Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Free-For-All
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon February 17, 2014
You can just get Ted's Hits CDs, Live CDs and Anthologies (CDS) and probably be satisfied, but many of Uncles Ted's album are from the days of AOR rock, meaning the whole album was great, you can listen all the way through. And Free for all is no exception. Its a great great album, it rocks from cover to cover. I remember getting it in High school and Playing ti everyday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2001
This is a great rock album, Meat loaf's vocals took a little while to get used too, however with that said it's still and outstanding record. The guitar solo's are not as energized as on his debut, but they are still Nugent's, so they are excellent. The album is full of prime rockers like, "Free for all," "Dog Eat Dog," "Street Rats," and a forgotten metal classic "Hammerdown." Buy this album and you will be satisfied.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2008
its a good ted nugent album but it an even better find for the meatloaf fan. as meat does the vocals on several tracks. any meatloaf music (pre bat out of hell) on cd is next to imposible to find . this is good 70's stuff right on par with the stoney and meatloaf album not avliable on cd.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2006
After the outstanding debut album of the Ted Nugent Band in late 1975 and subsequent tour, the wheels of this great 4-man rock n' roll machine started to come off; namely in the person of lead vocalist/rhythm guitarist Derek St. Holmes. St. Holmes was unsatisfied at the direction that the band was taking under the control of who else? He may have been right. Though the album that Derek left right in the middle of recording, 'Free-for-All', was still a major contribution to the mid 70's hard rock lexicon and a major success it missed his powerful vocals, only heard on the classic "Dog Eat Dog", "Turn it Up" and "Light My Way"; all standout cuts. Derek's temporary replacement, Meat Loaf, does fill in admirally, especially on the strangleholdesque "Writing on the Wall", the albums second finest composition, but the Meatman was a odd choice, great singer but not in the raw style of his predecessor (see the bonus "Street Rats" with the St. Holmes vocal, a great song regardless but better with the original singer). The title track, the only number sung by Ted, is an alltime classic and ranks right up there with "Stranglehold" and "Cat Scratch Fever" in my opinion of his very best. Many feel that 'Free-for-All' is the ultimate Nugent lp, but I feel his Epic debut is the better record, mostly because of seemingly democractic nature of a full band's effort. St. Holmes would return for the next reoord and then leave for most of the next two decades. Not coincidentally, the original Ted Nugent band would soon splinter completely and Ted's conception of being a true solo artist became complete, to the detrament of the rest of his career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2013
Ted Nugent's second offering, "Free For All" continues where his first album left off. Simple stated: it rocks. Had this as a kid on album and revisited on cd years later. Nugent's guitar playing is perhaps his best and the songs are great. The only criticism I have is that the cd feels a bit disjointed with three different lead singers. Ted, Derek St. Holmes, and Meatloaf all sing on this cd. Ands it's all good, however, it feels disconnected. Meatloaf comes in as a hired gun and does a great job! Could you imagine Ted and Meatloaf recording and touring together - the clash of the egos! It works well on this cd, but as hindsight is 20/20 we know this did not last. The songs are great, the lyrics, vocals, and guitars, all are great. You can't go wrong with this release! So...Turn It Up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2007
Probably Meatloaf's best work! A great album remastered with extras. Ted makes his Gibson Byrdland sing again, vocals are shared with 'The Meat'. Mr Nugent is surely 1 bullet short of a magazine but BOY can he play guitar. Great simple tunes, expertly delivered. If you can get hold of Ted's instructional DVD (he starts out by shooting a keyboard to blazes with his shotgun and pistol) it's well worth the entertainment value. I bought this to relive some of my teenage years and it's aged just fine!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2000
In my opinion this is one of his best albums. "Dog eat Dog" is my favourite on it. My ranking for Ted's albums is the following: 1. Ted Nugent 2. Cat Scratch Fever 3. Free For All. They are all great. This one is not so heavy as the other two albums of his classical period mentioned above (1975-1977).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2009
Ted's follow up to his 1975 solo debut is equally just as good, includes the 2 most popular tracks still played to this day in concert, Free-For-All and Dod Eat Dog. 2 other tracks that kick butt are Turn it Up and Hammerdown (vocals by Meat Loaf). Another solid slab of guitar driven rock.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2013
This album was in my regular rotation during my cruisin days back then and was defintely one of my favorites,its worth the price just for the strong Meat Loaf tracks alone.Leaves me thinking what if?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
Another of Uncle Ted's best... it's a Free for All... Some really good overlooked songs on this disk... If you don't have this you should.. great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.