Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good informative report, gives a voice to those who don't have it
Immigration is always a hot button topic. While some may see this episode as too sympathetic to illegal immigrants there are many valid points made in this episode. As an immigrant myself I resent the demonizing of entire communities because of a few bad apples, the oversimplification of deportation as the solution to all immigration problems, or flat out other irrational...
Published on October 30, 2011 by Mustang Sally

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does this biz have cavities?
This program speaks about the flaws of the dental system. I think people who liked Michael Moore's doc on the health care industry will enjoy this.

One million ER visits are from people with teeth problems who can't afford dentists. In some states Medicare only pays 20% of the costs of dental care. This program focuses on children with pressing dental needs...
Published on October 20, 2012 by Jeffery Mingo


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good informative report, gives a voice to those who don't have it, October 30, 2011
Immigration is always a hot button topic. While some may see this episode as too sympathetic to illegal immigrants there are many valid points made in this episode. As an immigrant myself I resent the demonizing of entire communities because of a few bad apples, the oversimplification of deportation as the solution to all immigration problems, or flat out other irrational "solutions" for this problem. While I have no problem when ICE deports criminals and in fact commend them for doing that I don't think the law should be applied as black and white. Some thought should be given to circumstances such as the ones presented in this program. In the end the program doesn't propose any solution but alludes to the hopelessness of the problem due to perpetual political gridlock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cliffhanger ending, December 26, 2011
Was Dr. Ivans the perpetrator behind the Anthrax attack or not? At some point into this episode, I felt almost certain he was the culprit. Then that near certainty disappeared when the evidence was weighed at the end by objective parties.

The FBI spent tens of millions of dollars and over 600,000 hours trying to solve this case. This was one of the most high-stakes cases they've had. Investigation work doesn't always get wrapped up in a neat bow even when all the investigators do an apparently great job as in this case.

Frontline presents this story in a way to show the FBI as perhaps a little helpless and over-reaching. Some of that is true like when they at first definitely fingered the wrong guy. I think Frontline actually made the case that the FBI did about as well as we could have reasonably expected under the incredibly difficult circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 episodes back to back on Afghanistan, January 7, 2012
The first episode shows the extreme difficulty managing border security at the Afghan-Pakistan border. Many powers are interested in this border. Each interested party is extremely tough because survival is so difficult in this area and the stakes are high. A lot of attention was given to Pakistan's ISI and the way it apparently deals with all the other sides in the conflict.

The second episode showed horrible things. Little kids, particularly little girls, are at extreme risk in the remote Afghan areas. The opium traders lend money to poor farmers. When the farmers can't pay the debt, the drug traders take their daughters. And this cycle goes on and on. It tears apart families, and this episode shows some of these instances up close.

Both episodes were excellent. The second one is difficult to recommend because it's so disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undocumented people and human rights - does it have to be so complicated?, January 2, 2012
Frontline correspondent Maria Hinojosa did a fantastic job in this segment. There really shouldn't be anything complicated about human rights. When the President said the issue is very complicated, he meant politically.

This episode focused on injustices for illegal immigrants regarding laws and enforcement of those laws. A lot of time was devoted to a privately run detention center where sexual abuse of female detainees had been occurring as a matter of course. Some of these women are mothers of young citizen-children and haven't done anything wrong other than being in the U.S. illegally.

As correspondent Hinojosa discovered, the reason sexual abuse of female illegal immigrant detainees prevailed was that perpetrators stood the slimmest chance of facing justice themselves. The detention centers are located remotely, the detainees do not have the right to an attorney, immigration officials were not responsive to calls for investigations and threats against complainers deter victims from coming forward. Finally, it's cheaper to deport than investigate and litigate the grievances.

Politicians interviewed called for reform to immigration laws, including both parties. I couldn't find a distinction between the parties on the matter although others will perceive distinctions. Congress doesn't pass immigration reform because it wants a lot more enforcement on deportations first. This makes life very stressful for undocumented workers (I think that's the term used in this episode), especially if they have dependent children.

What I saw in this episode made me feel that reform should not wait on more enforcement. Human rights should not be on hold pending other actions, in my view. In the long run, there's always blowback of some sort. I'm quite sincere in saying the one-size-fits-all deportation rules could in the end alienate the very people we're going to need in coming years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex tale told well - Sebastian Rotella should win journalism award, December 23, 2011
This has got to be one of Frontline's best, and that's saying a lot. Sebastian Rotella emerges as a major star in broadcast journalism. He goes to Mumbai, Copenhagen and Chicago to trace the route taken by an American-born double agent and his terrible deeds.

In a way this show is a masterpiece because it tells this particular story in a way that anybody can understand. It's a complex story that clearly took enormous effort to make sense of and communicate. In a greater sense, the goings on of "David Headley" demonstrates the profoundly evil capacity of people. We should be glad these forces are kept in check most the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An in depth look into the Syrian crisis like you've never seen, November 13, 2011
For many months we watched as regime after regime was toppled in the Arab world: Tunisia, Egypt, Lybia. As Syria gained inspiration from these events unfolding in neighboring countries it was not to be. In the most repressive response to protesters this video gives incredible insight to the atrocities being committed against protesters by Syria's own government forces. As I watched I was in awe at the fact that these security forces have no boundaries and nothing is off limits, women and children included. It is obvious that all of these are peaceful protesters so the reactions and stories presented here caused quite the flurry of emotions that left me taking it all in long after watching the program. I had longed to see more details of the crisis now going on here and am very impressed with the risks taken to present a fantastic and sobering update on the Syrian revolution. A must see program if you care about humanity's essential right to free thought and liberty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does this biz have cavities?, October 20, 2012
By 
Jeffery Mingo (Homewood, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This program speaks about the flaws of the dental system. I think people who liked Michael Moore's doc on the health care industry will enjoy this.

One million ER visits are from people with teeth problems who can't afford dentists. In some states Medicare only pays 20% of the costs of dental care. This program focuses on children with pressing dental needs then moves on toward adults. The work says some companies pay dentists per visit, so those dentists may rush patients out rather than focusing on curing them. Some providers encourage people to get pricey everything-&-the-kitchen-sink work, rather than just what they really need. Some people can buy a dental care credit card, but those can have interest rates of 29%. Basically, people are having to choose between dental care vs. housing, cars, childcare, etc. Naturally folk chose those later options over dental care and their mouths pay for that decision. The industry could try an equivalent to nurse practitioners, but (greedy?) dentists and dental companies fight that move.

More conservative viewers may be upset about issues not presented. This work never asks how meth addicts with their "meth mouths" tax the industry. This work never ties the obesity epidemic or the sugary snacks advertised to children as being culprits of the problem. A Canadian dentist once told me that even while Canada has universal health care, the coverage doesn't include braces which are seen as aesthetic. However, I would argue that we people with yuckmouths are psychologically traumatized by responses to our aesthetically unpleasing teeth and so it should be seen as necessary. In the area where I live, there are many dentists of color who want to retire but can't because there aren't any young dentists who want to take over their practices. The paucity of black or brown dentists doesn't come up here. I wonder if all these grillz and facial piercings and tongue pierces are also exacerbating problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE REAL STORY, July 14, 2014
Very informative top tier programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frontline, highly recommend., July 4, 2014
Frontline is known for going where most journalists wouldn't dare, giving the viewer information and images they can't get anywhere else. Highly recommend to anyone who wants more than basic headlines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative!, June 20, 2014
I only watched a few episodes of this series because I was not interested in most of the topics covered in this season. However, I enjoyed all of the episodes that I watched. I learned so many things I didn't know before. The episode about cell phone towers was scary, to think about young people risking their lives and not being taught about safety, having to hurry to build towers while not being paid all that well. There were so many different companies subcontracting out jobs down the line, that it was difficult to know just who to blame. I like the way Frontline sets up the story, draws me in and makes me care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.