Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 29, 2004
I purchased this for our 5 year old son. He has truly enjoyed listening to the sweet stories of friendship. While we have the books, I agree with the other reviewer, you really do not have to read along to be entertained. We put the tape in our son's player and he listens while drifting off to sleep. Unlike some children's books on tape, this is done so well - the timing, clarity and voices keep your interest. This is a winner!!
0Comment|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2000
I've told my children that when yard sale time comes around, Frog and Toad books stay. I'm holding them for the grandchildren. The Frog and Toad books have held up well - my oldest 'child' is 32, my youngest not yet 9, and everyone has heard Frog and Toad stories over and over.
This book, published in 1970, is the first of four. The two friends are somewhat like the Odd Couple, two best friends with distinctly different personalities. Frog is usually cheerful, while Toad tends to view things from a darker side. In "Spring", Frog convinces Toad that Spring really is here, that it is worth it to get out of the bed where Toad's been lying for so long his calendar still says November.
In "The Story", Toad (who isn't quite as much a creative thinker as Frog) struggles to think up a story to cheer up his ailing friend - he struggles so hard that Frog ends up comforting him!
"A Lost Button" is an amusing story about a search for (you guessed it) a lost button - Toad's lost his button, and Frog spends his time looking for it - they find many buttons, but not the one Toad's looking for, which turns up back at Toad's house. He reward his friend by sewing him a special jacket filled with all the buttons.
In "A Swim", the self-conscious Toad tries to hide while putting on his swim suit, but ends up being seen by everyone, wearing his funny striped suit. Even Frog laughs at him - but he manages to walk home with dignity.
"The Letter" is the last story in this book. Like many little children, Toad loves getting letters but is really sad because nobody writes to him. Frog comes to the rescue, eventually, with the help of a turtle mail carrier.
The stories are short, sweet and about friendship, but in a simple manner. Drawings of Frog and Toad are on almost every page, and are detailed enough to warrant a lengthy view and some comments from young readers. The words are understandable and readable enough for very young readers, yet they manage to hold a story with an amusing message.
33 comments|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2006
The expression on the faces of my three and five year old as they puzzle, smile and nod over the adventures of Frog and Toad is something I think I'll carry with me for a long time. The kids are fully engaged with the audio CD, and can now follow along with the printed words when I read the same stories to them from the Frog and Toad books.

While Arnold Lobel has a calm, kid friendly reading voice, he never panders or talks down to the kids. I like that. I also appreciate the gentle, absurd wit that Lobel weaves into these stories. I'm not kidding when I say that I could see the skeleton of a Seinfeld plot in some of these stories. Makes it easier for an adult in the car to listen to, that's for sure.
11 comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2000
Even the title sounds a bit nostalgic. This is the last in the series about Frog and Toad, who are different but very good friends. Published in 1979, the two have not changed a whole lot, though the stories have gotten funnier - droll is perhaps a better word.
The pessimistic Toad is procrastinating in "Tomorrow" until he realizes that he's down in the dumps because of all he has to do tomorrow - so he does it all today and tires himself out.
In "The Kite," Frog's optomism pays off. "Shivers" has some scary tales that Frog enjoys telling, and Toad enjoys hearing. On Toad's birthday, in "the Hat" Frog gives a present that's a little too big, but Toad insists on keeping it. When Frog secretly fixes the problem while Toad is sleeping, Toad believes his head has grown. In the final story, "Alone," the two friends learn they can still be friends, even if they are alone sometimes.
In all the books, the stories are short, sweet and about friendship, but in a simple manner. Drawings of Frog and Toad are on almost every page, and are detailed enough to warrant a lengthy view and some comments from young readers. The words are understandable and readable enough for very young readers, yet they manage to tell a story with an amusing message.
11 comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2000
If you've read the first two books in the Frog and Toad series, by now you and your child are hooked!
This book, published in 1976, is the third of four books about Frog and Toad, written by Arnold Lobel. This book has five stories, starting and ending with Winter tales.
As usual, Toad is a bit negative and nervous, while Frog is calm, positive and dedicated to being a very good friend to Toad.
In "Down the Hill", Frog gets Toad to come outside and try sledding down a hill with him. Toad goes reluctantly along, and for a moment enjoys the ride. Frog gets bumped off the sled, and Toad still enjoys the adventure until he realizes he's alone. He decides Winter is best spent inside.
The next story is about a story told from Frog to Toad, one rainy day when they are wishing Spring was here. Frog promises that Spring is just around "The Corner."
"Ice Cream" is a funny story about what happens when Toad buys ice cream cones for himself and Frog, and carries them a long way on a very hot day.
"The Surprise" is a story about what happens when two friends try to do something special for a friend, in secret.
The last story, "Christmas Eve", has a worried Toad frantically searching for his best friend, sure that something terrible has happened. It has a happy ending, of course!
The stories are short, sweet and about friendship, but in a simple manner. Drawings of Frog and Toad are on almost every page, and are detailed enough to warrant a lengthy view and some comments from young readers. The words are understandable and readable enough for very young readers, yet they manage to tell a story with an amusing message.
11 comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2001
I am ordering this tape again for my four year old son. He listened to his first copy until it broke. It is fascinating to watch him listen to the stories with a half smile on his face as he recalls the pictures from the books. It is not necessary to read along to enjoy the tape. Mr. Lobel reads the stories perfectly. He clearly conveys the personalities of the characters without "doing the voices."
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 1999
"Toad said, 'Frog you are looking quite green.' 'But I always look green,' said Frog. 'I am a frog.' 'Today you look very green even for a frog,' said Toad. 'Get into my bed and rest.' So begins one of five expertly crafted episodic chapters in this endearing Caldecott Honor beginning reader classic. Frog and Toad, true green friends, will leap into the hearts of any reader, beginning or advanced. Through rhyme and repetition of high frequency words, such as "said," Lobel crafts a text that is predictable, but not without surprises, and highly accessible to the beginning reader. Tasteful and simple, the illustrations do not overpower the text. Instead, they become more prominent where the text becomes unpredictable. For example, when Frog is sick and asks Toad to tell him a story, Toad goes through a series of unanticipated actions in an attempt to make a story pop into his head, including standing on his head, pouring water over his head, and banging his head against a wall. In this section of text, Lobel includes additional illustrations, providing visual clues to the potentially struggling decoder. Frog and Toad are Friends stands in a class of its own, as beginning reader books are rarely acknowledged for achieving excellence in writing. Frog and Toad are two unforgettable characters, and young readers may wonder whether they resemble either Frog or Toad more. They will also undoubtedly long to have Frog and Toad for friends.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2000
Hi, my name is George. I have just read a book named Day with Frog and Toad by Arnold Lobel. It is about two frogs. They were together. They played together.
I liked this book because it is about friendship. Some of the parts are funny. This book is great for 2nd graders. I give this book five stars. I enjoyed this book.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2005
I've always hated reading books, EXCEPT for cassette tape read alongs. This CD collection is great! It doesn't even matter if you're young or old, this is for all ages. Just listening to Arnold Lobels voice brings me back to when I was about 8, enjoying all the new adventures of Frong & Toad. All the original background music, nothing has changed. It's all the cassette stories transfered onto CD so the sound quality is way better.

I highly recommend this collection to anyone who has young children who hates to read, or anyone who wants to escape reality and live along side 2 of the most awesome characters ever created.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2006
I purchased this CD prior to a family roadtrip last spring, having no prior exposure to Arnold Lobel, or Frog & Toad. My 6-year old son and 4-year old daughter were quick converts. They easily follow the stories, laugh at the absurdities of the characters' sweet friendship. They constantly requested it to be played in the car whenever we were out and about. Since then, we have also purchased "Mouse Tales" on CD, which they also adore. Intelligent, engaging, & fun.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse