Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Fright Night 2...For Real
After nearly 30 years, the original Fright Night is still my favorite vampire movie, so I was excited to learn that a new movie was joining the franchise.

The Blu-ray combo pack contains the unrated version of Fright Night 2: New Blood. This is not a sequel to the recent remake, Fright Night, nor a remake of the first Fright Night Part II, rather a reimagining...
Published 16 months ago by John E Bailor

versus
46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Sequel But A Literal REMAKE -- no matter what the director says!
Talk about bizarre. Though billed as FRIGHT NIGHT 2, this direct-to-video film from 20th Century Fox is yet another remake of the original 1985 Tom Holland classic, just with the settings changed. Here, Charley, Amy and Evil Ed are in a high school program in Romania. Instead of Jerry Dandridge, we have Gerri Dandridge, a female professor with a taste for blood. Peter...
Published 16 months ago by Andre Dursin


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Sequel But A Literal REMAKE -- no matter what the director says!, September 30, 2013
Talk about bizarre. Though billed as FRIGHT NIGHT 2, this direct-to-video film from 20th Century Fox is yet another remake of the original 1985 Tom Holland classic, just with the settings changed. Here, Charley, Amy and Evil Ed are in a high school program in Romania. Instead of Jerry Dandridge, we have Gerri Dandridge, a female professor with a taste for blood. Peter Vincent is here too, but instead of a horror movie host (a la Roddy McDowall) or a magician (a la David Tennant), he's a Ghost Hunters-like, would-be paranormal investigator. The movie plays out exactly as you'd expect -- same basic plot structure as the Holland original, but with more blood, less humor, and something of a road company cast that's not particularly engaging (though the female leads are attractive enough).

It's beyond strange that the director and crew commentary say they're making a sequel to the 2011 Fright Night, when the movie is actually a remake. The story doesn't acknowledge the earlier film (how could it when Evil Ed is back, alive and well!) in any capacity. There's some vague plot element in Charley and Amy's relationship that "something" happened to them before, but it's never spelled out, and otherwise, the characters behave as if it's the first time something happened to them (Charley and Peter have never met, for example). So, so strange!

Basically, though, the movie isn't terrible -- it's watchable, but nowhere in the league of the 1985 film or even the 2011 remake. Like a better-than-Syfy Channel rendition of the story, which for most fans, isn't going to be enough, though it's a passable timekiller if taken on its own terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Fright Night 2...For Real, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After nearly 30 years, the original Fright Night is still my favorite vampire movie, so I was excited to learn that a new movie was joining the franchise.

The Blu-ray combo pack contains the unrated version of Fright Night 2: New Blood. This is not a sequel to the recent remake, Fright Night, nor a remake of the first Fright Night Part II, rather a reimagining of the original concept.

The new movie has Charley Brewster, Evil Ed, and Amy Peterson in Romania, on an educational trip. The professor is a female named Gerri Dandridge. (The female vampire is the only connection I saw to the original Fright Night II.) This time Peter Vincent is the host of a paranormal investigation series that explores eerie locales searching for monsters. He also happens to be in Romania, filming a new episode of Fright Night.

While obviously filmed on a budget, the movie had some great set pieces and atmosphere. The characters don't have the great arcs they did in the original, but the movie was more suspenseful than I expected it to be.

Jamie Murray did a great job as Gerri Dandridge. While some of her performance reminded me of Chris Sarandon, and some of Colin Farrell, some of the moves she made reminded me of the Terminatrix from Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines. My favorite performance though was that of Chris Waller who portrayed Evil Ed (this time out, Ed's last name was Bates). Waller played Ed somewhere between Stephen Geoffreys and Christopher Mintz Plasse, and was quite enjoyable. The rest of the cast was adequate.

There were quite a number of call-backs to the original, which I enjoyed seeing. I did miss the outfit Amy wore as a vamp in both of the other Fright Night movies, and the missing great line, "Oh, you're so cool, Brewster!"

All in all, a solid entry in the Fright Night universe. The differences in setting and story made this enjoyable, suspenseful and exciting. Definitely worth repeat viewings for the Fright Night fan.

I haven't had the opportunity to watch the extras yet, but these include a commentary track and some "webisodes" of this Peter Vincent's Fright Night series.

STRONGLY RECOMMENDED TO FANS OF THE FRIGHT NIGHT MOVIES AND THOSE WHO LIKE VAMPIRES THAT KILL TO SURVIVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars woeful, October 5, 2013
**IF YOU INSIST: SPOILERS**

You would expect this "sequel" to pick up where the Colin Farrell remake left off. But, as the other reviwer stated, it is more accurately another remake, whose only borrowing from the original Fright Night Part II is a female vampire as the villain. Annoyingly, therefore, you're forced to sit through the repeat of a largely predictable plotline: Charlie sees vampire - Charlie accuses vampire of being vampire in front of others - others don't believe him - vampire gives game away - others believe Charlie but knowledge puts them in danger - pursuit - pursuit - Charlie shatters windows - sunlight destroys vampire.

The writer(s) try to modify expectations somewhat. For instance, Charlie is Amy's ex-boyfriend, guilt-ridden from a vague infidelity he committed prior to their study abroad in Romania, where the film takes place. Gerri Dandridge (so, not exactly Jerry Dandridge - but close) is both Charlie's (here) across-the-street neighbor and professor. And Peter Vincent is the host of a Ghosthunters-style paranormal show called Fright Night (which Evil Ed loves to watch on his iPad), rather than an out-of-work actor of B-horror movies or a Las Vegas magician.

Not that these alterations amount to anything. Even the updated allusions to the original -- such as the scene where Evil Ed comes back for Peter Vincent after being made a vampire: except this time it's at a strip club, and this time Peter maims Ed with a tattoo of a cross on his chest, and this time Peter enlists his stripper cohorts to nail pages of the Hebrew Bible/Greek Testament to the walls to keep him safe until the sun comes up, and this time when Charlie comes for his help Peter checks he's not a vampire by taking a picture with his iPhone -- even these do not inspire a wonderful sense of nostalgia. This direct-to-video Fright Night is distinctly unfun.

Add in the intriguing but pointless mystery of Gerri Dandridge being able to live in the sun as a vampire if she drinks the blood of a virgin born on a new moon, who turns out to be Amy. However, once Gerri gets hold of Amy and does drink her blood you're still subjected to 25 minutes of tedious fight scenes before Gerri is fried to a crisp anyway, thus making for a pitiful non-sequel but standard direct-to-video fare.

The one star is for Jamie Murray who, in spite of looking like she'd really rather be back on the set of Spartacus, does the sexy vampire villain a little better than the script probably allows. (The other actors were probably doing their best against the script as well, but it just didn't show.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An odd remake of the original Fright Night, not a remake of FNII, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fright Night 2: New Blood (Amazon Instant Video)
Lets be clear here, this is a remake, but not of Fright Night 2 (where Dandriges sister seeks revenge for her brothers death) but of the original Fright Night....Why? Since it is a supposed sequel to the remake of Fright Night, with Colin Farrell, why would they not make FN2, where she seeks vengence? Weird logic comes up with a weird film. I always wanted Evil Ed to be in FN2 but not the way they do it.
Bottom line, this is watchable, but not memorable. Another lost chance to make something great. Go watch the orignal FN2, if you can find it, not this one, if you are a FN fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COUNTESS BATHORY INDEED, April 10, 2014
This review is from: Fright Night 2: New Blood (DVD)
FRIGHT NIGHT 2

The first two “Fright Night” movies have always been a part of my collection, the first is considered a classic by many. Then not too long ago a remake came out and it was surprisingly good in my opinion. So when I heard about this I was excited for it. I got even more excited about it when I heard that it was more like a reboot and close to the first two. So when it came out I had to have it so I was there to pick it up release day.

Charley, his best friend Ed and his ex Amy are all in Romania on a class trip. All Ed wants to do is have a good time but Charley is stuck on trying to fix his relationship with Amy. Upon arriving at their hotel Charley notices two beautiful across the street from them in another building. Naturally like any young male his age would he stops and watches them. Things are looking good in his eyes until his eyes witness something he never thought possible, one is a vampire and she begins to feed on the other woman. To make matters worse he thinks he meets the vampire at class later and she is the teacher. On top of that no one believes him and the Countess may be coming for him.

This was a really good film that had all kinds of nods to the other films which was really fun noticing them. Writer Matt Venne [“Masters of Horror”, “Fear Itself”, “White Noise 2”, “Mirrors 2”, “Bag of Bones”] crafted a film that is a great nod to the others and the setting adds so much to it. It is about time “Fright Night” film in Romania, makes perfect sense. The actors chosen for this film did a great job with Chris Waller even bringing back the eccentric “Evil Ed back. But for my money it is Jamie Murray that steals the show as Gerri Dandrige or is that Countess Bathory. She is excellent as the seductress and is the best thing about the flick in my opinion.

Director Eduardo Rodriguez [“Fear Itself”, Curandero”, “Stash House”, El Gringo”] did a good job here keeping the film moving but at a nice pace. This is probably his best film to date and it was cool to hear him on the DVD commentary. You also get some behind the scenes stuff and “Fright Night” episodes from you know who. This is a great addition to the “Fright Night” series., there’s an idea, a “Fright Night” series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLEEDING IS BELIEVING, October 8, 2013
This review is from: Fright Night 2: New Blood (DVD)
This is a simple formulaic predictable film, which is one of the reasons why I liked it. It didn't try to be cute and clever, just took an old story and did it well. The film opens with a bang. We then move on to Romania where Charley (Will Payne) has girl friend issues with Amy (Sacha Parkinson) who doesn't trust him. They are there to study European Art History taught by none other than Madam Bathory (Jaime Murray) who needs the blood of a specific virgin. You can fill in the plot details.

Charley with his roommate seek the aid of TV "Fright Night" personality (Chris Waller) to help them, a man more interested in strippers.

This is indeed a remake. Jamie Murray brings to the screen a raw sexuality which made the film a classic "B" horror film. Our TV personality could have been done better and is the low spot of the writing. If you think of this as box office horror film, you will be disappointed, but as a "B" horror it is 5 stars.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, girl/girl action, full frontal nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This movie should have been titled "Fright Night, New Blood.", October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was a rewrite of the original Fright Night 1980s. I did not understand why it had to be a Fright Night Movie. Other than using the names of the characters from the original movie, it could have been marketed as a different vampire movie. This was a good vampire movie. I thought this version of Fright Night was a better movie than the remake with Colin Farrell and Toni Collette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whose Blood?, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fright Night 2: New Blood (Amazon Instant Video)
I am a Vampire Fan so the rating I give is this! I liked the movie, the adventure of going to another country. I watched it twice!! She was different with the camera flash of the eyes, and the clicking of the teeth, and that scream ( invasion of the body snatchers), totally different than the older ones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FN 2: Nude Blood, December 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fright Night 2: New Blood (Amazon Instant Video)
Yes, you can actually sound out the first part of my title to discover the most used word in this film. If you're hungry for horror featuring hyper-hormonal students who use insults as a standard form of social interaction and are apparently incapable of forming a complete sentence without an f-bomb, all being stalked by a nympho-vampire (didn't see that one coming) with a preference for the ladies then this is you're movie.

Containing none of the charm from the 80's version, Fright Night 2 completely ignored one of that films' coolest innovations for the vampire sub-genre, i.e. the prerequisite of having a certain amount of faith in religious icons for them to be effective; whereas memorable scenes from this version include Charley wielding a bible and screaming "get the f*** out" and Peter Vincent shouting "kiss the cross b**ch" (ya... real convincing champions of goodness). I'll admit, this movie had some great ideas and setting it in Romania as opposed to American suburbia was a stroke of genius but the intended old-world atmosphere was completely undermined by most of the action taking place in lecture-halls, strip-bars or sewers and during about the last 15 minutes or so, it tries to shift from totally unfunny comedy horror to sort of ripping off Underworld which all climaxed in a stupid ending that just had to me saying "boo- hiss".

I suspect that the impetus for FN2 must've come from the producers seeing Jaime Murray in her chilling Defiance make-up and saying: "wow dude, she'd make a great vampire... we should totally make a vampire movie with her in it". Admittedly, she can play creepy but lovely villains par excellence and her character is really the only redeeming factor in this film (I would totally love to see her in a legit, period vampire film) but unfortunately her talent and beauty is absolutely wasted on shallow, adolescent horror.

5 stars for such an awesome leading vampire, 4 stars for an obviously decent budget, 2 stars for script-writers who substitute expletive's for 20% of the dialogue and 1 star for featuring "heroes" you'd rather see become a hot lunch than defeat the monster which all equals 3 for me overall. My advice.... rent don't buy. :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A nice little vampire movie, September 22, 2014
This review is from: Fright Night 2: New Blood (DVD)
Going in, I had absolutely no expectations, even though I love the original movies. After all, this was a straight-to-video so-called sequel to a mediocre remake at best. Well, I have to say that while the film does have its flaws (lots and lots of 'how did he get there/get out of there' kind of moments), it's surely a fun movie, and I would even say that it's better than the theatrical remake.
As most viewers, I am puzzled as to why they decided to call this FN2, since it is *not* a sequel to the Colin Farrell movie. It is a remake of the original movies, in a way; or at least, inspired by them. I like the fact that the movie presents a few original takes on the story though. Having it set in Romania, amidst medieval castles, and the whole Elizabeth Bathory angle really worked.
I really liked the cast and characters: Gerri Dandridge, Evil Ed and Charlie were especially good.
All in all, I like the fact that it's not pretentious, it's not trying to be something that it's not... it' just a fun night out with vampires. Fine by me.

P.S. when are they EVER going to release the original Fright Night II on DVD/BD? This is insane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fright Night 2: New Blood
Fright Night 2: New Blood by Eduardo Rodriguez
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.