Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "From All Sides" is among the finest of Guaraldi's works., November 13, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: From All Sides (Audio CD)
Some time ago, I went on a spree of buying Vince Guaraldi CD's. It was not until recently, however, when I bought a portable compact disc player that I truly appreciated the depth and beauty of this album.
But this is NOT a Guaraldi album. The collaboration of a San Francisco Jazz pianist, and a Brazilian guitar virtuoso was unheard of at the time, but they managedto pull it off, and pull it off with amazing results. From the opening strains of the album, where Sete's guitar softly guides you to the genius of Guaraldi's piano styling, to the closing, with its forceful grace, "From All Sides," is an album that opens its listeners to some fantastic jazz.
Sete's contributions to the album, Little Fishes, and Mambeando, are, for me, reminiscent of Sergio Mendes, from the "Best of Brazil `65" album. On a side note, for those who are only familiar with Mendes since 1966, I urge you to seek out this album.
One of the biggest surprise on the album was the version of the Jobim-di Moraes classic, The Girl From Ipanema. I have several versions of this song, and the version on "From All Sides" is among the best.
"From All Sides" provides the listener with four Guaraldi tunes. Some of the albums livelier tunes are Guaraldi's Choro, Ginza Samba, and Ballad of Pancho Villa. The fourth Guaraldi song is Menino Pequino da Bateria, a refreshing arrangement of My Little Drum from the A Charlie Brown Christmas.
I heartily recommend that all fans of Jazz Trio, Samba, or Latin Guitar give this album a try. It would shock me if this CD was a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vince Guaraldi's usual genius, January 18, 2002
By 
Yahn Van de Walle (Western Michigan U.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From All Sides (Audio CD)
From All Sides: Vince Guaraldi (greatest jazz pianist ever), and Bola Sete, brazilian jazz and samba guitartist: Even better than I was expecting. Vince and Bola manage to avoid the harmonic overload that normally occurs when guitarists and pianists get together, simply by staying out of each other's way. Vince makes this album with his (dare I say it) perfect piano playing, and his compositions and covers are always innovative and interesting, from covers of Beethoven, to "Manino Pequeno da Bateria", the little drummer boy, of "Charlie Brown's Christmas Special" fame. So yeah, it's just another Vince Guaraldi level latin jazz album, which happens to also have a great guitarist along with his usual terrific rythm section. This is an absolutely amazing album for any fan of Vince, as well as for the lover of jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Guaraldi Classic, July 19, 2002
By 
Steven R. Seim "Steve Seim" (Beaver Dam, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From All Sides (Audio CD)
"From All Sides" is not generally regarded as one of Vince Guaraldi's better recordings. I must say that I don't know why. It actually swings harder than "Vince Guaraldi, Bola Sete & Friends," and is very much the musical equal of his more esteemed efforts like "Black Orpheus" and "A Boy Named Charlie Brown." Don't pass this one by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VINCE GUARALDI / BOLA SETE- "FROM ALL SIDES", May 21, 2000
By 
luis de quesada (jamaica, new york United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From All Sides (Audio CD)
This great album featuring Guaraldi and Sete, was until recently only issued in cassette format by Fantasy. I wrote to them around 1996 asking them to re-issue these great classic recording sessions by jazz piano virtuoso Guaraldi and by whom I have chosen to refer to as Brazil's samba and bossa-nova pioneer Bola Sete. From the afro-cuban music perspective I've also chosen to call Bola Sete, Brazil's "Nin~o Rivera". Fortunately Fantasy decided to re-issue this great classic in CD format and I'm happy to see that it is greatly enjoyed by fans everywhere. Bola Sete will no longer be "underappreciated", like some suggest he was, during his brilliant but virtually unknown international music career. Guaraldi and Bola Sete, a perfect combination which should have been recorded extensively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, December 10, 2001
This review is from: From All Sides (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful collaborative effort between two great artists. Here is where you get to hear the latin influence in Vince G's stuff. He makes it work, unlike other artists whose attempts aren't quite so successful in the latin beat. Bola Sete isn't a mere fixture, but instead is a vital element in this body of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely irresistible, November 18, 2007
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: From All Sides (Audio CD)
Vince Guaraldi and Bola Sete make some pretty remarkable music on this album entitled From All Sides. This is truly one of those classic jazz albums you're bound to be listening to over and over again. Despite the fact that these numbers were recorded in the 1960s they still sound fresh and vibrant today.

The CD only has eight tracks--but what an eight tracks! "Choro" starts off the track set strong with Vince on piano and Bola on guitar. The two of them play this classic piece with panache and great sensitivity. The jazz rendition of this classic proves beyond doubt the genius of these two men. Great percussion--and I love Bola Sete's guitar solo work!

"Menino Pequeno Da Bateria" features Vince playing a tune that sounds somewhat reminiscent of the jazzy piano work he did for the "Peanuts" television specials; and Jerry Granelli is awesome on drums and percussion! "Menino Pequeno Da Bateria" is a very elegant piece of music that I predict you will enjoy very, very much.

Of course, when Bola and Vince perform their interpretation of "The Girl From Ipanema" this number takes off like a rocket! In their competent hands "The Girl From Ipanema" shines like gold and listen for Nick Martinez on drums with Monty Budwig on bass. Vince's jazzy piano playing never sounded better! In addition, listen for Vine Guaraldi and Bola Sete to give "A Taste Of Honey" the royal treatment! Although the tempo speeds up somewhat for their rendition of this tune it never feels rushed--instead we get an electric interpretation of "A Taste Of Honey" that'll leave you wanting more!

"Little Fishes" again proves that Vince and Bola could make any number into a veritable tour de force; and the closing number "Mambeando" has another electric arrangement that makes you want to jump up and dance practically wherever you are! "Mambeando" is easily another elegant highlight of this album.

The liner notes give us a great photo of Vince and Bola together; and we get a reproduction of the original liner notes by Ralph J. Gleason. We also get the song credits. Great!

Vince Guaraldi and Bola Sete were a formidable musical duo that created some of the best Latin/Brazilian jazz music--ever. Fans of this type of music will love this CD!

Great job, guys! Thank you so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great musicians, great music, April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From All Sides (Audio CD)
cant beat outstanding sounds especially f/ san francisco. lets say "sayonara", auf weidersehn or if youre chinese: zijian or words to that effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Vince Guaraldi was a genius! I purchased A Charlie Brown Christmas which was brilliant and made me want to learn more about this Jazz Great. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bossa Nova Beauty!, September 20, 2007
By 
JoeyD (los gatos, ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From All Sides (Audio CD)
This 1965 quartet session is simply sublime. Guaraldi may be best known for his music for the beloved "Peanuts" cartoons, but to me, this recording is right up there with the best of his work (i.e. "A Boy Named Charlie Brown", "The Latin Side of Vince Guaraldi", and my personal favorite "Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus" to name a few). Bola Sete, the brilliant Brazilian guitarist is a perfect fit for the lyrical trio (along with Vince, there's Fred Marshall & Monty Budwig trading off on bass w/ percussionist Jerry Granelli rounding out the group).

Any fan of jazz and/or Latin music should simply fall in love with this excellent recording. Again, out of all the magnificent work Guaraldi and his gang have put out over the years (I own nine of his CD's), I would place this particular recording just a hair below what I consider his masterpiece "Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus". It's just that special folks, and one I highly recommend adding to your collection. If you haven't heard Bola play before, you are in for quite a suprise! My favorite song is "A Taste of Honey", but every song is a beauty and special. I also really dug their version of Jobim's classic "The Girl from Ipanema", one of the best I've ever heard, and a very nice revelation indeed! Discerning ears may hear Sete just a wee bit out of rythm with Guaraldi in the first half of the song "Menino Peqeno Da Bateria" (perhaps the only minor flaw on the whole recording), but his solo mid-way through more than makes up for it.

Please give this one a shot, I promise you will have no regrets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

From All Sides
From All Sides by Vince Guaraldi (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.