Best Books of the Month Shop Costumes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Janet Jackson All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Subscribe & Save Introducing Handmade New Kitchen Scale from AmazonBasics Amazon Gift Card Offer hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage  McCartney Shop Now Retro Toys Deal
Frozen Moment and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Acceptable | Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: We aim to deliver to the USA within 10 days! (subject to customs delays). Paperback; English language; a worn but readable copy. We are an experienced and professional UK bookseller who have been sending books worldwide for over 5 years.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Frozen Moment Paperback – July 1, 2010

7 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
"Please retry"
Paperback, July 1, 2010
$4.71 $0.77

The Rising by Ryan D'Agostino
"The Rising" by Ryan D'Agostino
The astonishing and true story of Dr. William Petit's recovery in the face of traumatic loss. Learn more | See related books

Editorial Reviews


'I couldn't put it down... Add to this a depiction of the Swedish countryside which rivals Mankell at his best and you have a very atmospheric book. Camilla Ceder is definitely a writer to watch and I'm looking forward to the next Christian Tell book.' 'A rookie reporter, a world-weary police inspector, a body that has been executed then run over, and an unsolved mystery from the past lie at the heart of this intricate psychological puzzler.' WOMAN & HOME 'A good psychological crime novel that will appeal to fans of Wallander and Steig Larsson.' CHOICE 'well constructed and pacy, with plenty of twists and turns and a vividly evoked atmosphere.' BIG ISSUE 'Camilla Ceder is a Swedish writer whose first crime novel, Frozen Moment, takes on two of her country's greats. Her provincial detective Christian Tell is more sensitive than Henning Mankell's Wallender, while an extraordinary twist offers a women's take on Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander. Two men are killed by the same method - shot in the head and repeatedly run over by a car - and the murders lead Tell to an unsolved crime in the past. This is a terrific debut.' THE SUNDAY TIMES 'Is Jo Nesbo's new Norwegian detective Harry Hole, really fit to take up the lonely beat of the Nordic cop [Wallander], or does Inspector Christian Tell, the hero of Camilla Ceder's new book, make a better candidate?' THE GUARDIAN

About the Author

Camilla Ceder (born 1976) has studied social science and psychotherapy, and besides being an author she also works with counselling and social work. Frozen Moment is her debut novel.


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing; Tra edition (July 1, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0297859498
  • ISBN-13: 978-0297859499
  • Product Dimensions: 1 x 6 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,958,690 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Alex on November 3, 2010
Format: Paperback
The cover proclaims `Move Over Wallander'. The book is set in Sweden, there are the ubiquitous scenes of the murder team in briefings, and an acknowledgement of Sweden's racism problem, but there the comparison ends. Mankell's detective's brooding presence pervades almost every page of his books. Here, by a quarter of the way through, the main cop, Inspector Tell, has appeared only fleetingly, and not much more by halfway.

The author studied psychotherapy and works in counselling and social work. It shows. A lot of time is devoted to the inner thoughts and angst of the characters, particularly the females. A lot of the non-cops are damaged and fragile and have come into contact with social services. Maybe a better comparison would be with Gunnar Staalesen's series about Norwegian ex-social worker turned private eye, Varg Veum.

The action takes place in and around Gothenburg. Normally a place for happily married police officers as per the work of Helen Tursten and Ake Edwardson, but the hero here is the stereotypical conventional single maverick,whose work prevents enduring relationships. There are two main plots set 10-15 years apart which inevitably come together. This is handled quite well, but maybe just too conveniently, with a lot of lucky coincidences.

If I had to give a one word summary it would be derivative. Inspector Tell could be Harry Hole from Jo Nesbo's books. As mentioned there is the social work aspect from Staalesen, the barren landscapes from, well almost all of them really, (I have spent a lot of time in a lot of towns and cities, in Sweden, it is a beautiful country, nowhere near as bleak as it is painted.), several references to the characters (author's?) taste in music, done to death by Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Dr. Christine Maingard on December 25, 2010
Format: Paperback
With 'Move over Wallander' on the cover of Frozen Moment expectations are high. Henning Mankell's Kurt Wallander series? Well, not quite. Whilst I thought that it is a fairly okay novel, adhering to all the character-descriptive-and-suspense-building-strategies a good writer should observe and follow, there is something lacking and at the some time too much of something else.

I must admit, it's perhaps because I am not so easily pleased anymore with most crime novels as there's just so much published in this genre and much of it seems to follow a similar formula. I have become a reader who craves not just the enjoyment a good plot brings but perhaps more so the pleasure I get from beautiful prose.

For me `Frozen Moments' lacks the beautiful language - almost poetic at times - that makes Mankell's `Wallander' crime series so special. Cedar's book felt to me that on the one hand there wasn't enough left out to engage my imagination, and on the other hand there was too much character and background description that didn't add to the plot and was fairly ordinary, without the magic of extraordinary prose.

If you haven't read many crime novels, you will like this one and I am sure it's a good first novel...but not quite like `Wallander'.

Christine Maingard
Author of 'Think Less Be More:Mental Detox for Everyone'
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
This book will have some readers very strongly for it and others as strongly against it. This is because the author has a social work professional background and this becomes a big part of the story. Police people are generally not the biggest fans of the welfare dept which is staffed by social workers. They generally see them as bleeding hearts who are too soft. So when the book is a police detective novel with this new twist, one is taking a big risk.

My only complaint about blending the two professions is that I think it slows the pace down. I normally read a mystery in a day or two. This took me double that and it is because I kept putting it down. I usually put it down when we travelled back into the past to examine a set of characters who are life long users in Sweden of the social welfare system, mental hospitals and similar. There are roughly five characters in the book with this kind of nexus.

Then there is Inspector Tell who is trying to solve two homicides. He needs to interview a lot of these social welfare types so again we intersect quite a bit. When I used to work as a lawyer with social welfare in America, it was usually depressing work. It seems to be the same in Sweden. This is no surprise because separating children from their parents, putting people in mental hospitals, coming up with plans which they likely will not follow, etc., etc., is universal.

So am I going to read more of these if there are more? Probably not. But I cannot say it was a bad book. It was well written, well plotted with good characterization. However, I tend to read these books for escapism and there was very little of that to be found here.

The book's author studied psychotherapy and works in counseling and social work.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
4-1/2 stars

I've read a number of Scandinavian thrillers, and the things I love most are the complex, often melancholy but intelligent characters, the unusual narrative and chronological devices, and the compelling ambience. Camille Ceder succeeds in some of these areas better than others. Set in three time periods within a 14 year arc, disparate story lines eventually join up for a satisfying, tragic mystery.

The detectives are a team led by Inspector Christian Tell, a character with an interesting backstory but not a particularly clever mind. He is reticent and analytical, often thinking back about his relationships and actions, but not really a man who then acts on the insights he has. His colleagues are well drawn but not entirely interesting: the harried working mother, the immigrant, the old blowhard with some skill, and the newbie. Oh, and the boss about to retire.

Ceder's publicist does a disservice to the author when "Move over Wallander ..." is plastered on the cover. This is not Wallander. The writing is not so elegant, nor the charaters so nuanced. This is, however, a talented author who shows some promise. I enjoyed the book.

The next book in the series is Babylon. So Nesbo and Indridason needn't "move over".
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: murder, crime, true murder