Frostbound: The Dark Forgotten and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $7.99
  • Save: $0.80 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: While this book has been loved by someone else, they left it in great condition. Hurry and buy it before someone else does and take advantage of our FREE Super Saver Shipping!!!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Frostbound: The Dark Forgotten Mass Market Paperback – June 7, 2011


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.19
$4.03 $0.01
Best%20Books%20of%202014


Frequently Bought Together

Frostbound: The Dark Forgotten + Unchained: The Dark Forgotten + Scorched: The Dark Forgotten
Price for all three: $23.17

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Series: DARK FORGOTTEN (Book 4)
  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Signet (June 7, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451231953
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451231956
  • Product Dimensions: 4.5 x 1.1 x 6.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,384,942 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Ms.Ashwood writes with wit and keeps her story line moving well.
Lynn
Despite the myriad of elements that pepper the story, Ms. Ashwood has written this book in an intricate fashion that makes sense.
LAS Reviewer
I tried to like this book - really, really tried but I couldn't even get through the first 50 pages.
XOrion9X

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By XOrion9X on November 3, 2011
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I tried to like this book - really, really tried but I couldn't even get through the first 50 pages. Every other sentence is "Lore thought...", "Lore said...." "Lore felt...". Ugh. This story (what I was able to slog through) just felt forced. The characters didn't interest me at all - they just didn't suck me in. And when the story did start to pick up the author would so cleverly sneak in another "Lore (insert adjective here)..." and I just couldn't handle it . Maybe the book got better, maybe not - but I couldn't get through it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on July 1, 2011
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Where have I been hiding? This book is the first time I have heard of this series or this author. It definitely won't be the last, though. I enjoyed it so much that I jumped on Amazon and ordered the previous books in the series so I could read those too. Here's hoping I enjoy them just as much!

Frostbound is part of The Dark Forgotten series, but it stands on its own very well. The author does a great job of introducing the world and the characters without making the reader feel lost. We're dropped straight into the action, but I never felt like I was scrambling to understand what was happening. I really appreciate an author who can strike a nice balance between bulky info dumps and leaving a reader to puzzle the world out on her (or his) own.

I really liked how the author turned some of my expectations on their ear. At one point Talia is held hostage. At first it was because Lore was keeping her until he found out if she was guilty or innocent, but then he didn't want to let her go for her own good. Instead of letting this go (as I've seen many, many PNR heroines do) Talia is angry and resentful. She also finds his plan to weaken her with lust (once again, something I've seen frequently in PNR) pretty insulting. Refreshingly, Lore's friends also tell him that he's not exactly walking the straight and narrow by "protecting" her that way. I really enjoyed that because too often I find myself frustrated by the heroines' abnormal reactions to some of the heroes' behavior.

Although there is a lot of witty dialogue and quite a few funny scenes, it's not all fun and games. Lore and Talia deal with some very serious issues and stressful emotions that added a nice depth to their characters.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Vampire, Talia comes home one evening to find her cousin dead on the living room floor. The police have a bad reputation of seeing a vampire near any murder scene and immediately deciding they're guilty. Talia knows, that despite her innocence, the police will look no further than her fangs and she immediately decides to run. Before she can make it out of the apartment building, she's intercepted by the hell-hound called Lore. Lore also knows that, if caught, Talia won't get a fair trial, but he's not entirely convinced of her innocence. Until he's positive she didn't do it, Lore decides to keep Talia locked up in his own improvised prison. Eventually, they both have to work together to find out who is killing supernatural beings.

Honestly, Frostbound was a good time. I've mentioned before that I hate captive heroine stories, but it was done pretty well here. Talia wasn't kept locked up for long and Lore caught a lot of shit from both her and his friends for doing it in the first place.

There were basically two things that really made this book for me. The first was the blizzard/winter setting. I love winter settings. I also really enjoyed the hell-hound mythology that went into the book. You don't see it done very often and I have to say the hell-hounds here were pretty kick-ass.

My only issue was that there wasn't a lot of world building, which made certain areas of the story confusing, as I hadn't read any of the other novels in the series. However, I think Frostbound still stood well on its own.

Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark Hunter series and Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress series will probably find something to love in this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
I liked the story, but the way the book was written, well it left something to be desired. It was often hard to follow who was talking, and often changed tenses from past to present when talking about the past... They really should have put it to a better editor...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Review Courtesy of Dark Faerie Tales

Quick & Dirty: Sexy, interesting and quite captivating.

Opening Sentence: "Till death do us part."

The Review:

Welcome to Fairview, USA. Take a walk down our scenic byways, and don't forget to watch out whom you talk to, for they might very well have fangs. You see, Y2K had a completely different meaning to the inhabitants of the world in The Dark Forgotten series. With the coming of the new millennia also came the coming of all those things that existed only in fairy tales and nightmares. Well, they were always there, it's just now they are upstanding citizens of the world, just like you and me. Well, sorta.

In Frostbound, we are introduced to Lore, a fine upstanding member of the community, and also Alpha of the Hellhounds, and at the time of publication, acting sheriff. When evil comes to his town, the hellhound protector half of Lore, and the abilities that come with his being alpha, won't let him ignore it. When that evil threatens not only his town, but also his female, well let's just say it gains his complete attention. But this is not your ordinary evil, and it will take all of his power, and that of his friends and family to overcome.

And Lore's lovely lady is English Lit teacher and tutor, Talia Rostova, who also happens to be a vampire. Talia is a newly turned vampire on the run from the one who turned her, against her will I might add. She is still coming to terms with her lot in life when disaster strikes rather close to home, in the form of the murder of her cousin, roommate and best friend, Michelle. While she makes the most likely suspect, being a vampire and all, we know she is innocent and so does Lore.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?