Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Friday the 13th, Part 3 3-D [Blu-ray]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon June 18, 2009
FRIDAY THE 13TH PART 3 3-D BLU-RAY

*** ½ Out of 5

For years the Friday the 13th movies were kicked aside by Paramount pictures with lame release after another. The original DVD releases had no features at all except for the theatrical trailer, which I personally don't consider to be a feature, but the 7th and 8th installments didn't even get that. Finally after the success of Freddy Vs Jason Paramount put out a set Crystal Lake to Manhattan, which featured the first 8 movies and while at least we finally got something it wasn't much to brag about and it was good overall, but the set was clearly rushed and really was about average at best as a whole.

With the release of Friday the 13th 09, Paramount finally gave the fans what they have wanted for years and that was SE releases. February 09 saw the release of the original uncut for the first time in the States released on Blu-ray and DVD and part 2 and 3 also got Deluxe Edition DVD releases.

Fans have wanted part 3 released in 3D and we finally got it. Despite being called a Deluxe Edition since it was anything but that, there were no features at all on the disc, but seeing as it was released in 3D it was easy to get over. There were problems with the DVD release with ghosting and double images and fan reaction was mixed. Now on June 16th, 2009 Friday the 13th Part 3 makes its debut on Blu-ray (along with Part 2) and unlike the DVD it has a nice batch of features, which is unfair to those who don't own Blu-ray players. I was 3-years old when this movie was first released so I have only been able to see the movie in 2D; I like this movie a lot and while it's not a very good movie per se it achieves what it sets out to do, but knowing it was originally in 3D it did kind of suck only being able to view it in 2D even if still enjoyable it was disappointing.

So here we are with the Blu-ray release and the question is simple; is it worth the upgrade? Well that's what I'll cover as I review the disc.

FRESH CUTS: 3D TERROR (HD)- 12:51
Solid feature that explains how the movie came to be plus the original idea before it became the movie we know; the 3D process is also covered and overall this was a solid feature that gives us enough info, but does leave you wanting slightly more, but overall it's a solid feature. Interviews with Peter Bracke, Martin Jay Sadoff, Larry Zerner, Richard Brooker, Sandi Love, Douglas White.

LEGACY OF THE MASK (HD)- 9:32
Another strong feature, which explains how Jason got the mask and overall it was a fun feature and it also gets into the mask in the rest of the movies plus Jason's look through out the series; brief, but to the point; interviews with Peter Bracke, Martin Jay Sadoff, Richard Brooker, Douglas White, Larry Zerner.

SLASHER FILMS: GOING FOR THE JUGULAR (HD)- 7:06
Another strong feature, which covers quickly what, makes these movies work so well and this might be my favorite feature on the disc even if we've seen numerous documentaries and books on this subject I still always find it entertaining. My only complaint is that it's too brief; Ari Lehman, Stu Charno, Tony Todd, Del Howison, Tony Moran, Harry Manfredini, Richard Brooker, Robbi Morgan and Larry Zerner appear.

LOST TALES FROM CAMP BLOOD- PART 3 (HD)- 4:47
This is a short film written and directed by Andrew Ceperley and the first 2 parts can be found on the DVD and Blu-ray releases of the first 2 movies; this one can only be seen on the Blu-ray for Part 3. Overall it was good running at under 5-minutes there is only so much that can be done, but I did enjoy this.

THEATRICAL TRAILER (HD)- 2:09
No need to explain this.

2D VERSION
Not every movie benefits from HD and this one is sort of one of those movies; the transfer while I suppose it an upgrade over the standard DVD, but I'm not really sure though. The transfer for the Blu-ray isn't really that good to be honest. After seeing the transfer for the original Friday the 13th I really got excited for this release, but there is no comparing the two at all. This one falls a bit flat in a lot of spots. The picture is a bit flat and there is noticeable grain in many scenes, and even in the standard version you can see spots of dirt on the screen, which I suppose is on the actual cameras and in HD you can see that even more; if one didn't know any better you might think it's on your TV set. Comparing the standard DVD to the Blu-ray the dirt is a bit more noticeable here and actually it can be a slight distraction at times; of all the Blu-ray's I own of flicks of a certain age this is by far the worst transfer; I heard the Deluxe Edition DVD also looked weak and in no way does this really improve. Like I said I don't think this really improves on the original DVD release. If I'm being totally honest here I think I might prefer the original standard release.

That's not to say it's a total bust there are some moments where it looks good, but overall there is too much dirt and grain to really be worthy of being called an upgrade. Some scenes the grain is cleaned up compared to the original release, but there is still enough grain and blemishes on this transfer that in my opinion keep it from really being called an upgrade.

Some scenes do stand out compared to the original DVD and look good, but never great. But there is just too much dirt and grain for this to be anything besides an ok transfer. The colors are sharp for the most part, but something just doesn't fully work here; at times the picture looks a little washed out. Again the Blu-ray in my opinion hardly looks better than the original standard DVD. In the area it might improve the look it also takes away due to the dirt. If this version is an upgrade I'd say its barley though.

3D VERSION
The Deluxe Edition had a lot of problems with ghosting and double images and that is also a problem here as well. All the 3D scenes have a bit of ghosting or double images and there is a lot more grain to be found here unlike the 2D version, which again does suffer from that, but despite that the 3D does work well mostly. No doubt these problems are annoying and do slightly take away from the movie. Obviously this won't compare to the original theatrical release and I don't think it's anywhere near as good as the Blu-ray release of My Bloody Valentine, which worked surprisingly well; but again the 3D works well despite all the scenes having ghosting or double images. A couple of scenes do lose a little bit due to that, but while most are slightly annoying it doesn't take away from the movie and finally seeing Friday the 13th Part 3 in 3D adds a whole new layer to the movie and really adds to the entertainment. The stuff that works best are tree branches or leaves, dirt being blown by the wind and bugs flying around; Those are the things that play out the best, which is cool, but not really what we all want to look best.

Nothing here for the most part works great; some 3D looks cool other times not so much. The strengths are the hobo in the beginning with the eyeball despite the ghosting and or double image it looks cool the bikers that are killed in the barn also works really well and I think some of those scenes were the strongest despite the problems mentioned. Some stuff however falls flat for instance like the sphere gun scene, which is something I bet most people really want to see; and when you do see it you'll be letdown as it doesn't work that well; when Rick's eyeball pops up out it works fairly decent. The biggest 3D gags are the ones that seem to fall short.

The one scene that worked really great was after Jason gets hit in the head with an axe and he puts his arms out in front of him. Sure we have the same problems of ghosting or double images, but even that cannot take away from the scene as it actually plays out really cool problems and all. That scene really got me going since it was so cool again despite the problems. The handle of the Axe also works well for the most part and I'd say these scenes are probably the best along with the barn scenes.

So like I said the 3D doesn't work great and some really fall flat, but most work; remember though it never works great, but good enough for the viewer to not only have fun, but probably watch the 3D version all the time instead of the 2D. The 3D version does add a new layer to the movie and quite honestly makes the movie a little more fun and makes it feel a little new as well since most of us are seeing it in 3D for the first time.

Some reviews I've seen make the Blu-ray sound like perfection and some have compared it to the theatrical version. I never say this about other people's reviews, but I honestly think those reviews are by people paid by the studio or they are just seeing what they wanna see; despite what some say there is indeed ghosting and double images just like the DVD version, but regardless of those problems again annoying, yes, but still a lot of fun. As stated earlier there is a bit more grain on the 3D version, but even with the grain, ghosting and double images it cannot ruin the fun of seeing this movie in 3D. Don't go into this expecting perfection; just keep in mind the flaws I explained and you should be fine. Not every 3D scenes works and the ones that do don't work great and the ghosting and double images are annoying, but shouldn't ruin the experience of the film.

AUDIO
We have two options the first; Dolby TrueHD 5.1 and Dolby Digital Mono. The sound is good, but nothing special. It never really enhances the movie at all. I hoped it would pick up sounds in the background, but it never really does that. The TrueHD 5.1 is solid in terms of the music; the score plays out great and loud and the shrieks in the music might make you jump once or twice where as the dialogue sounds good, but I felt it was a little low. You can hear everything the characters say, but I found it a little lifeless. I actually watched the movie with the original Mono track, which I felt as a whole sounded better, the score might have a little bit more of a jolt to it with the TrueHD, but overall I found the mono track to be the better of the two.

FINAL WORDS ON THE DISC
I had two TVs I tried this on; one set the 3D looked ok it pops out, but nothing really stands out. I than tried it on a plasma TV and it worked far better there. So I think it will all depend on the TV you have. Some sets the 3D may not work that well where as other TV sets it will look a lot better. The extra features while brief are enjoyable and this may not be the ultimate release, but it is a solid one. The flaws with the picture can be forgiven, but the 2D version does fall a bit flat and the ghosting and double images on the 3D can be slightly annoying, but the sheer fun of seeing it in 3D will help you get over it. Bottom line is Friday the 13th Part 3 on Blu-ray doesn't make for the perfect Hi-Def experience, but it gets the job done. If you have the Deluxe Edition the only reason to buy this is for the extras.
88 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2000
If Paramount's A-movie franchise was Star Trek, then their B-movie franchise would definitely be Friday The 13th. A total of eight were made and, with the exception of '83, there was a Friday The 13th for every year in the Eighties, with the TV series debuting in '87.

They were tacky, badly made and infrequently showed any professionalism, or dynamic filmmaking. But they sure had their moments and Part 3 is definitely the best of the first four, Part 5 being the joker in the pack and 6-8 the second instalment of the Jason Voorhees legacy.

Apparently, not getting enough of butchering teenagers with the first sequel, director Steve Miner returns for more unlucky day murders. While his first outing was almost the exact same as the original, only with a different killer, Part 3 reinvents the franchise and totally solidifies Jason as a horror movie icon.

Chris (Dana Kimmel) has had a difficult past few years and she decides to spend a long weekend at Higgins Haven with her friends. Too bad for them that Jason (Richard Brooker) is lurking in the woods. He and Chris have had a scuffle in the past and she's afraid to go out there alone.

Her friends are an unusual bunch. There are a couple of stoners, Shelly, a fat kid who just wants to be loved (Larry Zerner), a pregnant friend (Tracie Savage) and her hunky squeeze (Paul Kratka). These are not the typical goofball sex-mad teenagers of the early Eighties. For some reason, the writers have made them somewhat subdued and realistic. They seriously want a quiet weekend - no partying, no loud music. It helps that we like them, because in most other occasions we can't wait for them to get slaughtered.

And they aren't the only ones in trouble. A non-threatening biker gang plan to cause havoc at Higgins Haven, because Shelly knocked over their scooters, and end up regretting it. If anything, they make for some light comedy - intentional, or not.

Halfway through, Shelly pulls a joke on the girl he fancies. He leaps out of the water wearing a hockey mask and brandishing a harpoon. Five minutes later Jason gets his hands on them. And ever since, the image of the hockey mask has been the trademark of the series.

In every other sequel, Jason is a walking monolith. [...], show Michael Myers a thing or two about the art of teenage massacre and somehow be able to maintain his cool and make it all seems effortless. This is the only time you will see him for what he really is - a retarded hillbilly. He evens smiles! Twice!!

Miner would return later to the same location in Lake Placid. Here, he successfully portrays Crystal Lake as a tranquil, peaceful place and manages, in the final scenes, to infuse it with atmospheric excitement, all without the use of rain, or lightning.

It wouldn't be hard to make a sequel superior to the original Friday The 13th. Miner failed with Part 2, but excels in Part 3. It has a lighter tone and different feel from the others. In fact, it shouldn't be viewed as a horror film at all. It's an adventure movie, set in the woods, with one of the best villains ever.
99 comments| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2000
What I felt before was a quite mediocre entry in the series(speaking relatively, of course), I now feel is one of the most superior. What makes the difference? Widescreen. Steve Miner is a master of the form(see the underrated House or Halloween:H20) and injects this sequel with a lot of atmosphere and tension which was not as evident on previous pan-and-scan video releases of the film. For instance, consider the scene where Chris relays her previous experience with Jason to her boyfriend Rick. On video, it had always appeared as if the couple had just stopped at a random spot in the woods to talk. In widescreen, however, the entire left side of the picture is taken up by the side of a cabin and by a drainpipe spilling water throughout the scene. This one small detail adds a whole other layer to the atmosphere of the scene. You also get to see a lot more of Higgin's Haven and the surrounding woods and lake in widescreen. Also, as previously mentioned, the showdown/chase scene that climaxes this film is amazingly suspenseful, especially for an early 80's slasher sequel. Widescreen allows you to see Jason running up along the side of the barn as Chris enters. Creepy!
One last note about the DVD:
For years, Friday fans have lamented the lost death scene footage excised by the MPAA before the films were released to theaters. Well, apparently someone in the DVD department at Paramount is a fan, for Chili's death scene via firepoker in the Friday 3 DVD is the unrated cut. Wherein previous video versions, there is only a shot of the firepoker exiting her back, in the DVD version, a relatively long sideshot has been inserted showing Jason plunging the firepoker all the way through her and then slightly twisting it. This extra shot is worth the price of the DVD. Hopefully unrated death scenes will show up on future Friday releases also. I'd love to see some of the unrated footage from Friday 6 and 7.
22 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 3, 2009
Getting old is hell. It's true. You see, I'm old enough to have seen Friday the 13th Part 3 in the theater back in 1982. There were a handful of pretty bad 3-D movies made during that brief resurgence of the fad. Believe it or not, this was actually the best of them. The film took full advantage of the process, poking every possible object, body part, etc. at the screen. All in polarized 3-D. Polarized? Well, I don't know all the technical details, but the glasses were tinted gray, instead of the old-style red and blue that was used during the early 1950's heyday of 3-D movies. A polarized 3-D movie doesn't just have depth; things literally pop off the screen and, at times, would appear to be inches from your face.

Sadly, this 3-D release of Friday the 13th Part 3 is NOT the same picture I saw all those years ago.

Apparently, the polarized process can't be recreated for the home screen (not yet, anyway. . .if you'd told me ten years ago I'd be able to store thousands of songs on a gadget the size of a cigarette lighter, I'd have called you crazy). So what we have here is a sort of "remixed" cut of the film, with the old-school glasses. And all the headaches those involve.

Disappointments aside, it's not a complete waste. The film itself was made to have depth (as in the third dimension of depth, not the philosophical kind!), and many scenes translate fairly well. The more notorious shock scenes (SPOILERS AHEAD) involving a spear gun and an eyeball rushing toward the camera come pretty close to duplicating the original format's intensity. Objects in the background often suffer some blurriness--hence the possibility of headaches--and the print itself is surprisingly grainy in spots.

The film itself is no better or worse than any of the FRIDAY sequels. But if you were lucky enough to have the film as intended on the big screen, you will almost certainly be disappointed with this presentation. I'm glad 3-D films are making a comeback; I just hope someone is able to improve the process for home viewing.
33 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
I was in high school when this came out and got to see it in the theater with the 3D. For those of you who don't know by now, the small recap of part 2 in the beginning was not shot in 3D. This Blu-ray edition is pretty good, but probably not the greatest transfer they could have done. Still, I think it is one of the best of the series. This is the movie you see Jason starting to wear his infamous hockey mask after killing off one of the teens. I also think the ladies in this installment are the hottest, with perhaps an exception of Teri from Part 2. As a sophomore in high school after seeing this movie, I had a big crush on the actress Dana Kimmel. Mmmm I really wanted a gal like that! lol

A group of teens go to Crystal Lake to have fun, but get more than they bargained for when Jason comes to spoil everything once again.
What made me like this one was the death scenes getting more creative plus the ending of Jason getting an axe in his head and then lunging out at Chris' character. Seemed like classic '80s horror right there summed up in one scene. lol

I had always thought that Paramount would eventually do a movie with the survivors of the franchise getting in touch with each other to track down the infamous Jason and dispose of him, once and for all. Amy Steele from part 2, Dana Kimmel from part 3 (although she seemed to be crazy as the police took her away at the end), Kimberly from part 4, The blonde "doctor" from part 5, Tommy, of course from 4,5,6, the telepath from 7, and "Rennie" from 8.

Anyway, if you like this franchise, I think you will like this one. Don't look for great dialog here, as we are talking about early '80s horror flicks and they are not known for it. Richard Brooker, along with Kane Hodder perhaps play the best Jason in the series and he doesn't disappoint. If you are looking for a modern make of 3D like today's 3D movies, well, it's not that. You have to think that this format, although not new, was still in it's infancy for the most part. 3D made somewhat of a comeback in the 1980s but didn't make that much of a splash like today's modern action movies. Still, a great Blu-ray to have in your horror library.
Now, just waiting for the other individual releases 4-8. (By the way, the "Deluxe Edition" of the DVD, does not have the features below. Only the Theatrical Trailer.)

Special Features include~
Fresh Cuts: 3D Terror HD
Legacy of the Mask HD
Slasher Films: Going for the Jugular HD
Lost Tales from Camp Blood Part 3 HD
Theatrical Trailer HD
review image review image
77 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2015
By this point the early events include that have led up to this are, Jason's supposed drowning as a child at Camp Crystal Lake in the summer of 1957, the very next year his angry mother Mrs. Voorhees taking a job as a counselor there to kill the counselors who had sex and paid no attention to his having drowned, sole survivor Alice successfully killing Jason's mother before she got killed, Alice trying to hide away, but Jason finds her and kills her, and then we've got a recap of what went on at the end of part 2 with Ginny and her camp owner boyfriend Paul having a rough fight with sack headed Jason, then Ginny grabs a machete and slices his shoulder. They show Jason pull out the machete weakly and that's it. Surprisingly, the final cabin scene with them finding Muffin the dog and Jason jumping through the window is excised to move on with this movie's plot. The opening sequence shows the full title coming out of Mrs. Voorhees's rotting head'd eyes. The theme song here is without the best ever, sounding sort of ghostly or alien like sort of akin to a theramin and it has a cool dance beat to it.

This time the main chief characters are not going to camp to be counselors, they're going to a location on Crystal Lake for a different reason.

We are now introduced to Harold and Edna, a general store running married couple that are frustrated with eachother that bring the comic strip characters the Lockhorns to mind. While Harold is busy eating things that are bad for his diet and playing around with the pets in the place, Edna is putting away laundry and watching tv, in particular a news report about the sole survivor from part 2 Ginny. While this is happening Jason is creeping around in the shadows. Anyway they come to be Jason's first victims. Next we get introduced to Andy and his hot babe girlfriend Debbie, Andy's friend and roommate socially awkward horror loving prankster Shelly, another hot and gorgeous young lady Chris(Dana Kimmell, Sweet Sixteen) Shelly's blind date sizzling hot and super gorgeous Vera, and finally a weird pot smoking hippie couple Chuck and Chili. As they travel they come accross a hobo sleeping in the middle of the road. They help him up and not only does he come off like another Crazy Ralph, but he carries around an eyeball. Needless to say the kids get away from him as fast as possible. They all go to Chris's family farm Higgins Haven. Chris thought that she would face her fears due to an incident that happened 2 years before. Soon upon arrival Chris reunites with her boyfriend Rick. Rick wants to have sex with Chris but she is still dealing with her fear. Later on we get introduced to a trio of punk bikers. There's beautiful, African American, fun loving yet aggressive Fox, token white boy of the 3 Loco who comes off Bruce Willis like, and finally there's the African American male of the group and the most aggressive Ali. After they give Shelly and Vera a hard time at the local convenience store, Shelly smashes their motorcycles some. This shows a cool side of Shelly. Many of the characters get slaughtered and their is some sex going on also, but mostly the characters want to relax and take in their surroundings while supporting Chris.

The score is still by Harry Manfredini. Harry still delivers on the creepy sounds and music. The sci-fi element to his score goes a step further, plus he delivers on some tension and mystery as well. Director Steve Miner continues as the director and really knows what to do.

The atmosphere shows us a beautiful landscape that's well shot for day and night. The night shots show a well lit night, with some fog thunder and lightning and later on heavy, scary, forboding winds. Both are shot at night to add to the fear.

The gore is great for the most part boasting some really great kill scenes as well. Albeit not every kill scene was great, but most of them were.

Jason(Richard Brooker) has his weapons or choice in his arsenal. His weapons are: a meat cleaver, a machete, an axe, a speargun, a hot fire poker, his bare hands and 2 pitchforks. The best thing is this movie is the debut of the iconic hockey mask. That became Jason's trademark mask for the rest of the series. Very influential move!

The acting is some of the best with occasional awkward moments. The characters are very likable and relatable. The character development is very strong as well. Some of them are really funny too. I could definitely relate to Shelly, with his low self-esteem, social awkwardness, and feeling unable to get a girlfriend. That was me in high school.

A couple of my favorite kill scenes are, Jason firing a speargun to the eye of one of his victims and another victim getting stabbed with a hot fire poker.

My least favorite kill scene was the victim getting his head crushed until his eye pops out like a cuckoo bird out of a cuckoo clock. That gore effect was just too fake looking to be sure.

Overall, you get more beautiful and sexy people, tension filled and creepy music, great gore and mostly great kill scenes, relatable, likable and funny characters that are well developed, it's very good nostalgia, great cinematography, well paced, and best of all it's the debut of the famous hockey mask. It's a can't miss.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2016
Part III is the last real classic film in the series. It was the final film to be made by the Cunningham/Miner team. Sean states he was very close to the Friday movies directed by Steve Miner, who was a producer on the original. It's a big departure from the first two movies, however. There is no campground and you don't get all the scenes of ambience that you got before. Jason gets his mask here, and his motive for killing seems very weak. But this is still a good slasher and certainly better than Part IV and the rest when it really goes downhill. I've always heard Part III was planned to be the last and I wish it had been. It would have been a near perfect trilogy.
55 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2006
The Friday the 13th series is my favorite horror movie series, and Part 3 is my favorite. It has all the elements of a good horror movie, which I'll get to in a minute, and Jason I think is the creepiest he ever was.

*This was the first horror movie I ever saw. It was on TV and I watched a part of it at age 7 or 8 while my parents weren't watching me :). I saw the shower part in the movie and needless to say I didn't take a shower for two weeks. I'd go in the bathroom and turn on the water, but I wouldn't get in because I was afraid I'd open the shower curtain and get an axe in the head. :)

I know the chances of you reading my review out of 217 other peoples reviews, and I know that people have given this movie pretty high marks, as well as low. But I think this is the best movie out the series and here's why.

I always look for three things in horror movies. The first is, is the movie well made and is the acting up to par. This movie looks creepy. It's kind of dark many times which just adds to the feel of it. It has that 1980's feel which really gives a horror movie an edge in my book. The scenes are all well put together and the directing is right up there. The acting is pretty good for the most part. Sometimes Cris is a little unbelievable in the beginning but she is the prettiest girl out of the whole series. The rest of the actors do a great job especially Jason.

This is the movie that started the whole hockey mask mania. In the later movies, Jason got more of a personality, especially once Kane Hodder took over, but they kindof ruined the character for me. Jason is supposed to be a mindless emotionless killer, which is what makes him so scary. When they gave him emotions and facial expressions in part 7 and Fred Vs J, they ruined the character for me. In this movie, Jason walks creepy, takes his time and gives a great performance. Nice job.... uh..... guy.

The next thing I look for is are the death sequences well done and believable. If you've read my other reviews you know nothing turns me off faster than an elaborate and stupid death sequences. In this film they do it right. They are all quick, show some blood but not too much and all could have really happened. With the exception of the spear gun through the eye, but I'm sure Jason is an excellent marksman.........I'm not going to argue with him.

The last thing I look for in a horror movie is a great ending. I thought number two was pretty decent but had a lot of mistakes in it. Some things in the movie just don't make sense, especially the end. What dog was in the woods if that other white fluff ball came back??? but anyway....

Part 3 really brings the first movie into play. It's a nice reverse at the end, without giving too much away. I always felt that this should have been the sequel, instead of two because of the way it ended.

All in All this is a great horror movie. I would rank it number one in the series, with four next, then one, then probably the others, with the exception of seven. It's the first horror movie I ever saw, and it will always hold a special knife-hole in my heart. Alright so that wasn't funny, but this movie is great. My favorite scene is the fuse box when the guy gets the lights to go on, but who's behind him????? CHI CHI CHI MAH MAH MAH
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 18, 2009
I don't know why it is that 3-D looked so good on the big screen in the 80's and I don't know why it went away or if it has even advanced significantly since returning in a big way this past decade since I don't have an Imax theater in my town. What I do know is that I was extremely disappointed when I attempted to watch "Friday the 13th 3-D" in it's original form on my home DVD player. I also don't know why they'd even bother releasing such a thing when the results are so awful. Scratch that. I do know. Having fond memories of 3-D films growing up in the 80's I was intensely curious to see how the format would translate to the small screen, and I'd purchased the first two Friday the 13th films based on their classic status and the cool packaging and new special features. I bought the 3rd on impulse in spite of the extremely conspicuous lack of any special features primarily because I really wanted to see a 3-D film in my home. And that's how they getcha. How they got away with calling this a "Deluxe Edition" is a mystery.

I remember Part 3 as being my favorite Friday and it's still a solid slasher to be sure. The ending is still pretty terrifying and my favorite Jason kill ever is in this film. It's also the very first time Jason Vorhees ever donned his now-iconic hockey mask. So for Slasher fanatics, this is indeed a landmark film. It's too bad that they skimped on the bonus material in favor of a marketing ploy that did little other then tick me off. I'm also not a fan of padding the running time by opening with the entire climax of the last film. It eats up running time and that is all it does. It doesn't even make any sense unless you saw the first two films anyways so why bother?

Anyways, you've got your group of sex-crazed smart-mouthed teenagers, brief shots of gore and brutality, teasing nudity, and of course the echoing "tch-tch-tch ah-ah-ah-ah" that I now wish I'd thought to open the video segment with. Jason fans will enjoy this film as much as ever, but again, don't buy it for the 3-D. I tried watching the film from afar, up close, laying down in front of it, cross-eyed, walking on my hands (not really), and every other way and it just looked like hell any way I tried. Perhaps a larger screen (which would have to be massive) or blu-ray would help, perhaps not. But for some reason the 3-D version of this film is not even a little bit watchable in my house. Too bad. This DVD could have earned another star with some of the cool features like the "Lost Tales From Camp Blood" short films featuring bonus Jason kills, or the interviews and convention footage like the previous two Friday re-releases had, but we get nothing but a broken 3-D version. Screw you too, Paramount.
1616 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2008
I totally adore the Friday the 13th movies. I've been watching them since I was a kid. They are filled with eerie suspense and lots of gore and some of the movies contain good tunes (Alice Cooper.) This one however, seems to stick with me the most. It's my personal favorite of the bunch. Jason gets the hockey mask for the 1st time in this movie. The kills are REALLY good and OMG at the end, eww[...] Love it!!
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse