Customer Reviews


613 Reviews
5 star:
 (311)
4 star:
 (126)
3 star:
 (78)
2 star:
 (55)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprise
I avoided Dean for a few years - couldn't get into the sun-sensitive guy. But "From the Corner of His Eye" is horrific and spiritual all at once. You will not believe how the evil guy is finally vanquished. And yet, after reading the whole book, you might.
"From the corner of his eye" refers to God's attention on us all. The book deals with...
Published on December 26, 2000

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good
A psychotic killer who's interested in self-improvement is on the loose, and is bent on killing various gold-hearted characters, while evading the old-school PI who's on his case. The gold-hearted characters include a black woman who is raising the offspring created by her dead sister's rape, a pair of quirky brothers who fixate on different genres of mass human death, a...
Published on October 21, 2004 by Matt Hetling


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprise, December 26, 2000
By A Customer
I avoided Dean for a few years - couldn't get into the sun-sensitive guy. But "From the Corner of His Eye" is horrific and spiritual all at once. You will not believe how the evil guy is finally vanquished. And yet, after reading the whole book, you might.
"From the corner of his eye" refers to God's attention on us all. The book deals with alternate realities and how we just might be able to redeem ourselves in other, very closely aligned worlds, if not in this one.
And in Dean's vision, some are able to cross over - very briefly, very slightly - until the end, when a full-fledged visit is finally possible.
This book's a lot of fun, full of the very sympathetic and lovable characters for which he's known. He's trying to share something special with us here. I'm, for one, open to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's Back, He's Koontz and He's Wonderful!, January 2, 2001
With much misgiving I approached this new Koontz, since the last few were disappointing. Well, this one more than makes up for the gap. In this book Koontz uses his skill with characterization and gives us a jumble of characters, all realistically drawn, yet just a touch of fantastical, even magical realism to some of them.
It's a genuine book, not an "bad Army" or "bad government" book, and is quite definitely a 625 page page-turner. When the book ended I wanted more.
The only negative for this book is his scrunched ending chapters. We have come to care for these people, and he jumps ten years in about 15 pages. Even though most of the ending is pre-ordained, it would have been nice to see the characters grow.
Warning -- do NOT read the blurb on the book jacket, or it spoils a pivotal surprise. It's still exciting when it happens, but it would hae been nice to have the surprise tickle my soul.
BUY THIS BOOK! It is as wonderful as Strangers and Lightning, in a totally different sort of way, but reminiscent as strangers come together and build their community, the Koontz way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A future classic, January 1, 2001
Dean Koontz's "From the Corner of His Eye" is probably the best book ever written by a man who has had more than his share of great reads. Rare is the storyteller who excels not only at spooking us, but also at making us realize how beautiful the world and its inhabitants can be. I recommend this book whole-heartedly. Much like his other steller works, such as "Intensity" and "Lightning," Koontz takes us into the mind of an absolutely diabolical madman. However, at the other end, there are characters whose goodness makes them impossible not cheer for and care about. This novel ultimately deals with good versus evil, but other themes are present as well: dealing with loss and rediscovering faith just to name two. This may seem like too much for one novel, but Koontz weaves the story in a way that ties all ends together in a unique and interesting way. There is also a neat bit of science fiction in the novel dealing with quantum machanics. This should come as no surprise to longtime Koontz fans, as his novels have dealt with time travel in the past. ("Seize the Night" for example). However, here there are no headaches from trying to understand any theory. Koontz explans the theory in a simple and easily understandable way, as much of the explaning comes from the precocious three year olds in the novel. Again, it seems like alot, but Koontz's touch is brilliant. As I finished the book, I thought about how amazing it was that someone could think of, much less write, such a complicated story and make it smooth and endearing. Koontz quite simply has a beautiful mind. Many critics call Koontz "a poor man's King," referring to Stephen King. It should be noted that King reads and adores Koontz's work. This book shows why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...AND A CHILD SHALL LEAD THEM, January 13, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is an interesting melange of genres. It is at once mystical, suspenseful, horror filled, part sci-fi, and tinged with the supernatural. Add to this a little boy with beautiful eyes, who is a child prodigy, gifted beyond his years, and capable of entering parallel universes or realities; a child who can literally walk in the rain without getting wet. Add yet another unusually gifted child prodigy named "Angel" who was conceived out of a violent rape. Mix in the rapist, who is also a socio-pathic killer, a priest turned cop who is aware of the existence of parallel or alternate realities, because he has the ability to send inanimate objects there, and stir in a woman whose goodness is almost legendary. What do you have? You have a best seller on your hands!
The book is a very quick, easy read. You won't want to put it down. The only real criticism is the fact that about twenty five years are crammed into the last dozen pages. It is as if the author had a limit on how long the book could be and had to have it end before it exceeded the limit. Having taken about six hundred pages to get to a certain stage, it was a little jarring to go at warp speed for the last dozen pages. Still, all in all, it is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wild and exciting ride!, January 15, 2001
I often wonder from what odd corner of the brain come the plots for books by writers such as Dean Koontz. The characters and the situations in his works scare the heck out of me, and how he dreams them up is just amazing. This latest book is a typical example. It grabs the reader from the first page, and the interest and excitement doesn't let up until the end. I was so interested in finding out how the work ended that I slid over huge chunks of description, and some of the dialogue, just so that I could keep pace with the story line. There are a lot of impossible things happening, but I will credit the author with tying everything up fairly neatly at the end. Ah, the end! It's been a long time since the ending of this type of book gave me such a good feeling. Usually by the end of a thriller type work I was worn out with excitemnt. This time, I felt exhilarated, happy and hopeful, and it's a tribute to the willing suspension of disbelief that Koontz brings to his book that I was able to feel this way. Read this book, and be prepared to be frightened along the way, but redeemed by faith at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Outstanding Performance, December 26, 2000
Dean Koontz has done it again. Just when you think that all the ways to twist and turn a story have been used.....He twists it again. Junior Cain is as unnerving as Edgler Vess. Bartholomew is as complex as any character Koontz has brought to life. I usually take several days to read a book, but with this one, two sittings. I couldn't put it down. 'From the Corner of His Eye' is a must for all suspense fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, October 21, 2004
This review is from: From the Corner of His Eye (Mass Market Paperback)
A psychotic killer who's interested in self-improvement is on the loose, and is bent on killing various gold-hearted characters, while evading the old-school PI who's on his case. The gold-hearted characters include a black woman who is raising the offspring created by her dead sister's rape, a pair of quirky brothers who fixate on different genres of mass human death, a latino maid with adorably bad English, the saintly and philanthropic "Pie Lady," and a young boy who has the ability to travel between parallel dimensions. The killer seemingly kills the detective, but is then haunted by what he thinks is the ghost of the murdered man.

The Good and the Bad:

Usually, the deciding factor of a good Dean Koontz novel is whether the schmaltz outweighs the interesting plot points and supernatural occurrences. This book fails miserably, with the corny sentimentality completely overwhelming any of the potential interest in an intriguingly powerful boy. The power, incidentally, is a rehash of the power of Shep in By the Light of the Moon. The ghostly detective is interesting, but less so after we get an inside look at the ruse being pulled. We would prefer a supernatural explanation to the events; the mundane "reality" is, ironically, less realistic than a little hoodoo would have been. The death-obsessed brothers are completely unbelievable, and therefore boring. Plot threads seem pointless or undeveloped. Finally, the villain seems at a significant disadvantage, and this is never a good thing-how can one psychotic mortal hope to overcome the combined efforts of a supernatural boy, a cadre of protective adults, and a team of detectives that is closely monitoring his every move?

The good in this book is nearly completely confined to the character of the villain, whose villainy is revealed to us in a shocking and completely thrilling way. His reasoning is at once chilling and funny, and the book flows only when he the focus. The supernatural events that plague him are also fairly powerful until they are revealed as a sham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From the Corner of His Eye, February 21, 2001
By 
I have read all Mr Koontz's work, including that published under other names. I have never found Dean Koontz to be a flashy or extremely immaginative writer. What I have found him to be is absolutely reliable. He just tells a good readable story from the beginning to the middle to the end. I have never once regretted the hardcover purchase price of a Dean Koontz book. And that is high praise indeed.
This latest book, From the Corner of His Eye, is not Mr. Koontz's finest. Good and evil are too finely drawn with no in between fuzzy area where I might have felt comfortable. The evil vilian Junior Cain, a pyscho/sociopath serial killer, is so evil the only way to humanize him was to have funny things happen to him after he killed somebody. Imagine a man so rotten his own digestive system doesn't like him. The rest of the characters are so good, they are perfect, even the batty Issacson brothers pull themselves (sort of) together out of love for their sister Agnes and her astounding child Barty.
Read this book. I'm probably nitpicking here. This is a better story and Dean Koontz is a better writer than about ninety eight percent of what is out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound, Unique, and Unparalleled, July 7, 2002
By 
Taylor (Cambridge, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From the Corner of His Eye (Mass Market Paperback)
While I understand the critical reviews by other readers, I believe the issue stems from the fact that this novel is simply not typical Koontz. In my view, it is superior to his other endeavors. The main difference is this book is very spiritual. It raises many interesting and profound questions, brings to life a set of extraordinary, intriguing characters (who the reader is much better off having met), and these things take precedence over suspense and a thrilling plot.
In short my recommendation is that if you are looking for an easy thrill (not at all a bad thing to be after in Koontz) this isn't the book for you. However, if you're interested in being brought into a world of profoundly rich characters and perhaps challenged in your perceptions of the world, I strongly advise you to purchase this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another worthy Koontz thriller, December 21, 2001
This review is from: From the Corner of His Eye (Mass Market Paperback)
There was a time when I considered Dean Koontz and Stephen King to be the same type of horror writer, with Koontz's fare slightly more upbeat (or at least not as downbeat). Now, I see the differences more clearly. King may be the better writer, but Koontz is more consistently good. I can't say I've ever really been disappointed in a Koontz book, which is more than I can say for King.
Koontz is first and foremost a storyteller. If the characters are forgettable or the thematic elements sparse, you are nonetheless compelled to keep turning the pages. A week later, you may not recall exactly what all the characters were named, but while it is going on, you are having a blast.
While this may not qualify him for any great awards, it makes him a fun read. This book shows that he is not losing his touch. In addition to his usual plot elements, he cleverly takes a series of storylines and shows how certain apparent coincidences are not so accidental after all.
There is a bit of silliness about quantum physics that adds a supernatural element to the story, and the story wraps up too quickly to merit five stars (the final battle is a bit weak). But overall, if you like Koontz, you won't be disappointed. And if you've never read him, chances are you won't be disappointed either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

From the Corner of His Eye
From the Corner of His Eye by Dean Koontz (Mass Market Paperback - November 20, 2001)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.