Customer Reviews


11,478 Reviews
5 star:
 (9,534)
4 star:
 (920)
3 star:
 (467)
2 star:
 (200)
1 star:
 (357)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,212 of 1,348 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Excellence
I went to the theater expecting the usual dumb kids movie, and was blown away. I LOVED this film and instantly added the DVD to my wishlist. Honestly, my favorite movies are The Hunt for the Red October, Galaxy Quest, Pixar's Incredibles, Princess Bride, Ponyo, Sound of Music, and Lord of the Rings Extended Editions. I gravitate to no particular genre, but only to what...
Published 8 months ago by ScotFlower

versus
247 of 316 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: If you buy the DVD+digital copy, the code for the digital copy is INSIDE the DVD package
The activation code for the digital copy comes IN the DVD package. Apologies if you are seeing this review on the Instant Video product; Amazon carries the same review across all Frozen movie products, and I wrote this to make sure people saw that they can't buy the DVD and instantly access their digital copy.

Five star movie, one star product delivery...
Published 6 months ago by Crafty mama


‹ Previous | 1 21148 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,212 of 1,348 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Excellence, January 5, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frozen (DVD)
I went to the theater expecting the usual dumb kids movie, and was blown away. I LOVED this film and instantly added the DVD to my wishlist. Honestly, my favorite movies are The Hunt for the Red October, Galaxy Quest, Pixar's Incredibles, Princess Bride, Ponyo, Sound of Music, and Lord of the Rings Extended Editions. I gravitate to no particular genre, but only to what I find are the absolute best movies. Frozen is up there with the best movies I have ever seen. Period.

Why is this film so good?

1. It teaches real love. Love is about putting the other person's needs first. Love is shown in your actions not your words. I am so floored that a kids movie actually taught this and even took the time to point out you never get engaged or married to a guy you just met. WOW... a Disney film not about being swept off your feet by a guy in 3 seconds? Its about time.

2. The side kick characters are not annoying.... seriously!! Its like the difference between Jar Jar Binks and R2D2. These side kicks are more like R2D2 whereas past Disney sidekicks were like Jar Jar Binks. These side-kicks from the reindeer to snow monster were done exactly right. They add humor to the show and dimension without ever getting in the way of the story or you wanting to strangle them. Way to go Disney!!! Any way you can retroactively edit sidekicks in older films?

3. The plot themes are serious yet with enough humor that it doesn't feel too serious AND without the humor taking away from the story line. What a great balance to hit just right. Ok so the story line is a bit simplistic because its a kid movie, but it still has twists and turns. I did not find the story predictable because I was expecting another one of those princesses falling in love movies.. and this was not typical. The story teaches important themes like what love really is, the weight of responsibility, how to use power rightly vs. wrongly, and empathy for others.

4. Great music. The opening song grabs you and whisks you away to another world. Every song helps you connect more deeply to each character... and pulls you deeper into the story. I have never felt so much empathy in a musical since Fiddler on the Roof... and I'm not that emotional of a person.

So if you have daughters, grandchildren, nieces, or work in childcare... get this movie. You will be able to watch it over and over without going insane. The kids will learn what true love really is and what to watch out for in love.... its not what all those other princess movies teach. So you can rest easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


411 of 481 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic of Disney!, December 11, 2013
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
And this will teach us all not to judge a book by its cover ever again.

When the trailer for ‘Frozen’ was dropped a few months back, I predicted a dud. It looked so generic and obvious and unfunny and repetitive and just everything I didn’t want it to be. When news of the film broke I was ecstatic. Disney, doing another musical, basing it off of a very dark and disturbing tale. I knew it would get white washed a bit (which I was fine with), but it was a MUSICAL and so I was automatically game for it.

Then that trailer deceived me.

Still, my daughters were hooked with the very first television spot, and they’ve had the dolls for nearly a month already, and so we were going to see this opening night. With expectations low (despite some good early ink), there was nowhere to go but up for this film, and it didn’t just go up, it blew through the roof! Yes, ‘Frozen’ is easily Disney’s best film since ‘Beauty and the Beast’ and honestly, one of the best musicals since. It’s a visual feast, charming and sincere, and an unexpected twist on a tale of love, family and acceptance with beautiful shades that make this something truly special.

The film tells the story of two sisters, Anna and Elsa. In early childhood, they are joined at the hip. Elsa has an ancient power to create ice (a power that is never explained, and quite frankly doesn’t need to be) and they use her power as an advantage to their playing. When an accident occurs and Anna is injured, Elsa becomes terrified of her ‘gift’ and basically locks herself away from everyone and everything, including Anna. The two obviously drift apart (‘Do You Want to Build a Snowman’ is a marvelous musical moment and brought tears to my eyes) and after the loss of their parents things only get worse. Now fully grown, Anna is a naïve and desperate young woman seeking any attention she can get, and Elsa is distant and misunderstood. On the night of Elsa coronation things go amuck and her secret is exposed to disastrous consequences, and soon Elsa is forced to flee and Anna is left to track her down and ‘thaw’ her town.

Now, many have balked before seeing the film that Anna is reduced to yet another Disney stereotype, a girl who needs a man to get the job done. Ignorance is bliss, I suppose, but ‘Frozen’ certainly takes a different approach that the one expected and presents us with a lovable tomboy, a klutz who takes risks and places faith and is willing to ‘take the bull by the horns’, even when its beyond her reach. Sure, she is aided by a man, but she doesn’t need him around (and even the twist at the end where it could have easily fallen into stereotype of ‘man saves the day’ turns out to be even more sincere and honest in the way it finally comes out). Anna is a great role model for young girls (and surprisingly, so is Elsa) and the beautiful bond created by Disney here is unlike anything I’ve seen them do before.

Yes, while the film does eventually give is an antagonist (albeit ever so briefly and the way the villain is handled is light and a very nice change of pace), the beauty of ‘Frozen’ is that the chief antagonist is not a singular person but the inner struggle to be accepted and understood. Elsa is not a monster, she is simply scared or herself and what she may do to those whom she loves. ‘Frozen’ does a marvelous job of portraying the bond between sisters and the lengths each will go to protect and love the other.

My daughter was in tears over their separation; that is how heartfelt this portrayal is.

‘Frozen’, in my eyes, is one of the best things Disney has done; ever. The film is a modern-day classic and one that is sure to be remembered and regarded as a beloved nod to the Disney Renaissance with obvious modern twists and its own identity. I’m not exaggerating when I say that I can see this being spoken of in the same circles as ‘Beauty and the Beast’, ‘Cinderella’ and ‘The Little Mermaid’. While ‘Tangled’ certainly helped Disney regain their footing after some serious dips in quality, ‘Frozen’ completely redeems them and proves that they are still as magical as they ever were.

Take that Pixar!

And let’s just talk about the musical angle for just a moment. This is one of those rare gifts that actually feel like a true Broadway show. The use of music is integral to the feel of the story, and the glorious visual expanse helps create an epic and ‘larger than life’ reality. When Elsa has her big number (‘Let it Go’ is one of the greatest Disney ballads of all time, easily) you can feel the goose-bumps and your heart starts beating faster. This is a beautifully nostalgic reminder of the power of Disney, and it helps bring those same chills and thrills to a new and younger generation. I have never seen my daughter so excited to be watching a film as I saw her while watching ‘Frozen’.

It carries a different feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


587 of 696 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney's 'Frozen' the best animated feature in more than a decade, November 27, 2013
It's unrealistic to watch animated movies these days and be able to call one better than all the rest - and that goes for Disney movies, too. True enough, each year one animated feature eventually goes on to win an Academy Award, along with several other awards, but for the most part, even the year's most praised film looks just like the last. Only a select few films in the last decade, like Toy Story, Monsters Inc., and Finding Nemo will withstand the test of time and possibly earn a place in the same conversation as Disney classics, like Cinderella, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, The Little Mermaid, and Beauty and the Beast. Still, every now and then, Disney treats animated movie lovers to something special, and to be completely honest, it's been quite a while. This might be a bit premature to say, but Disney has finally struck gold once more (and not just commercially) with a film that has the potential to be one of the greatest animated films every created. That film is called Frozen.

Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee write (along with Shane Morris) and direct Disney's Frozen, loosely based on The Snow Queen - a story created by Hans Christian Anderson. The film begins with the introduction of two young children, both princesses - Elsa and Anna. However, Elsa has the power to control the winter elements, ice and snow. After a terrible accident, the girls' parents decide to isolate Elsa from Anna and wipe Anna's mind clean about Elsa's powers in order to protect Anna from knowing the truth.

Flash forward several years, the day has come for Elsa (Idina Menzel) to claim her right as the Queen of Arendelle. Now an adult and Queen, Elsa must face the people of her kingdom, all of whom she has hidden herself away since she is unable to control her powers. Unfortunately, her greatest fear comes true after an encounter with Anna (Kristen Bell), who spontaneously decides she wants to marry a visiting prince, Hans (Santino Fontana). Unwilling to give her blessing for the marriage and angry with her sister, Elsa unintentionally unleashes her powers on the entire kingdom, instantly turning winter to summer. Elsa quickly leaves the kingdom and rushes to the mountains, creating her own palace of ice away from anyone and everyone. Feeling responsible, Anna embarks on a quest, along with a mountain-based ice maker, Kristoff (Jonathan Groff), his reindeer, Sven, and a magical snowman, Olaf (Josh Gad), to bring the Queen home.

For whatever reason, Disney moved away from the on-screen musicals that provided some of the most memorable soundtracks in film history. You may recall A Whole New World from Aladdin and Circle of Life from The Lion King as being just the tip of the iceberg in a massive library of memorable songs over a variety of films. In all likelihood, Disney simply got sidetracked with spectacular new animation and the realization that 3D implementation had endless potential (which is hardly the case). Regardless, the diehard lovers of Disney classics will be happy that the company has decided to revisit the musical aspect of storytelling. Both Kristin Bell and Idina Menzel simply thrive with their heartfelt, energetic voices, and even though there's very little about the songs in Frozen that stand out, the hope is that Disney will continue with this classic trend.

The music, meshed with the story, easily makes Frozen one of the most unique animated features in recent memory. Just when you think you have this story figured out it will absolutely surprise you with its misdirection. Initially, Frozen appears to be a film that will pit sister vs. sister, sort of like a Good Witch of the North vs. the Wicked Witch of the West dynamic. However, that couldn't be further from the truth as there is a serious amount of character inner turmoil and theme-driven action going on here instead. One princess is desperate to protect the world from her own actions, even though she becomes exactly what she hoped to avoid. The other princess is more traditional with her intent to find true love and save her sister, plus the kingdom (and her sister) - both of which she loves to no end.

Like the story itself, the characters are also much different than anything you'd expect out of a film of this nature. Every little girl on this planet will fall in love with Anna, the happiest princess you could possibly ever imagine. Kristin Bell is a splendid choice for this role, bringing an enthusiasm to a character that you can't help but adore. She breaks out into song early and often, singing songs including Do You Want to Build a Snowman? and Love is an Open Door. Even Menzel, who is portraying a bit of a tragic character, sings with reassurance in songs that include Let It Go and For the First Time in Forever.

The most outstanding premise in this film is the fact that there is no major antagonist. While that is a bit surprising for an animated film, the story goes in a much more thematic direction. Queen Elsa is the closest thing to a villain in this story, but she doesn't mean to be. Her goal is to protect the people she cares about, but fails miserably. As the story progresses, it becomes more about redeeming an individual that has simply lost her way and needs help to find the path back to "the light." To help the Queen, there are a few odd characters that shine in their own unique manner, including a comical snowman, and a moose that loves his carrots. Even though the film progresses in a mostly serious tone, these two supporting characters won't fail to make you laugh.

Overall, there's very little not to like about Frozen. It contains an honest-to-goodness message that parents should feel free subjecting their children to. The film is far lighter on the animated violence that has been much more prominent in many films recently. And, the action sequences that do occur are either playful or of the supernatural variety. For young boys, the constant presence of princesses may be a bit tedious, but the girls will absolutely love them. Anna and Elsa might just be in line for the massive commercial success of Ariel and Tinker Bell. In any event, Disney has a monster hit on their hands that will easily thrive on all formats (theater, home video, etc.) for years and years to come.

GRADE: A
FNDNreview.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


200 of 252 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Musical Disney Film Since The Lion King!, November 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have watched every disney animated film put out by the main Disney animation studios and all the Pixar films. This is by far the best "musical" film since The Lion King. The reason I say musical, is that I believe Wreck It Ralph was also an amazin film, but did not have the musical, classic Disney feel to it.

This is truly Disney at it's finest. A catchy soundtrack, fun characters, especially Olaf the Snowman who stole many of the scenes he was in. This is the first Disney soundtrack that I found myself humming to in a long time. I actually just bought it on iTunes which is very rare for me. Disney somehow continues to manage to put out a quality product after all these years, especially, when you think storylines are just getting rehashed over and over again. I must admit, the marketing for this film had me confused as to the actual plot or story of the film, and I was really worried this would be a flop. What a surprise I was in for.

It is also nice to not have a movie with a main "villain" and actually instead have it being more about a journey between two sisters. This is a speical bond that sisters have and brothers have with each other, and to have this as a theme is quite refreshing.

Disney is truly heading into their second renaissance with Lasseter at the helm. I believe Disney Animation is now surpassing Pixar on a regular basis, or at least two years running. Wreck It Ralph was far superior to Brave, and Frozen crushes Monster's Inc. The streak of films of Bolt (much better than expected), The Princess and the Frog, Tangled, Wreck It Ralph, and now Frozen is one of the hottest streaks Disney Animation has been on in a long time, but truly the last two of Wreck It Ralph and Frozen are destined to become classics for all time.

Bravo Disney!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


247 of 316 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: If you buy the DVD+digital copy, the code for the digital copy is INSIDE the DVD package, February 28, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The activation code for the digital copy comes IN the DVD package. Apologies if you are seeing this review on the Instant Video product; Amazon carries the same review across all Frozen movie products, and I wrote this to make sure people saw that they can't buy the DVD and instantly access their digital copy.

Five star movie, one star product delivery. Although this seems like the new normal for DVDs, the description doesn't convey this well enough for those of us that rarely buy DVDs.

Please "like" this review if you found it useful to increase the likelihood others will see it.

******
Okay, here is my review of the actual movie:

The movie opened in typical Disney fashion, but then completely blew me away. I love the Little Mermaid, Bambi, Dumbo, Cinderella and crew, but the Disney formula is generally pretty set. This movie, Frozen, opened with a beautiful princess, parents dying, a handsome prince...again, I wasn't expecting much.

Then it jumped off of the rails. Completely.

This movie is an amazing experience for young children. Here is why:
1. The first princess learns that having different abilities and yes, even power, isn't something she has to hide, and that keeping a secret hurt. Instead of hiding, she cultivates and learns how to make the most of her power and those that judged her quickly as cast out as the rest of the village celebrates and accepts her.
2. The other princess meets a handsome prince, and within a day wants to marry him. She is told she is nuts, and sure enough, after she spends 15 more minutes getting to know him, she realizes he isn't so great.
3. On the other hand, the nice guy with no money is an absolute catch. She just needed to give him a chance.
4. True love isn't just found in boyfriends, it's found in families. It was the true love between sisters that allowed then to save themselves!
As an added bonus, this movie was fun to watch! The characters are funny and quick, the visuals are amazing, and the Oscar-winning music will be trapped in your head for ages.
All in all, even as I clean out my DVD collection, I'm ordering this one. In DVD, HD, and digital. It's a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooo much fun!, January 27, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frozen (DVD)
I can't remember the last time I saw a movie TWICE in the theater! My kids are begging me to go back again! We sing the songs and laugh at Olaf!

Yes, it is classic Disney with singing and all (but we're fans). And no, it doesn't follow the original "Snow Queen" that it was based on, but that story was really boring. I tried to read it to my kids and they rebelled. Like Little Mermaid and Sleeping Beauty and many others, Disney actually improved on Hans Christian Andersen and Brothers Grimm (read the originals, the little mermaid's legs are ripped apart when she becomes a human and I won't even get into what the prince does while beauty sleeps...). With the exception of Peter Pan (J.M. Barrie can't be improved upon - the original will always be the best), Disney breathes life into fairy tales!

This one is hands down the best Disney has done in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Disney's Back With A Fun Whimsical Flurry Of A Movie Called "FROZEN"", November 7, 2013
Disney's is back with a slightly more fun animated feature and heartfelt spin on an old Hans Christian Anderson story called "The Snow Queen" which was first published in 1945. The original story is a darker version compared to what Disney is presenting you (as always loosely based), but it is considered one of the most acclaimed of all his Fairy Tale story's. Certainly the longest in length and the most illustrated of Anderson's works. It's called "FROZEN"

This film features a wonderfully and positively adapted screen story by Chris Buck ( Surf's Up, Pocahontas), Jennifer Lee (Wreck-It-Ralph) and Shane Morris (The Dukes of Hazard: The Beginning) and then turned into an adapted screenplay by Jennifer, yet the film is impressively directed by both Chris and Jennifer themselves.

The story is about two sisters who end up losing their parents and living alone as the only heirs to a kingdom. One sister is special (in a very private way) and the other just fun loving, trusting, and adventurous and truly loves her big sister so very much. That is, until the big sister has to shut all of the kingdoms doors for what she believes is a very good reason. Enter a semi-interested Prince from another Kingdom and a rough `Ice Breaker' with a feisty Reindeer as a companion and you have a really fun, heartwarming and colorful adventure. Did I mention there is a magically hysterical snowman too?

The younger sister is Anna who is perfectly voiced and sung by Kristen Bell (Veronica Mars, Parks & Recreation) and her older sister (who is The Snow Queen she discovers later) is impressively voiced and sung by Idena Menzel (Glee, Enchanted). Their acting talents provide the perfect combination of what sisters can be really like. Now add an obnoxious Duke who wants nothing more than to overrun these two sisters kingdom who is voiced by Alan Tudyk (Firefly, Wreck-It-Ralph) and a foreign Prince named Hans who is voiced by Santino Fontana (Submissions Only, Royal Pains), who has his own agenda of a sort and you have a wonderfully well thought out film with some scary and very happy moments.

Now you always need a hero and I won't spoil who the actual hero is in this film, but banded with a series of well caricatured trolls, an ice selling character named Kristoff voiced and sung by artistically Jonathan Groff (Glee, The Good Wife), a wonderfully creative snowman named Olaf perfected voiced by Josh Gad (21, The Internship) and a reindeer named Sven with a slight attitude and you have some wildly wintery fun all through the movie.

With music by Christopher Beck (Pitch Perfect, The Internship) and lyrics by Kristine Anderson-Lopez (Winnie the Pooh) and Robert Lopez (Avenue Q, Winnie the Pooh) there is a wonderful Broadway-style showstopper-type song sung by Idena called "Let It Go" that will amaze you. She sings it as she realizes her choices and destiny never matched and as she transforms into The Snow Queen, the art and colors will overwhelm you. Especially her dress!

Another fun song comes from Olaf called "In the Summer" which will have you laughing out loud because Olaf dreams of sunning on the beach. (Remember he's a snowman.) The puns and fun lyrics continue in many of the memorable songs including the two sisters beautiful duet "For The First Time In Forever" and the Prince and Anna's comical song "Love Is An Open Door".

The production and artistic design in this film is amazing and magically brought to the screen by designer Michael Giaimo (Pocahontas, Christmas Is Here Again) while the entire color scheme and overall visual effects were perfect orchestrated by Steve Goldberg (Tangled, Fanatasia 2000).

This film has a much more real story and drama dealing with the two sisters and it is sprinkled with some very funny humor throughout. A great family film for the season and much more engaging than Disney's "Brave" several years back. With the music thrown in with great care like Disney's more popular and entertaining "The Princess and the Frog", "FROZEN" is sure to be a family favorite as it teaches everyone what a true loving sacrifice is all about. You should go see it with your family and your friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a movie, January 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Coming home from watching this movie in 3D, I knew I needed to add this to my collection right away. Wow... Hold on let me catch my words. Wow.
As a college student usually I am not very interested in seeing animated movies and especially did not like hearing singing in movies. My first impression of this movie was that it was going to be something like tangled, which I loved, but hated the soundtrack. This movie started off with an amazing first piece that kept me interested. The rest of the music and singing was just as great, as I have been humming them in my head for some time now.
This movie is obviously about the Snow Queen, but what makes it different is Disney's very peculiar twist, making the plot stand out in front of remakes. It has many different values and themes such as true love and what it really means. Like me, you may have judged the movie by its plot, talking snowmen? CGI animations? Skip. But if a google search gives you a perception on a good movie, you probably shouldn't and will never experience new and great things you never would have come to expect from such little beginnings. i'm not a movie expert, but take my word and go see this movie as soon as possible, it is great for literally all ages, and will provide humor, romance, and despair all in one tug.
(Sorry for the discorded lines, just came home from watching very late, but wanted to share my thoughts as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ironically Heartwarming Masterpiece, December 15, 2013
During the entirety of "Frozen," I was in thrall at what was occurring on the screen in front of me. Honestly, it was kind of hard to tell what was hitting me, as I cheered, cried, and almost stood up clapping for the characters on screen. By the time the credits were rolling, and the hairs on my arms were still standing up, I still wasn't sure what to think. So I walked out of the theater, then bought another ticket to the next showtime. Walking home as the sunset after the second screening, it became clear to me. "Frozen" is the best thing Disney has put out in well over a decade, and will probably go down in cinema history as one of the greatest artistic achievements in animation. Oh, yes, and it's a darn fine film in its own right, for adults and children alike.

A very loose retelling of "The Snow Queen" that Walt Disney himself had been planning since the 1940's, "Frozen" tells a tale of two sisters, Anna and Elsa. From a very young age, they were inseparable and played together all the time. But when Elsa's control over the element of ice threatens her sister's life, her father puts her powers under control, and erases Anna's memories of her sister ever being anything but normal. Years go by, and a rift occurs between the siblings, which comes to a head on the day of Elsa's coronation as queen. Anna angers her sister into fleeing and releasing an eternal winter for their oceanic trading town, as well as the entire land. To undo the damage, she must find Elsa and reason with her, lest the livelihood of thousands be threatened. With the help of the travelling ice merchant Kristoph (and his silly reindeer Sven) and the lively snowman Olaf, she goes up against seemingly insurmountable odds to save the day.

That's about the most basic description I can give of the film without giving away too much. Which is a wonderful thing to say, because for the first time in far too long, Disney has created a movie that is almost entirely unpredictable, and incredibly subversive in terms of what we expect from them. Startling new revelations occur at a very rapid rate, especially during the film's masterful climax, which completely floored me due its unwillingness to fall into trite, cliche territory. The admittedly great "Tangled" looks like small potatoes compared to how fantastic this movie in terms of its powerful and surprising narrative, and Jennifer Lee should be commended for her masterful screenplay (as well as her direction alongside Chris Buck.)

What really makes this a special film, as mentioned above, is how it's unlike anything Disney normally puts out. Routinely, the movie takes out trite tropes and plot devices from their usual stock, dangles them in front of our faces to the point of approaching parody, then coyly smashes them to pieces right before our very eyes and does something entirely new. While I can't really give examples without spoiling the movie, I can assure you that this isn't the typical Disney experience, and it feels like the aging studio has turned a new page, much like it did in the 80's with the release of "The Little Mermaid," ironically another Hans Christian Anderson piece.

Speaking of "The Little Mermaid," this is another tale with incredibly strong female leads in Anna and Elsa. Anna will stop at nothing to simple establish better bonds with her sister, and Elsa's struggle to contain her power and be herself can be paralleled to the struggles faced by young women growing up in modern society. Their rich characterizations reinforce the idea that girls don't need to grow up looking for a prince in shining armor, and instead, can be strong and independent by their own merits. The same can be said for the character of Kristoph, who teaches the idea of chivalry versus sheltering, teamwork versus saving the damsel in distress. For children, "Frozen" carries some fantastic messages that parents are sure to appreciate, and are much different from other kids' movies today.

On top of the great writing and rich characterizations, the visuals on display are simply majestic. The characters are deeply expressive and creatively designed, with crisply animated flowing hair and endearingly exaggerated physical attributes. Set pieces are a wonder to behold, from Elsa's beautiful ice castle to the mysterious frozen tundras trekked across by Elsa and Kristoph. Everything in this film is pure eye candy of the highest caliber, and easily one of the best works of CG animation to come out of the field for quite some time. Years down the line, this will most likely still be captivating to look at.

The same can be said for the voice work and music, as both are top-notch. Every character is perfectly cast, and while it's really difficult to pick favorites, I must say that Idina Menzel's mysterious and sultry voice as Elsa is enchanting to the ears, and her soulful singing voice during both her solo bits and duets make me suspect there might be an Oscar for Best Original Song in her future. All of the singing complements Christophe Beck's truly awesome score, which includes some of the best songs in all of Disney history, including the tear-jerking anthem to freedom "Let It Go," heart-wrenching ballad of sororal love "Do You Want To Build A Snowman?," and the peppy uptempo piece "In Summer." Great music and a talented cast round out the film into a complete, wonderful package.

It's no secret that Disney's been in a bit of a bind lately, what with uninspired sequels and tired standalone films with worn-out premises. But "Tangled" was a step in the right direction, and now, "Frozen" is an unabashed dash ahead in that very same direction. Make no mistake, this is not just a great work of animation, or a well-done Disney film. It is a truly superb and divine cinematic experience, the likes of which only comes along a few times every decade or so, if we're lucky. Regardless of your age, or whether you like these types of movies or not, this is something you must experience. If you like movies, or more basically, if you like feeling happy, watch this film without delay.

"Frozen" is an artistic achievement beyond comprehension, and perhaps a sign that we are on the precipice of Disney's second renaissance.

Grade: A+ (Superb)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up there with the best animations ever!, January 25, 2014
By 
Harry "HAS" (TUNKHANNOCK, PA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frozen (Plus Bonus Features) [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
Great movies seem more rare than common these days. The crisis in Hollywood is trying to achieve character development in a mere two hours or sometimes less. My wife took my younger ones to see Frozen a few times and they couldn't seem to stop talking or singing about it. It has some very catchy lyrics with great vocals. Animation is second to none with erecting ice castles and winter wonderland beauty. The camera angles often got me so caught up in movie that at times I forgot it was an animation.
Two things stand out most:
1) Lovable characters. Who can ever forget Olaf, a spunky, witty and ignorantly honest character so filled with love and an optimism only equaled by princess Anna. Her sister's pain, Queen Elsa, has been blessed/cursed with an extraordinary and beautiful gift of making masterpieces in ice art, that can often spin out of control and harm the ones she loves. Her parents answer to such a gift/curse is isolation. This frustrates and hurts her hopelessly optimistic sister Anna in ways that hidden from her, but her true love for her sister never quits and takes her on a dangerous journey where she meets a rugged mountain man, his quirky reindeer and a lovable snowman. In the end, Anna's playful simplistic optimism wins the day as it driven by and indomitable love. Truly there is no greater theme.
There are many heroes in this story that is all held together by a true love. Not just the mushy relational love of a man and woman, boy and girl, a love of sisters and friends that can move even an adult to tears.
We have never done this before, but we actually let the kids see the movie in the theatres several times, with my four year old seeing it 10 times..
Frozen has changed the present atmosphere of my home for the last couple of weeks. It has been the main topic of conversation and inspiration and spontaneous outbreak of songs. This is a kid's movie that does the heart of adults as much good as anything I have ever seen. The insight into the head and heart drop like insightful bombs upon the conscious and reminds one of what is most important in life.
My favorite quote and is as good as any is: ""The heart is not so easily changed, but the head can be persuaded."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 21148 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.