Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frostfire - Kyndred, Darkyn and `more'
Kyndred beast 'whisperer' Lilah's very bad day takes a turn for the deadly when Lilah is drugged, kidnapped and handcuffed to a dead marine, both destined for DNA harvesting to fuel Genhance's efforts to recreate the experiments that created the Kyndred. But it turns out that the marine, Walker, is not as dead as he seems and soon Walker and Lilah make their escape in the...
Published on January 5, 2011 by melindeeloo

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book juggles lots of characters and plots
You know when you go to the fair or the circus and you watch jugglers? Only they aren't just your run of the mill jugglers throwing up three weenie little balls. These guys are juggling nine balls, six clubs and three flaming knives. Blindfolded.

That is what reading this book was like. As we delve deeper into this series there are so many characters, so many...
Published on March 3, 2012 by T. Wheaton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frostfire - Kyndred, Darkyn and `more', January 5, 2011
Kyndred beast 'whisperer' Lilah's very bad day takes a turn for the deadly when Lilah is drugged, kidnapped and handcuffed to a dead marine, both destined for DNA harvesting to fuel Genhance's efforts to recreate the experiments that created the Kyndred. But it turns out that the marine, Walker, is not as dead as he seems and soon Walker and Lilah make their escape in the snowy mountains of Colorado. But even as they find refuge in a remote town filled with secrets, they aren't out of the woods yet. With multiple parties hunting Lilah and Walker - both separately and together - their allies are just as dangerous as their foes.

Frostfire takes a while to get rolling, there are just so many threads setting up the members of the very large cast - for both of the leads, their hunters, another of the Kyndred, the residents of the isolated mountain town, and also past Darkyn leads, Nicola and Gabriel, who are on a hunt for a rogue of their kind. I did really like one of the side pairs though - the sheriff and his and his one night stand both turn out to be really interesting - but I have to admit that I was a bit impatient with some of the other parts of the setup. I was dying to find out more about the mysterious Walker and rushed though some of the other threads to get back to the parts with Walker and Lilah. I was eager to read about their relationship, as the mysterious Walker finds in Lilah the woman who can soothe his savage beast and bring him back from the edge of rage and madness, and Lilah finds in Walker someone with whom she can share her secrets and someone to end her loneliness and isolation.

Once Viehl finally gets all of the ground work in place though, she does pull everything together with plenty of action, some steamy bonding, and a pretty amazing display of power by Lilah. So even though Frostfire didn't end up being my favorite of the Kyndred books - I really liked the first two - Viehl manages to pull off a surprising revelation at the end of the story which fans of her Darkyn books will appreciate and that 'made' the story for me. So with the next Kyndred lead, the crippled 'touch sensitive' Samuel already waiting in the wings, I am ready for Nightshine: A Novel of the Kyndred (KYNDRED NOVEL) now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Win. All the way., January 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frostfire: A Novel of the Kyndred (KYNDRED NOVEL Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I have read the entire Darkyn series (multiple times). Lynn Viehl is probably one of my favorite romance authors. She has so much talent that it is unbelievable. This book was amazing just like the others. her story lines are always complex and while some people hate that, I relish it. I love the fact that she breaks her stories apart and tells them in such a strange way that it makes you wonder what is going on. She almost turns it into a mystery. And the story lines are always so complex which is such a lost art for many romance authors. I hope she continues writing (please, god don't let samuel's story be the last one). Her characters are vivid with their looks and personalities. I love it. love it all.

(I know this review probably wasn't a helpful one, but seriously? She is amazing.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book juggles lots of characters and plots, March 3, 2012
You know when you go to the fair or the circus and you watch jugglers? Only they aren't just your run of the mill jugglers throwing up three weenie little balls. These guys are juggling nine balls, six clubs and three flaming knives. Blindfolded.

That is what reading this book was like. As we delve deeper into this series there are so many characters, so many side plots, so many story developments that come at you blind it is like watching that juggler. It could get messy, it could all go out of wack and everything could fall down in a second. But while it is happening, there is a control, and elegance and mastery of it all.

In this installment the main character is Lilah a Kyndred whose special power is to talk to animals. She is kidnapped and thrown into the back of a freezer truck and handcuffed to a cadaver so she won't escape. But that cadaver isn't really dead. He is a Mysterious Guy that Lilah can somehow mind-meld with.

They manage to escape, natch, but they do it while up in a remote mountain town that is very isolated and the townspeople have a big secret.

This is most definitely not a starting point for new readers to the series. There are too many returning characters and continuing plots from the previous Darkyn/Kyndred books that a new reader would be a bit confused. Even a continuing reader has to pay attention to unravel all the tangled plot threads going on here.

As in the previous books, the Kyndred who have created a secret network via Jessa & Samuel are briefly mentioned. Samuel himself is heavily involved in this book and we learn more about his abilities and the true price being exacted for them. It is Nicola and Gabriel's turn to appear in a Kyndred book. I loved them in their book Night Lost: A Novel of the Darkyn, but Nicola seemed really abrasive here.

The romance between Lilah and Mysterious Guy was quick and sexy. But it does take a back seat to all the stuff going on around them. Who is Mysterious Guy really? Who kidnapped Lilah? Who is the woman who seduced the town's sheriff and then disappeared? Why is Samuel trying so hard to discover Lilah's real identity? And what is up with that town?

I only gave this three stars because while I enjoyed reading it, it did feel a little messy and all over the place. Maybe we could have stuck with just the flaming knives and left the balls and clubs out of it? Flaming knife juggling is really exciting all by itself. There were a couple of side excursions I thought were just plot bloat. For instance, there is a point when Lilah has to snowshoe up a mountain to chase Mysterious Guy to tell him she loves him. That scene could have been cut and we would not have missed it one bit.

And again I am tickled about how much of a dud Gennaro is as the series bogeyman. Poor guy, he's such a megalomaniac with visions of world dominance and he is being bamboozled by pretty much everyone. I did love the little side plot that involved his assistant, though. Nice tie in to the whole Darkyn universe.

I did enjoy this, just a tick less than the previous two in the series. Looking forward to reading Samuel's story next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb romantic urban fantasy, January 8, 2011
Lilah is a Kyndred whose genetically enhanced DNA has made her a target of the GenHance biotech company; they became aware of her when she recued kids from a bear. The firm believes Lilah contains super DNA that enables her to communicate with animals. They want her DNA dead or alive. They drug her and when she regains consciousness she is handcuffed to an apparently dying man, but she heals Walker, a veteran of the Afghan war.

He vows to keep his savior safe. However, Lilah has another stalker wanting her apparently dead. This person is a Kyndred like she is. Lilah thought she could trust her "species" but by the time she learns the truth that an insider betrayal leaves her at risk, she may be too late to react.

The third Kyndred romantic urban fantasy (see Shadowlight and Dreamveil) is a fabulous thriller as Lilah wonders if the trite maxim no good deeds goes unpunished is true; the truth is much more complicated as she and walker will learn. Fast-paced and loaded with action, fans of the series will relish this exciting entry while wondering who is the traitor.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm only sad there's not more!, January 12, 2011
I have been anxiously awaiting the newest Kyndred book; not only did I have it on preorder for my ereader, but I won an early copy. For those of you who are not familiar with the Kyndred series, it is an offshoot from the Darkyn series, which is being featured this month. A lot of the characters from that series show up in passing in the Kyndred books, but unlike the Darkyn the Kyndred are human and mortal.

Established in the Darkyn series, Kyndred are people who have been biologically altered. They have evolved separate from the Darkyn and are subject to a whole other set of hardships in life. Unlike the Darkyn, there is not set society to help protect them. The Kyndred are in the world, for better or worse, on their own and more often than not they are on the run because of what they are.

Frostfire melds a lot of storylines together. I'll admit that about halfway through the book if you aren't paying attention closely you will be confused. There are characters that show up from not only the previous Kyndred books, but from the Darkyn series. However, I am possibly the worst person about forgetting names with complex plots that jump around, and I followed it pretty well. There were only a few places where I had to flip back and forth to double check who was who that did what.

I laughed, I cheered, and I'm going to go reread now - because there won't be a new book from Lynn Viehl for a few months and that makes me sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable!, March 29, 2011
By 
Julie Doe (Rocky Mountain High) - See all my reviews
"Frostfire" is the third book in the Kyndred series, which is an offshoot of Ms. Viehl's earlier Darkyn series. I should note that I received an ARC of this book for free from the author.

This book is my second favorite so far (I liked the second book the best). The story takes a while to get started, but when it does it rocks. It centers around Lilah, a Kyndred who can talk to animals, and Walker, a mysterious man who, like Lilah, has been kidnapped by unknown persons. They manage to escape their captors and find themselves stranded in a small town in the middle of nowhere that contains its own deadly secrets. Throw in some characters from previous Kyndred novels and Darkyn novels, and it's a great ride.

In particular, I love that Lilah had a backbone and didn't always wait for someone to come rescue her. Walker was protective, but Lilah stood up to him. I like strong female characters like this.

While I enjoyed this book immensely and look forward to the next book - "Nightshine", available in November of this year according to Ms. Viehl's blog - I don't recommend anyone new to the series start with this book. New readers would be lost because of the references to things that have happened in the past and the inclusion of the Darkyn characters. New readers should start with "Shadowlight" (Kyndred #1) and then "Dreamveil" (Kyndred #2).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confrontation in Colorado, September 16, 2011
By 
Frostfire (2011) is the third Fantasy novel in the Kyndred subseries, following Dreamviel. The initial work in this sequence is If Angels Burn.

In the previous volume, Rowan follows Taire to her hideout. Taske saves Jessica from a killer. Sean takes Taire for a ride.

Dansant is irritated at King. Findley and Rowan remember each other. Rowan takes flowers to Taire.

In this novel, Lillian Emerson is the adopted daughter of Evelyn Emerson. She lives on the family estate in Santa Lucia.

Lilah Devreaux is a Kyndred. Her Takyn name is Delilah. She has a job as an animal control officer.

Samuel Taske is a Kyndred. His Takyn name is Paracelsus. His chauffeur is Jimmy Findley.

Walker Kimball is a large man who had been wounded in Afghanistan. He had died and was used as a scarecrow by a local farmer.

Ethan Jemmet is the Sheriff of Larimer County, Colorado. He lives and works in Frenchman's Pass.

Valori Trovatella is an agent of the tresora council. Lori was trained by Brother Tomaseo.

Gabriel Seran is a Darkyn. His lover and sygkenis is Nicola Jefferson.

In this story, sixteen year old Lillian disappears after going for a ride. Her horse is found in a neighboring property, but the young girl is not found by searchers. Her mother leaves the estate twelve hours after the disappearance.

Lilah is fired by her boss for having a flat tire. She has been late three times in the past five years. He orders her to vacate the office in the next fifteen minutes.

Lilah is puzzled by the termination, but doesn't fight the order. She has been thinking recently of moving elsewhere. She cleans out her desk and leaves to a standing ovation by fellow workers.

When she leaves the building, Lilah discovers that someone has stolen her car. A deputy gives her a ride home. She locks the front door as soon as she enters the house.

Lilah logs onto the internet, but no one is active in the protected chat room. Paracelsus soon logs on and Lilah tells him something about her bad day. Then she logs off and fixes supper.

Lilah is sleepy and goes to bed. She dreams about a wolf named Guide. He tells her that men have come to take her away.

She dreams that two men come into her house and inject something into her. They put her into the back of their truck and drive away. Some other man is also in the back of the truck.

Both Lilah and the man begin to recover from the drugs. After days of travel, they gradually regain their freedom of movement. The man tells her that he is named Walker.

They plan to jump out of the truck as soon as it reaches a suitable place. The abductors alternate driving and sleeping as they travel. The younger man feels an urge to take a shortcut and starts following less traveled roads.

The truck slows down and Lilah jumps out the back with Walker. The two drivers become aware that something is wrong. They leave the truck and surprise Lilah, but Walker surprises the drivers.

Meanwhile, Ethan is sent to Denver to pass around flyers and CDs to real estate brokers. He meets Lori at the motel and they strike up an instant infatuation. After a night in the bed, Ethan wakes to find Lori gone.

Ethan asks a waitress at the restaurant about Lori and learns that she had left very early. The waitress has found a charm bracelet lost by the woman and gives it to Ethan. He leaves his card with the waitress in case Lori contacts her about the bracelet.

Later, Lori misses the bracelet and calls the restaurant. She is told that Ethan has it. Lori looks up Ethan on the internet and drops by to retrieve the bracelet.

This tale brings Lilah and Walker to Frenchman's Pass. Taske and Findley come to Colorado looking for Lilah. Gabriel and Nick also come searching for a rogue Darkyn.

Strange things happen in Frenchman's Pass. The next installment in this series is Nightshine.

Recommended for Viehl fans and anyone else who enjoys tales of genetic engineering, enhanced powers, and hidden mutants. Read and enjoy!

-Arthur W. Jordin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many story lines, February 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love multi-tasking but keeping all these characters straight has gotten boring. The writing is excellent! But, trying to figure out how all the characters are connected or how their destinies will come together (maybe in the 20th book?) is exhausting. This is soooo not a vampire book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms. Viehl nails it again, January 5, 2011
Since I stink at writing novel summaries, I'll just give some snippets from the back cover:

"As one of the genetically enhanced Kyndred, Lilah can read and control the minds of animals... After being drugged and abducted, Lilah winds up handcuffed to a half-dead man... Walker, a soldier critically wounded in Afghanistan, is brought back to life by Lilah's warmth and determination... as the two struggle to escape their grim fate, they stumble upon a remote town hiding a dark secret..."

Lynn Viehl should be named the Queen of the Kickass Heroine. Lilah is tougher than she seems, and when she finally gets down to business, there isn't anything that's going to stop her. And don't even get me started on Viehl's ability to write tortured, yet not wimpy, heroes. Walker has some dark things hiding in his past, but it's who is he despite those flaws that make him a hero worth rooting for.

All in all a very satisfying and fast-paced read, but when you get to the plot twists near the end, they'll blow you away. Good job, Ms. Viehl. I can't wait for the next book in this incredible world you've created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 Stars - Great Story, February 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frostfire: A Novel of the Kyndred (KYNDRED NOVEL Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Ms. Viehl is consistent and inventive and continues to evolve from Darkyn to Kyndred without dropping a beat. Lilah leads a quiet life, she is aware of her talent and keeps a low profile. She has met people online who give advice and let her know whats going on in her world. However she isn't quick enough to avoid being drugged and kidnapped. She is cuffed to a dead marine and put in the back of a climate controlled truck to freeze to death so her DNA can be harvested.

Of course things are not as they seem, Lilah and her protector encounter beings who should not exist, in a place that is not friendly to humans!

This was a great read and I enjoyed it. Ms. Viehl did introduce characters the will probably spin off into another series.

A great read and most enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.