Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great small lamp
I've never seen this next to Freeplay's Indigo light but I know it is smaller. It is an excellent light. Charge it from the wall for a trip and if you ever need light you have it. It never truly goes dead because it only takes some cranking to get it going again. The cranking mechanism is very well built compared to other brands of crank devices I've used.

It...
Published on October 16, 2009 by theWicked

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars This thing would kill you if you really needed it in a survival situation.
It cranks hard for the real time use you get out of it. Even after full outlet charge after a week or so when you return to use it much of the charge is gone or non existent. Buy a cheaper wind and go.
Published on November 22, 2012 by Alan Rimbey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great small lamp, October 16, 2009
This review is from: Freeplay Energy ML-1 Mini Lantern Self-Sufficient Rechargeable LED Lantern (Gray) (Sports)
I've never seen this next to Freeplay's Indigo light but I know it is smaller. It is an excellent light. Charge it from the wall for a trip and if you ever need light you have it. It never truly goes dead because it only takes some cranking to get it going again. The cranking mechanism is very well built compared to other brands of crank devices I've used.

It might not seem the brightest if your playing with it in the daytime but at night the lowest dial setting is plenty of light to dig through a camping bag. The spotlight function is nice and uses less juice.

As far as whether or not I would recommend it over the Indigo model I don't know. Spend a couple extra bucks and get the small one or save a few bucks and get the bigger one. There is only a 25% difference in size (not sure about weight).

No more batteries! Charge it wherever whenever you want! Great lamp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy mainly for the self-sufficient power, October 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freeplay Energy ML-1 Mini Lantern Self-Sufficient Rechargeable LED Lantern (Gray) (Sports)
This item is great. If the only thing you are looking for is something that will put out a lot of light this is not the item for you.

If you want something that puts out more than enough light to see around inside a tent while camping or for household emergency light purposes look no further.

Pros: Great battery life, solid construction, light is more than adequate.
Cons: Casts more shadows than I expected, was hoping it would be a bit brighter. A lumens rating needs to be added to the description\specs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice light for the money, February 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freeplay Energy ML-1 Mini Lantern Self-Sufficient Rechargeable LED Lantern (Gray) (Sports)
This light is well made, light weight, and very functional. It has an adjustalbe 5 LED light that can be adjusted from very dim all the way to very bright. It also has a one led spot light that is angled down so that it can be hung overhead for reading. It has an ac charging ability as well as hand crank. The charging port has a rubber seal to keep out moisture. You crank for about one minute to get about 8 to 10 minutes of use on low. Once fully charged the light will last for many hours if used on low or just the one LED spotlight. I would like to see the spotlight have an adjustment and it does not. At least a high and low switch would be nice. Would like to see a solar cell on top as well. The crank is a little stiff after a minute or so of cranking.

Overall I gave it four stars for its light weight, good design, quality construction, and ability to be charged by ac as well as the crank. It needs a high / low adjustment on the spotlight and a solar cell on top to get five stars. Overall a very nice light. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 stars-great for camping and pretty easy to crank, June 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freeplay Energy ML-1 Mini Lantern Self-Sufficient Rechargeable LED Lantern (Gray) (Sports)
I really love this lamp. It is easy to crank but it takes a little while to get a charge that is bright so my arm did get a bit tired. I first saw it at REI and then checked for it on Amazon. I bought it based on trying it out and seeing the great reviews on Amazon.

I liked that is has a small light on the front then it there is another option to use 4 lights on the top (which can be be dimmed or made brighter). But the curious thing is that the four light together don't seem a ton better than the one light when I was walking on a dark path. It also has a convenient `hook' on the top to hang it up on. It is small, sturdy and stable. But after I got this I also got a couple of Etón FR160GR Microlink Self-Powered AM/FM/NOAA Weather Radio with Flashlight, Solar Power and Cell Phone Charger. The Eton is cheaper and more portable and has more options. I liked that in addition the Eton is solar charged as well as crank charged. But I don't regret getting the Freeplay lamp since it is great for illumination on a table or for camping. After a quick crank the smaller light lasted at least a 1/2 hour. But for pure emergency situations I like the Eton I got better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice n bright, April 29, 2013
By 
Misty (Pearl City HI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freeplay Energy ML-1 Mini Lantern Self-Sufficient Rechargeable LED Lantern (Gray) (Sports)
Id say these freeplay lanterns are among the best lights available for self powered types. The brightness and run time ratio is unbelievable and on a 1min crank u get about 10min of full power light and much much longer on low or if u use just the single led and thay single led is bright as a regular flashlight. All around perfect product. I love the broad range of dimability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This thing would kill you if you really needed it in a survival situation., November 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freeplay Energy ML-1 Mini Lantern Self-Sufficient Rechargeable LED Lantern (Gray) (Sports)
It cranks hard for the real time use you get out of it. Even after full outlet charge after a week or so when you return to use it much of the charge is gone or non existent. Buy a cheaper wind and go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Needed an ultra light lantern, January 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freeplay Energy ML-1 Mini Lantern Self-Sufficient Rechargeable LED Lantern (Gray) (Sports)
I wanted a lantern for backpacking/long day hikes. This is super light and bright. perfect for hanging in tent for lighting up surroundings. Also love the dimmer switch.
More important is u never need batteries with this guy.
4 stars for price. its more $$ than its big brother and the hand powered crank feels like it will break easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not very bright, April 18, 2012
This review is from: Freeplay Energy ML-1 Mini Lantern Self-Sufficient Rechargeable LED Lantern (Gray) (Sports)
If you live in an area prone to electrical outages like I do you're glad for any convenient and dependable light at all at times. LED is the way to go, but I'll be glad when they can ramp it up to where they're brighter without being so expensive you have to take out a loan to buy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.