Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You are a Coach or Student of NLP, Add this Book to Your Library
This book serves two audiences: 1. Coaches with a basic knowledge of NLP who would like to take their coaching practice to a whole new level and 2. Students of NLP who are looking for a fresh and organized presentation of NLP techniques.

Not all NLP techniques are covered, nor is this book to be considered an overview or introduction to NLP.

Dilts...
Published on January 15, 2008 by Roger Ellerton

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very useful
Although I truly admire Robert Dilts and his approach to NLP, this book does not offer very interesting tools that you can use in your practice or classes, I am afraid. What a pity!
Published on March 23, 2011 by Amanda


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You are a Coach or Student of NLP, Add this Book to Your Library, January 15, 2008
This review is from: From Coach to Awakener (Paperback)
This book serves two audiences: 1. Coaches with a basic knowledge of NLP who would like to take their coaching practice to a whole new level and 2. Students of NLP who are looking for a fresh and organized presentation of NLP techniques.

Not all NLP techniques are covered, nor is this book to be considered an overview or introduction to NLP.

Dilts notes that, in the past, coaching has been focused mainly on improving behavior performance through careful observation and feedback. More recently personal, executive and life coaching has evolved to provide support on a number of different levels: environment, behavior, capabilities, beliefs and values, identity and spirituality. Each level has a different focus and requires a different approach and set of tools.

Using the neurological levels, Dilts explains how your coaching style must adapt to each level: environment (caretaker or guide), behaviors (coach), capabilities (teacher), beliefs and values (mentor), identity (sponsor) and spirituality (awakener).

Each level is clearly explained together with a suggested set of tools and techniques. Many of the techniques are familiar to NLP practitioners, and there are a few new ones as well. For the student of NLP this approach helps answer an often heard question - how do I know which technique to use?

My only disappointment is that occasionally, Dilts presents a story to illustrate his point. However without a reference to its origin, you are not sure if this is fact or urban legend.

If you are serious about your coaching practice or a student of NLP, then this is a "must add" to your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent look at the NeuroLogical levels, January 4, 2008
This review is from: From Coach to Awakener (Paperback)
This is a must read book if you're either aspiring to be a life coach or have an interest in NLP. Dilts lays out and explains in detail his NeuroLogical paradigm and the different levels within it. He also provides exercises that the coach or NLP practitioner can use in his or her practices that demonstrate how each level of the neurological paradigm impacts a client.

What's really helpful as well is that Dilts shows how this paradigm relates to the coaching practice and the different types of coaching that can be done, depending on the NeuroLogical level the coach engages the client in. There is a nice balance between theory and practice, enough so that anyone who uses this book will get a lot out of it no matter what the use is for.

The only drawback to this book is a minor one, and it has more to do with the style of writing...This can be a fairly technical book to read. While Dilts does a good job of laying the concepts out, I suggest taking your time to read the book and expect to go back and reread it again. He presents a lot of information and it needs to be processed mindfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be required reading, February 3, 2013
By 
Robert McInnis (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Coach to Awakener (Paperback)
This has become my Bible for coaching and is in very high demand - I have had 5 inquires through Amazon wondering if I want to sell my copy. Dilts is a rare breed that can capture complex ideas and principles and roll the application into easily understood and repeatable action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for any people in leading positions., January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Coach to Awakener (Paperback)
All we have many potentials inside. We need to know how to explode it. If you want to move forward, these book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dilts climbs higher and higher and carries us right along with him - he is a masterful fellow climber!, September 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Coach to Awakener (Paperback)
All the leaders that came up with the technology that is the foundation of this work continued together with a growing group of "adders to" so that here in this book is the embodiment of a living process: Teach, not by talking about it and explaining it; teach by building it right in us - all the parts of us so that we know it and breathe it and do it our selves just by being part of a workshop or reading a book. WhoWoodaThoughtThatWouldWork!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, April 21, 2008
This review is from: From Coach to Awakener (Paperback)
I like all Robert Dilt's books and this is the best for me. Combine Coach with NLP. According to his neurological levels, this Coach (with capital C) cover all levels from enviroment to spiritual, the another "coach" only focuses on behavior level
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dilts approach on coaching, February 20, 2006
This review is from: From Coach to Awakener (Paperback)
This is Dilts contribution to the field of coaching. In that book, he describes how his "logical levels" of understanding and change, that he has developped from Bateson's work (1972), can be concretly used in coaching sessions.
The elegance and simplicity of Robert Dilts are often difficult to grasp in book-form, and readers who could once follow one of his seminars will be better able to gain the best out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, July 4, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Coach to Awakener (Paperback)
You already know Robert Dilts is great. I do recommend buying this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiritive book, April 10, 2004
This review is from: From Coach to Awakener (Paperback)
I am very glad to recommend this book because it is more than an handbook, it's a powerful source for who wants to be a coach nowadays.
You can improve yourself day by day in a great challenge!!
Dont't miss it...
Lorenzo Gatti- Anticipa Communication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very useful, March 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Coach to Awakener (Paperback)
Although I truly admire Robert Dilts and his approach to NLP, this book does not offer very interesting tools that you can use in your practice or classes, I am afraid. What a pity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

From Coach to Awakener
From Coach to Awakener by Robert Dilts (Paperback - May 1, 2003)
$29.95 $27.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.