Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ted's best because of group effort
This is Ted Nugent's best album. It's also interesting because of the diversity of involvement including vocals from Meat Loaf, Derek St Holmes, and Ted himself and some diversity in the songwriting credits. Ted writes 6 songs by himself but other band members cover the duties for three others. It helps because Ted's writing has always been somewhat limited by his...
Published on March 12, 2006 by C.H.

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ted Nugent - 'Free For All' (Sony) 3 1/2 stars
Originally released in 1976, as 'Free For All' was Nugent's second solo record. Wasn't quite as good as his first self-titled lp, mostly because of the exit from the band of rhythm guitarist / vocalist Derek St. Holmes JUST prior to the recording of this album. It's still decent, though with Nugent classics like the title track "Free For All", "Dog Eat Dog", "Street Rats"...
Published on December 30, 2005 by Mike Reed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another classic from ted, March 27, 2011
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Free-For-All (Audio CD)
Ted was on a role and he released another classic disc filled with great songs like 'free for all' And he had meatloaf as a lead vocalist. This one was just dynamite and fans of the day loved it making it another solid hit for him. Imo ted made five
truly classic discs in a row : 'ted nugent' , 'free for all' , 'cat scratch fever', 'double live gonzo' and 'weekend warriors' his previous two were darn good two with the amboy dukes but he was at this time a major worldwide sensation and rightly so, his melodic metal was a blast and alot of fun and he had a monster band behind him all the way. I can't understand how any 70's metal fan would rate this lower than a five star. There's not a weak song on here even songs like 'you make me feel right at home' are good in their own nonjammin way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars free for all, July 19, 2008
By 
Timothy (Jersey Shore, PA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Free-For-All (Audio CD)
its a good ted nugent album but it an even better find for the meatloaf fan. as meat does the vocals on several tracks. any meatloaf music (pre bat out of hell) on cd is next to imposible to find . this is good 70's stuff right on par with the stoney and meatloaf album not avliable on cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kamikaze's on the hundreth floor, June 28, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Free for All (Audio CD)
After the outstanding debut album of the Ted Nugent Band in late 1975 and subsequent tour, the wheels of this great 4-man rock n' roll machine started to come off; namely in the person of lead vocalist/rhythm guitarist Derek St. Holmes. St. Holmes was unsatisfied at the direction that the band was taking under the control of who else? He may have been right. Though the album that Derek left right in the middle of recording, 'Free-for-All', was still a major contribution to the mid 70's hard rock lexicon and a major success it missed his powerful vocals, only heard on the classic "Dog Eat Dog", "Turn it Up" and "Light My Way"; all standout cuts. Derek's temporary replacement, Meat Loaf, does fill in admirally, especially on the strangleholdesque "Writing on the Wall", the albums second finest composition, but the Meatman was a odd choice, great singer but not in the raw style of his predecessor (see the bonus "Street Rats" with the St. Holmes vocal, a great song regardless but better with the original singer). The title track, the only number sung by Ted, is an alltime classic and ranks right up there with "Stranglehold" and "Cat Scratch Fever" in my opinion of his very best. Many feel that 'Free-for-All' is the ultimate Nugent lp, but I feel his Epic debut is the better record, mostly because of seemingly democractic nature of a full band's effort. St. Holmes would return for the next reoord and then leave for most of the next two decades. Not coincidentally, the original Ted Nugent band would soon splinter completely and Ted's conception of being a true solo artist became complete, to the detrament of the rest of his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nugent at his best, December 26, 2000
By 
Musicfan68 (Zug, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Free for All (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is one of his best albums. "Dog eat Dog" is my favourite on it. My ranking for Ted's albums is the following: 1. Ted Nugent 2. Cat Scratch Fever 3. Free For All. They are all great. This one is not so heavy as the other two albums of his classical period mentioned above (1975-1977).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another barn burner, June 29, 2009
By 
This review is from: Free-For-All (Audio CD)
Ted's follow up to his 1975 solo debut is equally just as good, includes the 2 most popular tracks still played to this day in concert, Free-For-All and Dod Eat Dog. 2 other tracks that kick butt are Turn it Up and Hammerdown (vocals by Meat Loaf). Another solid slab of guitar driven rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, March 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Free-For-All (Audio CD)
Awesome Album. I recommend this album. Great music... great artist. You should add this cd to your library. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TEDS BEST, February 12, 2013
This review is from: Free-For-All (Audio CD)
This album was in my regular rotation during my cruisin days back then and was defintely one of my favorites,its worth the price just for the strong Meat Loaf tracks alone.Leaves me thinking what if?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where is the Guitar Bridge?, January 7, 2009
This review is from: Free for All (Audio CD)
Having listened to a lot of Nugent stuff over the years.. this album had some moments, but no where near the impact of the original Epic, Ted Nugent album, and for those who had heard early Nugent collaborations ala the Amboy Dukes.. this offering doesnt even come close to the brilliant complexities of the Andy Soloman influenced "Marriage on the Rocks, Rock Bottom" recording. Nugent has always thrived when he had to battle other musicians for the spotlight... he is a great musical listener when forced to play nice, and can apply a tremendous amount of ear candy to other people's songcraft, however, Nugent, when left to own devices, is reduced to junior high school rhyme schemes that focus on adolescent sex; which is fine when you are 16, but quite pathetic when you are 55.

Every once in a while, he pens a catchy tune, but they are few and far between. "Fred Bear" was a bright moment in terms of song construction and energy, perhaps because it was recorded almost immediately upon being written. An overlooked love song, Heart And Soul showed some promise that Nugent might be maturing a little bit, but the spirit slipped away too quickly. The Derek St. Holmes influenced "Love Jacker" was brilliant Motown meets Motor City Madman, but again... Nugent didnt recognize its cross over potential and ignored the song in live shows... oh well... now we get ditties like "My Baby Likes My Butter on Her Gritz" and "Girl Scout Cookies". Go Nuge.. you da man...

What I really want to know about this album is this... The Byrdland on the cover shot is missing the bridge and the strings are completely loose. Does anyone know why they did that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love me some Ted, October 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Free-For-All (Audio CD)
Memories of my childhood now in my car. Love me some Ted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, December 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Free for All (Audio CD)
The Nuge is near the top of his game here. Waiting and hoping for the re master double live gonzo. I noticed The Nuge was touring as a 3 peice last. Bring back Derek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Free-For-All
Free-For-All by Ted Nugent
Buy MP3 Album$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.