Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frehley's 2nd solo disc
I could barely wait for this album to come out. Back in '86 or '87 when this was released, there was no internet, so the only way to keep up with your favorite bands was to read about them in the handful of rock magazines that catered to this kind of music: Metal Edge, Rock Scene, and Circus.

Like many, I was a huge KISS fan, but by the time I discovered...
Published on September 24, 2006 by Allister Fiend

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has Some Good Energy And Moments
I've owned the cassette of this release for a few years. On the whole, it's not too original, but it does have some moments. "Into the Night" is pretty cool, along with "Calling to You" and the impressive instrumental "Fractured Too." The production is pretty good also. Not the greatest release, but not too bad either.
Published on August 14, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frehley's 2nd solo disc, September 24, 2006
By 
Allister Fiend (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frehley's Comet (Audio CD)
I could barely wait for this album to come out. Back in '86 or '87 when this was released, there was no internet, so the only way to keep up with your favorite bands was to read about them in the handful of rock magazines that catered to this kind of music: Metal Edge, Rock Scene, and Circus.

Like many, I was a huge KISS fan, but by the time I discovered them, Peter and Ace were long gone and the glory days of the hottest band in the world were, too. Though the remaining members had unmasked and we all knew what they looked like, Peter and Ace were nowhere to be found. I'd read an occasional story about one of them--Peter's guest appearance on a Black n Blue album or Ace Frehley endorsing Washburn guitars, but there wasn't much else.

I had heard that Ace had formed Frehley's Comet and was recording a new album, but that had gone on for years & years. Every time I went to the local record store (they really were "record" stores back then) I'd look for this album, and finally one day it was there. I was totally thrilled.

Joining Ace in the band were Tod Howarth (who apparently worked with Cheap Trick for a while), Pat Regan (who now produces albums), and veteran drummer Anton Fig (who has recorded with just about everyone at this point, including most of Ace's solo work). Howarth provided the more commercial side of the band (on tracks like "Calling to You"), and Ace's tunes sound pretty much like his '78 solo album.

Howath is a decent vocalist & clearly has a better range than Frehley, but I (and probably many others) would have preferred an all-Frehley album. This ends up being half Frehley, half Howarth. But hey, for a guy who waited so long to hear this album, half Frehley will do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ACE IS THE GOD OF HARD ROCK!!!, December 31, 2002
By 
Sean Parauka (Orange, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frehley's Comet (Audio CD)
Every time I buy another Ace Frehley album I fall more and more deeper into Acemania. Ace is unbelieveable with such heavy metal guitar sounds and such good anthems. His major anthem is "Rock Soldiers". That album says rock and roll and is all about Ace, the song even has a lyrics that says, "Ace is back and he told you so." ACE IS BACK!!! Even Eric Carr, the fox drummer of KISS appeared on drum tracks for "Breakout". Great other hard rock songs came out on the album such as "Into The Night", "Calling To You", and "We Got Your Rock". Also another addition to his '78 instrumental piece "Fractured II". If you follow Ace, follow up into this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ace's first outing is blisteringly good!, May 29, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Frehley's Comet (Audio CD)
After 5 years, Ace emerges from out of nowhere to deliver a surprisingly good album. Frehley's Comet has its highs and it has its lows but overall the album is what we would expect from Ace after his fabulous 1978 KISS solo album. Rock Soldiers is Ace's explanation of what eventually drove him (literally) over the edge--his nearly fatal 1983 car accident. This is easily my favorite post-KISS Ace song. It has fantastic guitar work and actually is kind of a nifty story. Breakout has that Loony Tunes thing at the start that has always amused me. Ace's great rhythm section backed by Anton Fig on the drums really shines on this track. Into The Night is a testament to the seedy nightlife that I'm sure Ace has experienced firsthand. Something Moved has a creepy beginning and a great vocal by Tod Howarth. We Got Your Rock is the sort of rock anthem that KISS was doing in their heyday a la Shout It Out Loud. However the second half of the album pales in comparison to the first. Love Me Right is pretty bad. Dolls, Ace's shout out to "groupies", has that VERY-80's sounding synth track and just doesn't measure up to the rest of the material on the album. Calling To You is catchy enough. Stranger In A Strange Land is OK. Fractured Too, Ace's sequel to 1978's instrumental track, Fractured Mirror, is the other highlight of Frehley's Comet. Great musical experimentation with that same ethereal feeling delivered on the original track. Frehley's Comet marked the return of Ace Frehley, who virtually disappeared from the music scene after leaving KISS in 1982. The album is a firm reminder that Ace could really play and it was nice to see him working again because he was the most underrated member of KISS. My only complaint is why did Ace feel it was necessary to hire another vocalist? He is more than capable of handling a microphone and Tod Howarth, though a fine singer in his own right, unfortunately drowns Ace out with his loud screaming vocals. Luckily Ace he! lms the vocals on 6 of the 9 vocal tracks so we are able to hear him belt out the tunes but still....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace Frehley is the last of the true originals., January 4, 2006
This review is from: Frehley's Comet (Audio CD)
When Ace Frehley left Kiss,everyone knew something was missing,it became obvious that Ace WAS Kiss,then after creative differances with Gene and Paul,Ace wanted to go back to the basics,straight out ROCK. because of contractual obligations Ace wasnt able to release his solo album right away,and fans began to grow anxious for some Ace. 1987 saw the release of Frehleys Comet,power rock at its best.
1.Rock Soldiers 9/10-Ace's anti-drinking anthem
2.Breakout-8/10-Ace's bandmate Tod Howarth sings this one
3.Into The Night 10/10-The BEST song on here
4.Something Moved 7/10-Tod Howarth's best song
5.We Got Your Rock-9/10-An instant Ace classic
6.Love Me Right 10/10-Ace truly jams on this one
7.Calling To You 7/10-An anthemic song from Howarth.
8.Dolls 6/10-Catchy but not rocking enough.
9.Stranger In a Strange Land 8/10-Simple,memorable
10.Fractured Too 9/10-A worthly sequel to Ace's original "Fractured" from his solo masterpiece in 1978.

Best Songs:Rock Soldiers,Into The Night,Love Me Right

Highest Possible Recomendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a shredder's album, but if you play and write songs..., May 2, 2005
This review is from: Frehley's Comet (Audio CD)
... this one is for you.

With this album, Ace spreads his cape and shows us his two sides-- the rock star and the creative artist. For the KISS traditionalist, there are songs like "Rock Soldiers" and "Breakout"; the more experimental player will like the quirky sense of fun in "Dolls" and the flowing instrumental "Fractured Too". The pop fans will love the Russ Ballard cover "Into the Night" (great solo, Ace!) and Tod Howarth's reworking of 707's "Megaforce", retitled "Calling to You" and given all new lyrics.

Even the songs that are a little "different" for Ace still work; "Stranger in a Strange Land" 's rhythm has some off-time drumming but still blows me away.

If you need a break from Yngwie, Steve, and Joe, look no further than this album for some great, diverse guitar rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has Some Good Energy And Moments, August 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Frehley's Comet (Audio CD)
I've owned the cassette of this release for a few years. On the whole, it's not too original, but it does have some moments. "Into the Night" is pretty cool, along with "Calling to You" and the impressive instrumental "Fractured Too." The production is pretty good also. Not the greatest release, but not too bad either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ace First solo After Leaving Kiss, May 28, 2006
By 
Y2bjs Reviews (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frehley's Comet (Audio CD)
This album has some realy good songs on it.But if you ever bought an album for just one song,then Rock Soldiers is it.
That song is the best song Ace ever did and is a classic in my opinion.Just hits the spot and his lead guitar in it is awsome.
Mind you there is some other good songs here, Tod Howarth did share vocals and did a fine job with his contributions.
Actually there is no bad songs here.
Except i dont know why he kept attempting remakes of Fractured Mirror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace's High, June 13, 2005
By 
This review is from: Frehley's Comet (Audio CD)
For the song 'Rock Soldiers' by itself, the album (a concession to my age)is worth purchasing. The lyrics are spartan, but true to the rock n roll spirit. Which is how it should be. The result are lyrics that are honest, yet imperative with the adjoining hard beat. Ace rules!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ace is doing his thing here..., December 28, 2003
By 
Marcus J. Viduya "MJV" (Campbell, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frehley's Comet (Audio CD)
...whether it was a good idea, I dunno: almost typical 80's rock that simply is too dated for anyone but extreme fans of 80s guitar-glam rock. BUT, you must respect ACE for being himself here (80s sound taken into account) and not following trends as much as his counterparts in KISS have done (I dont remember Ace and band wearing overly colorful clothes and doing the femm'ed out make-up thing). My main gripe though is this one track, CALLING TO YOU, sounds alot like the band 707's theme for the movie MEGAFORCE (scary...). All in all, a good 80s rock and roll album. Not the impact that his replacement's band (Vinnie Vincent's Invasion) had but also not as flashy (then again, that band ditched Vinnie and made millions as SLAUGHTER).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic 80's, May 27, 2001
This review is from: Frehley's Comet (Audio CD)
I bought this in 1989. I wore the tape out and had to purchase it again. It's not a KISS type of album. I found Rock Soldiers to be an honest account of Ace's down and out years. It is not a highly polished album as were some of the other releases at the time. The focus is on musical and lyrical content. Granted some of the lyrics are somewhat corny , but perfect for the era! BOTTOM LINE? A return to basics for the true rock fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Frehley's Comet
Frehley's Comet by Ace Frehley
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.