Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Much-Needed Guide for InDesign CS5.5 eBook Creation
This is the fourth miniguide that Castro has done that builds on her first ePUB instructional manual, ePUB: Straight to the Point. From InDesign CS5.5 to ePUB and Kindle highlights the improvements that Adobe has delivered with InDesign CS5.5 in the area of ePUB export and creation.

In the Introduction to this book, Castro points out two things. First, while...
Published on December 17, 2011 by Matthew Diener

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative, but lacking
I was hoping that this guide would leave me prepared to create my very own e-book, but as I read on the content never really became anything substantial. It was as if the the whole book was "we'll get into that later," but it never actually came about. It seemed that in order to get anything out of this book you would need the accompanying one written before it ( and...
Published on April 20, 2012 by W. J.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Much-Needed Guide for InDesign CS5.5 eBook Creation, December 17, 2011
This review is from: From InDesign CS 5.5 to EPUB and Kindle (Straight to the Point Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This is the fourth miniguide that Castro has done that builds on her first ePUB instructional manual, ePUB: Straight to the Point. From InDesign CS5.5 to ePUB and Kindle highlights the improvements that Adobe has delivered with InDesign CS5.5 in the area of ePUB export and creation.

In the Introduction to this book, Castro points out two things. First, while there are many tools for creating print books and for creating eBooks, "There is only one, however, that is useful for creating both professional-quality print books and ebooks. That program, of course, is Adobe InDesign." Second, "This is not a beginner's guide to InDesign or ebook creation. Instead, I'll be explaining how to get the most out of the new features that have been recently added to CS 5.5 that have to do with creating EPUB format ebooks." There are other ways to create ePUBs, but if you are creating print and ePUBs and are using InDesign, this book will be useful to you. If this is all new to you, you would be better served starting with ePUB: Straight to the Point then following it up with this new work.

In this miniguide, Castro points out the improvements that Adobe has made in the InDesign to ePUB conversion with CS5.5 and how best to take advantage of these improvements. She begins with "InDesign to eBook in 10 Steps," a list that might help you design a good workflow, and follows with a quick overview of what you can do in InDesign for print and whether it is possible in ePUB. If you are currently working with InDesign and ePUB creation, nothing here is going to come as a surprise to you.

Next, Castro walks the reader through the creation of a book in InDesign with a focus on steps you can take to make the conversion to ePUB easier and better. She explains how creating a sample chapter with all the styles you are using in the book--something you may already be doing as part of your initial print design approval process--can also serve as an InDesign Template that will help you create the CSS for your ePUB. As she writes, "Styles are the key to formatting both print and eBooks in InDesign," and she gives plenty of tips on how the handle them well.

Creating a cover for ePUBs has not been easy in previous versions of InDesign, but CS5.5 has improved the process immensely. Castro shows a couple different options on how to create a good cover and walks readers through the proper dialog box settings.

Readers will find the section "Placing Images and Controlling Export Order" very useful if they include images in their print books or have complex designs that include many small text frames. She covers using inline objects, custom positioned anchored objects, and the new Articles panel. All three have their uses, and Castro does a good job explaining when each would work best.

InDesign CS5.5 now allows users to place and export audio and video files into an ePUB. Castro explains how this works and how to place media so that they will play properly.

Previous versions of InDesign did not properly generate links in multi-document ePUBs. InDesign CS5.5 now can correctly create these links. The instructions for creating hyperlinks, cross references, and footnotes in InDesign so they export correctly to ePUB should be a time-saver for anyone who has had to clean up these links in the past.

Castro includes a section on creating both the navigational TOC and an HTML TOC. In previous versions of InDesign, the HTML TOC would actually disappear upon export, so it is helpful to have instructions on how to create this file now that the bug has been corrected.

Probably the most valuable part of this miniguide is the "Exporting to ePUB" walk through. Castro does a wonderful job explaining the proper settings in the EPUB Export Options dialog box based on the material covered earlier in the guide and the choices the user made. Following her instructions, a user should be able to create an ePUB with good CSS that handles all styles and images as expected.

After "Exporting to ePUB," there is a a list of reasons why you might need to crack open an ePUB for additional changes and how to do so, along with instructions for converting ePUBs to Kindle/mobi format, including changes you may need to make to the ePUB file before conversion. Both will be helpful to readers as they clean up their ePUBs and use them as the basis for Kindle editions.

Finally, Castro includes a section on how to properly embed fonts in ePUBs going to iBooks since Apple does not support the way that InDesign encrypts embedded fonts.

The book is illustrated throughout with examples of files, how files display, and screen captures of dialog boxes. These serve as great examples of what is being discussed in the text and make it easy to follow Castro's instructions. The book ends with a fully linked index.

If you are struggling to produce clean ePUB files from InDesign CS5.5, this book should help you make the adjustments you need to improve your workflow. If you haven't updated to ID CS5.5 and are still wondering why you should, this book will make the reasons clear. If you need to give your boss a reason to update to CS5.5, read this book and you will have all the reasons you need. If you create ePUBs and have any money left in your book budget, do yourself a favor and spend it on this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative, but lacking, April 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From InDesign CS 5.5 to EPUB and Kindle (Straight to the Point Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I was hoping that this guide would leave me prepared to create my very own e-book, but as I read on the content never really became anything substantial. It was as if the the whole book was "we'll get into that later," but it never actually came about. It seemed that in order to get anything out of this book you would need the accompanying one written before it ( and referenced numerous times). It was almost like an advertisement, but with a hefty price tag. It would be more appropriate to charge less for this book given the length and depth of the content.

That being said it was informative on how to use the adobe InDesign program for epub, but there is also adobes own website for that. So while it was a good GUIDE, I believe it is a bit over-priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and to the point..., December 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From InDesign CS 5.5 to EPUB and Kindle (Straight to the Point Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Once again Liz has done an excellent job taking us through the step-by-step development and production steps for EBook production, using Adobe InDesign CS5.5 documents as a basis. This short guide would be of help to anyone looking at producing EPUB or Kindle ready files from InDesign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For intermediate to advanced InDesign users, April 11, 2012
This review is from: From InDesign CS 5.5 to EPUB and Kindle (Straight to the Point Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
If you have little to no experience with InDesign in general or CS5.5 specifically, do not buy this book. It is essentially a step by step for exporting an EPUB based on having setup your book and included documents correctly in the first place. If not, you will quickly run into steps where something goes wrong or does not come out right, such as embedded Tables of Contents. There is little herein that will help you solve the problem... though there is succinct discussion of options during the export process.

In some ways you are better off spending time on the Adobe site studying the basic video lessons (and I hate video tutorials). Only after that do you stand a chance of getting through the process outlined in this book. Even so, you may still have problems that this book cannot help you correct in order to get and EPUB that fulfills all of your functional intentions. Leave this text until you are competent in InDesign 5.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out of date, but a good introduction to epub., December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Basic and currently best only for a introduction to digital book making. Castro has more current information elsewhere. She is very knowledgeable and well thought of instructor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, this book sure didn't work for me., November 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Never before have I given a one-star review. I don't mean to denigrate the author or her expertise but to share my experience for readers.

Altogether I spent at least seven hours on one InDesign project, meticulously following every instruction. (Except for a vague suggestion about going inside the code to make changes -- as if I know how to do that!) It didn't work, and when I hired a freelancer to do the epub file, he first looked over what I had done and said it was such a mess that it wasn't a matter of tweaking. It was faster for him to work from a pdf.

As for making a mobi file, that was a more pathetically unhelpful part of this book than the longer section on doing epubs. This slim little volume was, for me, a waste of money and hope and time.

Granted, I'm not a huge expert on technology in every respect. To savvier readers, maybe this book will work for you. If you're not terribly advanced -- say, like me, you can work with an InDesign file to typeset a book and edit it, but that's it -- well, you might wish to turn elsewhere for formatting your ebooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ePub, December 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this through and while it helped with converting my InDesign file to an Epub, it wasn't detailed enough for me and I still have questions about ePubs. Part of the issue may be that I'm trying to work with a children's picture book and convert that to an ePub and there just doesn't seem to be anything out there that answers how to go about that specifically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best solution, November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From InDesign CS 5.5 to EPUB and Kindle (Straight to the Point Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
It's a good guide when you insist on making an epub in InDesign 5.5.
Which is - alas - not the best choice.
Same applies for ID-6
Better is modify the file tot single column html and export it to Sigil (Google's free epub-editor)
That works, but a real professional solution is still missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Straight to the point, really., May 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From InDesign CS 5.5 to EPUB and Kindle (Straight to the Point Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Very thorough, easy to understand, although I would have like it to have more real-life scenarios, particularly when the book designer wants to enhance the presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It prepared me some what, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a beginner InDesign user. This is for a person who is proficient in InDesign. I was expecting some of the basic steps not just the finishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.