Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


166 of 175 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A spectacular upgrade of Life in the Freezer with some flaws
This review is based on the UK Blu-Ray release and, so far, based on what I've read, the US release will be identical (as with Human Planet). Unfortunately, once again, Discovery seems to be planning to air their own butchered version, this time replacing David Attenborough with Alec Baldwin. I'm sure I don't have to recommend to most of you to seek out Attenborough's...
Published on December 9, 2011 by Zev Toledano

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great for little ones.
My husband thought this would be good to show our young children animals such as penguins in their natural habitat after visiting an aquarium/zoo, but it really is not meant for young children.
Published 1 month ago by Natalie G.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC scores again - of course, August 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frozen Planet: The Complete Series (David Attenborough-Narrated Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In the usual BBC style, this dvd is photographically stunning and informative. I am an avid nature documentary fan and own quite an extensive library of dvd's of this genre. This is one of my most favorite. Visually stimulating and educational with a broad focus, not just promoting the political flavor of the month, ie. global warming, but more about conservation of our natural earth. Nature is not always warm fuzzies and it was portrayed as it is funny, sad, awe inspiring and yes, even violent. Nature is, after all, nature and I personally didn't think there undue focus on the gore, but more about the survival of living creatures in a most unhospitable environment. Frozen Planet is well worth watching and owning. I know I will watch it many more times with my grandchildren as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Frozen Planet Is On Irreversible Defrost!, December 25, 2012
This review is from: Frozen Planet: The Complete Series (David Attenborough-Narrated Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As I look outside and notice the lack of snow this winter, Frozen Planet gave me a visual reminder of cold winter days and nights of long ago. I really enjoyed this educational documentary; even the soothing horn in the soundtrack which is excellent, because it added a deep sense of adventure, and excitement. David Attenbourough is very much involved in this film, and will not be out-done, as he shows a genuine concern for the wildlife. This film shows the Arctic wildlife enduring through the most hostile environments on Earth, as they struggle on a daily basis, to survive the best way they know how. This film is on par with the other top-notch BBC documentaries such as Planet Earth, Blue Planet, and Life. The BBC has set the bar with this film because, its one of the best in-depth nature documentaries this year. This movie looks realistic on Blu-ray, and the time-lapse footage of frost expanding in slow motion, has never been seen before. The time-lapse footage of a frozen river, and its motionless water fall, thawing out and re-flowing again, was a first time ever. The sight of melting Glaciers is very disturbing, and of great concern, causing the sea levels to rise slowly, as the ice caps continue to disappear fast enough to set new records. This film covers true events in the North, and South Poles, and will leave viewers more informed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly fabulous - so educational and beautiful, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My 6 year old has watched this over and over and she's an expert now. Its so interesting, educational and my daughter loves this and all the other BBC nature series - she watches these every night and turns down all the Disney classics that I offer her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another BBC gem!, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frozen Planet: The Complete Series (David Attenborough-Narrated Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great cinematography, well produced and excellent value. BBC seems to have these Series down to a science. Speaking of science, there are some interesting and obvious facts about the planets warming that even Glen Beck, Rush Limbaugh & Laura Ingram might be able to grasp. Well, perhaps that is a reach. Nonetheless, the enlightened will continue to be with productions like these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good series, May 16, 2012
I use this series when discussing biomes with my biology classes. Clips are easy to implement into lessons and make the topic relevant and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderul series, May 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a wonderful series. I had seen most of this on the television but decided to pick up a copy to give to someone who I thought would appreciate it. It's a wonderful series that follows various animals in the arctic and antarctic through the different seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another win for BBC nature, May 25, 2014
By 
Steven Hintzsche (Garnerville, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frozen Planet: The Complete Series (David Attenborough-Narrated Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love nature shows and BBC is the Jaguar (as in the auto maker) of nature shows. David Attenborough is THE nature narrator of his generation. The camera work and video quality is top notch. This is a great showcase on DVD. Love the polar bears and the penguins and the killer whales, and.... (you get the idea). Highly recommended to watchers of life or blue planet or the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who doesn't love nature documentaries?, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frozen Planet: The Complete Series (David Attenborough-Narrated Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm very happy with this! David Attenborough is an awesome narrator, and his presence in the documentaries isn't too jarring (sometimes, I just want to watch animals, not people). All in all, fantastic. Beautiful scenes, wonderful information, and an all around asset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice one, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frozen Planet: The Complete Series (David Attenborough-Narrated Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
as always stunning by bbc David attenborough , every collector should have it, something you have never see before .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Footage, May 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frozen Planet: The Complete Series (David Attenborough-Narrated Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The footage for this series is amazing. The picture itself is so clear and crisp and the actual footage is amazing. The sound is good quality, as well. It's a great documentary series for kids and adults, alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Frozen Planet: The Complete Series (David Attenborough-Narrated Version) [Blu-ray]
$54.98 $23.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.