Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very funny 50's horror film
All of the other reviewers have a point - check out the prices at Warner first because you will never pay more than twenty dollars on that site per title. Chances are you will pay less because they always have some type of promotion going on. Do note that Warner Bros. has a minimum of sixty dollars in merchandise for free shipping, Deep Discount has none, and Amazon has a...
Published on October 3, 2009 by calvinnme

versus
31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RATING BASED UPON MANUFACTURE OF DISC
I gave this title a one star rating due to the manufacture quality
of the disc(s), not based upon the actual content of the disc(s).
I recently purchased five Warner Archive titles from [...]
Titles purchased were: All The Marbles, Bermuda Depths, Carny,
From Hell It Came and Razorback. On the back cover of each disc it states,
Discs are for use...
Published on September 3, 2009 by Sultan Of Sway


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RATING BASED UPON MANUFACTURE OF DISC, September 3, 2009
I gave this title a one star rating due to the manufacture quality
of the disc(s), not based upon the actual content of the disc(s).
I recently purchased five Warner Archive titles from [...]
Titles purchased were: All The Marbles, Bermuda Depths, Carny,
From Hell It Came and Razorback. On the back cover of each disc it states,
Discs are for use in playback only devices. All five of these discs would
not function correctly. What I mean is that the menu would not come up
on any of them. The screen would just show black with no picture until
I skipped forward to approx 30 to 50 minutes into the film. Then I had
to fast reverse search back to the start of the movie. Upon doing this
the films/discs then played through the films. Quality of the films
themselves I feel is very good. I attempted playback on five different
brands of DVD players with the exact same result. It would seem these M.O.D.
(Manufactured On Demand) titles are either so heavily encrypted with
Macrovision or just so poorly manufactured that playback is very frustrating.
Cover art is extremely lacking in photos and design layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very funny 50's horror film, October 3, 2009
All of the other reviewers have a point - check out the prices at Warner first because you will never pay more than twenty dollars on that site per title. Chances are you will pay less because they always have some type of promotion going on. Do note that Warner Bros. has a minimum of sixty dollars in merchandise for free shipping, Deep Discount has none, and Amazon has a minimum of fifty dollars, just in case there is only one title you are interested in. Warner Bros. sells these archive products exclusively for three months and then other retailers can join in, but always for more than what Warner will ask if you buy directly from them.

As for the reviewer that had all the trouble playing discs, I have never had that problem and I own more than forty of these discs by now. I've had one disc that froze - Nora Prentiss, a few with audio problems - Dream Wife, The First Auto, and Carbine Williams, and jumps in the video in a couple from which I really can't determine the origin - that is, it could be the master not the DVD-R itself causing the problem. I'd say that about 90% of them play trouble free with only minor age-related defects rather than manufacturing ones.

As for this film, if you love the old Sunday horror matinees with 50's and 60's B titles such as "Island of Terror" AKA "Night of the Silicates", "Hypnotic Eye", and "Wasp Woman" you'll really like this one about a vengeful tree trunk stalking Pacific Islanders. It can only move at a snail's pace, so you can easily get away. Yet all of the victims stand there screaming until it gets them. Hilarious. The quality of the video and audio is good on this one. Just don't go to that well known internet movie database and believe the low rating if you're a 50's sci-fi and horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars From Hell It Came, February 18, 2010
By 
Barney's Brother (Tallahassee, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Hell it Came (DVD)
The movie is great but the disc quality is zero. I had high hopes for this on DVD for a widescreen format and better clarity than the VHS. That I got, but... I got two of these from Amazon. The first disc froze up up at 1:18 min. into the movie.I returned this and Amazon was good enough to send a replacement. This one also froze up on screen, but about 2:51 into the movie. I played the dics in 5 different DVD players--all different makes and models, including one on a laptop computer, and the problem occurred on every one of them,so I know the problem was with the discs. So, unfortunately, I had to return the replacement disc as well. It would seem Amazon has a bad batch of these discs. Hopefully, the problem will be corrected. I would love to get a good-quality DVD of this movie. If anyone knows a source, please let me know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and It should go back there! * 1/2 (1/2 * * * ), September 19, 2010
By 
Konrei "Everything I need is right here" (Boca Raton, Florida and Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Hell it Came (DVD)
This is one of "those" classic one and a half star Saturday night Creature Features, the kind of movie that's so bad it's good.

Meet Tabonga. Looking something like Tolkien's Treebeard with a killer hangover, he used to be a Polynesian prince, but Shakespeare's-Ariel-in-the-cloven-pine-like he is cursed to be reincarnated as a walking tree. Tabonga is a homicidal hollyhock who goes around slaughtering his fellow skirt-wearing native brethren, who, in a panic, visit some resident American scientists. To their credit, the scientists decide to discuss whether these guys are out of their tree or not, and (so as not to offend them) throw them outside of the well-secured quonset hut where the Americans live with a "You guys wait outside" slamming of the door. Unfortunately, the tree under which they take refuge from the broiling sun turns out to be Tabonga, and even though my great-grandma with a walker could outrun Tabonga he kills them to the accompaniment of some bloodcurdling shrieks. "What was that?" the Americans ask. Birnham Wood comes to High Dunsinane as this ridiculous movie reaches a climax of sorts, when the Americans decide to celebrate Christmas in July and use Tabonga as a Yule Log.

Even the bad grammar of the title is a tip-off to the $[...] quality of this production. Unfortunately, the going price of the DVD exceeds that. Otherwise, if you like supercheesy 1950s low budget monster flicks add this to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very funny 50's horror film, December 10, 2009
This review is from: From Hell it Came (DVD)
Always check out the prices at Warner first because you will never pay more than twenty dollars on that site per title. Chances are you will pay less because they always have some type of promotion going on. Do note that Warner Bros. has a minimum of sixty dollars in merchandise for free shipping, Deep Discount has none, and Amazon has a minimum of twenty-five dollars, just in case there is only one title you are interested in. Warner Bros. sells these archive products exclusively for three months and then other retailers can join in, but always for more than what Warner will ask if you buy directly from them.

I've read much about people having trouble playing discs, but I have never had that problem and I own more than forty of these discs by now. I've had one disc that froze - Nora Prentiss, a few with audio problems - Dream Wife, The First Auto, and Carbine Williams, and jumps in the video in a couple from which I really can't determine the origin - that is, it could be the master not the DVD-R itself causing the problem. I'd say that about 90% of them play trouble free with only minor age-related defects rather than manufacturing ones.

As for this film, if you love the old Sunday horror matinees with 50's and 60's B titles such as "Island of Terror" AKA "Night of the Silicates", "Hypnotic Eye", and "Wasp Woman" you'll really like this one about a vengeful tree trunk stalking Pacific Islanders. It can only move at a snail's pace, so you can easily get away. Yet all of the victims stand there screaming until it gets them. Hilarious. The quality of the video and audio is good on this one. Just don't go to that well known internet movie database and believe the low rating if you're a 50's sci-fi and horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, October 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Hell it Came (DVD)
I don't understand why so many reviewers consider this DVD to be poor in quality. I bought a copy myself from the Warner Brothers Archives, and I have a 46" Sony Bravia HDTV and the quality is fantastic! The print is nice and clear, the audio is perfect and the movie actually fills the entire rectangle-shaped screen. In fact, if I didn't know better, I would swear this was a blu-ray disc. It's THAT good. I was highly surprised and pleased with this disc. Now if only someone would give Caltiki: The Immortal Monster and The Screaming Skull the same treatment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD MOVIE, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Hell it Came (DVD)
Remembered this movie from when I was a kid. Scared me back then. Fun to go back to watch it & find out why!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cheesy Horror Movie from the Past, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Hell it Came (DVD)
The monster is a man in a rubber tree costume - who has to waddle bow legged fashion to get around the set. Sigh... They just don't make like they used too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD FILM-BEWARE OF AMAZON SELLERS, August 13, 2009
By 
S. Sathre (zentropa. europa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought this was a pretty good jungle horror film. Many people don't like it because they find the tree monster laughable-but I find the tree monster to be a very scary fellow-like the Jesus tree in my backyard. The film is well-made and the quality of this DVD-R is excellent. The DVD is available at the Warner Bros. Archive website for $19.95. I noticed a few Amazon Marketplace sellers (Hotandserious and JoshuaB01) are asking for twice the price-$40! Don't be cheated by these crooks-go to the Warner website. Also, sometimes Amazon.com sell these Warner titles for $29.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So bad, It's good. Really !, November 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Hell it Came (DVD)
So bad, it's good.

From the golden era (1950's) of science fiction. Comes "From Hell it Came”.

Of course, at the top of the, good, bad, movies list is “Plan 9 from Outer space", and let's not forget "The Creeping Terror" either.

In this movie, the monster is a ............... ( wait for it ) ................ Tree !!

Now, you might be saying to yourself how dangerous can a Tree be ? Well, this tree is pretty good at sneaking up on people. Yes it's true, he is big and bulky, quite tall, and moves at about 10% normal walking speed. But when he goes after someone, he usually gets them.

Now for anyone that thinks a tree cannot be scary, just harken back to the Wizard of Oz and Dorothy's walk through the dark forest.

For those of you born after 1965, you may not appreciate the purpose of movies like this. It was for the Drive-In. Producers had to get something, anything, in the can to ship to Drive-Ins so the kids would have something to occasionally look at through their foggy windows.

A few reviewers have complained about the quality. I would say it's pretty good. Not not Star Trek 12, but I would rate the quality an 8 or 9.

There have been a few attempts to bring back the style of 1950s science fiction. “Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow” and the soon-to-be released “Man Conquers Space” are examples.

The disc played flawlessly in my Blu-ray player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

From Hell it Came
From Hell it Came by Dan Miller (DVD - 2009)
$19.99 $17.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.