Automotive Holiday Deals Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Entertainment Collectibles Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on June 23, 2007
From Nothin' to Somethin' is Fab's 4th Studio album and I have to say that after one listen to the whole album, I was not disappointed. Many people complain about Fab's delivery when he raps on this album....said his flow is lazy, monotone, and repeated...Well, Fab has always had that laid-back flow so I knew not to expect more than Fab's usual formula: Club Bangers. With that said, this album has many, many single potential....with three successful singles in constant play already (Make Me Better F/Ne-Yo, Return of the Hustle F/Swizz, Diamonds F/Jeezy)...I have no doubt that this album will go platinum. From Nothin' to Somethin' is Fab's best album to date, the beats are top-notch, His flows/word play has stepped up from "Real Talk" and the production on this album is as good as can be expected for a Fabolous album...and thats saying alot! People need to quit complaining about Fab enlisting an artist on nearly every track...When your hot, people want to be on your album and when your signed to a label as major as Def best believe there are gonna be lots of collaborations! This here is a Home Run for Fab!

David's Favorite Track In The Following Order:

1. Make Me Better F/Ne-Yo (Crafty Production By Timbo, Great Hook/Verse by Ne-Yo & Fab's Laid-Back Flow...what more could you want?)
2. From Nothin' to Somethin' Intro (This Beat is Crazy Nice!)
3. Diamonds F/Young Jeezy (Another great Beat and Jeezy's Verse is Fire!)
4. Return of The Hustle F/Swizz Beatz (This beat screams Club Bangger!)
5. Gangsta Don't Play F/Junior Reid (Great Beat & Lyrics...Love the Hook!)
6. First Time F/Rihanna (Could/Should be the 4th single!)
7. I'm The Man F/Red Café (Another Great Beat...Some lyrics are a bit cheesy but good track none-the-less)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2007
At his best, Fabolous is one of the most skilled and gifted rappers of our time. However, John Jackson (Fab's real name) falls short throughout the entire album. Of course he comes up with a few creative lines, but collectively we simply have an album inundated with mediocrity lyrics and production-wise. This album is full of guest appearances, but unfortunately, they do little to make the album better. The production is overall nondescript. Nowadays, artists try hard to make club bangers or songs that make listeners want to get up and dance, but here, there are one or two songs which accurately fit this description.

"Make Me Better" was the first song released from "From Nothin' to Somethin". Although it received lots of airplay, it took me quite some time to enjoy this song. I find this song to be typical and a bit boring, although I enjoy it more than I used to. "Yep I'm Back" contains a weak beat and alright lyrics; definitely nothing memorable. "Gangsta Don't Play" featuring Junior Reid, and "Change Up" featuring Akon both feature lackluster performances. These tracks help me bring out the point that Fab did not put his best foot forward with his fourth LP. These songs are two of the weakest on the album.

Fabolous doesn't completely disappoint on "From Nothin' to Somethin". In "Brooklyn", Fab, Uncle Murda and Jay-Z pay homage to their place of birth, and they should be commended for a job well done. Truth be told, though, Jay showcased lots of talent and actually outshined Fab on his own track. My only criticism with this song is the bad production, something that really brings this album down. Lloyd adds a nice flavor to the album on "Real Playa Like".

As I cut to the chase, it would be best to keep this Fabolous album on the shelf. If you want to hear Fab give his full lyrical potential, take a listen to his second LP entitled "Street Dreams."

Mikeisha's Top 5

1. "Make Me Better"
2. "Brooklyn"
3. "I'm the Man"
4. "This is Family"
5. "Real Playa Like"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2009
I think Fabolous stepped it up with this album. I thought that before this, certain individual songs showcased Fab's talent better than whole albums, kind of like Jadakiss. The production is for the most part on point, and so are Fab's raps. The intro and "I'm Back" are ill. "Change Up" with Akon is dope, as is "Make Me Better" with Ne-Yo and "Baby Don't Go" with T-Pain. The "Gangsta Don't Play" joint with Junior Reid is cool too, though people were ODing a little with the Junior Reid features after "One Blood." I didn't like Diamonds at first, but after a little while it grew on me... a little lol. The joint is aright. "Brooklyn" was pretty hot, although I'm not a big Uncle Murda fan. "I'm the Man" is sick. It's one of my favorite joints on the album. I don't know why this wasn't a single..... Aright I gotta make this short lol I'm running outta time here.

All in all, I think the album is well balanced and diverse without sounding too much like a mish-moshed compilation. Fabolous is great at doing witty street songs as well as R&B/Pop songs like "Make Me Better" and "Baby Don't Go," so why not use that talent? My favorite cuts are "Change Up," "Make Me Better" (although it got MAJORLY played out at the time) "Baby Don't Go," "Brooklyn" and "I'm the Man." I hope Loso's Way is just as good. So far it seems like Def Jam and Fabolous are a good team.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2007
Nothin too impressive here. Fab is a pretty good lyricist, but to me this album falls flat. You would think that this album would be his defining album like he said it would be but sittin through all the fillers is painful. Now the album has some gems and high moments, like the Bonus track this is family, a huge posse cut with rappers such as Joe Budden, Ransom, and Paul Cain, Brooklyn(feat. Jay-Z, and Uncle Murda), and what can I do feat. Lil Mo. But most of the rest of the albums are like the standard songs too any album. You have the filler "Baby Don't Go" feat. T-Pain, the average Gangsta's don't play with Junior Reid, and the dissapointing Jokes on You feat. Pusha T (who I expected to deliver but didn't). I say, save your money, borrow this album or bootleg it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on June 12, 2007
It's hard to define Fabolous. He hasn't quite had an outstanding career so far, but he's still not a terrible rapper, but rather a mediocre one. He's got a good, genuine flow to his raps, but doesn't quit stand-out even half as much as he should, regardless that he hit home run with the party jammer "Young'n" and the soulful "Into You" with Tamia. And that gets even worsened on From Somethin' to Nothin', since every song except "Yep, I'm Back" has a guest star or two, but that doesn't mean Fabolous has a terrible album going, it's just cookie-cutter and littered with guest spots that take away most, if not all of Fabolous's spotlight. And with that, Fabolous hides his identity through most of the songs and the guest stars and beats are what make them truly valuable. There are some party songs that will keep the summer cooking: "Baby Don't Go" featuring T-Pain, "Brooklyn" featuring Jay-Z & Uncle Murda, and "Diamonds" with Young Jeezy are valuable party songs. And "Gangsta Don't Play" with Junior Reid is an appreciable reggae tune. But aside from that, Fabolous doesn't show any major talent outside of the club songs, especially the ladies tunes would be a weak spots for Fabolous. "Real Playa Like" with Lloyd and "First Time" with Rihanna fail from fatal similes and the latter disgusting lyrics, but he saves it with the inspirational "What Should I Do". The rest of the songs, whether party or otherwise, fail from different aspects: "I'm the Man" has a problem in that it has a chorus that comes off rather very weak ("I'm the man/Shorty yes I'm the man"), and Red Café sounds just like Bow Wow. And "Jokes on You" suffers heavily from having a very irritating beat and sounds like a throwaway Cam'Ron song, which is in itself a bad note. Fabolous does show he can make a few good party jams, and a bit of genre flipping makes him versatile, but nothing quite leaves him a huge mark on the wall of rappers, and with that said, being a memorable one. 2.5 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on June 12, 2007
I feel terribly split on this album. A part of me was slightly dissapointed, while I still felt mostly satisfied. From Nothin' To Somethin' is the typical Fabolous album; a lot of hot beats, great guests appearances, and some clever punchlines from Loso, as well as the occasional moment of introspection. The problem is, after three albums following this formula, I believe we deserved something more. We've still yet to see the true Loso behind his Ghetto Fabolous image, and he promised that From Nothin' To Somethin', his Def Jam debut, would be the album that broke his mould. Unfortunately, that didn't happen.

While many of the songs feel as if they MAY touch close to home for Loso(Change Up, Make Me Better, Baby Don't Go, First Time), Fabolous rarely does the subject matter the justice it deserves. It's not that Loso doesn't provide some hot rhymes, it's the fact that he would rather speak about his women and his rivals than get on an entirely personal level. Change Up, an otherwise incredible collaboration with Akon, feels as if Loso is trying to connect with his fans in the sense that he's still the same ol' Fabolous, but the fact of the matter is, most fans WANTED a new Loso that took all the potential he possesses and uses it to propel himself as one of the best new millenium emcees in the game. He fails to truly touch base with his fans through the fact that he rarely mentions his own life outside of a few quips, and brags. Otherwise, this track has some decent lyrics, a dramatic beat, and a nice chorus from Mr. Konvict Muzik.

Make Me Better is probably the best hip-hop track I've heard in quite awhile. Produced by Timbaland, Timbo flips the same sample RZA did on Raekwon's Rainy Dayz(from the classic Only Built 4 Cuban Linx...), and creates the background for a new-era R&B-hip hop collaboration. Ne-Yo's on the hook, and provides one of the most memorable hooks in awhile. Fabolous, meanwhile, shows his appreciation for a special lady that he feels makes him better, even though he's a "force all by himself." This all makes for a potential hip-hop classic, and one of the tracks that raised expectations for this album before its release.

Baby Don't Go is alright. T-Pain's hook is catchy, if not spectacular; something we've all certainly gotten used to with Teddy. The beat isn't particularily noteworthy, but it's by no means bad. Fabolous flows like water from a stream, as usual, and saves this track from being filler. Return Of The Hustle is a track featuring Swizz Beats, yet produced by Just Blaze; Blaze, undoubtedly one of the best producers alive, supplies Loso with a dope backdrop that Fab rides all the way to the back. Swizzie does his job as a hypeman perfectly, and this track ends up being another one of the standout cuts.

Gangsta Don't Play features Junior Reed, who, since One Blood last year, a lot of emcees have called on Junior's services, but this is certainly the best of the Junior Reed guest features I've heard since then. Fabolous hosts this track, and definitely keeps this being entirely his own. Real Playa Like had the potential to be another album standout, but Polow's beat isn't quite up to his standards, and Lloyd provides nothing to the track. Also, at this point in the album, the playa image Fabolous has always provides us with seems a bit played out.

First Time is more genuine than the last track, as Fabolous actually does get intimate over the melodic beat, while Rihanna sings the haunting chorus. This is one of the better tracks on the album, and Loso's expression on this track, while less than subtle, is at least authentic. That virtually ends the R&B half of this album, although there's still one more to go. Up next is the party-cut, Diamonds, featuring Young Jeezy. A lot of people hated on this track at first, but it's one of the better singles released all year. Jeezy's verse is the usual adlib-enhanced trap-rap he always spits, but that's by no means a bad thing; he even provides some witty(yes) punchlines on his guest spot. Fabolous manages to hold it down against Jizzle, and this results in one hot cut that any fan of Loso or Jeez will appreciate.

The B.I.G. sample on Brooklyn isn't as tight as it should've been, but that doesn't stop this BK collaboration with Loso, Hova, and new Roc-Star Uncle Murda from being one of the album's finest cuts. Repping their 'hood, all three emcees do their thing. Jay's Robin Thicke rhyme is particularily noteworthy. I'm The Man featuring the new Konvict, Red Cafe, is a nice for what it is. While it's not a standout, it's certainly not bad either, and both emcees spit tight verses.

Jokes On You featuring one of the tightest emcees alive, Pusha T(of Clipse) is a track I had higher expectations for, but unfortunately, the track is dragged down by a slightly weak Don Cannon beat. Although Cannon has done some dope beats in the past, this isn't one of them. It's not all bad though, as Pusha and Loso both show great personality on their rhymes in this track, and this punchline fest ends up being pretty dope. What Should I Do is the type of track this album needed more of; the most emotional track Loso has ever done. Loso is sent numerous letters from various fans, who ask problems involving their life, and the lives around them, hoping Loso will somehow be able to answer them. Lil' Mo's chorus is simply beautiful, and the beat is intricately laced. The final bonus track featuring a gang of emcees, including one of the most underrated rappers ever, Joe Budden, This Is Family, is a dope posse cut to close out the album.

Overall, as I said in the beginning, this wasn't Fabolous at his most introspective like most of us hoped for. This wasn't Loso's classic album that he has in him. That'll come. But From Nothin' To Somethin' IS one of the strongest albums released this year, and should tithe Loso's fans over until the next release. He's still the same Loso he's always been; and maybe that isn't so bad afterall for now.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon June 23, 2007
garbage was two words.. I must have been looking in a different dictionary.

On to the subject of Fab's new cd From Nothin' to Somethin' while i dont rate it as his best of all his work. I would give it 2nd best after his first cd which i still love. Yes, he has more featured artists on this cd. If it works and makes the track flow better then why not put it on there. I'm really loving a lot of songs on this especially the hot joint with Ne-Yo, Diamonds w/Jeezy (the song is straight fire) one of my favs of his in quite awhile. While i dont know if everyone is expecting a cd similar to "Real Talk", I know i'm not. I don't want an artist to keep putting out the same material as their previous CD just because it sold well and is comfortable for them to make.

I like the cd because Fab choose to go out and have those artists on his new release. Along with hot flows, nice beats and solid song choices, like it or not Fab is here to stay. I wouldnt give a whole lotta weight to what others have about the cd, check it out for yourself. However you have to and see for yourself what folks already know.

From Nothin To Somethin is on it indeed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2011
Fab is on top of his game on this album, it's been a long time coming for him if you follow hip hop like me! All the tracks are decent on this album from the callabos to the final posse cut track with Ransom & the A Team. This album is on fiya! Check out Losos Way if you're into Faboulous, Street fidddam!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2009
When i got the " FROM NOTHIN TO SOMETHIN " CD it was in Brand New conditon, the price was great and it has some good songs on it, i never knew how good a rapper Fabolous was as well as the production of his music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2007
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.