Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for Friday the 13th fans.....
After some delay I finally got around to getting this complete collection and am happy with it overall. I know some people have complained about the packaging of the discs and all, but I consider that rather minor. I've seen worse packaging....
The movies themselves look very good in these blu ray transfers as far as the ones I've watched. An enjoyable set that any...
Published 4 months ago by Angel eyes

versus
81 of 94 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complete list: What was SAVED and what was AXED
This is a nice grouping. This is a bit of a high price for a very large amount of movies, wait a year and you will most likely get this at a much lower price tag. I love these movies and I want to give this five stars as a fanboy but my intention here it to be fair to the people who expect more from this series. I am going to try to fully outline each portion of this set...
Published 12 months ago by broctune


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 94 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complete list: What was SAVED and what was AXED, September 11, 2013
This review is from: Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a nice grouping. This is a bit of a high price for a very large amount of movies, wait a year and you will most likely get this at a much lower price tag. I love these movies and I want to give this five stars as a fanboy but my intention here it to be fair to the people who expect more from this series. I am going to try to fully outline each portion of this set in an impartial way in order to let you know what this set Comes with. This has all of the movies wich makes it a 5 star, but we still aren't getting complete uncut sets, though this may never happen. For this I am resting on a neutral three.

Extras per movie

Friday The 13th

Unrated version (there appears to be an error in some release materials incorrectly stating that this would be the theatrical release)
Commentary by Director Sean S. Cunningham with Cast and Crew
Friday the 13th Reunion
Fresh Cuts: New Tales from Friday the 13th
The Man Behind the Legacy: Sean S. Cunningham
Lost Tales from Camp Blood - Part 1
The Friday the 13th Chronicles
Secrets Galore Behind the Gore
Theatrical Trailer
What's here: Pretty much everything that was on Paramount's Blu-ray and Deluxe DVD.

Friday The 13th Part II

R Rated, Theatrical Release
Inside "Crystal Lake memories"
Friday's Legacy: Horror Conventions
Lost Tales from Camp Blood - Part 2
Jason Forever (used on 2004 release/Best Buy bonus disc)
Theatrical Trailer
What they have included: This is the same list of features carried over from the previous Blu-ray and DVD release.

Friday The 13th Part III

Rated, Theatrical Release
3D and 2D versions of film
2 Pairs of 3D glasses
Fresh Cuts: 3D Terror
Legacy of the Mask
Slasher Films: Going for the Jugular
Lost tales From Camp Blood, Part 3
Theatrical Trailer
What's here: This is the same supplement list from the last release, although the WBShop also claimed that they are 'touching' up the 2D version by removing some additional dirt.

What's missing: The audio commentary from the 2004 From Crystal Lake to Manhattan box set. Now this is where the laziness starts kicking in. Because you'll see further down that Warner is, in fact, including some of the other commentaries from that 2004 set. So what this comes down to is not wanting to create a new Blu-ray when they can re-use the old release

Friday The 13th: The Final Chapter

R Rated, Theatrical Release
Commentary by the director, screenwriter and editor
"Fan" Commentary
Vintage Featurettes
Deleted Scenes
Original Theatrical Trailer
What's here: This marks the first time TFC has seen Blu-ray, and most of the extras have been carried over from the Deluxe DVD release. It's unclear what is meant by the term 'vintage featurettes' but what that may or may not encompass is: Lost Tales from Camp Blood - Part 4, Jason's Unlucky Day: 25th Years After Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter, The Crystal Lake Massacres Revisited - Part 1 and Jimmy's Dead Dance Moves.
Friday The 13th: A New Beginning

R Rated, Theatrical Release
Commentary by Director/Co-Screenwriter with Cast and Crew
Vintage Featurettes
What's here: Like part 4, this is ANB's Blu-ray bow (to celebrate, it gets to share disc space with Jason Lives). Most of the extras look to have been carried over from the Deluxe DVD release. Lost Tales from Camp Blood - Part 5, New Beginnings: The Making of Friday the 13th part V: A New Begining and The Crystal Lake Massacres Revisited - Part 2.

Jason Lives: Friday the 13th Part VI

R Rated, Theatrical Release
Commentary by Director with Cast and Crew
Vintage Featurettes
Slashed Scenes
Original Theatrical Teaser Trailer
What's here: Part 6 hits Blu-ray in a release that's likely identical to the Deluxe DVD. Here's the 'vintage' featurettes: Lost Tales from Camp Blood - Part 6, Jason Lives: The Making of Friday the 13th part VI and The Crystal Lake Massacres Revisited - Part 3.

What we have lost from previous releases: Tom McLoughlin's solo commentary from the 2004 release.

Friday The 13th Part VII: The New Blood

R Rated, Theatrical Release
"Killer" Commentary by Director and Actors
Vintage Featurettes
Slashed Scenes
Original Theatrical Trailer
What's here: The New Blood looks identical to Paramount's Deluxe Edition from 2009. The 'vintage' featurettes include Makeover by Maddy: Need A Little Touch-Up Work, My Ass, Jason's Destroyer: The Making of Friday the 13th part VII: The New Blood and Mind Over Matter: The Truth About Telekenesis.

What we have lost from previous releases: The John Buechler and Kane Hodder commentary from the 2004 box set. The director and star did another commentary for the 2009 release, but it just isn't as good as the original conversation.

Friday The 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan

R Rated, Theatrical Release
Commentary by Director
"Killer Commentary by Actors Scott Reeves, Jensen Dagget and Kane Hodder
Vintage Featurettes
Slashed Scenes
Original Theatrical Trailer
What's here: Jason Takes Manhattan looks identical to Paramount's Deluxe Edition from 2009. The 'vintage' featurettes include New York Has A New Problem: The Making of Friday the 13th part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan and a gag reel. This release includes the Rob Hedden commentary track that was previously offered on the 2004 box set. It is weird that they included this but removed other features. Maybe money was involved. Who knows.

Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday

R Rated, Theatrical Release
Commentary by Adam Marcus and Dean Lorey
TV Version Alternate Scenes
What's here: The same supplements from the old New Line DVD. Curiously, this alleges to be the R-rated theatrical cut. If true, this is the most catastrophic oversight of the entire set.

What they left out: The Unrated Cut.

Jason X

R Rated, Theatrical Release
Commentary by Jim Isaac, Todd Farmer and Noel Cunningham
Vintage Featurettes
Theatrical Trailer
What is included: The supplements from the New Line DVD. 'Vintage featurettes' being: The Many Lives of Jason Voorhees documentary and Making of Jason X documentary.

Freddy vs. Jason

R Rated, Theatrical Release
Commentary by Director Ronny Yu, Robert Englund (Freddy) and Ken Kirzinger (Jason)
Featurette Gallery Covering the Film's Development, Art Direction, Makeup Effects, Stuntwork and More
Visual Effects Exploration with the Creative Team
My Summer Vacation: A visit to Camp Hackenslash
Ill Nino How Can I Live Music Video
Deleted Scenes

Friday The 13th (2009)

Theatrical and Extended Cuts
Rebirth of Jason Voorhees
Interactive PIP with Trivia Track
Hacking Back/Slashing Forward
The 7 Best Kills Extra
Additional Scenes
What's here: All the features from the 2009 release have been carried over.

Friday the 13th Killer Bonus Disc

Friday the 13th Chronicles: Part I - VIII
Secrets Galore Behind The Gore (3 Part Featurette)
Original Trailers - Part I - VIII
What's here: This is the bonus disc from the 2004 release. In the wake of the incoming Crystal Lake Memories documentary, this is going to look like a shoddier effort than it already is.

The packaging is lame and for some reason they chose to use Jason Goes To Hell to advertise this.

Forget all of the above though. If you purchase this you will get a patch. Yup, a patch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average 10-Disc Set for Slasher King "Friday the 13th" Films, August 18, 2013
This review is from: Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Despite this 12 film, 10-disc (9 BD & 1 DVD) set containing the entire Friday the 13th film canon it isn't much of an upgrade from previous DVD sets. There has never been a truly comprehensive set with extras for this film series on VHS, DVD or Blu-Ray and this is no exception. You do get Blu-Ray versions of Friday 4 through Jason X that haven't been released yet (the others are already for sale individually). This collection is a mixed bag because even though there is nothing wrong it could have been so much better. Admittedly all box sets have their limitations. It's hard to believe twelve F13 films get only 10 discs when five Superman films command 8 discs. Since there is so much material in the franchise this set could have been amazing.

Exclusive HD Content: BonusView PiP Trivia Track, Anaglyph Glasses, UltraViolet Digital Copy
Audio Formats: English Dolby TrueHD 5.1, English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, French Dolby Digital 1.0, German Dolby Digital 5.1, Portuguese Dolby Digital 2.0, Spanish Dolby Digital 2.0 & 1.0
Subtitles/Captions: English SDH, French, German, Portuguese, Spanish

A partial list of positive benefits of this release:
- One of only four horror film franchises to get a complete collection (Scream, The Exorcist, Child's Play). Freddy only got 7 of 9 films in a 5 BD collection.
- More special features and bonuses than some other film franchises (such as the Rambo, Rocky and Robocop Blu-ray collections).
- NEW 7 F13 films (Friday 4 to Jason X) are making their Blu-ray debut.
- 5 F13 films (Friday the 13th 1-3, Freddy vs. Jason, Friday the 13th remake) are included (also sold separately).
- 11 hours of previously released extras (making the movies) is included.
- 40-page booklet featuring excerpts from Crystal Lake Memories.
- NEW Official Camp Crystal Lake counselor embroidered patch (iron-on).

A partial list of negative limitations of this release:
- No new extras. The bonus disc is recycled content from the 2004 Crystal Lake to Manhattan DVD box set & reboot BD. 9 years is a long wait.
- No uncut versions of the films except the original and reboot (forget JGTH). Each film has at least 10 seconds to several minutes of cut footage that only seems to be available for purchase separately.
- The picture and audio quality vary by film. Overall, I rate them both 3.5/5. The Final Chapter looks and sounds the worst. The reboot gets the best treatment.
- Part 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 (Jason X) do not get their own disc (they are included in pairs). None of these are the extended/deluxe versions.
- No commentaries for F13 Part 2 or 3. The extras for F13 Part 5, 9 and 10 are fairly limited. Not all extras are ported over from previous releases.
- Friday the 13th Part 3D is anaglyph not true 3D. The Amityville Horror Trilogy [Blu-ray] remastered the third film for Blu-ray 3D!
- 3 Alice Cooper Music Videos from Friday the 13th Part 6 aren't included. "He's Back - The Man Behind the Mask" was a hit.
- Daniel Farrand's "His Name Was Jason (2009)" documentary is not included. Likewise the 30-minute featurette, "The Crystal Lake Massacres Revisited (2009)".
- The included booklet, Crystal Lake Memories, is a bonus but only a shadow of the original book on which it is based.

I would rate the films 4 stars and this collection 3 stars. It's still the best complete collection available for F13 in any format. If you don't own these films on DVD this set may be a worthwhile purchase but hardcore fans won't find new material here. Almost half of the films in this set already have better Blu-Ray and DVD releases so hang onto the deluxe versions. The verdict is that the F13 collection is complete but not comprehensive. Many fans expect at least 2-4 hours of new material in any Blu-ray release along with remastered extended versions. Friday the 13th fans may also be interested in Crystal Lake Memories: The Complete History Of Friday The 13th (Blu-ray + DVD Combo) which is an excellent 400-minute documentary on the making of the franchise. Including it here would make this collection a truly great purchase. This is the "Indiana Jones" of slashers after all! My favorite kill of the series was Crispin Glover being used as a human cork by Jason. Ultimately every fan will decide for themselves if the upgrade is appropriate for them. One more thing: The UV digital copy of Jason Goes to Hell is unrated (but not the disc). Viewers wanting to switch to the theatrical cut of the reboot can do so via the pop-up menu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for Friday the 13th fans....., May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After some delay I finally got around to getting this complete collection and am happy with it overall. I know some people have complained about the packaging of the discs and all, but I consider that rather minor. I've seen worse packaging....
The movies themselves look very good in these blu ray transfers as far as the ones I've watched. An enjoyable set that any Friday the 13th movie lover should have.
I have to relate an anecdote about the first Friday the 13th movie as I saw this when it originally came out at a local drive-in. Well, at the climax (I'm assuming everyone reading this has seen the movie) when Alice decapitates Mrs. Voorhees practically the whole drive-in full of cars erupted in honking their horns. It was one of those memorable moments that one can only say, "You had to be there." It was a wild experience that I wish younger horror movie fans had the opportunity to enjoy.
Anyway, have a great time watching these even if they do become derivative after the third or fourth sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JASON!, July 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT! Picture qaulity is great, audio is great as well and packaging is sick too. Quick delivery which was even better! Friday The 13th marathon here I come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CHEAPER AT BEST BUY & NO PACKAGING ISSUES, May 29, 2014
By 
Nicholas (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First off, this is only $99 at Best Buy. Second, I have read all the reviews about the horrible packaging and was skeptical about purchasing this. However, my copy has no issues whatsoever with the packaging. I assume the issues are because of the way they are packed before shipping. I gave this 4 stars because it's missing the uncut versions, but other than that it's a great set to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Despite shortcomings, this is a well done box set ... for the slightly less hardcore fan., November 7, 2013
This review is from: Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Though it lacks some of the previous special features found on the DVD discs, it is still the best you can get as far as picture quality goes. It is unfortunate that the set doesn't have any director's cuts as previous editions had. That being said, if you don't have the entire collection (I had Part 7 and Versus on DVD), then this is the set you've most likely been waiting for. I had no problem buying my childhood on blu ray: Jason stalking and cutting up people, and me enjoying every moment of the bad acting, terrible scripting and murderous techniques of the hockey mask wearing slasher icon.

Get it if you just want to have the entire set in one shot. The packaging is really nice, but the disc storage is dated. Who stores movie discs in tight cardboard sleeves? They sacrificed on internal box space with the cardboard sleeve book, which looks sharp, but is just not appropriate for a collection of blu rays. The little picture and information book is cool. The 3D Part 3 is unwatchable, at least for me. I had to watch it in plain ol' HD. So there is the obligatory red/blue 3D glasses to view Part 3D. If you don't use Ultraviolet, you must not travel. If you do travel, I hope you give Ultraviolet a shot. It is a website that you can watch your movies from, or download them to your devices. Not sure if you want to fire up Part 4 or the new 2009 redux, but all you have to do is register the box set code and now you can watch Jason cut it up wherever you go.

I like this set a lot despite it's shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friday 13th, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great DVD Set; collector must have! The crispness and sound of the older movies make this well worth the price I paid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jason in latin spanish, October 27, 2013
By 
Boricua (Caguas,Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
With audio in latín spanish and english except the last one who is in english only. The commentary of the director have subtitles in spanish and english. For fans of jason is a dream came true. Good quality in picture and production. My favorite jason movie? Jason x, believe or not. Remember that jason 3d movie is not real 3D. It came with cartoon glasses and the quality of the movie is bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So excited to have them on bluray!, October 26, 2013
This review is from: Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Finally while not perfect these are available to purchase on bluray. I know people want the uncut versions but I don't think that will ever happen. I was kinda disappointed they put the R-Rated version of part 9 on there but it's not my favorite in the series anyway. I highly reccomend this set if your a Friday fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection" Gives Fans Every Film in Hi-Def, September 14, 2013
By 
This review is from: Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Warner Bros Home Entertainment has done what many thought was impossible. For the first time ever, they've compiled every "Friday the 13th" film into one package. Why did it seem like such an impossible feat? Simply because several different studios owned the movies as the franchise was passed from one to another over the years. I don't care how it happened. I'm just rejoicing in the fact that I have them all together... and now in high-definition no less!

There have been complaints that "Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection" doesn't include the uncut versions of some of the films along with other minor issues. Honestly, I really don't care. It's good enough for me to have them the way they were originally released. What do the uncut versions have that the theatrical ones don't? An extra boob or graphic slashing scene? I'm really alright without those. Each of the movies stand on their own merits as is.

All 12 of the movies in the series are found in the "Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection." You get the uncut versions of the original film and its 2009 remake, the 9 sequels, and "Freddy vs. Jason." "Friday the 13th Part 3" is presented in 3-D. Obviously, each movie varies in quality. Although the first one is my favorite, I will say that I enjoy them all for what they are.

"Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection" comes housed in a textured tin box featuring Jason holding a machete on the front. A hardcover book/sleeve contains all 12 of the movies. Each cardboard page features accompanying stills on them. Some of them have little blurbs of behind-the-scenes info. It also includes a 40-page booklet with excerpts from "Crystal Lake Memories: The Complete History of Friday the 13th." Two pairs of 3-D glasses and a Camp Crystal Lake Counselor patch are found as well. All of these items are bundled together by a stretchable red band that reads, "I told the others. They didn't believe me. You're all doomed."

The audio and video for "Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection" varies in quality. Some of the original source materials obviously limit how well each movie looks on Blu-ray. The newer ones were made knowing they were going to be released at some point on Blu-ray and/or DVD. The older ones look brighter and cleaner, but still have some visual imperfections. The sound brings the woods around Camp Blood and the streets and back alleys of Manhattan to life. Let's not forget to mention how spectacular Harry Manfredini's score for the movies sound thanks to this hi-def upgrade.

There are loads of special features for each disc. There's also an entire DVD entitled "Killer Bonus." They come with audio commentary, making of documentaries, featurettes, and other odds and ends. Many consumers have complained that all the extra material has been released before. At least now it's all in one place.

People who always see the glass as half empty will always be around. I tend to look at "Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection" in a positive light. How can you complain as a fan of this franchise when we're finally getting all the movies in Blu-ray and they're housed in one convenient set? I recommend this for any fans of Jason and his franchise that can look past a few flaws and just enjoy it for the gift it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Friday the 13th: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray]
$129.95 $92.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.