Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


208 of 210 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Duplicate material
If you like British comedy, you'll love French and Saunders, but don't buy both collections unless you like duplicates!

The French and Saunders Collections I and II both contain the same four DVDs: "The Ingenue Years, "Living in a Material World, "Gentlemen Prefer French & Saunders," and "At the Movies."

With Collection II you get, in addition, "On...
Published on August 17, 2005 by PhreD

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Ok
Not the best but Ok to watch for a good laugh.
It is worth watching for a British Comedy ("dry" and "snobish - silly")

AL
Published 13 months ago by Angela Letona


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

208 of 210 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Duplicate material, August 17, 2005
This review is from: French & Saunders Collection (DVD)
If you like British comedy, you'll love French and Saunders, but don't buy both collections unless you like duplicates!

The French and Saunders Collections I and II both contain the same four DVDs: "The Ingenue Years, "Living in a Material World, "Gentlemen Prefer French & Saunders," and "At the Movies."

With Collection II you get, in addition, "On the Rocks" and "Back with a Vengence."

Hope this saves you time and disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! The entire collection, July 14, 2005
By 
This review is from: French & Saunders Collection (DVD)
Ironically, this collection was available in North America before it was the in UK.

French and Saunders (F&S) are one of Britain's best comedy teams.

They've worked together since the 1980s and are each known for singular success in a BBC comedy (French - The Vicar of Dibley; Saunders - Absolutely Fabulous.)

The DVDs are "best of" selections from each series (what we in the US call a season) of shows. Each DVD contains special programming (holiday specials, etc.) The extra specials are well worth the price of the set.

F&S are best known for their movie parodies, "white room" sketches, imitations of well known celebrities, and music video parodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Halarity!, July 16, 2006
This review is from: French & Saunders Collection (DVD)
French & Saunders are a brilliant comic duo. This set is all the best of their wit, poking fun where it's needed most and total nuttiness. Gotta love those British gals and their side splitting antics. I don't enjoy viewing many things more than once, but this program is repeatedly funny (which is why I purchased it in the first place). I continue to catch things I hadn't the first time around and always end the DVD with a sore belly (from cracking up that is, not gorging myself with snacks). What was that sound?.....oh, it was just my busting gut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, January 10, 2007
This review is from: French & Saunders Collection (DVD)
"...age cannot wither their stale and infinite variety." Endlessly amusing! If only this collection were comprehensive and included EVERYTHING F&S. Alas, we can only content ourselves with these meagre compilations, hilarious as they are. A MUST HAVE for anybody that has ever enjoyed British Comedy, or enjoys laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, October 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: French & Saunders Collection (DVD)
I loved this!! It is great to be able to see a collection of French and Saunders finest work in Australia, where we often miss out on a lot of overseas things. Particularly brilliant are the Titanic and Lord of the Rings spoofs, with appearances from my favourite characters, the prop designers!! Also includes a lot of old favourites like Jackie and Leanne and plenty from the 'extras' ladies!! Overall I loved it and would recommend it to any fan who wants a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French & Saunders is a hit with me., January 11, 2007
This review is from: French & Saunders Collection (DVD)
I really enjoyed the DVD set. Some comedy is for the English audience but most of it should be understandable by everyone who loves good comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two thumbs way way up., January 15, 2006
By 
M. J. Molosky (Chino Hills, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: French & Saunders Collection (DVD)
For those who love French and Saunders or just one half the duo, this collection is a must buy. Even if you don't know who these funny british ladies are and love comedy that will have you gasping for air between laughs, you need this collection. So, are you going to try the accent?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, October 7, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: French & Saunders Collection (DVD)
As the title of my review states, hilarious! I love British humor (though most of the time, I have to go to the dictionary to figure out some of the words they use and other websites to understand the cultural references) and this Collection was just the ticket to a French and Saunder Marathon!

The DVD's show French and Saunders shows from 1988 to 2003. Amazingly, the years have not daunted the duo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterical!, May 7, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: French & Saunders Collection (DVD)
French & Saunders are the best that comedy has to offer. I was enormously pleased with this set, these two comediennes just keep getting better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarous and Intelligent, August 23, 2008
This review is from: French & Saunders Collection (DVD)
We established in my ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS reviews that Jennifer Saunders is a brilliant writer with manic energy and a gift for physical humor. Now she's got a partner to match. Wow!

This came first, actually, and AbFab was born as a skit here. FRENCH AND SAUNDERS stars two awesome writers who parody movies, do skit comedy, and can impersonate anyone spot-on. Brilliant, funny, intelligent, and definitely a collection that I'll rewatch again and again.

It's all good. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

French & Saunders Collection
French & Saunders Collection by Various (DVD - 2005)
$49.98 $32.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.