Customer Reviews


402 Reviews
5 star:
 (209)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great exploitation film. Repeat: EXPLOITATION!
A lot of folks have trouble with this film. They are turned off by the over-the-top violence, mayhem, and sex. What they don't understand is that it is nothing more than a really well-made exploitation film. Remember those? Movies which had no higher agenda than providing plenty of fun, cheap thrills, like gratuitous sex and violence? Many of them were made in...
Published on October 28, 1999 by Captain Opinionated

versus
138 of 161 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "From Dusk" gets the shaft on Blu-Ray courtesy of Echo Bridge; pick up the Alliance Canadian Blu-Ray, which has way superior A/V
"From Dusk 'Till Dawn" is not a great film by any means, but it is entertaining...up to a point. The first half of the film is an effective, stylish and creepy noir/suspense film, with director Robert Rodriguez showing uncharacteristic restraint in his film direction. Clooney and (surprisingly) Tarantino are good in their roles, and play off of each other well...
Published on April 11, 2011 by Hugo D. Hackenbush


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great exploitation film. Repeat: EXPLOITATION!, October 28, 1999
By 
Captain Opinionated (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
A lot of folks have trouble with this film. They are turned off by the over-the-top violence, mayhem, and sex. What they don't understand is that it is nothing more than a really well-made exploitation film. Remember those? Movies which had no higher agenda than providing plenty of fun, cheap thrills, like gratuitous sex and violence? Many of them were made in the late '60s and throughout the '70s? Like Women In Prison films? Blaxploitation? Car-racing movies? Slasher films? Russ Meyer movies? Anyone? Well, for those who DO remember, and who don't need every flick they see to contain lofty statements about the nature of mankind and the universe, you will love this movie. The cast is great: I mean, come on, Harvey Keitel, Juliette Lewis, Fred Williamson... even Quentin, who can't act, is utilized effectively. Clooney has a great role which no one seemed to appreciate, Hayek does a lewd dance with a snake which will make your shorts explode, and Cheech Marin is, as always, a laugh riot. This film is at fever pitch every step of the way and contains plenty of Rodriguez camera-acrobatics and clever Tarantino dialogue. Please understand, people, this film IS trash. Good, fun, doesn't-take-itself-at-all-seriously trash! God love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


138 of 161 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "From Dusk" gets the shaft on Blu-Ray courtesy of Echo Bridge; pick up the Alliance Canadian Blu-Ray, which has way superior A/V, April 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"From Dusk 'Till Dawn" is not a great film by any means, but it is entertaining...up to a point. The first half of the film is an effective, stylish and creepy noir/suspense film, with director Robert Rodriguez showing uncharacteristic restraint in his film direction. Clooney and (surprisingly) Tarantino are good in their roles, and play off of each other well. Unfortunately, the second half of the film becomes increasingly silly, as Robert Rodriguez succumbs to his fetish for over-the-top action and cartoonish violence, quickly undoing all the creepy suspense that was so carefully built up over the film's first half and settling for a parody-like tone for the rest of the film.

If done right, over-the-top horror film parodies can be very entertaining, as the first two "Evil Dead" films show. However, that sort of tone usually works best in a short feature format (such as the "Tales From The Crypt" television series). If the film is to be feature length, then a good deal of imagination is needed to sustain interest, otherwise a sense of a fatigue sets in. It is imagination that makes the "Evil Dead" films work as well as they do, and is what's missing in "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" (endless vampire explosions notwithstanding).

Still, if you're a "B-Movie" horror fan, the film definitely has its moments; besides the two leads, there's a great supporting cast (put together especially for genre fans), fun (albeit goofy) make-up effects, plenty of scantily-clad women, and buckets of fake blood, making the film an acceptable (if padded out) "B" genre film. Overall, a three-star film (out of five).

Regarding the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release, it is truly a lazy catalog release title, if I've ever seen one. Currently available exclusively at Best Buy stores (but not on Best Buy's online website), I picked this up for ten bucks less than a week ago, and have already decided to get my money back (the Blu-Ray will see a general release in stores on May 3rd).

Presented in the incorrect film aspect ratio of 1.78:1 (from the film's original 1.85:1), the picture quality of the Echo Bridge transfer is a wildly inconsistent mess. A few scenes here and there look very good. However, most of the time the picture quality is soft and murky-looking, giving the film a dull, flat look. Colors tend to look unnatural and overly-saturated. The picture has plenty of digital artifacting and is riddled throughout with edge enhancement, killing off fine background detail. Blacks come off as strong but shapeless, crushing any detail thanks to the transfer's murkiness. I've read by some that DNR was occasionally an issue with the transfer; personally, I didn't see it, but I think we can all agree that even if DNR has been used, it is the least of problems for Echo Bridge's Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn".

As a result of my disappointment with the Echo Bridge release, based on the good reviews I've read online, I decided to take a chance and order online the Canadian Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" from Alliance. Now, I must confess that I'm not very big on importing Canadian Blu-Ray's, and I've heard fairly crummy things about Canadian distributer Alliance's Blu-Ray releases. Well, after a side-by-side comparison, there is simply no contest: in every respect, the Alliance Blu-Ray release is superior to the Echo Bridge U.S. release.

The picture of the Alliance disc is sharp throughout, without any of the murkiness and softness that plagues the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray. Colors pop but maintain a natural look, blacks are strong without being crushing, and neither DNR or edge enhancement are anywhere to be found. Regarding the audio, both the Echo Bridge and Alliance versions contain a DTS-HD 5.1 audio mix (ignore the notation of 2.0 stereo on the cover of the EB release of "From Dusk", as it's a misprint). My initial (and rather quick) comparison did not find much difference between the Alliance and Echo Bridge releases. However, a second, deeper comparison revealed there was indeed a difference between the two soundtracks, and once again, Alliance came out ahead. Surround was more expansive throughout with stronger panning effects, and bass was definitely more present. In fact, about the only thing the two releases have in common is a complete lack of extras.

Overall, while the Alliance transfer is not quite demo quality, it is a vast improvement over the Echo Bridge release, and a commendable hi-def transfer for a catalog title (In fact, I'd go so far as to say that the Alliance transfer of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" even trumps Lionsgate's recent U.S. Blu-Ray releases of the "Scream" trilogy, which were all flat-looking and had far too much edge enhancement for my tastes). Only the complete lack of extras prevents me from giving the Alliance Blu-Ray release a four-star review.

So, to sum up: since both Blu-Rays are competitively priced and available right here on Amazon.com, I recommend that casual and hardcore fans skip the U.S. Echo Bridge release and pick up the Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray release. Is the picture quality on the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray disc better than the Miramax DVD? Sure...and for all my complaints, it's not the worst transfer that I've seen on Blu-Ray (check out "Five Corners" and "Lars and The Real Girl" to see truly terrible Blu-Ray transfers). However, considering the fact that a far superior three-year-old Blu-Ray transfer already exists elsewhere, there is simply no excuse for the existence of this poor Blu-Ray release, which is why I give Echo Bridge's Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" a one-star (out of five) review.

Of course, true fans will also need to pick up (or hang on to) the Miramax two-disc DVD set, with all of its top-notch bonus features, including the feature-length making-of doc, "Full Tilt Boogie", audio commentary with Rodriguez and Tarantino, deleted scenes and outtakes, a special effects doc and more (I do not recommend that DVD set for casual fans, as the picture is presented in non-anamorphic widescreen).

Between this and the shamelessly cheap Blu-Ray release of "Halloween: H20", I'm going to take a pass on future offerings from Echo Bridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "If you make a noise, Mr. 44 makes a noise...", November 7, 2003
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (DVD)
Having trouble finding a good vampire flick that's exciting and scary? Looking for something that doesn't abide by regular horror genera rules? "From Dusk Till Dawn" may be the one to choose. With a sizzling screenplay by Quentin Tarantino and perfectly directed by Robert Rodriguez, this is a horror/thriller to remember.
The Gecko brothers are two extremely violent criminals who end up taking a family hostage. The family is forced to drive the notorious brothers to the end of the border. They end up making a pit stop at a Mexican bar, where the brothers are supposed to meet their contact. However, things get out of hand when it turns out that the place is contaminated with vampire strippers and truckers. You add all of those elements together and you get one hell of a ride that you'll never forget.
I'm not the biggest fan of vampires, but I thought this was an EXCELLENT movie. It's unpredictable and exhilarating. You have no idea where the movie will take you until it's all said and done. This is not your ordinary vampire flick, and that's what makes this movie so great. It's a breath of fresh air and so much more.
The acting really makes the movie what it is. George Clooney gives a remarkable performance (this was before he was the big star that he is today). Quentin Tarantino does a great job of contributing dark and chaotic humor to the film with his role. Other major players include Harvey Keitel, Juliet Lewis, Cheech Marin and plenty more. The screenplay by Tarantino is great and never misses a beat. It's packed with snappy dialogue that one would not expect to hear in a horror movie. Rodriguez does an exceptional job of directing as well.
I don't have the fully loaded version of the movie, so I am stuck with the plain version for now. The picture quality looks pretty good, considering that it isn't enhanced for widescreen TVs. The sound is really lacking, though. I had to keep fumbling around with the volume controls throughout the movie, as it kept going from being quiet to extremely loud. That might be reason enough to get the Collector's Edition of the film. A theatrical trailer and teaser trailer are both included on the DVD, but those are the only extra features you'll find on this DVD version.
"From Dusk Till Dawn" is a wildly entertaining flick that really stands out from the others. It has some extremely funny moments, as well as some very scary and exciting sequences. This movie pretty much has it all. If you're looking for a horror/thriller movie that isn't like the rest, give this one a try. This is definitely one of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Do "Dawn", April 20, 2011
Miserable Blu Ray release of a great movie. The picture is cropped from its original aspect ratio, the sound is sub-par, and the picture quality is all over the map. There are moments when the picture is stellar, especially during the beginning moments of the film in the outdoors. Colors pop and the picture is crisp and clear, but then it will suddenly change to something comparable to VHS.

Extras? Forget it! Nothing...zero...zilch.

It's a shame that one of Miramax's best titles wound up in the hands of this company, who produced such a horribly shoddy transfer of this film. Skip it and stick with your DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Zero effort put into this release and it shows, May 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this movie on blu-ray because it was cheap and I never owned the DVD. As I was opening the package I noticed an unfamiliar name: Echo Bridge Home Entertainment. If what I saw with this release is indicative of their other releases, do yourself a favor and steer clear. If you want this movie with a decent quality transfer and NOTHING else, then this may work well for you. However, know that it really has nothing else going for it. The disc looks cheaply made and actually has the UPC on it (never seen that one before). The menu is very minimalistic, just like the rest of the disc. The only two options are to play the movie and select scenes (the scene selector is painfully slow, by the way). There are no special features whatsoever (not even a trailer, which was considered pathetic even for a DVD). There aren't even subtitles or other languages. And these remain the same two options during movie playback, just play and scene selection. Plus the menu is so poorly designed that if you hit play again during the movie, where common sense says the movie would pause, it actually starts all over; first taking you back to the unskippable MPAA rating info and Miramax logo.

All in all, it's safe to say that Echo Bridge did not put any effort into this release, and personally I feel if some kid was making a bootleg of this movie, he'd do a better job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No extras, but this Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray release trumps the U.S. Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release in every respect, April 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"From Dusk 'Till Dawn" is not a great film by any means, but it is entertaining...up to a point. The first half of the film is an effective, stylish and creepy noir/suspense film, with director Robert Rodriguez showing uncharacteristic restraint in his film direction. Clooney and (surprisingly) Tarantino are good in their roles, and play off of each other well. Unfortunately, the second half of the film becomes increasingly silly, as Robert Rodriguez succumbs to his fetish for over-the-top action and cartoonish violence, quickly undoing all the creepy suspense that was so carefully built up over the film's first half and settling for a parody-like tone for the rest of the film.

If done right, over-the-top horror film parodies can be very entertaining, as the first two "Evil Dead" films show. However, that sort of tone usually works best in a short feature format (such as the "Tales From The Crypt" television series). If the film is to be feature length, then a good deal of imagination is needed to sustain interest, otherwise a sense of a fatigue sets in. It is this imagination that makes the "Evil Dead" films work, and is what's missing in "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" (endless vampire explosions notwithstanding).

Still, if you're a "B-Movie" horror fan, the film definitely has its moments; besides the two leads, there's a great supporting cast (put together especially for genre fans), fun (albeit goofy) make-up effects, plenty of scantily-clad women, and buckets of fake blood, making the film an acceptable (if padded out) "B" genre film. Overall, a three-star film (out of five).

Regarding the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release, that is truly a lazy catalog release title, if I've ever seen one. Currently available exclusively at Best Buy stores (but not on Best Buy's online website), I picked this up for ten bucks less than a week ago, and have already decided to get my money back (the Blu-Ray will see a general release in stores on May 3rd).

Presented in the incorrect film aspect ratio of 1.78:1 (from the film's original 1.85:1), the picture quality of the Echo Bridge transfer is a wildly inconsistent mess. A few scenes here and there look very good. However, most of the time the picture quality is soft and murky-looking, giving the film a dull, flat look. Colors tend to look unnatural and overly-saturated. The picture has plenty of digital artifacting and is riddled throughout with edge enhancement, killing off fine background detail. Blacks come off as strong but shapeless, crushing any detail thanks to the transfer's murkiness. I've read by some that DNR was occasionally an issue with the transfer; personally, I didn't see it, but I think we can all agree that even if DNR has been used, it is the least of problems for Echo Bridge's Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn".

As a result of the good reviews I've read online, I decided to order online the Canadian Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" from Alliance. Now, I must confess that I'm not very big on importing Canadian Blu-Ray's, and I've heard fairly crummy things about Canadian distributer Alliance's Blu-Ray releases. Well, after a side-by-side comparison, there is simply no contest: in every respect, the Alliance Blu-Ray release is superior to the Echo Bridge U.S. release.

The picture of the Alliance disc is sharp throughout, without any of the murkiness and softness that plagues the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray. Colors pop but maintain a natural look, blacks are strong without being crushing, and neither DNR or edge enhancement are anywhere to be found. Regarding the audio, both the Echo Bridge and Alliance versions contain a DTS-HD 5.1 audio mix. My initial (and rather quick) comparison did not find much difference between the Alliance and Echo Bridge releases. However, a second, deeper comparison revealed there was indeed a difference between the two soundtracks, and once again, Alliance came out ahead. Surround was more expansive throughout with stronger panning effects, and bass was definitely more present. In fact, about the only thing the two releases have in common is a complete lack of extras.

Overall, while the Alliance transfer is not quite demo quality, it is a vast improvement over the Echo Bridge release, and a commendable hi-def transfer for a catalog title (In fact, I'd go so far as to say that the Alliance transfer of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" even trumps Lionsgate's recent U.S. Blu-Ray releases of the "Scream" trilogy, which were all flat-looking and had far too much edge enhancement for my tastes). Only the complete lack of extras prevents me from giving the Alliance Blu-Ray release a four-star review.

So, to sum up: for casual and hardcore fans, skip the U.S. Echo Bridge release and pick up the Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray, which can be had right here on Amazon.com for roughly the same price (or slightly more). Of course, true fans will also need to pick-up (or hang on to) the Miramax two-disc DVD set, with all of its top-notch bonus features, including the feature length making-of doc, "Full Tilt Boogie", audio commentary with Rodriguez and Tarantino, deleted scenes and outtakes, a special effects doc and more (I do not recommend that DVD set for casual fans, as the picture is presented in non-anamorphic widescreen).

Maybe someday the fabulous bonus features from the two-disc DVD "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" release will finally be married to a worthy film presentation, such as this Alliance Blu-Ray. For now, fans of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" can only hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You're telling me I'm not good enough to drink here?!", March 8, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've seen quite a few films featuring writer/producer/director/actor (that last credit is given grudgingly) Quentin Tarantino's involvement in some form or other, my favorite being True Romance (1993) and my least favorite being Natural Born Killers (1994), both of which he wrote. One thing I've noticed throughout is Tarantino must be one of the biggest movie fans (he seems to thrive on the exploitive) I've ever seen, perhaps even bigger than me. How do I figure this? Because his films seem to be comprised of many other films, hucking parts of them into a blender, adding a dose of his own, skewed originality, a pinch of spunk (figuratively or literally, whichever you prefer), and hitting purée. Many adore him, many hate him (I fall somewhere in-between), but for me, he does entertain, and what more could you ask (a lot, I suppose, but you probably ain't gonna get it)? From Dusk Till Dawn (1996) features a screenplay by Quentin Tarantino, and directed by Robert Rodriguez (Desperado, Sin City). The film stars George Clooney (O Brother, Where Art Thou?), Harvey Keitel (The Piano), Juliette Lewis (What's Eating Gilbert Grape), and Tarantino himself. Also appearing is a myriad of notables including the very curvaceous Salma Hayek (Frida), Cheech Marin (The Shrimp on the Barbie), character actor Danny Trejo (Con Air), special effects artist and actor Tom Savini (Dawn of the Dead), 70's blaxploitation star Fred Williamson (Hell Up in Harlem, Black Caesar), Michael Parks (Escape from Bogen County), John Saxon (Enter the Dragon), and Kelly Preston (Mischief).

The film begins with two brothers, Seth (Clooney) and Richard (Tarantino) Gecko, on the run from the law. Seems these two have been very bad boys, first robbing a bank, and then killing a number of law enforcement agents during their escape (the brothers being the ones escaping, not the law enforcement agents...geez, why would law enforcement agents be trying to escape? Stay with me here). As we spend time with the brothers, we learn that the killings probably occurred at the hands of Richard, as he seems to be on the violent and unstable side (great combo, by the way), while Seth appears to be the brains, and possessing a much more firm grasp on reality. Anyway, the boys make it to Texas, their intent being to take the money from the bank job and live a life of luxury south of the border. Only problem is the law enforcement types, especially angered at the death of a few of their own, have thrown up a dragnet, and are closing in on the pair. Seeing their chances of making it across the border on their own ranging from slim to none (and slim just left town), the pair hitches a ride with Jakob Fuller (Keitel), his daughter Kate (Lewis), and Jakob's adopted son, in the family's recreational vehicle. The group does manage to slip through the border, and end up in the seediest biker bar you'll ever see, where Seth and Richard await contact with an associate who'll take them to the promised land, that is if they can survive the night as the bar turns out to be the equivalent of a vampiric roach motel, humans check in, but they don't check out.

I can see where this film might put some off, and I'm not just talking about the copious amounts of graphic violence (the film was actually toned down in this regard, if you can believe it. Look for the deleted scenes in the special features section to see what was cut). The movie starts off as one film (and action-type thriller), and then about an hour in, breaks off into an entirely different film (vampires, and those who kill them). The transition isn't entirely seamless, but I went with it anyway. Probably the best element in the film is George Clooney, as he not only has many of the best lines, but also delivers them in a convincing manner. Harvey Keitel is certain worth watching, yet he seemed to take his part just a bit too seriously at times, in my opinion, but this was offset by Clooney and his underlying jovialness. Lewis, whom I don't care for in general, did alright, and actually looked kinda cute, albeit a trifle skinny for my tastes. Tarantino was probably the weakest element in the film, but at least he and director Rodriguez had the good sense to populate the film with enough talent to offset this factor. If you're not a fan of the graphic violence, then you should avoid this one, as its loaded with visceral goriness (I read they decided to go with green blood for the vampires as to get much of the violence past the censors). I thought the direction by Rodriguez to be very strong, as he kept the film rolling along at a swift pace, and set the mood wonderfully not only with well thought out shots, but also a lot of interesting and applicable musical selections. I especially liked the song played during Selma Hayek's seductive dance routine. It was as beautiful as the actress herself...and speaking of Hayek, I don't think I've ever seen anyone fill out a bikini as well as she does...that scene might be worth the price of the disk alone.

The non-anamorphic widescreen (1.85:1) picture is very good, and the audio is superior. Special features include a commentary track by Tarantino and Rodriguez, along with ads, two music videos, outtakes, three featurettes, still gallery, deleted/alternate scenes, and cast/crew bios. Also included is a 2nd DVD with a full-length feature titled Full Tilt Boogie, a film shot during the shooting schedule of From Dusk Till Dawn. The film was followed by two direct to video sequels, From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money (1999) and From Dusk Till Dawn 3: The Hangman's Daughter (2000). There is a box set with all these movies, but compare the price against the individual releases (I think the latter is cheaper).

Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMO... The best Vampire movie ever., April 19, 2000
By 
Rein Engel (Virginia - USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (DVD)
I first caught this movie from the opening credits, right after the "World O Liquor" get's blown up, and was hooked. For me this movie was different from anything else I have ever seen. It starts out setting up a kidnapping plot, but takes such a sharp turn in the middle of the movie, you're left breathless. Another thing I really liked was the fact that all you're good guys don't save the day and walk out of the movie breathing, only Seth and Kate remain, which played for a really cool ending. The soundtrack is also kewl, I found the cover theme "Dark Night" by The Blasters to be a very good song, as most made-for-movie songs are not.
You really should pick this movie up or at least rent it. You'll find it a very different film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a really COOL movie, September 14, 2004
By 
David Girod (Westminster, Maryland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Is it horror....is it action.....what is this? I don't care, all I know is that this is a really cool flick! The opening dialogue between the Texas Ranger and the unfortunate store clerk is worth the price of the disk alone! I can't believe there are reviewers here who say that this story isn't original! Please name one other movie that mixes so many genre's together in such a successful way??!! When I first heard about "Dusk" I didn't have much hope for it, I mean let's face at the time this was released Clooney was still doing "ER", and basically any movie starring one of NBC's stars from a "Must See TV" show was to be avoided like the plague, "Fools Rush In" with Mathew Perry, or "Ed" with Matt LeBlanc anyone?? So I went to see "Dusk" with some reservation, and I was immediately blown away. I won't go into much detail about the film, because if you don't know what it's about....then buy it and watch without reading further!! Suffice to say, it will be money well spent, and you will get quite a few hours of entertainment from the film and it's extras. If you like horror films, you are gonna like this...Tom Savini's cameo is a real treat. If you like action, cops & robbers shoot 'em ups, you will like this as well. This may be one of the most original movies to pour out of Hollywood in the 90's, and one you shouldn't miss. Go into it with an open mind, and yes there is gore aplenty, but if you are familiar with Tarantino that shouldn't come as any surprise and does not get in the way of the story, any more than the blood quotient affected "Kill Bill". Just sit back and enjoy this bizarre and horrifying journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Movie with plenty of DVD Extras, October 17, 2001
By 
SS-3 (Jackson, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This movie starts out as an outlaw type movie with two guys on the run. It definitely has the feel of Pulp Fiction in certain scenes early on in the movie. George Clooney and Quentin Tarantino are that their best in this movie. The story is excellent and moves along at a good pace. There are plenty of sub plots and decent character development. Things really pickup and take a different turn at the bar in Mexico. The movie then switches to horror mode. There is plenty of dark humor throughout this movie and it is very original. The acting is superb from the entire cast and the movie is very enjoyable to watch. This movie is not for children or the faint of heart since there is plenty of violence and gore. This is definitely George Clooney's best piece of work other than O'Brother Where Art Thou. As for Quentin Tarantino this is his best work other than Pulp Fiction. The 5.1 Dolby audio track is spacious and the rear channels as well as the sub woofer are utilized frequently throughout the movie. The Non-Anamorphic widescreen transfer is above average with only slight color bleeding and only in the darkest scenes. There are plenty of extras with this version. The second disk contains the documentary Full Tilt Boogie. It is approximately 90 minutes long and very interesting. It presents the making of the movie from various aspects such as Assistant Director, Grips, and even the food service crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

From Dusk Till Dawn
From Dusk Till Dawn by George Clooney (DVD - 2011)
Used & New from: $1.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.