Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: FreeBSD Device Drivers: A Guide for the Intrepid
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
5 star
89%
4 star
11%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$39.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 16, 2012
I already have the other book by the same author, Joseph Kong, "Designing BSD Rootkits: An Introduction to Kernel Hacking" and liked it very much, so when I got the chance to get an advance copy of his new book for review, "FreeBSD Device Drivers: A Guide for the Intrepid", I couldn't say no. :)

To make the review more practical, I decided to write a simple driver myself and posted about it and the book on the FreeBSD forums, to find that post follow the WWW: link in the pkg-descr of the comms/uartlirc port (you can also look the port up on freshports.org .)

About the book:

The book introduces you to almost everything you need to know to write many types of drivers, it does this mainly by doing code walkthroughs for several example- and real-world drivers. It obviously cannot cover _everything_ (sound drivers for example are not covered, nor is miibus(4)), but what it covers I'd say should give you enough information to be able to look at manpages and existing drivers for missing details. 100% recommended!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2012
Most programmers consider device drivers the darkest of the dark computer arts, but to write a good device driver what's needed is a decent template and some good documentation. The FreeBSD Operating Systems has plenty of templates, in the form of already working drivers, and with the publication of Joseph Kong's latest book, _FreeBSD Device Drivers_, now there is good documentation as well.

The book takes the reader from the simplest types of drivers, such as those used to do serial communication, up through disk, usb and network drivers, which are far more complex and require the programmer to have a greater understanding about the operating system in which they're working. The introductory chapters give enough of the required background information for writing a driver, covering areas such as memory allocation, and synchronization primitives, without preventing the reader from, very quickly, getting down to working on real code.

One of the beauties of this book is that it covers running code in a real world operating system, making it far more relevant for both students and working programmers. Many books on programming create neat and easy problems that the authors think will take the reader through the necessary steps to understanding a concept, but this book doesn't shy away from the nitty gritty details of low level code.

The book has an easy to read, narrative style which makes reading it an enjoyable experience, a seeming rarity in technical books.

I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants to truly understand what goes on, under the hood, in an operating system.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2012
Just before this book was released, I recently started a FreeBSD device driver project. I started out by searching the web for all related documentation and tutorials. I found myself trying to piece together dozens of different sources, most of which were too simplistic, narrowly focused, or outdated. Save yourself the time and frustration; start by buying this book. It is a well organized guide for learning to write device drivers and will get you productive much faster than scouring the web.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2013
This is the type of book every Unix developer or systems administrator should own. Don't let the title fool you, while this is definitely a FreeBSD-heavy book, the methodology and examples would be useful to any aspiring kernel developer or systems administrator. Using real world examples, with informative, in depth explanations on what is happening "under the hood," Joseph Kong's book will walk the reader through every aspect of writing a drivers for a variety of hardware. As a systems administrator of FreeBSD, Linux, and Solaris systems, I have found this book to be an asset and am really happy I put it on my technical references shelf and feel confident any system administrator or kernel developer will feel the same way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
This is a really helpful book, I have read and searched forth and back the Freebsd documentation for clues for starting driver development, well you could read the source code of the drivers as well, but is it better to read this book first as it will make things clear or you will be more familiar with the current infrastructure, this book is really is a must if you want to start digging on FBSD driver coding, I really recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2012
I started this boos a novice FreeBSD user, however after having have read this book I now understand What is going on under the hood of my BSD system, This book has allowed me to understand the technical process taking place in the kernel that you are not always aware of, even when running a BSD system. The book is very well laid out in the way that it conveys the complicated topic at hand. The author truly knows his stuff because he explains it so simply, yet makes you understand on a complected level. In order for an individual to explain a complicated topic simply they must truly understand what is taking place. This book explains everything from Memory access, modules, to network drivers. This book is great for getting people to understand what a driver is to how to make and edit a actual driver itself! I will be handing this book out to every person I know who also uses FreeBSD because I feel it truly helps you understand how to take full control of your computer and make the computer work for you. This book will be by my side every time I work with any FreeBSD drivers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2012
This book is great companion to The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System. While 1st one is more focused to OS internals, it leaves many details about device drivers uncovered. This is where this book steps in. It arrived just on time when I stared developing some device drivers for FreeBSD/ARM and it saved me hours of going trough source code. Definitelly it is a must have for anybody going to develop FreeBSD device driver or wants to learn how device driver are working on this OS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
Good book with working examples and easy to follow.
Use it to study the BSD driver basics.
Bit more details about the PCIe devices might be useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2015
What a fun story!!
Bring together a very recently divorced Sadie with her Aunt Dody, brothers Jasper and Fontaine, and Des, a real hunky emergency room doctor in Bell Harbor, Michigan and you have the makings of a good romance story. Add that Sadie brings her 4 and 6 year old children as she escapes into her aunt's dotty attitude and malapropisms and the fact that Fontaine is gay and it begins to look even more interesting. Sadie's whole family seems dedicated to double-entendres, smart remarks and stories of misspent youth, while her daughter Paige's misunderstanding of adult humor leaves you rolling on the floor laughing.
Aunt Dody and Fontaine are dedicated to matchmaking with Sadie and Des. That is greatly complicated by Sadie's emphatic decision to never fall in love or marry again and Des' role as a temporary fill-in for the regular emergency room doctor. Sadie and Fontaine both find Des tremendously attractive. Since Sadie's ex-husband Richard has successfully torn apart Sadie's self esteem, she enters into a friendship with Des afraid of her own shadow. She second-guesses both her own and Des's actions and words, always putting the worst possible spin on them.
This is a well-written light-hearted romp with a truly dysfunctional cast of characters. I loved it!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.