Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 20, 2003
I found everything I was looking for and more in this small, easy-to carry guide. Not only did I find exact prices for hotels and restaurants, I also learned about low country cooking, the architecture in Charleston, and a brief history. All of this was in this little guide that I could fit in my purse!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2005
I just returned from Charleston and used this book. It was a joy to use. Best little travel guide I've seen. It covers the major information for planning a trip and then it becomes a highly portable reference book while there. Highly recommend this book and "The Best Little Map Of Charleston". You need little else
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2010
This guidebook gave an ok overview of the area and seemed to hit the highlights, but it also felt like it catered to the lowest common denominator. If you want to stick to the tourist sights, this is a good option. For a more in-depth guide with a realistic assessment of the attractions and at least some sense of local color, consider Moon Publications guides.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
This small book fits easily into your purse so you can carry it around with you. Better information can be obtained for free from SC tourism web sites.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2013
We found this guide mediocre at best. If you are not interested in anything related to the history of slavery, this is your guide. Especially since it glosses over so much history. It's the fast food of travel books.

If you ARE interested in the fact that the slave population out numbered residents 3 to 1 in Charleston, this is NOT your guide. Just like the city of Charleston (which was a major port), it seems the book doesn't really want to acknowledge its history. The individuals that built, tortured and were separated from their families deserve more than 2 paragraphs in this book. Pay your respects at the Old Slave Mart and read the newspaper articles carefully preserved to document the history of slavery in Charleston.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
Very helpful and easy to use. As is a risk with any travel guide it was outdated for one place we tried to locate (a belgium chocolate store is now a Jamaican restaurant) and prices have gone up by at least $2.00 for admission to many sites. But, all in all, we were glad to have it with us and it's size made it easy to carry all day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2007
I used one of Frommer's guides to Savannah and had a fabulous trip there. The same maps and reviews of hotels, restaurants, and sights to see are included in this guide. It also includes a bit of history and some travel tips. Great guides to make first time visits fun. I may buy one of local cities to see what might be interesting to see. Highly advised.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2007
Very good. Down to 4 stars because the info becomes dated very quickly. Look for newest edition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2013
This was a handy sized guide that had history, restaurants and pricing, places to stay, must do sites, and more. It was easy to carry along and faster to get restaurant phone numbers than pulling up on my phone. Loved the size. Up to date information. Very helpful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2011
The best thing about this book is that you can carry it around with you. I studied it and highlighted points of interest before our trip. It was easy to reference back to it throughout the trip. It is a great book for first-time visitors to Charleston. It highlights the most popular points of interest. A longer restaurant guide would have been nice, especially the 'not-so-expensive' restaurants. The maps are just so-so. It was a good value to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse