Customer Reviews

15,513
4.7 out of 5 stars
Frozen (Plus Bonus Features) [HD]
Format: Amazon Instant VideoChange
Price:$19.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1,368 of 1,536 people found the following review helpful
on January 5, 2014
I went to the theater expecting the usual dumb kids movie, and was blown away. I LOVED this film and instantly added the DVD to my wishlist. Honestly, my favorite movies are The Hunt for the Red October, Galaxy Quest, Pixar's Incredibles, Princess Bride, Ponyo, Sound of Music, and Lord of the Rings Extended Editions. I gravitate to no particular genre, but only to what I find are the absolute best movies. Frozen is up there with the best movies I have ever seen. Period.

Why is this film so good?

1. It teaches real love. Love is about putting the other person's needs first. Love is shown in your actions not your words. I am so floored that a kids movie actually taught this and even took the time to point out you never get engaged or married to a guy you just met. WOW... a Disney film not about being swept off your feet by a guy in 3 seconds? Its about time.

2. The side kick characters are not annoying.... seriously!! Its like the difference between Jar Jar Binks and R2D2. These side kicks are more like R2D2 whereas past Disney sidekicks were like Jar Jar Binks. These side-kicks from the reindeer to snow monster were done exactly right. They add humor to the show and dimension without ever getting in the way of the story or you wanting to strangle them. Way to go Disney!!! Any way you can retroactively edit sidekicks in older films?

3. The plot themes are serious yet with enough humor that it doesn't feel too serious AND without the humor taking away from the story line. What a great balance to hit just right. Ok so the story line is a bit simplistic because its a kid movie, but it still has twists and turns. I did not find the story predictable because I was expecting another one of those princesses falling in love movies.. and this was not typical. The story teaches important themes like what love really is, the weight of responsibility, how to use power rightly vs. wrongly, and empathy for others.

4. Great music. The opening song grabs you and whisks you away to another world. Every song helps you connect more deeply to each character... and pulls you deeper into the story. I have never felt so much empathy in a musical since Fiddler on the Roof... and I'm not that emotional of a person.

So if you have daughters, grandchildren, nieces, or work in childcare... get this movie. You will be able to watch it over and over without going insane. The kids will learn what true love really is and what to watch out for in love.... its not what all those other princess movies teach. So you can rest easy.
4848 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
68 of 75 people found the following review helpful
on March 31, 2014
I won't be repeating what many have said about the story, all I say is that is a new and different approach to the typical fairy tale.
Inspired by events and characters in Hans Christian Andersen tale The Snow Queen, is a must have in your Disney DVD collection or animated movies collection. With wonderful songs and performances and visually stunning details of snow and ice everywhere is a delight to the ears and eyes.

A true classic and unique story with the usual Disney brand of humor, warmth, BUT a surprising twist and a different kind of happy ending that will delight every member of your family.
The movie's pacing or rhythm is very well done, you and your children won't be bored at all always anticipating what's to come next. It does not have a dull moment.

The DVD includes the animated new Mickey Mouse short Get A Horse, music video of Demi Lovato's version of the Academy Award song Let It Go, as well as the Latin Spanish and Italian versions of it by the actress/singer Martina Stoessel. Also several Disney movies shorts of current and upcoming movies on DVD., and the original teaser short with Olaf the snowman and Sven the reindeer. DVD settings include French language (Canadian) and Spanish (Latin American)., as well as subtitles in those languages, and of course in English.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
114 of 133 people found the following review helpful
on November 18, 2014
I'll admit I already have the bluray/dvd version of this. But why not have a spare disc in case you lose it, right? Anyway I like that they have the words for the songs with a bouncing snowflake to follow. Sure, you could put on subtitles but this way the words are only up on the screen during the songs. Also, there is the option to just play the songs without playing the entire movie in the special features section which is nice if you like the songs but don't want to sit through the whole movie.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
625 of 750 people found the following review helpful
on November 27, 2013
It's unrealistic to watch animated movies these days and be able to call one better than all the rest - and that goes for Disney movies, too. True enough, each year one animated feature eventually goes on to win an Academy Award, along with several other awards, but for the most part, even the year's most praised film looks just like the last. Only a select few films in the last decade, like Toy Story, Monsters Inc., and Finding Nemo will withstand the test of time and possibly earn a place in the same conversation as Disney classics, like Cinderella, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, The Little Mermaid, and Beauty and the Beast. Still, every now and then, Disney treats animated movie lovers to something special, and to be completely honest, it's been quite a while. This might be a bit premature to say, but Disney has finally struck gold once more (and not just commercially) with a film that has the potential to be one of the greatest animated films every created. That film is called Frozen.

Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee write (along with Shane Morris) and direct Disney's Frozen, loosely based on The Snow Queen - a story created by Hans Christian Anderson. The film begins with the introduction of two young children, both princesses - Elsa and Anna. However, Elsa has the power to control the winter elements, ice and snow. After a terrible accident, the girls' parents decide to isolate Elsa from Anna and wipe Anna's mind clean about Elsa's powers in order to protect Anna from knowing the truth.

Flash forward several years, the day has come for Elsa (Idina Menzel) to claim her right as the Queen of Arendelle. Now an adult and Queen, Elsa must face the people of her kingdom, all of whom she has hidden herself away since she is unable to control her powers. Unfortunately, her greatest fear comes true after an encounter with Anna (Kristen Bell), who spontaneously decides she wants to marry a visiting prince, Hans (Santino Fontana). Unwilling to give her blessing for the marriage and angry with her sister, Elsa unintentionally unleashes her powers on the entire kingdom, instantly turning winter to summer. Elsa quickly leaves the kingdom and rushes to the mountains, creating her own palace of ice away from anyone and everyone. Feeling responsible, Anna embarks on a quest, along with a mountain-based ice maker, Kristoff (Jonathan Groff), his reindeer, Sven, and a magical snowman, Olaf (Josh Gad), to bring the Queen home.

For whatever reason, Disney moved away from the on-screen musicals that provided some of the most memorable soundtracks in film history. You may recall A Whole New World from Aladdin and Circle of Life from The Lion King as being just the tip of the iceberg in a massive library of memorable songs over a variety of films. In all likelihood, Disney simply got sidetracked with spectacular new animation and the realization that 3D implementation had endless potential (which is hardly the case). Regardless, the diehard lovers of Disney classics will be happy that the company has decided to revisit the musical aspect of storytelling. Both Kristin Bell and Idina Menzel simply thrive with their heartfelt, energetic voices, and even though there's very little about the songs in Frozen that stand out, the hope is that Disney will continue with this classic trend.

The music, meshed with the story, easily makes Frozen one of the most unique animated features in recent memory. Just when you think you have this story figured out it will absolutely surprise you with its misdirection. Initially, Frozen appears to be a film that will pit sister vs. sister, sort of like a Good Witch of the North vs. the Wicked Witch of the West dynamic. However, that couldn't be further from the truth as there is a serious amount of character inner turmoil and theme-driven action going on here instead. One princess is desperate to protect the world from her own actions, even though she becomes exactly what she hoped to avoid. The other princess is more traditional with her intent to find true love and save her sister, plus the kingdom (and her sister) - both of which she loves to no end.

Like the story itself, the characters are also much different than anything you'd expect out of a film of this nature. Every little girl on this planet will fall in love with Anna, the happiest princess you could possibly ever imagine. Kristin Bell is a splendid choice for this role, bringing an enthusiasm to a character that you can't help but adore. She breaks out into song early and often, singing songs including Do You Want to Build a Snowman? and Love is an Open Door. Even Menzel, who is portraying a bit of a tragic character, sings with reassurance in songs that include Let It Go and For the First Time in Forever.

The most outstanding premise in this film is the fact that there is no major antagonist. While that is a bit surprising for an animated film, the story goes in a much more thematic direction. Queen Elsa is the closest thing to a villain in this story, but she doesn't mean to be. Her goal is to protect the people she cares about, but fails miserably. As the story progresses, it becomes more about redeeming an individual that has simply lost her way and needs help to find the path back to "the light." To help the Queen, there are a few odd characters that shine in their own unique manner, including a comical snowman, and a moose that loves his carrots. Even though the film progresses in a mostly serious tone, these two supporting characters won't fail to make you laugh.

Overall, there's very little not to like about Frozen. It contains an honest-to-goodness message that parents should feel free subjecting their children to. The film is far lighter on the animated violence that has been much more prominent in many films recently. And, the action sequences that do occur are either playful or of the supernatural variety. For young boys, the constant presence of princesses may be a bit tedious, but the girls will absolutely love them. Anna and Elsa might just be in line for the massive commercial success of Ariel and Tinker Bell. In any event, Disney has a monster hit on their hands that will easily thrive on all formats (theater, home video, etc.) for years and years to come.

GRADE: A
FNDNreview.com
2222 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
486 of 583 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon December 11, 2013
And this will teach us all not to judge a book by its cover ever again.

When the trailer for ‘Frozen’ was dropped a few months back, I predicted a dud. It looked so generic and obvious and unfunny and repetitive and just everything I didn’t want it to be. When news of the film broke I was ecstatic. Disney, doing another musical, basing it off of a very dark and disturbing tale. I knew it would get white washed a bit (which I was fine with), but it was a MUSICAL and so I was automatically game for it.

Then that trailer deceived me.

Still, my daughters were hooked with the very first television spot, and they’ve had the dolls for nearly a month already, and so we were going to see this opening night. With expectations low (despite some good early ink), there was nowhere to go but up for this film, and it didn’t just go up, it blew through the roof! Yes, ‘Frozen’ is easily Disney’s best film since ‘Beauty and the Beast’ and honestly, one of the best musicals since. It’s a visual feast, charming and sincere, and an unexpected twist on a tale of love, family and acceptance with beautiful shades that make this something truly special.

The film tells the story of two sisters, Anna and Elsa. In early childhood, they are joined at the hip. Elsa has an ancient power to create ice (a power that is never explained, and quite frankly doesn’t need to be) and they use her power as an advantage to their playing. When an accident occurs and Anna is injured, Elsa becomes terrified of her ‘gift’ and basically locks herself away from everyone and everything, including Anna. The two obviously drift apart (‘Do You Want to Build a Snowman’ is a marvelous musical moment and brought tears to my eyes) and after the loss of their parents things only get worse. Now fully grown, Anna is a naïve and desperate young woman seeking any attention she can get, and Elsa is distant and misunderstood. On the night of Elsa coronation things go amuck and her secret is exposed to disastrous consequences, and soon Elsa is forced to flee and Anna is left to track her down and ‘thaw’ her town.

Now, many have balked before seeing the film that Anna is reduced to yet another Disney stereotype, a girl who needs a man to get the job done. Ignorance is bliss, I suppose, but ‘Frozen’ certainly takes a different approach that the one expected and presents us with a lovable tomboy, a klutz who takes risks and places faith and is willing to ‘take the bull by the horns’, even when its beyond her reach. Sure, she is aided by a man, but she doesn’t need him around (and even the twist at the end where it could have easily fallen into stereotype of ‘man saves the day’ turns out to be even more sincere and honest in the way it finally comes out). Anna is a great role model for young girls (and surprisingly, so is Elsa) and the beautiful bond created by Disney here is unlike anything I’ve seen them do before.

Yes, while the film does eventually give is an antagonist (albeit ever so briefly and the way the villain is handled is light and a very nice change of pace), the beauty of ‘Frozen’ is that the chief antagonist is not a singular person but the inner struggle to be accepted and understood. Elsa is not a monster, she is simply scared or herself and what she may do to those whom she loves. ‘Frozen’ does a marvelous job of portraying the bond between sisters and the lengths each will go to protect and love the other.

My daughter was in tears over their separation; that is how heartfelt this portrayal is.

‘Frozen’, in my eyes, is one of the best things Disney has done; ever. The film is a modern-day classic and one that is sure to be remembered and regarded as a beloved nod to the Disney Renaissance with obvious modern twists and its own identity. I’m not exaggerating when I say that I can see this being spoken of in the same circles as ‘Beauty and the Beast’, ‘Cinderella’ and ‘The Little Mermaid’. While ‘Tangled’ certainly helped Disney regain their footing after some serious dips in quality, ‘Frozen’ completely redeems them and proves that they are still as magical as they ever were.

Take that Pixar!

And let’s just talk about the musical angle for just a moment. This is one of those rare gifts that actually feel like a true Broadway show. The use of music is integral to the feel of the story, and the glorious visual expanse helps create an epic and ‘larger than life’ reality. When Elsa has her big number (‘Let it Go’ is one of the greatest Disney ballads of all time, easily) you can feel the goose-bumps and your heart starts beating faster. This is a beautifully nostalgic reminder of the power of Disney, and it helps bring those same chills and thrills to a new and younger generation. I have never seen my daughter so excited to be watching a film as I saw her while watching ‘Frozen’.

It carries a different feeling.
2525 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
211 of 270 people found the following review helpful
on November 29, 2013
I have watched every disney animated film put out by the main Disney animation studios and all the Pixar films. This is by far the best "musical" film since The Lion King. The reason I say musical, is that I believe Wreck It Ralph was also an amazin film, but did not have the musical, classic Disney feel to it.

This is truly Disney at it's finest. A catchy soundtrack, fun characters, especially Olaf the Snowman who stole many of the scenes he was in. This is the first Disney soundtrack that I found myself humming to in a long time. I actually just bought it on iTunes which is very rare for me. Disney somehow continues to manage to put out a quality product after all these years, especially, when you think storylines are just getting rehashed over and over again. I must admit, the marketing for this film had me confused as to the actual plot or story of the film, and I was really worried this would be a flop. What a surprise I was in for.

It is also nice to not have a movie with a main "villain" and actually instead have it being more about a journey between two sisters. This is a speical bond that sisters have and brothers have with each other, and to have this as a theme is quite refreshing.

Disney is truly heading into their second renaissance with Lasseter at the helm. I believe Disney Animation is now surpassing Pixar on a regular basis, or at least two years running. Wreck It Ralph was far superior to Brave, and Frozen crushes Monster's Inc. The streak of films of Bolt (much better than expected), The Princess and the Frog, Tangled, Wreck It Ralph, and now Frozen is one of the hottest streaks Disney Animation has been on in a long time, but truly the last two of Wreck It Ralph and Frozen are destined to become classics for all time.

Bravo Disney!
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
266 of 343 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2014
The activation code for the digital copy comes IN the DVD package. Apologies if you are seeing this review on the Instant Video product; Amazon carries the same review across all Frozen movie products, and I wrote this to make sure people saw that they can't buy the DVD and instantly access their digital copy.

Five star movie, one star product delivery. Although this seems like the new normal for DVDs, the description doesn't convey this well enough for those of us that rarely buy DVDs.

Please "like" this review if you found it useful to increase the likelihood others will see it.

******
Okay, here is my review of the actual movie:

The movie opened in typical Disney fashion, but then completely blew me away. I love the Little Mermaid, Bambi, Dumbo, Cinderella and crew, but the Disney formula is generally pretty set. This movie, Frozen, opened with a beautiful princess, parents dying, a handsome prince...again, I wasn't expecting much.

Then it jumped off of the rails. Completely.

This movie is an amazing experience for young children. Here is why:
1. The first princess learns that having different abilities and yes, even power, isn't something she has to hide, and that keeping a secret hurt. Instead of hiding, she cultivates and learns how to make the most of her power and those that judged her quickly as cast out as the rest of the village celebrates and accepts her.
2. The other princess meets a handsome prince, and within a day wants to marry him. She is told she is nuts, and sure enough, after she spends 15 more minutes getting to know him, she realizes he isn't so great.
3. On the other hand, the nice guy with no money is an absolute catch. She just needed to give him a chance.
4. True love isn't just found in boyfriends, it's found in families. It was the true love between sisters that allowed then to save themselves!
As an added bonus, this movie was fun to watch! The characters are funny and quick, the visuals are amazing, and the Oscar-winning music will be trapped in your head for ages.
All in all, even as I clean out my DVD collection, I'm ordering this one. In DVD, HD, and digital. It's a keeper.
6262 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
46 of 58 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon September 7, 2014
I like to watch computer animation. I purchased Frozen (Two-Disc Blu-ray / DVD + Digital Copy) when I caught it on sale for about $13. It's a good story and since it is a musical fantasy-comedy, the songs are a big part of the film. I liked what I heard, so I got Frozen (Mp3) for only $3.99 and it's still at this low price today.

Starz On Demand has this entertaining Sing Along Edition - this movie and song lyrics all-in-one. Do You Want to Build a Snowman is such a cute song. Let It Go has powerful lyrics. And there are fun songs like Fixer Upper, Reindeers Are Better Than People and In Summer - I'm gonna tell him. Don't you dare.

It's nice that the lyrics show on the screen so viewers can join in. I also think this Sing Along can be a fun way to teach children to read.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
52 of 68 people found the following review helpful
on January 28, 2014
I can't remember the last time I saw a movie TWICE in the theater! My kids are begging me to go back again! We sing the songs and laugh at Olaf!

Yes, it is classic Disney with singing and all (but we're fans). And no, it doesn't follow the original "Snow Queen" that it was based on, but that story was really boring. I tried to read it to my kids and they rebelled. Like Little Mermaid and Sleeping Beauty and many others, Disney actually improved on Hans Christian Andersen and Brothers Grimm (read the originals, the little mermaid's legs are ripped apart when she becomes a human and I won't even get into what the prince does while beauty sleeps...). With the exception of Peter Pan (J.M. Barrie can't be improved upon - the original will always be the best), Disney breathes life into fairy tales!

This one is hands down the best Disney has done in years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on March 1, 2014
Loved it!!! Great movie for other family. Way he'd it with my 2 daughter and they loved it too. Happy
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Brave
Brave by Kelly MacDonald
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.