Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Nothing But Thieves Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Format: Amazon VideoChange
Price:$9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 7, 2011
If you're a fan of movies like "Step it Up" and "Save the Last Dance", Freestyle is about as close as you can get to those for being straight-to-DVD.

Freestyle follow the story of Leon, a skilled b-ball player from a working class family. He teams up with Ondene, a rich and preppy schoolgirl, to compete in a freestyle basketball tournament. They encounter romance and tension alike as the two become close, and the tournament draws near.

The good news is that Freestyle was shot surprisingly well. Despite never showing in theaters, the cinematography is good, as is the editing. The film also sports an excellent soundtrack, with tracks ranging from British rap and R&B to dancehall. West London rapper Bashy was actually the music supervisor for the film, and it shows with the quality soundtrack he selected.

The bad news is that the story has been beaten to death in other movies. Opposites attract, drama ensues because of their differences, and the film's end is predictable from the start.

The only thing that really carries the film is the music and the lead actors. British by way of Nigeria actor Arinze Kene is noticeably a natural athlete, and the role of Leon suits him well. Lucy Stanhope is as pretty and sexy as a young Stacy Dash, but this being her first feature film, it's noticeable that she lacks screen experience.

Don't expect much if you're a b-ball fan. The film only has a few minutes of actual basketball being played, with the movie's intro sporting a brief AND1 style streetball game. There are a few minutes of "freestyle" basketball exhibitions, basically a single person channeling their inner Harlem Globetrotter.

Overall, Freestyle is a decent movie for having gone straight to video. But it still lacks the originality, talent and spark that made movies like "Save the Last Dance" a success. Give this one a watch through Netflix before you consider buying the DVD.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2013
I was bored and this made it worse. A preteen movie not even good . I'm glad it was free
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2014
It was compared to the movie Step Up, I expected more excitement considering it was hyped up to be in the same class as the movies that got the audiences going. Personally, I could tell this movie didn't have a great budget from some of the locations/scenes to some of the acting. The story line was ok though. This movie should've been done bigger even if they would've had to wait for more funding.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2013
This dvd was different. I liked it though. I thought that the main star(female) was only in this dvd because of her looks. The dark skinned young lady was a much better ball handler. I also felt for once, that the white guy should of one the money. He was more entertaining for sure. I'm glad I brought it though. Clean, no nudity. Props for that!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2015
This movie was wonderful!!!! Two teenagers with the same dreams of entering a college, but also have this skill that one teaches the other. I want to believe that she went to Oxford and he went to the University of his choice.

It was a great movie from start to finish.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
Boring boring boring. One of the reviews read: "If you like Step-Up, you will like it". I liked "Step-Up" a lot, but this movie is nothing like "Step-Up". Very predictable and plain boring
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2014
SLOW, the actors/actress seem to be almost mumbling sort of in character with so many of today's youth, so It was hard to hear. no fun........ don't bother
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
Such a Moving and Motivating Movie! The Message was Moving and the Movie was Beautiful. Those who feel out of place should watch and learn.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2016
Great movie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2015
Not so great acting and basketball skills. I kept hoping it would improve, but it never did. The acting was mediocre and so were the scenes in which they played basketball. Nothing worse for a real athlete to see than an actor playing basketball that can't really play.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$2.00
$9.99
$1.99
$11.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.