Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Poet's Contribution
A marvel mouse masterpiece to introduce young readers to poetry, FREDERICK illustrated how a poet works and what poetry can do for a community in a story when other mouselings gather food for the winter, he gather food for thoughts. Seemingly lazy and doing nothing, Frederick collects sunshine, colors and words for he foresees winter is cold, dark and long. His friends...
Published on October 3, 2010 by Reflection Haiku

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I really don't like this book.
This is a book about a lazy mouse. Everyone else works and he doesn't, he spends all of his time daydreaming while they gather food for the winter. When times get tough because they run out of food, he tells the other mice to pretend they are warm, just pretend because he is a poet.
Published on February 15, 2012 by J. Hurlburt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Poet's Contribution, October 3, 2010
A marvel mouse masterpiece to introduce young readers to poetry, FREDERICK illustrated how a poet works and what poetry can do for a community in a story when other mouselings gather food for the winter, he gather food for thoughts. Seemingly lazy and doing nothing, Frederick collects sunshine, colors and words for he foresees winter is cold, dark and long. His friends question about his idleness but remain courteous. Frederick holds firm in his post for he knows both roles that attend to physical and spiritual needs are vital for their survival. When the bleak season comes and they all share the crops together and when all the food is gone, it is Frederick's turn to make his contribution. He helps his friends use imagination to stay warm, remember the picturesque spring days and cheer them up with his poem, full of humor and splendor that young readers will be delighted to hear. Frederick is also available in DVD format which the animated pictures will further bring this Caldecott Honor winning fable to life.

Swimmy... and More Classic Leo Lionni Stories (Scholastic Video Collection)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, August 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is excellent. I recommend this book especially for classroom activities for the promotion of reading. Furthermore, it is beautifully illustrated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story to Warm You in Wintertime, September 28, 2009
Frederick doesn't appear to be doing much of anything as the other mice work hard to prepare for winter. But, when the days grow colder and greyer, Frederick's preparations warm his friends and family. This gentle story is illustrated by adorable cut and torn paper illustrations.
--Reviewed by Michelle Delisle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars frederick...espanol, March 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
bought it for my grandchildren's "Spanglish" preschool class. I was impressed by the exact translation of the English text. Or was it the reverse?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I really don't like this book., February 15, 2012
This is a book about a lazy mouse. Everyone else works and he doesn't, he spends all of his time daydreaming while they gather food for the winter. When times get tough because they run out of food, he tells the other mice to pretend they are warm, just pretend because he is a poet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice book, too bad I have to translate to my child., August 1, 2007
Amazon sent the spanish version. Too bad we speak English. But the artwork is so nice my little girl wanted to keep it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wrong product - completely dissatisfied customer, August 1, 2007
You sent me a Spanish translation when I wanted English. I still want ENGLISH. I live in NEW ZEALAND. It would cost me more than $6.99 to return it, but the Spanish is no good to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Frederick (Spanish Edition)
Frederick (Spanish Edition) by Leo Lionni (Hardcover - May 21, 2002)
Used & New from: $41.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.