Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, Elegant, Accessible
I spied this book online a few months ago and was eager for its release (today, 8/25/09). Of course, I bought my copy this morning and immediately went to the grocery store for ingredients!

To my delight, these recipes seem authentic without being completely impossible. For example, the author calls for Mexican Ibarra chocolate in her mole sauce...but explains...
Published on August 25, 2009 by j.s.

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical mexican food
If you want to learn to make your favorite Mexican food from your favorite restaurant, THIS IS NOT THE BOOK FOR YOU. Marcella offers recipes for Duck burritos, Arbol chile infused couscous with dates and oranges(really?), Gnocchi with sage butter, Ancho and pine nut rice, Golden beet carpaccio with gorgonzola. The list goes on and on. I can count on one hand the number...
Published on February 3, 2012 by David R. Demarais


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, Elegant, Accessible, August 25, 2009
By 
j.s. "mr z" (Bloomington, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor (Paperback)
I spied this book online a few months ago and was eager for its release (today, 8/25/09). Of course, I bought my copy this morning and immediately went to the grocery store for ingredients!

To my delight, these recipes seem authentic without being completely impossible. For example, the author calls for Mexican Ibarra chocolate in her mole sauce...but explains that you can substitute semisweet chocolate with 2 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon and a little almond extract. These "tips" and substitutions are great because sometimes the grocery store doesn't have a wide variety of foreign foods.

While some of these recipes seem authentic, there are also some delicious looking "fusion" recipes. I am especially excited for the pine nut and pomegranite juice brittle (think Mexican trail mix) and cheese-stuffed jalapenos in puff pastry. Yumm!

The book itself is very beautiful to look at. The bright hues look great against the colorful pictures and savory recipes. There are appetizers, soups, salads, entrees, sides, salsas, and desserts.

This book is so outstanding because it isn't simply enchilada and flan recipes. We've seen those before! While there are some traditional recipes, there are many exciting "fusion" ideas too. I love the emphasis on FRESH ingredients (as the title hints) and easy to find items.

Recommended to fans of Mexican cuisine and those looking to transform their traditional recipes into something healthful, innovative, and delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT Book, September 21, 2009
By 
Barthbill (lowse ahnhaylayse) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor (Paperback)
We checked this out from the library, with the idea of copying a few recipes.

HA!

After the first three or four recipes, we knew we had to buy the book.

However, my wife had to copy one recipe so we could have it that night. She couldn't wait for the book to come.

It came, and so far, everything we have made from it is terrific and healthy. Many of her recipes are replacing our favorite recipes from way back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!!!!, August 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor (Paperback)
I got the book today and I skimmed over the recipies. I am not only in LOVE with the book but also an absolute fan of Chef Marcela. I truly love the fact that these are easy, straight-to-the-point- and simple to follow recipies. In addition, being Mexican, I am able to identify the authenticity and innovation in each and every single page of the book. These are traditional recipies "with a modern kick". I can't wait to try every recepie in the book! This is a MUST HAVE in your book shelf!!!!!!!!! Way to go Chelis!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!!!!, August 31, 2009
By 
G. Funcke (Tjuana Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor (Paperback)
I LOVED this book!!! I am mexican and it has so many taditional authentic recipes that I grew up eating at my home as well as many original innovative recipes that look so delicious, I have read every single recipe and they are so easy to follow and to make. I have also had the opportunity to try Chef Marcela's food at parties she has catered in the past and it is VERY GOOD!!! I am so glad she shared all these wonderful recipes!!! If you want authentic mexican taste that is easy to make!!! BUY FRESH MEXICO!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Mexico indeed!!, August 30, 2009
By 
M. Romero (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor (Paperback)
Many of my friends are talking about this new book and I got to say that they are right...this is certainly a wonderful cookbook!!

The recipes are written so clearly, step-by-step, they are practical and Chef Marcela provides additional helpful hints, substitutions and recommendations that I'm willing to give them a try even when I'm a stranger to the kitchen! Creamed rajas, avocado soup, can wait! I'm all inspired!!

I also enjoyed the additional information provided regarding Mexican food (i.e. there is no yellow cheese in real Mexican food!), culinary experiences growing up between Tiuana and San Diego, and professional pictures!

This cookbook is definitely a great addition to any kitchen open to experience fabulous Mexican food!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Authentic Mexican Recipes, August 30, 2009
This review is from: Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor (Paperback)
This is by far the best Authentic Mexican Recipes cookbook I've ever come across; it has been a Joy to read and to cook the recipes. And I should know...my family has been collecting cookbooks for generations. I love the combination of the very classic food and fusion recipes. The photos are appealing, the variety is very good, the recipes are step by step. I have recommended this book to friends and family and plan to give it as gifts (perfect gift for a Holiday occasion)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellente y delicioso!, August 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor (Paperback)
I've been waiting for a cook book just like this. If you love south of the border cuisine, but wish for recipes on the lighter side and easy to prepare, this is a perfect cookbook. The recipes are simple fresh ingredients readily available and if not, she conveniently provides subsitutes. The pictures are beautiful and very helpful for an amateur like me.

Today I'm going to try the cold avocado soup, game hens with apricot and tequila and the guava layer cake with cream cheese frosting! Beautiful cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, November 3, 2009
By 
Susan W. Shepard (Redwood City, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor (Paperback)
The recipes are easy to follow, the ingredients easy to find and the results are delicious-and my family usually not fans of Mexican food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book, November 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor (Paperback)
This is a great book. My husband saw a recipe on television from this book, asked me to find it and I went to Amazon - of course. I ordered it and looking through the pages - WOW great recipes - easy and tasty - would highly recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor (Paperback)
Very good cook book. The recipes are original (to my family) and easy to prepare. I only wish it had pictures for all the recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor
Fresh Mexico: 100 Simple Recipes for True Mexican Flavor by Marcela Valladolid (Paperback - August 25, 2009)
$22.50 $15.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.