Industrial-Sized Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Beach House Storm Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Shop Popular Services Home Theater Setup Plumbing Services Assembly Services Shop all tmnt tmnt tmnt  Amazon Echo Fire HD 6 Kindle Voyage The Walking Dead\ Shop Now Deal of the Day
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • From the Columbia Vaults
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

From the Columbia Vaults

2 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, July 10, 2001
"Please retry"
$21.86 $6.55

Editorial Reviews

This 25-track collection digs deep into those vaults for a bunch of songs never before on CD! Dinah was really in her prime when she recorded for Columbia; here she oh-so-effortlessly sings The Egg and I; When Am I Gonna Kiss You Good Morning?; At the Candlelight Cafe; Come Rain or Come Shine; I've Got You under My Skin; 'S Wonderful; Who'll Buy My Violets?; I Do a Little Business on the Side; The Stanley Steamer , and more.

1. Come Rain Or Come Shine
2. When A Woman Loves A Man
3. Who'll Buy My Violets?
4. (What Can I Say) After I Say I'm Sorry
5. Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man
6. Baby, Don't Be Mad At Me
7. I've Got You Under My Skin
8. St. Louis Blues
9. The Egg And I
10. When Am I Gonna Kiss You Good Morning?
11. Do A Little Business On The Side
12. (I've Been So Wrong, For So Long - But) I'm So Right Tonight
13. The Stanley Steamer
14. The Lonesome Road
15. At The Candlelight Cafe
16. My Curly Headed Baby
17. Daddy-O (I'm Gonna Teach You Some Blues)
18. Hooray For Love
19. 'S Wonderful
20. Better Luck Next Time
See all 25 tracks on this disc

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 10, 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Collectables
  • ASIN: B00005KHFO
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #417,743 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Peter Durward Harris HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWER on July 29, 2002
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
These tracks from the late 1940's (Dinah's best and most successful period) were obviously compiled by a Dinah Shore fan. You won't find Buttons and bows here, nor any of her other big hits - if you want these, you can get them all on 16 Greatest hits and 16 Greatest hits Encore!, who's 32 tracks (no duplication) between them include all Dinah's big Columbia hits. No single CD available at the time of this review contains them all.
There are several minor hits missing from those two collections. Three of them can be found here - The egg and I, When am I gonna kiss you good morning? and At the candlelight cafe, all of them making their debut on CD here. There are still some minor hits yet to appear on CD, so perhaps Collectables plan another volume some day. If they do, I'll buy it.
The songs here are mainly lush ballads of the type Dinah was so good at, with a few more upbeat songs for variety. The compiler was particularly keen to include some duets. Dinah recorded with a lot of different people. Included here are 'S wonderful (with Buddy Clark), Stanley steamer (with the Modernaires), The shoe is on the other foot (with George Morgan, perhaps best known now as the father of singer Lorrie Morgan), It's better to conceal than reveal (a novelty song with Doris Day) and Baby don't be mad at me (with the Four Hits).
This is a lovely compilation which shows just what a wonderful singer Dinah was. There were many outstanding ladies making great music in the 1940's, but Dinah was one of the most successful. It's not difficult to understand why.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By M. E. Brown on April 21, 2009
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I am a firm fan of the old music and this brought back some wonderful memories of songs that I thought I had long forgotten.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?