Customer Reviews


204 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, damaged product
Customer Video Review     Length:: 3:19 Mins
I really like this game, but I got a damaged product. Doesn't prevent it from being played, but does take away from the aesthetic value. I'm reviewing it if it were not damaged.
Published on August 21, 2012 by Josh Wolfe

versus
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game - horrible quality of materials and manufacturing
Great game but quality leaves something to be desired. Wood box was very poorly put together with blotches of wood putty in corners. Numbers flimsy and difficult to move. I would recommend finding a different manufacturer of this great game as it is not unique to them.
Published on October 18, 2009 by B. Rommerdahl


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, damaged product, August 21, 2012
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Circa Shut the Box (Toy)
Length:: 3:19 Mins

I really like this game, but I got a damaged product. Doesn't prevent it from being played, but does take away from the aesthetic value. I'm reviewing it if it were not damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shut the Box Fun, January 20, 2008
By 
CJH (Purcellville, VA United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Circa Shut the Box (Toy)
Great fun for those who like dice, skill and chance. The box makes it handy to carry around - a good "front porch game" as they advertise. The box was not sturdy enough though, as it started to separate at the seams. It is holding together so far, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game - horrible quality of materials and manufacturing, October 18, 2009
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Circa Shut the Box (Toy)
Great game but quality leaves something to be desired. Wood box was very poorly put together with blotches of wood putty in corners. Numbers flimsy and difficult to move. I would recommend finding a different manufacturer of this great game as it is not unique to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, terrible build quality, December 26, 2010
By 
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Circa Shut the Box (Toy)
The game itself is great fun, but this particular presentation is awful. This is a faux-antique box with very cheap parts that fall apart pretty quickly. The dowel holding the tiles is bendy and spins freely: often you will accidentally flip down 3 or 4 tiles at once instead of just the one you wanted. The box is much deeper than others and can be difficult to see into to read the dice, especially when they're against the side. This also means it is not really possible for more than one or two people to watch. The chain tends to get caught up in the tiles when closing. The label on the inside of the lid is glued in and wrinkled. Overall it is a cheaply made game and there seem to be much better choices available for the same price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shut The Box, January 14, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Circa Shut the Box (Toy)
My family and I love this game! It is so simple, yet so much fun to play. We put away the electronics and get this out as often as we can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shut The Box, July 24, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Circa Shut the Box (Toy)
This is a great game for young people to play and do math at the same time. My grandchildren really enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much smaller than expected, June 29, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Circa Shut the Box (Toy)
I used to have this same exact toy and loved "Shut the Box" as a child. It is the same great quality but MUCH smaller that I hoped for. The measurements of the box would have been nice to know prior to purchase. It is only 6 inches by 8 inches, and a couple of inches deep. I purchased two and will keep them anyway due to the fun and quality of the toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game for everyone!, March 19, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Circa Shut the Box (Toy)
Our original purchase was so much fun. We were playing it while the man fixing our air conditioner asked what we were playing. He got all excited about it, so we bought him one at a great price and shipped it right to his house. Looks like our Christmas shopping is going to be simple this year! It's all chance and a lot of fun. Treat yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun for the whole family, July 1, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Circa Shut the Box (Toy)
This game is easy to learn so everyone can play, even those just learning to count. Its rare to find a game where a whole family can play and have fun. I have a very large family, so it was nice to see everyone gathered together, rather than off doing separate things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cool game, dowel warped, February 27, 2014
By 
Kerry Baker (Bellevue, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Circa Shut the Box (Toy)
This was a Christmas gift from grandma to grandson. Sad that it didn't work.

The dowel was warped so it kept falling out of its slot, making the game unplayable. I called Circa and they were nice, but said to return it to Amazon. However, for $20 of the cost of the game, it is hardly worth the hassle. I can/will probably try to fix it myself, but I shouldn't have to in the first place.

And looking at many of the other customer reviews (how did we not take heed?), poor quality seems to be common.

Save your money, download a free app version.

Off to the hardware store...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Circa Shut the Box
Circa Shut the Box by Front Porch Classics
$19.99 $19.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.