Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Jazz Album!!!!!!!!, August 22, 2004
This review is from: Freetime (Audio CD)
Freetime is one of the few underrated albums by Spyro Gyra in the 1980's. Of course, there is no reason for this. Almost every musical influence that has influenced so many great preformers are on this album. Jazz, funk, and contemporary. The first track, Freetime is perhaps the best track on the whole album. The album is not a drag and is rather enjoyable to listen to. One good aspect of this album is, a couple songs actually swing. Pacific Sunrise is a good example of this. After demostrating a nice funk groove, the band takes it into a swing. After all their "success" and experimentation, they still go back to their roots from time to time. This album is a winner. I'm guessing the scum on the back cover of the original record is Spirogyra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spyro Gyra Strike An Excellent Balance In 1981!!!, October 14, 2005
This review is from: Freetime (Audio CD)
Not to mention 'Freetime''s terrific album cover Spyro Gyra try something a little different with their music from their last album 'Carnaval'.This is actually an album that very closely indentifies Spyro Gyra with jazz,despite their current reputation as smooth jazz pioneers.The title cut opens the affair pretty much on the latter note,deceiving the listener into thinking that the next track won't make them jump but it does-'Telluride' starts out the exact same way and then gets SERIOUSLY funky.And "Summer Strut"?Well that little number gets off to a purely funky start,a catchy melody kicks in and it keeps it up until the end of the tune,drawing alot of fire out of these musicians.Same exact concept goes for the closing piece "String Soup"-a vibrant slice of late 60's style horn funk updated for the new decade!In between these two cuts things get interesting."Elegy For Trane" points straight at a strong support system to their roots with a sax style in the John Coltranes sustained high register,referencing his standards 'India" and "Namia" and cleverly improvising on them-brilliant."Pacific Sunrise" is just plain brilliant and multi faceted-getting started as a nightclub jazz piece then getting into a deep funk-fusion groove thats not the least bit smooth.The only reference to the smoother title track is the lightly funked "Amber Dream".Overall this album proves Spyro Gyra's musical diversity and alligence to jazz,fusion and funk in their hearts and even though 'Freetime' doesn't have the poppiness and smooth jazz elements by and large that they're known for at least they were'nt afraid to try something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spyro Gyra's Best Album . . . . ., September 1, 2003
By 
Phyllis Diller "Phyllis" (Las Vegas, Nevada United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freetime (Audio CD)
I've been purchasing Spyro Gyra since they released "Morning Dance" back in the 70's. Of all their albums, however, "Freetime" is my favorite. I promise if you give this cd a chance (listen to it several times), you'll be hooked. I've played this cd to friends and family and everyone enjoys it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow Uplifting music, October 28, 2013
By 
C. Van Blake (Vista, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freetime (MP3 Music)
Love this album. I have been listening to it for years. It never gets old. It is the kind of music that keeps playing in your head long after you have turned it off and it's effect lingers in a very pleasant way. All instrumental so it is great background for working, working out, driving, or just relaxing and chilling with friends. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential!, January 16, 2014
This review is from: Freetime (Audio CD)
I cannot say enough about this CD. This is still one of my favorites of theirs and I never get tired of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, February 13, 2013
By 
Whelan Woman (Arlington, Va United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freetime (Audio CD)
Bought this as a present, and hearing it now brought back just how much we enjoyed it when it first came out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fusion, October 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freetime (Audio CD)
Spyro Gyra is a band that I first heard, on vinyl, in the early 80s. Its melodic and comprehensive fusion of jazz/rock pleased me and has done so ever since. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gran album de Spyro Gyra, November 20, 2010
This review is from: Freetime (Audio CD)
Hermoso álbum de Spyro Gyra. Destaca mucho el primer tema "Freetime" con ensamble magistral del grupo y excelente arreglos. En "Elegy for Trane", el lider del grupo - Jay Beckenstein- hace notoria su calidad interpretativa y lírica en esta balada de jazz. El tema "String Soup" es un tema fresco, intenso y muy alegre, perfecto para el final del cd.
Hubiera sido interesante conocer a los integrantes de la banda ene esta grabación ya que no aparecen los créditos. Como todos los álbumes de este magnífico grupo, recomendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten jewel of Modern Jazz... A 'must-have' for everyone!!, June 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freetime (Audio CD)
Spyro Gyra is a Jazz-Pop band who can be easily registered under the "Easy Listening" tag. This 1980s production "Freetime", is a typical registration of the time. Notice that, starting with the cover illustration, you may find it's very 'Miami Vice' style...

However, it is a VERY GOOD one... If you don't have this in your Jazz collection, just get it right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Freetime
Freetime by Spyro Gyra (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.