Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fine compilation of love songs from the great Donny Osmond
From Donny With Love is a great Donny Osmond album that features Donny front and center--and that's right where he belongs! Donny sings wonderfully on his new CD and this is an album his fans will definitely want for their collections. The sound quality is excellent and the artwork is very nicely done.

"Puppy Love" starts off the track set with Donny sounding...
Published on April 22, 2008 by Matthew G. Sherwin

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars osmond
Bought for my 84 year old mother-in-law. Need I say more? Not my vintage music.
Published on January 29, 2009 by Collene


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fine compilation of love songs from the great Donny Osmond, April 22, 2008
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: From Donny With Love (Audio CD)
From Donny With Love is a great Donny Osmond album that features Donny front and center--and that's right where he belongs! Donny sings wonderfully on his new CD and this is an album his fans will definitely want for their collections. The sound quality is excellent and the artwork is very nicely done.

"Puppy Love" starts off the track set with Donny sounding his very best! Donny sings this with great sensitivity and that's grand. The music that accompanies him fits just right with his vocals, too. "How Deep Is Your Love" gives us Donny doing a sublime cover of this tune by The Bee Gees; Donny sings this flawlessly and the backup vocalists do a fine job of harmonizing. Great!

"Could It Be I'm Falling In Love" by The Spinners is yet another excellent cover by Donny; he performs this with panache and I could listen to this over and over again--it's all THAT good. I bet The Spinners would be proud to hear Donny's interpretation of this love song! In addition, there's also "The Twelfth Of Never;" I first heard this when Johnny Mathis sang it; Donny Osmond makes this his own by playing a bit with the tempo and he adds a few key changes to make this sound wonderful.

"How Long" showcases Donny's awesome ability to belt out a lone song and make it very pretty at the same time. His voice is rather rich and very warm; this works wonders for love songs like this one.

"This Guy's In Love With You" is a stunning Burt Bacharach melody that gets the royal treatment from Donny Osmond. Donny sings this with heart and soul and just one listen proves it! Similarly, "What I Meant To Say" is another highlight of this album; the percussion marks the beat and Donny gives this all his might. It's very beautiful.

"I Can See Clearly Now" has a backup chorus to bolster Donny's performance--not that he needed it; but it still works well for "I Can See Clearly Now." This song, previously sung so well by Jimmy Cliff, shines like silver and gold when Donny sings it. "When I Fall In Love" places Donny front and center--right where he belongs! Donny slows the tempo down a bit; this is perfect music for slow dancing in your living room late at night with your sweetheart.

The CD closes so well with Donny Osmond performing "You Are So Beautiful." This has a lush musical arrangement and the strings are used to great advantage. "You Are So Beautiful" has been performed by the great Joe Cocker; but when Donny Osmond sings it there's a whole new glow to it that amazes me.

In case you haven't noticed by now, I'm a big fan of Donny Osmond and this latest CD from him really impresses me greatly. I highly recommend this for Donny's fans and people who love classic love songs will always want this album as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value For Money, June 2, 2008
By 
Roni (Singapore) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Donny With Love (Audio CD)
Love Songs of the '70s
What I Meant to Say
This Is the Moment
Somewhere in Time

"From Donny with Love" is a compilation of Donny Osmond's last few albums, starting from 2001 - "This Is The Moment" to 2007's "Love Songs of the 70's. Since I have all four albums and reviewed all the said albums, I will post those reviews here.

"This Is The Moment" - released in 2001

I had this album with me for years and I still absolutely love this album - really!

"This Is the Moment" is an album of Broadway songs and it is beautifully crafted with lush, contemporary musical productions.

Donny defines these Broadway songs his own way. The songs are creatively, passionately, enthusiastically, and if the song calls for it, sometimes, humorously translated, making it a an interesting and delightful adventure for the listener.

Get this album because you love Broadway songs!
Get this album because you are a Donny Osmond fan!
Get this album because you love great music!
Get this album because there is something here for everyone!

"Somewhere In Time" - released in 2003

"Somewhere In Time" is the album just after Donny recorded "This Is the Moment" in 2001. It contains some of Donny's own favourite songs. It also contains the most gorgoes song selections of the past.

Donny's vocal touch renders these songs new and special again.

Some mention:

- All Out Of Love: Contemporary but even more beautiful than Air Supply's version

- After The Love Has Gone: A very nice and classy Donny's spin to a Earth, Wind and Fire song.

- I'm Not In Love : Gorgeous, Simply Gorgeous!!!

- Puppy Love : An accoustic version of a hit song that Donny covered as a teenager.

- Don't Give Up On Us Baby: Oooh......Donny put new soul into this song.

However, having said that, the whole album is worth countless listens to. Donny's voice has matured, his style is smooth, and he gives "current" artists a run for their money!!!

- "What I Meant To Say - Released in 2005

I love Donny's cover versions of "Right Here Waiting" and "This guy's in Love with You", which Donny recorded in his younger days. It demonstrates just how far Donny has come.

I love the songs that Donny co-wrote with a number of people. Where it used to be that Donny usually sang songs written by others (with the exception of a few), with this cd, Donny has come into his own to include composer to his list of talents as a singer and musician.

Buy this cd. If you are not a fan of Donny, you will after purchasing this cd.

- "Love Song of the 70s" - released in 2007

I absolutely love it. I love his renditions of the songs. He put his own spin to these songs and his renditions are either superior or equal to the originals.

I have always hated the song "When I Need You" regardless of who sings it but Donny actually made me love the song. It sounds terrific now.

Donny Osmond is timeless. I have enjoyed listening to his songs and his voice through the years and I know many others have too and we will most certainly continue enjoy litening to them.

His talent and his ability as a musician cannot be disputed. I mean how many musicians do you know can play as many instruments as Donny Osmond can? He plays 26 instruments - fluently. Donny Osmond is a musician in all sense of the word!!!

There are some here who are accusing Donny of ripping customers off. Well, I do not feel ripped off.

Donny didn't make this album to rip anyone off. Doony Osmond recorded this album because:
- he is a musician,
- he is a recording artist, and
- he did it for his fans.

"From Donny With Love "contains 18 songs from these four albums, so if you haven't got all of them, I do recommend that you get this album. It is value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good...but the UK Version is bettter..., May 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Donny With Love (Audio CD)
A very nice compilation of Donny's recent recordings for Decca, including good remakes of "Puppy Love" and "The Twelth of Never." Totally enjoyable, yet WHY DID UNIVERSAL NOT INCLUDE THE BONUS, PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED TRACK that is present on the British version of this disc? It makes NO SENSE whatsover! The UK version of this release has 20 songs, one being a live track, previously unreleased. WHY OF WHY OH WHY did Universal in the US decide to omit that track? Especially that track? I recommend this disc, but spend an extra dollar or two and get the import..BUY THE UK VERSION..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DONNY'S SINGING ABILITY IS VASTLY UNDERRATED..., May 1, 2008
This review is from: From Donny With Love (Audio CD)
... in fact, I'd even go so far as to compare him to someone who is universally regarded as one of the greatest male pop singers ever - George Michael. Donny's singing style is very similar, except that he sounds like GM's hetero counterpart, being somewhat less feminine-sounding. Perhaps DO should consider recording a duet with GM - with the right song (like maybe a horn-heavy, dance-enhanced version of Sam & Dave's "Hold On, I'm Comin'"), it could make for a momentous occasion in pop music history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donny's better than ever..., April 29, 2008
By 
This review is from: From Donny With Love (Audio CD)
"From Donny with Love" showcases Osmond's range with everything from jazz to pop standards, as well as, lilting ballads. You certainly don't have to be over 40 to appreciate his voice, which has grown stronger and richer through the years. Surprises like "Seasons of Love" and "What I Meant to Say" make for some great listening...He just keeps getting better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Cd From Donny, May 30, 2008
This review is from: From Donny With Love (Audio CD)
Here it is Donny Osmond new cd simply called From Donny With Love. Buy it cause you will love it.

Rondall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, as expected from Donny, May 20, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Donny With Love (Audio CD)
I love this CD. Donny gets better and better with age. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys GOOD music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing CD, June 16, 2008
By 
R. Johnson (Glasgow,MT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Donny With Love (Audio CD)
Donny Osmond's voice has improved to a velvet musical instrument. I love the guitar accompianment on "They call it Puppy Love". Way to go Donny. I appreciate the number of songs on the CD and the new songs with the old....it made it worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd!, June 15, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Donny With Love (Audio CD)
From Donny With Love is a great showcase for Donny's talent!! It includes Donny's signature song "Puppy Love" and other love songs from the 70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Donny Osmond CD titled "From Donny with Love", November 30, 2008
This review is from: From Donny With Love (Audio CD)
Pretty good CD..I was surprised that his voice is still so great and the songs are all good. I would recommend for any Donny or Osmond fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

From Donny With Love
From Donny With Love by Donny Osmond (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.