Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Froggy's Back with Another Pre-school Adventure
Froggy's going out to dinner tonight to help celebrate his parent's wedding anniversary. He's hoping for burgers and flies, but instead the family's eating at Chez Yum, a fancy sit down restaurant with tablecloths, candles and flowers on the table. Froggy has only three rules to remember...be neat, be quiet and no feet on the table. But even three rules are too many...
Published on June 10, 2001 by Roz Levine

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not such a good message to send to your kids.
A good story with nice illustrations, but the message it sends is not necessarily a good one to teach little kids when it comes to manners and listening to mom and dad.
Froggy goes to a fancy restaurant with his parents on their anniversary, and he is not on his best behavior! He fidgeted, shook the salt shaker, flipped silverware, and ran around the restaurant...
Published on March 13, 2004 by Kelli Hanson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not such a good message to send to your kids., March 13, 2004
By 
Kelli Hanson "pathologicmd" (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Froggy Eats Out (Hardcover)
A good story with nice illustrations, but the message it sends is not necessarily a good one to teach little kids when it comes to manners and listening to mom and dad.
Froggy goes to a fancy restaurant with his parents on their anniversary, and he is not on his best behavior! He fidgeted, shook the salt shaker, flipped silverware, and ran around the restaurant. When his spaghetti arrived, he began slurping it noisily. That's when he's seen by Frogilina, the pretty girl frog. Froggy is so discombobulated by seeing her that he accidentally pulls the tablecloth and upsets the spaghetti onto himelf, causing further embarrassment. Froggy's parents then basically say "Oh well," and take him to a burger joint instead.
To me, the book sends mixed messages. On the one hand, it seems the author is saying that it's okay to be a kid. But on the other hand, it seems that Froggy gets away with bad behavior, not only without any repercussions, but he even gets a reward!
For a funny story with a good message, I recommend Big Bad Bunny by Alan Durant and Guy Parker-Rees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Froggy's Back with Another Pre-school Adventure, June 10, 2001
This review is from: Froggy Eats Out (Hardcover)
Froggy's going out to dinner tonight to help celebrate his parent's wedding anniversary. He's hoping for burgers and flies, but instead the family's eating at Chez Yum, a fancy sit down restaurant with tablecloths, candles and flowers on the table. Froggy has only three rules to remember...be neat, be quiet and no feet on the table. But even three rules are too many for this little pre-school frog. While waiting for dinner to arrive, he spills his water glass, fidgets and plays with the salt. Then he spends some time playing with the silverware, pulling petals off the flowers, blowing out the candles and sucking on sugar cubes and ice. Froggy finally can't take the wait any longer and gets off his chair, hopping and flopping and singing all over the restaurant. As dinner arrives, he sees a friend across the room, and while trying to hide under the table, pulls the entire meal onto the floor..... Nobody captures the essence of a busy pre-schooler, with places to go, people to see and things to do, as well as Jonathan London and Frank Remkiewicz. Their creative and descriptive text is full of energy and sound effects and complemented by wonderfully bright and expressive artwork. Children and adults alike will smile, giggle and laugh as they watch the sometimes all too familiar antics of this little frog and his family. Froggy Eats Out is a terrific new addition to this popular series and a picture book that shouldn't be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Still, Be Quiet!, October 22, 2006
This review is from: Froggy Eats Out (Paperback)
Froggy's hungry and all he can think about is hamburgers and flies. But since it's his parents anniversary, he has to get dressed up and have dinner at some fancy resturant. At these places, you have to remember to keep quiet, be still and not put your feet on the table. A very hard thing to do for a young frog. Froggy tries his hardest, but things just don't go as planned. Find out all the trouble Froggy gets himself into. You'll want to leap frog your way to the store and get your own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 2-year old loves this book!, April 30, 2003
By 
A. Truong (Campbell, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Froggy Eats Out (Hardcover)
This story tells the tale of the considerable agony that children go through when eating at a fancy restaurant.
While it is true that Froggy misbehaved, it's not true that he wasn't punished. He unknowingly punished himself by enduring the humiliation of his actions in front of Frogilina.
This is a brightly colored and captivating book, my 2-year old loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FROGGY! We love you!, July 19, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Froggy Eats Out (Hardcover)
What can I say? I first found out about the Froggy books when I was substituting in the local elementary school Media Center. I saw how raptly the children listened and how they all ran up afterwards to try to check the book out for themselves. Since that time I have bought most of the series to read to my granddaughter, Emily, who loves them. She especially loves the part where one of the characters calls out "F-R-O-G-G-Y!!". Each time I finish reading one of these books, Emily immediately says "Again." That's enough for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for 3-year olds, January 30, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Froggy Eats Out (Hardcover)
This is a great book for my 3-tear old grandson. Some reviewers seem to think that all children's books must teach a lesson, which of course is not true. This book is not intended to teach kids table manners.
It teaches kids a more important lesson: that their family loves them even when they are not perfect. And it can teach adults to lighten up and don't take life so seriously! Enjoy your kids (or grandkids) while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Froggy ACTS Out !!!!!!, September 26, 2010
This review is from: Froggy Eats Out (Hardcover)
We inherited a bunch of "Froggy" books from a relative, and I have to say, they are being promptly donated! The messages they give are not happening around this house. In Froggy Eats Out, you basically get "Act up when your parents take you out and they'll just leave the fancy restaurant and take you to go get a hamburger, since that's what you really wanted anyway"?!?!? No way, if my kid acted like that, one of us would promptly take him outside to wait in the car, until the rest of us are finished.
This is just one example of the "Froggy" books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rewards for misbehavior?, July 18, 2001
This review is from: Froggy Eats Out (Hardcover)
I was quite surprised and disappointed to see Froggy being rewarded by a trip to his favorite fast food restaurant after he behaved miserably at the restaurant his parents chose. Reinforcing misbehavior is not appropriate. I expected a book to help my kids understand how to behave in a restaurant setting (which they almost always do). I do not plan to read this book to my kids again - I think it sends the wrong message. I find that very unfortunate since we love the other Froggy books we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cutest stories ever!, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Froggy Eats Out (Paperback)
Bought a bunch of Froggy books for my grandson. We laugh and laugh everytime we read a story. Nice way to bond!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Froggie is Froggie, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Froggy Eats Out (Paperback)
In this episode...Froggie goes out to eat and as usual. He really wanted to be good but something steps in his way. Froggilina is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Froggy Eats Out
Froggy Eats Out by Jonathan London (Paperback - June 23, 2003)
$5.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.