Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!
A compelling and well documented first hand account of life on board the Calypso...a must read for anyone interested in Cousteau and his legacy!
Published on June 24, 2011 by bkk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just the facts
It is an interesting enough read but is mostly a listing of events without any of the emotion or thoughts behind the actions. Still worth reading.
Published 8 months ago by Edward Seder


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, June 24, 2011
This review is from: Frogmen: The True Story of My Journeys With Captain Jacques-Yves Cousteau and the Crew of Calypso (Paperback)
A compelling and well documented first hand account of life on board the Calypso...a must read for anyone interested in Cousteau and his legacy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside Calypso, June 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frogmen: The True Story of My Journeys With Captain Jacques-Yves Cousteau and the Crew of Calypso (Paperback)
I loved Frogmen and recommend it highly. The journal format made me feel part of the adventure world of Calypso. An extraordinary experience well told!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy enjoyable read of this unique experience, September 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frogmen: The True Story of My Journeys With Captain Jacques-Yves Cousteau and the Crew of Calypso (Paperback)
Easy to read - single sitting - and enjoyable reflections of the author's unique experience to have been one of the very few to live life aboard the calypso with JYC and crew. The author does a very good job of transporting us to that date and Time so we can visualize and sense what It was like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Living on the Calypso, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you want to know what life on the Calypso was like in the 1970s, read this book. Written in a journal format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent journal of a young man seizing the opportunity of a lifetime and the hard work and adventure that goes with it., December 19, 2013
By 
boylston (Ames, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frogmen: The True Story of My Journeys With Captain Jacques-Yves Cousteau and the Crew of Calypso (Paperback)
Frogman is an excellent and captivating diary of a young man seizing an opportunity to do great things. I thoroughly enjoyed being drawn into the day to day functions of a research vessel Captained by Jacques Cousteau, the foremost leader in Oceanographic research. I highly recommend this book. It is an excellent read from the perspective of a young man about to enter college and taking on the opportunity of a life time. The book inspires us all to take chances and seize opportunities to make a difference in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just the facts, November 2, 2013
By 
Edward Seder (Danbury, CT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is an interesting enough read but is mostly a listing of events without any of the emotion or thoughts behind the actions. Still worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just like reading a journal..., October 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frogmen: The True Story of My Journeys With Captain Jacques-Yves Cousteau and the Crew of Calypso (Paperback)
Imagine being the 20 year old Dick Hyman, donning your wetsuit, preparing for a dive with the famous Coll, Falco and Delemotte... then hanging around Calypso's wardroom, having a chat with the red capped Captain himself....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very fun book, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I watched the shows as a kid, and loved the inside look this book provides. It was very interesting to hear first hand accounts of the shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I bought the book because I know the author, but it turned out to be a pretty good read., April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Self-publishing allows just about anyone to get into print. In this case, that's a good thing. Richard Hyman's journals combine the celebrity of Captain Cousteau and a few other bold-face names, with the thoughts and dreams of a surprisingly sentient young man. I once worked with Richard Hyman, so, for me personally, the book is worth five stars, because I can relate the young man's journal to the adult I know. I'm only listing it with four stars, because most people won't be able to make that connection.

Suggestion: If you buy the black and white print version of the book, spring for the Kindle version so you can see the photographs in color. (If money is no object, buy the color print version.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, unique experience, April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Interesting learning of the behind the scenes of the Jacques Cousteau movies and adventrues of the 1970's. Worth a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Frogmen: The True Story of My Journeys With Captain Jacques-Yves Cousteau and the Crew of Calypso
$15.00 $13.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.