Customer Reviews


329 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly The Greatest Of The Early Fridays
As I noted in my write-up for the first "Friday The 13th", I feel that movie and this one form two halves of a beginning stage for the full series. The first deliberately ended on a wide-open note (not as common in 1980 as it is today, and not in the slightest contrived but the pivotal point for the whole movie and perhaps the whole series) and without the second chapter...
Published on September 30, 2004 by Stephen B. O'Blenis

versus
59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original............
I liked this movie and found it to be better than the original. It was more interesting and the pace was faster. I also liked the performances and the characters, and the opening scene was really scary and intense, especially late at night. i wish all the installments could be this good.
Published on December 28, 1999 by Mark Twain


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly The Greatest Of The Early Fridays, September 30, 2004
By 
Stephen B. O'Blenis (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friday The 13th, Part 2 (DVD)
As I noted in my write-up for the first "Friday The 13th", I feel that movie and this one form two halves of a beginning stage for the full series. The first deliberately ended on a wide-open note (not as common in 1980 as it is today, and not in the slightest contrived but the pivotal point for the whole movie and perhaps the whole series) and without the second chapter the first would have been woefully incomplete.

I think "Part 2" fully equals or possibly exceeds its predecessor. Like "Part 1", it's shot in a somewhat 'rough' manner, with simple camerawork and a minimum of flash, similar to the styles for the first "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" or "Basket Case", though not nearly As rough. It's a technique that's worked far better in a number of horror films than in most genres, because it doesn't look like someone's meticulously filming a motion picture, it looks as though events are being captured on film as they happen, giving the movie (when it's done right) a creepy, unsettling atmosphere.

It's got one of the most likable casts of characters in The "Friday" line (admittedly a problem in some of the other entries), with even the couple of characters who look like they're going to be total wastes becoming much more bearable as the movie progresses and you get to know them, with my personal favorite all along being the Kirsten Baker character (Teri). And Jason, of course. Actually, this is one of the most essential chapters in the series in establishing Jason as not just atop-tier horror monster, but a top-tier 'sympathetic' horror monster in the vein of the Frankenstein Monster, as opposed to Freddy Krueger, who's a top-tier 'Pure Evil' horror monster. It's been opined that Jason isn't truly evil because he acts on instinct alone like the shark in Jaws, or a force of nature like a hurricane - with no actual will and hence no ill will. I agree with part of that but not all - I submit that Jason acts on instinct AND emotion but without reasoning, rationality, or any of the 'intellecetual' thought processes, aside from occasional glimmers at most. One can see that in this film, especially when it's rewatched after some of the later entries. You see things in the early films in new ways, and sometimes from very disturbing new angles after you have the benefit of hindsight from seeing all the movies. Very surprisingly, you can also sometimes see things from slightly brighter possible angles too, in addition to darker interpretations.

Both by itself and in conjunction with the other entries, "Part 2" is particularly disturbing in some of the things it doesn't come right out and say, but which have unsettling implications for possible untold parts of Jason Voorhees's origins. There are some things that are very open to interpretation in places (some in more than one mutually-contradictory direction). To say any more would be to risk giving away possible spoilers.

In less abstract terms to this movie's many high points - excellent pacing, high intensity, some genuine humor (as opposed to failed attempts at humor in some similar horror movies), some truly ferocious moments, and an absolutely awesome midight lakeside scene with Baker (which was all the more enjoyable because it didn't come until after one had time to get to know her character, so by that point I was thoroughly smitten with her). Also, Baker's character has an adorable little puppy she carries along with her through much of the movie. A little 'cute animal' touch here and there to occasionally break the tension usually doesn't hurt; plus it makes me like the character even more because I have a soft spot for girls who love animals. Besides, she's so frikkin' Sexy (Kirsten, not the dog!!)

All this and one of the best, most high-charged endings in the "Friday" series - this isn't just a must-see, this is a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original............, December 28, 1999
This review is from: Friday the 13th 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I liked this movie and found it to be better than the original. It was more interesting and the pace was faster. I also liked the performances and the characters, and the opening scene was really scary and intense, especially late at night. i wish all the installments could be this good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Better In the Series, September 6, 2007
By 
This review is from: Friday The 13th, Part 2 (DVD)
This is tied with Friday the 13th, Part VI - Jason Lives as my favorites of the series. This is still back when this series aimed to be scary and not comical. We all know that lengthy series of movies have more than their share of rotten pieces. With this release, Friday the 13th hadn't reached that point.

Now, the film picks up where the first left off. It features Alice, the survivor of the first film. Without going into much detail I will say that this one is better than the first and definitely one of the better of the series.

Definitely Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scariest Jason, December 11, 2006
This review is from: Friday The 13th, Part 2 (DVD)
"As bad as Friday the 13th, Part 2 is, it's a work of art in comparison to the rest of the Friday the 13th flicks that came afterward." - Mark Englehart (Amazon Editorial Review)

You know, I've got a crazy thought. I thought that a store like Amazon would actually want to SELL THEIR PRODUCTS. Having some dork say "as bad as this movie is" is not the best way to sell a product.

Onto Friday 2, this movie tells a very good story in the context of an urban legend while developing key characters and building suspense. The deaths are creepy and violent, the music is awesome, and Jason is at his scariest. This film also has the best atmosphere of the series.

This movie could have been the original, despite the original being very good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best in this Long Series, July 25, 2007
This review is from: Friday The 13th, Part 2 (DVD)
Friday the 13th part 2 is probably the best movie of the Friday the 13th series. Steve Miner is probably the most accomplished director to take on any of the Friday the 13th films and the quality shows. The scenes are subtly stylized and photography is the strongest here. The story is also more compelling and mysterious than the subsequent films. It partly stands out because Jason is not quite the icon he later becomes. He is smaller by far here than in any other sequel and he dons a white pillowcase with a single hole for his one eye to peak through. He wears overalls and his weapon of choice is a pitchfork. There is something more raw and effortless behind his appearance. Being the first film with Jason as the killer, we also ask ourselves for the first time how he survived and we don't know for sure until we realize later that it is likely because he is undead. There is something genuinely creepy about a dead mentally challenged teenage cyclops running around in the woods and hanging out in a shack with his mother's severed rotten head. It all seems a bit more real than the big brooding invincible zombie of the later films and we still know its Jason in sort of his transition state. He's just learning the ropes as a mass murderer.

After the events at the end of the first movie we see Alice, the girl who killed Jason's mother, living alone and she is quickly murdered by an unseen assailant. Five years after that, a group of more shallow young people show up to Crystal Lake to attend a camp counselor training. The camp itself is condemned because of the murders that happened there. The story of Jason and his mother is of course told around the campfire and the camp is referred to as "Camp Blood". Gradually and as expected, the counselors in training are murdered one-by-one until we are left with just counselors Paul and Ginny. It is now that we see more of Jason as he fights with Paul in a dark room. These sequences are actually pretty intense and add some suspense rarely seen in these films. Eventually we are introduced to Jason's shack with his mother's head and so on during the chase and Jason is eventually killed. As we know from the series of sequels he doesn't actually die of course. He leaps through the window at the very end and almost gets the same jump from the audience that he did when he jumped out of the lake as a little boy in the first movie.

Overall, there are some legitimately great moments in Friday the 13th part 2. The whole climax and all through to the finale is very well done. There is also a midway scene where a police officer gets a brief glance of Jason running across the street and into the woods. The policeman follows him into the shack we see at the end of the film and gets a hammer thrown into his head. That scene really stands out for me. I'm not sure it was intended to be as eerie as it is, but the brief cut of Jason running into the woods is definitely well handled and convincing.

There is something about this film that sets it apart from the others. I think it's the fact that it is Jason who is the killer for the first time, and because it is before he becomes the self-parody he does in parts six through ten. It's hard to take parts three and four as seriously because he resembles the half-comical icon he will eventually become in far lesser movies. Friday the 13th part 2 is exempt of that connection and it stands on it's on as one of best slasher films I have ever seen. Then again, that's like saying it is one of best plates of Spam I have ever eaten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe Edition, November 10, 2008
This release will be the theatrical R rated version. It will not be an unrated version. The new features on this disk will include the following:

- Inside Crystal Lake Memories documentary
- Horror Convention featurette
- Lost Tales from Camp Blood - Part 2 featurette
- Slasher Films: Going for the Jugular documentary
- Jason Trivia Track (on-screen text)
- Jason Forever featurette
- Theatrical Trailer - As seen on 2004 release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great sequel!, February 2, 2000
This review is from: Friday the 13th 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a great slasher sequel, as most of them are. People complain about how all of the Friday sequels are the same thing. Well, that's what's great about slasher films. They're always the same thing. I mean, I like getting the same thing all the time. Sequels should be...SEQUELS! Look at Halloween H20. It's sort of a remake of Halloween III, but in a way it's a sequel to Halloween 6, but it seems to act like 4-6 never happened. It got lost somewhere in there. And a lot of fans dis-liked it, despite its $50+ million box office take. Look at The Lost World : Jurassic Park. Who would have liked to have seen the characters from the first film, return to the park? I got my hand way up! With the Friday The 13th series, the sequels are the same thing over and over again. Here in Part 2, Jason Voorhees is handed down the machete from his beloved ax-murdering mother. And went on to become one of the screen's all-time biggest villains. Ginny, Paul and the rest of the teenaged, sex-crazed teenagers hang out at a camp ground, next door to the ol infamous Camp Blood. There's nudity, spear-poking and cleaver-chopping, and even the crazy old Ralph, who eventually meets his maker. In the beginning scene, Alice from Part 1, finds Mrs. Voorhees' head in her refregirator, only to get offed by the soon-to-be hockey mask-wearing Jason. Yes, thats right. Jason gets the hockey mask, not here, but in Part 3 (my favorite of the series.) Here as we all know, Jason wears a one-eyed sack.
There's some great gore and death scenes present in this horror classic. Including : Jason's VERY FIRST SHISHKABOB KILLING! A wheel-chair bound teen gets it, and another teen hanging upside down gets his throat slit. The FX is just brilliant! Its really awful, that the film was cut to pieces, due to the MPAA. The score here is EXCELLENT, ONCE AGAIN! And the scares, are SUPERB! It seems all the Scream crowds say the Scream movies are the only scary slasher films. There are the same scares here! They don't know what they're talking about, because they probally never saw a pre-Scream slasher opus. Some people seem to think the first is the best, but this one is more entertaining and has more killings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series Entry, January 12, 2007
This review is from: Friday The 13th, Part 2 (DVD)
Friday the 13th Part 2 is definitely a worthy sequel and a very good debut of the modern monster Jason Voorhees. Even though Jason has yet to wear his infamous hockey mask, he still comes off as very creepy, kind of like a crazy hillbilly. In reality, his look was based on the killer on the movie "The Town that Dreaded Sundown", which is another really cool movie if you haven't seen it.

The acting in the movie is about what you would expect from the genre, which isn't that bad actually. The acting isn't important; it is all about the gore and how the kids are killed. The story itself is really cool and explains that in fact, Jason didn't drown, but actually survived and has been living in the forests for all of the years he has been presumed dead. You can see a difference in this Jason later in the series, in this movie, Jason actually is afraid of Jenny with the chainsaw coming after him. In later movies, he wouldn't even bother to move. Overall, this is a really cool movie for fans and a great introduction to the Jason we have come to know and love-without the mask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel, April 1, 2000
By 
Squall (The U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friday the 13th 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film is much better and more entertaining than the original.It"s an instant classic in my book,mainly because this is Jason"s debut as the killer.He"s a lot more deadly,evil and more frightening than the killer from the first film. The special FX are pretty darn cool,such as when Jason"s unmasked and the kid gets his throat slit.Amy Steel is an excellent scream queen and is the best F13th heroine to date.Shame she didn"t return to do the other sequels.I also love the soundtrack and "Chh,chh,chh,Ha,ha,ha" stalking sound,which blends in perfectly with the atmosphere.I just love this film.I would"ve given it five stars had it been longer,gorier,scarier and had Jason gotten his hockey mask ( he looks pretty silly with a pillow case.) Overall,this is a great film that"s fairly scary,despite that it lacks a bit in the gore department.It also boasts some good humor ( Stu Charno is a very funny actor that steals the show at times.) I highly recommend it to big horror fans who want a great teen scream flik and want to see a cute heroine.Rated R-contains "gory" violence,some strong sexuality and mild profanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Paramount Cheat The Fans...AGAIN, December 23, 2008
Once again Paramount cheat the Friday The 13th Fans. This movie has been issued countless times on VHS and DVD now, and every time its the same censored version missing the infamous 54 seconds of graphic bloodletting.
What is the point? Friday the 13th Part 2 is a good sequel but any fan can't deny its like a burger without the meat. Suspense scenes build and build and then the censor deprives us of the pay-off - basically what we've paid to see. The footage excised from Friday The 13th Part 2 cannot be that extreme - its a studio produced 80' slasher. Its gore will NOT outdo Maniac or The Prowler - what are Paramount so scared of - or maybe they're just lazy. One things for certain, they are greedy, money grabbing corporate scumbags out to exploit the fans of a series of films which have provided them with some of their best revenue (yet they're ashamed of the films).
I for one, will NOT be shelling cash out AGAIN for another cut print of this, or any other Friday movie, just for the sake of a few shoddy, last minute extras.
Paramount need to stop just thinking about their proceeds and consider what the fans want one in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Friday The 13Th - Part II
Friday The 13Th - Part II by Steve Miner (DVD - 2009)
$5.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.