Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will cheer for Frankie Joe!
I enjoyed reading this book. Freaky Fast Frankie Joe is an enjoyable and pleasing story that explores themes of change, acceptance, and resiliency in an engaging and compelling way. The reader is first introduced to young, twelve-year-old Frankie Joe as circumstances have forced him to leave his comfortable life in Laredo, Texas and move 1,400 miles away to Clearview,...
Published on March 26, 2012 by JMS

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read before your kids do
This was recommended for my 8 year old so I decided to read it first. Drugs and jail are part of life but not something a 3rd grader needs to be reading about in my opinion. I don't think this is appropriate for 3rd graders.
Published 16 months ago by J. Lott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will cheer for Frankie Joe!, March 26, 2012
By 
JMS (San Diego, CA, USA, World, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed reading this book. Freaky Fast Frankie Joe is an enjoyable and pleasing story that explores themes of change, acceptance, and resiliency in an engaging and compelling way. The reader is first introduced to young, twelve-year-old Frankie Joe as circumstances have forced him to leave his comfortable life in Laredo, Texas and move 1,400 miles away to Clearview, Illinois, with a father and step-mother he never met and half-brothers he didn't know existed.

Frankie Joe feels as alien in this new environment as the meteor rocks he used to look for in the deserts of his old home. However, Frankie Joe's real journey isn't physical; rather, it's a psychological and emotional passage that he must learn to navigate. He finds himself rejecting his new life and family and devises a plan to return to the only home he has ever known. In order to make his plan succeed, Frankie Joe develops new problem solving skills and, without his knowing it, a place in the hearts and minds of those that will become his new friends and family.

You can't help but root for Frankie Joe as we watch him make an internal voyage between the loyalty for his mother with new friendships and a different understanding of family. While written for ages 8-12, adults will benefit from reading this story as it reveals the heartfelt struggle and challenges children and young adults go through when asked to "blend."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freaky Fast Frankie Joe (Paperback)
I enjoyed Frankie's journey, at times it was a bit unbelievable, but it's fiction and that's where the author can go with it. It was a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, totally impossible to put down!!!, November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked everything about this book immediately. It has a perfectly balanced plot, and shows the true meaning of many things. Any young people, you gotta read this, dudes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fourth grade book review, October 30, 2013
I would recommend this book to other children in 4th , 5th, and 6th grade. I liked that the book kept me wanting to read it because off all of the details the author gave. I wish that this book would have come to a conclusion sooner, because it took me a really long time to read. One more thing I liked about this book was that Frankie Joe remained thoughtful even if others around him were not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet but not sickly, October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freaky Fast Frankie Joe (Paperback)
This Nebraska state nominee is a nice story about a boy in a tough situation. Frankie has been sent to live with a father he barely knows and on top of it he has to deal with half siblings that resent him even existing. Nice story pefect for grades 4-6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best read almost made me cry, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the book wish there was a part 2 😄
Love the book should share it with other kids they would love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Freaky Fast Read with Great Character growth/change, August 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The initial setting and family situation struck a chord since I'm a native Texan who has seen similar situations(unfortunately most don't ever get the blessing in disguise Frankie gets). Next the change in setting was such a perfect storm to play out the change in character-Frankie Joe. I love how the culture shock parallels the family status shock that happens. Great growth story underlining the ideas of family, friends, and how different doesn't mean bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another book to follow, July 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this for my Grandson and read the book myself before giving it as a gift.My Grandson is reading Freaky Fast Frankie Joe now. Finds it enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a Bluebonnet nominee for 2013-2014, May 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freaky Fast Frankie Joe (Paperback)
Great book. In a time where many children are going through divorce and adapting to living with a blended family this book is very timely. In this book you get to go along with Frankie as he grows and adapts to his new life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Bluebonnet nominee for the coming year!, April 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great characters showing a broad array of personalities. Kids from all sorts of backgrounds will find someone in this book with whom they can easily relate. Readers will be rooting for Frankie Joe from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Freaky Fast Frankie Joe
Freaky Fast Frankie Joe by Lutricia Clifton (Paperback - December 1, 2012)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.