a decade.

The quality of the shows voice acting is consistently excellent, with inspiring performances by Ed Asner, Ricardo Montleban, David Warner, Paul Rugg and others.

The animation quality is on a par with quality Warner TV animation at the time. It comes off as a hypbrid of the styles of Batman: The Animated Series and Animaniacs.

THE DVDs: Now the bad news. This is not a lovingly restored animated show. In fact, compared to a number of other 2-D animated features I own on DVD the show looks downright awful. Noise and artifacting are rampant throughout the discs. It looks worse than a standard def television broadcast of the same material, which is truly a shame.

On a more positive note, the commentary on 3 episodes is very entertaining and the original promotional spots (which I don't remember ever seeing on TV at the time of the shows airing) are a hoot.

SUMMARY: Great show, poor transfer, average special features. I hope it says alot about the quality of the show itself that I will definitely still purchase Season 2 (a meager but rewarding 11 episodes) if/when it is released.

Emmitt Nervend appeared one time in this review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey, This Has Ed Asner In It. That Makes It Classy, Right?, February 17, 2009
By 
Steve Faul (Delphos, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freakazoid: Season 1 (DVD)
The early to mid 1990's were the heyday of Warner Brothers television animation. After the success of "Tiny Toons," "Batman, the Animated Series," and "Animaniacs," Steven Spielberg gave the green light to one more project. "Freakazoid!" was the result of Spielberg wanting something really off the wall. He got just that... and then some. Hey, they can't all be "The Color Purple."

Imagine Adam Sandler, Jim Carey, and Jerry Lewis in his prime running around in red underwear thwarting bad guys with Loony Tunes slapstick and topical parody, and you get the general idea of "Freakazoid!" It was a show so out there that even the WB network wasn't quite sure what to do with it. Too bad. They missed a golden opportunity to increase viewership with the advent of Scream-O-Vision. Why is Paul Harvey suddenly narrating the story? Why is Jack Valenti stopping the story to tell us about the movie rating system? (According to the audio commentary, kids just love Jack Valenti.) And just how many sidekicks will the F-Man go through in just the first season alone?

The transfer quality is excellent. A special feature gives some interesting background on the creative process behind the making of a quality animated TV program, but also shows us how "Freakazoid" was made, as well. The commentaries are fun and interesting. I've heard some quibbles about audio quality on these Warners shows, but like the announcer says, it's in stereo "where available." So, don't call us if you aren't getting stereo.

Time has passed since the F-man first hit the air. Topical gags might leave you a bit puzzled... well, more so than before. The DVD presents the first season as it aired, which means you get Candle Jack twice, a bit of downer. But you get the original "We're Not Ready" WB promos. Plus, check out the voice talents of Riccardo Montalban, Ed Asner, and Stan Freeberg. Plus, you get to see Sharon Stone perform Shakespeare. And she's actually good!

Don't buy this for the kids. They won't get it, and they'll tell you you're lame for watching it. Buy it for yourself, and bask in the glory that was, and still is, the weirdest superhero of all time. Floyd the Barber cuts his hair. Freakazoid! Freakazoid!

Freakmoblie and chubby Fanboy action figure not included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOOO ^ ^, May 18, 2008
This review is from: Freakazoid: Season 1 (DVD)
Yes, Finally!!! I loved this show as a kid. This has to be on eof the greatest saturday morning cartoon of all time or at least make it into the top three. I can't wait to make fun of the lobe's hat. Now if they could only make a DVD set of Earthworm Jim my life would be complete. just remember not to say candlestick man because if you say candelstick man then candlestick man will come and take you away. ^ ^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely amazing fall off the chair entertainment that stands the test of time, August 5, 2008
By 
ZTT Fan (Louisville, Colorado) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freakazoid: Season 1 (DVD)
Though this set dates from 1995, most every joke is as hilarious now as it was when the series first aired.

The only downside is this is only season one, and I really wish they would have included the 11 series two episodes and had made it a "complete series" set, as Freakazoid! was moved around so much not only were the S2 episodes hard to catch, WB never reran them after they canned the show.

Anyone who enjoyed the "Hello, Dolly!" references in Wall-E will not be able to contain themselves should the season two episode "Dexter's Date" ever be released.

In the mean time, be sure to pick up this set; not only will you be laughing hysterically throughout the 13 season one episodes, good sales will convince WB there are enough fans to release season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freakazoid at Last, July 4, 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Brooklyn, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freakazoid: Season 1 (DVD)
For years I have been waiting for this. Now all the fans out there can trade in their grade Z video bootlegs and get a nice clear picture without the little station identification symbol in the corner.

Freakazoid was funny, taking a lot from the old Warner Cartoons (remember how Bugs Bunny would mix it up with real film stars of the day). A recent viewing shows him to be up to date, none of the humor seems to be dated.

Now the two bones to pick:

First Season 1? Why not both seasons in one set?

Some may allude to the Freakazoid Madman controversy. I cannot see it. While both characters have a vague resemblance, one is a teen with a cartoon attitude, the other was a bit more surreal. I cannot find this too be a complete rip off as another reviewer stated. And even if it was (which it is not) the cartoons are of themselves some of the most enjoyable ones that Warner has put out in decades.

I think this set is worth the price and I will spend a weekend to rewatch it. The pefect gift for the comic geek on your list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Freakazoid: Season 1
Freakazoid: Season 1 by Paul Rugg (DVD - 2008)
$26.99 $19.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.