Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Frontline: The Interrupters
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars66
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$16.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 14, 2012
The good news: violent crime in our cities has been in decline for more than a decade. The bad news: that's cold comfort to those who live in areas where violence remains prevalent. The Interrupters is the story of a group of brave men and women who are doing something about it; as "violence interrupters," the members of CeaseFire attempt to defuse potentially deadly conflicts as they happen. Director Steve James, whose classic Hoop Dreams captured the difficulty of teenage hoopsters with startling intimacy and power, has delivered yet another haunting portrait of life in urban America, and even though there were many great documentaries in 2011, I think The Interupters was one 2011's best documentaries.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2012
*** This review may contain spoilers ***

'The Interrupters' is an excellent documentary about a group called CeaseFire, which primarily employs streetwise, ex-cons as 'Violence Interrupters' on the tough streets of inner city Chicago. The 'Interrupters' are reformed criminals who know the lingo of the street and go around trying to defuse potential confrontations from occurring, cooling down members of their community, who often become enraged due to minor sleights which are misinterpreted as major signs of disrespect.

The group is led by Tio Hardiman, an ex-petty street criminal who later earned a Master's Degree and now heads a "Mission Impossible" team who are 'on call' to nip any potential violent incident in the bud. Remarkably, during a staff meeting shown at the beginning of the documentary, a fight develops right outside where the Interrupters are discussing strategy, and they rush out to quell the violence which involves one youth threatening another with a knife.

'The Interrupters' focuses on the lives of three members: Ameena Matthews, an ex-Gang enforcer, now a spiritual Muslim, who has communication skills as good as any highly-trained social worker; Cobe Williams, who served 12 years for Drug Trafficking and Attempted Murder, now a gentle family man, and Eddie Bocanegra, who was incarcerated 14 years for murder, now a talented artist.

We follow these 'Interrupters' as they work on various 'assignments', troubled individuals (a good number of them young people), who are prone to acting out behavior. Matthews acts as a grief counselor for a family whose son was murdered, a case which was widely publicized on Youtube and received national attention. She speaks at the funeral and we see the devastating effect the murder had on the victim's family members. Matthews also counsels a teenager named Caprysha, who ends up back at a youth facility at film's end. She concedes that not all their interventions will be successful. In the case of Caprysha, she appears to vacillate between good conduct and bad (although I read on google that she eventually earned her high school diploma).

Cobe Williams works with two brothers who can't seem to stop fighting with one another and later gets good results with a neighborhood hothead, 'Flamo', who wants to take revenge on some thugs who beat up one of his relatives. Williams manages to calm him down and in the last segment, we see 'Flamo' has obtained a job as a security guard and is wearing the uniform, ready to head off for work.

Eddie Bocanegra not only teaches art to elementary school students but also works with a young parolee, who was sent away three years for armed robbery. There's an emotional scene where he returns to the scene of his crime, a beauty salon, and apologizes to the victims. One victim accepts his apology but still makes it clear that his actions had a devastating effect on her life. The young man eventually obtains a job as a gardener at a school and is proud that he has put his violent past behind him. Eddie would like to apologize to the family of the victim he murdered, but indicates the family is perhaps not ready to forgive him.

While 'The Interrupters' do valiant work, one wonders how effective they are at what they're doing. One Interrupter concedes that their work is only a 'band aid' and the violence simply continues unabated, all over this country. The Interrupters admit that you can't work with someone who ultimately doesn't want to change.

Steve James, known for the award-winning documentary 'Hoop Dreams', has done an excellent job showcasing the noble aims of this group. Sometimes I felt that 'The Interrupters' could have been a tad bit shorter, especially toward the end. But all in all, it's a fascinating look at how one group attempts to deal with the plague of violence, in their own community.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2013
Just amazing. The tragedy of youth violence, the redemption of the teenage thugs who grew up to become "interrupters", the real daily nitty-gritty life in these vibrant but dangerous Chicago streets ... it's all here.

Like James's earlier "Hoop Dreams", this movie is not purely about happy-sappy feel-good endings; there's progress, there's frustration, and you know that tomorrow will bring gunshots and ambulances and crying mothers within blocks of where this was all filmed. But the way this group of brave people worked to make small differences (that can add up to big changes) left me awed. Cobe and Ameena and Eddie will stick with you as examples of what young hoodlums can grow up to be ... and why we shouldn't give up on even "hopeless" kids.

Yeah, the movie did run a bit long, but I was so glad I stuck with it to hear the incendiary "Flamo" talk about how one interrupter was so persistent, like a fly buzzing around his ear while he slept. In a Hollywood movie, that might have sounded bogus, but here it's so real and inspiring that your breath might just catch in your throat.

My highest recommendation - SEE IT!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
As a Muslim youth coordinator, I have shown this to our groups' 5 female youth leaders who were so impressed with Ameena Matthews, but also the other interrupters that were highlighted.e s They had dropped in to say Hi at my house and I asked if they wanted to watch a movie with me. They agreed and then when found out it was a documentary they moaned....however, it only took them 5 minutes to be so enthralled and they only groaned once during the film (when my phone rang and I had to pause it to take the call). Once it finished, the documentary trigged a fantastic 2 hours discussion. They're ages 18-22.

Similarly, my own family (adults and pre-teens) were so focused when I showed it to them a day later. It is a must see for everyone and a double must see for Muslim female youth who are interested in seeing a Muslim woman making a huge difference in her life and the lives of others....despite her "checkered past". Having lived and taught in Chicago when gang violence was a regular thing in the early 90s, this documentary makes the situation real to people who have never experienced such violence in their personal lives or in their communities.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2012
This is an extraordinarily powerful film that takes us to the streets of Chicago and illuminates the courage, finesse, truth and restorative justice practices of a growing group of "Interrupters": people who go in and speak truth, provide alternatives to the cycles of murder and violence, and show that it is possible to unwind the cycles of pain and violence by caring enough to do the grassroots one on one work it takes to redirect vengeance into forgiveness and healing.

Perpetrators are often victims themselves, and this film provides ample evidence that it is possible to interrupt violence even in the most extreme cases. We get to see this in action as the camera crew goes into real situations of conflict and the full stop, on-the-spot cycle breaking that Ameena Matthews and other Interrupters do in some of the most difficult and complex scenarios, risking their own lives to help retrieve people from the endless cycle of gang violence and murder.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
The film follows a civic group dedicated to interrupting violence in "the 'hood".

What I found most intriguing was the homicidal rage that it's subjects would fly into over things that a normal person wouldn't even notice. That seems like fertile ground for research and film making, but not the scope of this film, of course.

Not a bad way to spend an hour or two and a couple of bucks seeing a side of America most folks (thankfully) don't see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
I got this to compliment the book Always Running in the classroom. Though informative, the storyline didn't move fast enough to keep teenagers interested. A very interesting and startling look at Chicago gang life, though, for adults interested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
This documentary is excellent. Violence can be compared to an epidemic of disease and it is explained in great detail by a professor. Also explained in detail by each of the interrupters that are featured in the documentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
This is the kind of work that really makes impact in community. Im showing this to every young adult
as well as community leaders(ministers,counselors,small business folks,my grandkids) I can.Emotions
and distress ARE NOT ACTED in this film. Film is excellently made I would love to learn the Timing and Editing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
Everyone who is concerned about gun violence should see this movie. It portrays the work done by the Cure Violence program, which works to reduce shootings and killings. There is hope and this film shows that the violence can be interrupted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.