Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide
The Freedom Writers Diary is an incredible book for teenagers to read, and this book will help any teacher use the FWD to motivate and inspire students. The Teacher's Guide contains practical activities that tie into the book but can also be used independently. Several of the activities, such as the Line Game and the Toast for Change, were featured in the Freedom Writers...
Published on October 15, 2007 by K. Burrows

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs more specific info
I liked the main premise of the book, but needed more examples and lessons to do with the students. She just gave basic info. What did she do with these kids every other day when she wasn't discussing tolerance?
Published 21 months ago by Muriel A. Ventura


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide, October 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide (Paperback)
The Freedom Writers Diary is an incredible book for teenagers to read, and this book will help any teacher use the FWD to motivate and inspire students. The Teacher's Guide contains practical activities that tie into the book but can also be used independently. Several of the activities, such as the Line Game and the Toast for Change, were featured in the Freedom Writers movie. All of the activities are tied to NCTE standards, and they are all ready to use. This book will help educators teach reading and vocabulary skills, but it will also help them reach their students. The Freedom Writers Diary is an incredibly powerful book for teens, and the Freedom Writers Teacher's Guide is the best teacher's guide I've ever used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Tool, November 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide (Paperback)
I have been using the Freedom Writers Diary for eight years in my class. Students love this book. I teach at risk kids who struggle reading and getting them to read any book is a major achievement. The Teachers Guide helps teachers: use the Diary, introduce other books and create a sense of family in your class in the order of Room 203. You will find that this book will become worn out from use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, September 29, 2008
This review is from: The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide (Paperback)
I teach in a special education classroom in a high school setting with a mixed category grouping of students - college bound to students who will remain with their parents. This is a great resource to use with all students. I can use the same assignments and adjust the content level according to various ability levels quickly. I can easily select assignments I deem appropriate and not use others. Objectives follow my state standards and I simply add them to my lesson plans. Ms. G's Tips are great and the "What You'll Need" list makes it easy for any teacher on any budget to follow! There is also a section titled "Teacher Talk" that adds extra tips and ideas for all activities. This works with high and low functioning students. If you plan on studying The Freedom Writers - this is a MUST! Did I mention that all of the graphics and worksheets that you need are in the book ready to xerox!!! A real plus for the busy teacher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent resource, February 7, 2013
By 
Mary W. Wheat "busy lady" (Orange, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide (Paperback)
This resource book from Ms. Gruwell is great. It has activities she used , writing prompts linked to the diaries with the number. She has lesson plans to get students involved and writing. She has provided vocabulary and an exercise with each year. Gruwell has a portion in each activity that gives "Freedom Writer Feedback", "Freedom Writers Diary Quotation" and "Teacher Talk" closing with NCTE Standards for the lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs. G's "Secret Sauce", November 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide (Paperback)
If you are a teacher who is looking for some innovative methods for the classroom, this is your book. The methodology that pulses at the heart of this guide will undoubtably transform the lives of your students. Purchase a copy of Mrs. G's "secret sauce" today, and, as Mrs. G puts it, "Teach one to teach another"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writing, December 24, 2008
This review is from: The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide (Paperback)
The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher' Guide has an abundance of activities for the at risk student in high school that truly does not want to write. I am looking forward to using the guide when second semester starts at the high school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Touching Teacher's Guide, December 22, 2010
This review is from: The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide (Paperback)
Purchased this for my daughter. She loved the movie and wanted the book. She is reading the book and loves it also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide (Paperback)
So far I'm loving working with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Over Edited Teacher Propaganda, March 23, 2014
This review is from: The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide (Paperback)
Firstly, let me say, I support any person who can go into an inner-city school and teach at all, let alone as well as Gruwell did. But her representation of her process is absolutely terrible. I read this for one of my college literature classes, a book voted on by us students. We were all curious when we heard that the book was full of student diaries, tracking their progress over the years. Yet that let us down so much that class discussion became a long rant of anger instead of support for what this teacher did.

The problem is that the diaries are so heavily edited (it's claimed that the class did the editing together) that there is only one very dry, sexless, ageless, voice. One cannot track the progress because there is no progress of writing ability from the first diaries to the last. All of them read exactly the same. Nor do the diaries read like any high school kids, inner-city or not, that I know. At best little snippets of slang are thrown in to try and make the diaries feel like it, but it leads to comical results. And on top of that, the connections the dairies make between personal lives and the student's assigned reading, reads unrealistically like every teacher's hope for their student's to connect. It's ridiculous!

Look, I wish I could say this book was done well. I wish the diaries had been left unedited and with some identifying factors to track progress. I wish that instead of a separate teacher's guide, that Gruwell's process had been explained here. And I wish that I could read this book without thinking about how sad it is that only a teacher who gives up her very soul to the work is the only kind of teacher that is considered good. And that I could stop thinking about how Gruwell only lasted less than five years and thus couldn't cut it long term and had to publish two books to prove herself a teacher. But I cannot. So I cannot give this book any kind words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for building classroom culture, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide (Paperback)
I am a freedom writer's teacher and bought this to share with a colleague. The first part is great for exercises that will build a positive classroom culture in the beginning of the year. The rest is a great supplemental resource for planning for the remainder of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide
The Freedom Writers Diary Teacher's Guide by Erin Gruwell (Paperback - October 2, 2007)
$21.95 $16.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.