Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (188)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Welcome to Fright Night, for real."
It's safe to say that Charley Brewster has a short attention span. In fact, that's probably an understatement. But, when Charley oversees his new neighbor committing murder through his bedroom window, he finally gets some focus in his life. Much to the dismay of his family and friends, however, his new focus is on vampires. After a violent confrontation with Jerry, the...
Published on May 11, 2005 by Monty Moonlight

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pay how much???
Dont get me wrong i love fright night childhood gem of mine.all the actors,the scenes,the music,the front cover will always remain with me in a special place.if you pay 200-300 hell even more than 50 bucks for a dvd you are insane!!! I prefer the vhs issue.this just takes the fun out of collecting when people buy out a huge stock and sell it high dollar.i f you didnt or...
Published 16 months ago by saturnblue


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Welcome to Fright Night, for real.", May 11, 2005
By 
Monty Moonlight (Austin, TX, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fright Night (DVD)
It's safe to say that Charley Brewster has a short attention span. In fact, that's probably an understatement. But, when Charley oversees his new neighbor committing murder through his bedroom window, he finally gets some focus in his life. Much to the dismay of his family and friends, however, his new focus is on vampires. After a violent confrontation with Jerry, the creature next door, Charley is desperate to destroy the monster, and he attempts to enlist the aid of local "Fright Night" horror host Peter Vincent, the fearless vampire killer, to do it. Unbelieving Peter is reluctant, but Charley's girlfriend Amy and creepy-geek friend, Evil Ed, convince him with a bit of financial persuading. Their intention is to prove to Charley that Jerry Dandrige is not a vampire at all, but they are in for the scare of their lives, and it's anybody's guess who will survive the real "Fright Night!"

"Fright Night" is an 80s vampire flick for the classic horror fanatic! Paying homage to such staples as Dark Shadows and the Hammer Dracula franchise, this surprising little horror film supplies vampire lore and cliches aplenty, put together so skillfully that the result is this horror fan's favorite vampire indulgence. Of course, this favoritism is in no small part due to spectacular effects and performances! The cast seems tailor made for their roles as they play them, even if some choices seem a bit odd superficially. Hard to imagine this vampire pining away over the centuries for Married With Children's Marcy D'Arcy, but Amanda Bearse plays the role of the teenage object of Chris Sarandon's desires to perfection. Chris, himself, is powerfully convincing and menacing as the hip, 80's vampire. Extremely well adjusted to the times, too. His slave-boy zombie, Billy Cole, is played by an excellently creepy Jonathan Stark, but he's out-creeped by the always somewhat disturbing Stephen Geoffreys as Evil Ed. Of course, William Ragsdale IS Charlie Brewster, and his portrayal is what propels the film. The icing on THIS cake, however, aside from the teenage victim in the window that I've had a crush on all my life, played by someone named Irina Irvine, is the brilliant performance of one of my all-time faves, Roddy "Bullwhip" McDowall, as Peter Vincent, vampire killer! The late, great Roddy McDowall is definitely the yeast that raises this film from vampire movie mediocrity. Despite the nearly bare bones disc, featuring only a trailer and double-sided widescreen/fullscreen selection, this DVD is a must own for vampire, horror, and McDowall fans alike. Be prepared for some cheezy 80's music and a great time that you'll want to experience again and again! Also, be sure to check out "Fright Night 2," one of the best sequels ever made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Horror Classic, October 18, 2006
By 
Marc Dalesandro (Dartmouth, Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fright Night (DVD)
"Fright Night" stands the test of time as an entertaining and often surprisingly disturbing scare-fest from the mid 80s. A teenaged boy discovers to his horror that a vampire master has moved in next door, with his creepy half-human sidekick. Can the teen convince his friends the threat is real, and recruit famed movie "vampire killer" Peter Vincent to help dispatch the demonic creature? You'll have fun finding out. Highly recommended for Halloween party viewing - I watch it each year with a group of friends, and we have a blast every time. Well worth the modest purchase price. Five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly impressive, entertaining vampire flick, October 19, 2004
This review is from: Fright Night (DVD)
At first glance, Fright Night looks like another cheesy vampire film: a young man figures out that a vampire has moved next door, no one believes him, the vampire comes after him, his only hope is an old horror actor, etc. It's pretty predictable, right down to the whole thing about the boy's girlfriend bearing a striking resemblance to one of the vampire's old flames. So yes, in its own way, Fright Night is cheesy. At the same time, though, it is oh so much more than you would expect - an entertaining, somewhat creepy vampire film that features some great acting and some really impressive special effects. You expect to see really bad, noticeably cheap special effects in a film like this, but Fright Night hits a home run in this department.

William Ragsdale plays Charley Brewster, a typical horror-loving kid who just so happens to find out that his new neighbor is a vampire - naturally, no one believes him, including his friend Evil Ed (Stephen Geoffreys in a truly annoying performance) and his girlfriend Amy (Amanda Bearse, who went on to play Marcie on Married With Children). For some reason, Charley decides to be open about his suspicions, thus letting the vampire know that he knows his little secret - not a smart move, as Charley soon learns courtesy of a little visit from the new guy in town. This vampire, I must say, looks nothing like your typical Count Dracula; he actually looks like a reject from Dance Fever, making it a little hard for me to take him seriously (although the threat of "Deney Terrio" busting out some disco moves in the film's one night club scene certainly had me feeling uneasy). In desperation, Charley goes to the only man he thinks can help him - Peter Vincent, Vampire Killer (Roddy McDowall). Vincent killed many a vampire - in the movies - and he is now the local host of Fright Night, a late-night horror show. As you might expect, Vincent doesn't really believe in vampires and, once he sees that Charley is telling him the truth, he isn't too anxious to fight them, either. McDowall is really great in this movie; he is the lynchpin upon which most of the movie's success depends.

I can't say enough about the special effects, especially those in the film's climactic moments. As a horror fan, I really appreciate the filmmakers spending the time and money to give me such an impressive show. The plot features a number of clichés as well as a couple of "oldest tricks in the book," but the inspired performance of Roddy McDowell combined with the fantastic special effects leads me to bump my rating up from four to five stars. This probably won't be the best vampire film you've ever seen, but I am sure that fans of the genre will not fail to get quick a kick out of Fright Night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME 80's HORROR FILM, December 9, 2006
This review is from: Fright Night (DVD)
I don't write very many reviews but I feel I have to write one for this movie as it holds a very special place in my heart. I saw this when it first came out and went back to see it 2 more times!!! Since then I cannot count how many times I have watched this wondeful movie! If you like horror movies and not just blatant gore than this is for you! Every actor is fabulous. The special effects are STELLAR and it is just a damned great story too! This takes me back to very special time in my life when I was the same age as Charlie, the lead character. I adore this film and HIGHLY RECOMMEND it! Not much has topped the absolutely horrifying andgruesome makeup on Amanda Bearse towards the end of the movie and I doubt anything ever will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Vampire Moive Of All Time!, May 8, 2001
This review is from: Fright Night (DVD)
This gem of horror from 1985, featured Roddy McDowall as the great vampire killer, who is quite shaky, though ends the film with much bravery, William Ragsdale as a sex-crazed teenager and Chris Sarandon as a new neighbor with a little bite. Also showing up on the scene are Amanda Bearse as the present-day Mina and Stephen Geoffreys as Evil Ed, who is an absolute riot in the film. This vampire classic is not only for me, the best vampire film, but perhaps the best horror film. This movie is one of the great definitions of entertainment. There's some great special effects in the film including a very freaky Evil Ed-wolf and a menacing Jerry Dandridge-bat. Tom Holland, a master of horror who's also directed Child's Play, and written such creepy-pleasers as The Beast Within and Psycho II has given this film a great foggy atmosphere and vibe-full colors, and a great 2:35.1 widescreen aspect ratio that is an incredible delight. This film also stars Jonathan Stark from House II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the Greatest Vampire Movie of all Time, June 11, 2007
By 
The Straw Man "J.E. Hoppock" (Aloof October on April's Birthday) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fright Night (DVD)
Fright Night is a horror movie in its most simplistic form. A teenage boy named Charlie Brewster (William Ragsdale, "Herman's Head") believes that his next door neighbor Jerry Dandridge (Chris Sarandon, "The Princess Bride") is a vampire. Of course no one believes him, especially his girlfriend Amy (Amanda Bearse, "Married with Children") and his buddy "Evil" Ed (Stephen Geoffreys, "Heaven Help Us"). Oh by the way, Evil Ed's classic line in this movie is, "Oh you're so cool Brewster."

Amy and Ed are concerned about Charlie's well being and figure humor his claims that his neighbor is a vampire. So Amy and Ed go to speak to Peter "The Great Vampire Killer" Vincent (Roddy McDowall, "Planet of the Apes"), a burnt out horror movie star turned late night T.V. show host for campy horror films (mainly his own). Charlie is a huge fan of Peter Vincent's work and conceders him a hero. This is why Charlie's friends seek Peter out. On the flip side, Amy and Ed are thinking Charlie's imagination is running amuck about Jerry because of all of his Peter Vincent viewing. Anyway I digress; Amy and Ed talk to Peter about their friend Charlie and the obsession that Jerry is a vampire. Now how two teenage kids are able to convince a movie star (burnt out or not) to speak with their "potential" insane friend, still befuddles me. Anyway, after some pretty definitive proof, it is discovered that Jerry REALLY IS A VAMPIRE! Charlie's confirmation is now fact and the other characters are quite shocked at this finding.

I will not give away any details or spoil this flick for anyone who hasn't seen it yet. Fright Night is really a fun movie and yes it does have some creepy and scary parts to it. I will also add that the movie has some pretty good special effects, they really aren't that cheesy. This movie was also made in 1985, which is the zenith of the 1980s, however this movie really doesn't seem dated. As a matter of fact, it is quite possible this movie is as relative today as it was back in 1985. The one part of the movie that could be abased for having a 1980s flare is the night club scene. There is the peachy music, "colorful" outfits and the hair sprayed hair. Then again, 1980s fashion is somewhat neo in these contemporary times, so it might not seem so dastardly. Ultimately, this movie isn't overshadowed by the fact that it was made in the 1980s.

Now when I say that this is the best vampire movie ever made, that is exactly what I mean. This movie has nothing to do with Dracula it is a basic vampire movie, so any comparisons with a Dracula is dubious. Hence Fright Night it is a marvelous vampire movie, not a marvelous Dracula Movie.

The acting in this movie is also really good; Chris Sarandon is smooth and suave as a vampire. He makes being a creature of the undead look like a lot of fun. Roddy McDowall is awesome as Peter Vincent (I love the throwback to Peter Cushing and Vincent Price in the character's name); he is dichotomy in his grapples with believing in vampires and faith. I think this was a bold performance by McDowall. William Ragsdale did a good job as Charlie. He looked a bit older than a 17 year old teenager, but then again this type of realism isn't why I am watching Fright Night. If that was the logic, then Elizabeth Shue was way too hot to be a hooker in Leaving Las Vegas. Consequently, these are the little persnickety thoughts I place into the box labeled "it is only a movie". Amanda Bearse was also fine as Amy, being both reserved and sexy. Stephen Geoffreys was also quite vexing in a jovial sort of way in his performance as Evil Ed. I also like how Jerry's "roommate" looks like a Xerox of Bill Paxton. Did anyone else notice that or was it just me?

As for the DVD itself, it is presented in letterbox/widescreen. There are several subtitles that can be utilized, so it is foreign speaking friendly. The original preview/trailer is included, which is somewhat a disappointment. It seems rather a mundane promotion for such a great movie. Nevertheless, it is cool that the trailer itself is included on the DVD.

Fright Night is great horror movie period. It also spawned a pretty good sequel in Fright Night 2. However, Fright Night stands fine by itself and I wish future vampire movies would use this movie as a paradigm. Mainly by having a basic story, good characters/acting performance and special effects that don't totally rely on computer graphics. Overall, a timeless piece of horror cinema which I am sure will still be enjoyed for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favorite vampire movie from the 80s, April 25, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fright Night (DVD)
Who doesn't like Fright Night?...I haven't met one person yet that didn't enjoy Fright Night. I for one, love this movie and think its one of the best vampire movies from the 80s. Its kinda hard to believe that Amanda Bearse went from this..to Married..with Children....holy smokes!..lol...anyways, again as i said, this movie tops the 80s horror right along with Halloween..etc. etc. and should truly be in your horror collection..a true classic for all time, and remember, they barely play this film during Halloween as well...when is the last time you saw it on TV?...think about it!..thats why this is a must have!. Highly Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, June 14, 2005
By 
This review is from: Fright Night (DVD)
In my opinion, the best vampire movie ever made. The characters are very personable, the plot (if not original) wildly entertaining, and the music (for 80's fans anyway) nostalgic. The special effects are top-notch, but the movie doesn't rely on them to provide thrills and chills. I'd be lying if I said I didn't I wish I could jump into this movie and be one of the characters. It's that good. Really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie, Buyer Beware!, December 27, 2011
This review is from: Fright Night (1985) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Those of you who think or are making the statements that another release with more extras and at a much lower price is not on the horizon are, in my opinion, the people trying to sell this item for the considerably profit margin. Whether or not this practice is morally repugnant is one of personal choice, but to suggest, by proxy, that they better buy at this price or forever be "out of luck" is suspect.

As for the movie itself, I like it. It has a tongue and cheek feel with some great gore. Roddy Mcdowall hands in an excellent performance and the vampire next door story runs well from beginning to end. It's an 80's movie that was on the "B" shelf with mostly unknown actors, barring of course Mr. McDowall, it transcended its genre and budget. When I saw it as a teenager when released to theaters I was very surprised by it and I think it has withstood the test of time.

FYI, for those who know what I am talking about, an HD Quality version is available online for free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes fun of old vampire movies, until..., August 1, 2010
This review is from: Fright Night (DVD)
Saw it when it came out (feels like 1955 now) at the movie theater, and it was a riot. I don't know how it plays on DVD at home, but I have so many fun memories. You probably already know the premise of the boy who has trouble convincing his friends and everyone else that the guy who just moved in next door is a vampire on a killing rampage. The boy is a fan of a late night tv show, Fright Night, whose host is played my McDowall. The casting of McDowall is one of those things that could have exploded in the face of the producers, but as it turns out it worked brilliantly. McDowall made a career camping it up in B-grade horror movies, and here he plays someone who made a career camping it up in D-grade (pun intended) movies. This type of self-parody is carried to an extreme, because the movie spends most of its first half making fun of the established cliches of the genre, only to use them all, ALL, in the second half, with a straight face, and to great effect. It is not nearly as gory as the reality-horror we see these days, and I know that to some this will detract from the film, but not for me. Also, this may have been the first movie where the vampire transformation changed the whole facial demeanor of the monster, at least to my knowledge, so there's a little innovation in the genre's rules right there. And then there's Geoffreys' performance (the scene with the mop on his head, then reading the note, is the type of disturbing scary that stays with you, rather than boo-hoo scary), and Sarandon's, suave and threatening, Bearse's seduced virgin, and Ragsdale's earnest geek. Zap the popcorn, unplug the telephone, turn off the light, and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fright Night (1985) [Blu-ray]
$319.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.