Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mostly fruit, almost, almost, healthy
Delicious. At least it looks healthy. 420 cal per 4oz serving, but you don't really need 4oz. And 13g fat. Keeps well in refrigerator - we have just finished some from a year ago. I heartily recommend it. I am from England many years ago, and never had fruit cake as good as this.
Published on January 1, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed
Claxton Dark Fruitcake has been a holiday tradition in our family since the mid 1950's. I ordered it directly from the company this year and when I served it at Thanksgiving, my guests and I thought I must have been fooled by a counterfeit website just claiming to sell Claxton fruitcakes. It was at best 40% fruits and nuts and consisted of a gummy light colored "cake"...
Published on December 14, 2011 by --


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed, December 14, 2011
This review is from: Fruit Cake Boxed 3 - 1 lb Dark Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Grocery)
Claxton Dark Fruitcake has been a holiday tradition in our family since the mid 1950's. I ordered it directly from the company this year and when I served it at Thanksgiving, my guests and I thought I must have been fooled by a counterfeit website just claiming to sell Claxton fruitcakes. It was at best 40% fruits and nuts and consisted of a gummy light colored "cake". I emailed the company and expressed my disappointment. After several emails back and forth and after today talking to one of the owners, they assured me that it was the original dark recipe.

In reading the ingredients, I noticed that corn syrup, sugar and high fructose corn syrup were listed after flour which was the 4th ingredient. At the very end were listed molasses, spices and 3 artificial food dyes. High fructose corn syrup wasn't widely available until the mid 1970's to mid 1980's, so I'm not sure how it was one of the original ingredients.

All of the people I talked to seemed to have the attitude that I was so stupid that I couldn't possibly be observing what I had correctly. Although they offered to send replacements if I returned it at my own expense, they told me that what I would receive would be identical to what I have. One of the owners informed me that they had received zero complaints this year.

I am grieving the loss of an almost 55 year tradition, but the other 4 cakes are now in the trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mostly fruit, almost, almost, healthy, January 1, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (waco, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fruit Cake Boxed 3 - 1 lb Dark Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Grocery)
Delicious. At least it looks healthy. 420 cal per 4oz serving, but you don't really need 4oz. And 13g fat. Keeps well in refrigerator - we have just finished some from a year ago. I heartily recommend it. I am from England many years ago, and never had fruit cake as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars claxton fruit cake, December 23, 2012
This review is from: Fruit Cake Boxed 3 - 1 lb Dark Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Grocery)
I eat Claxton fruitcake every year around the holidays. there's a lot of people out there who don't like fruitcake, but I love it ! just as long as it is made well with tons of fruit and nuts !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the dark fruitcake, January 14, 2012
By 
Ken Barry (Oceanside, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fruit Cake Boxed 3 - 1 lb Dark Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Grocery)
Except for the fruitcake I make myself, this is the best I have ever tasted. A little sweet for my taste, but otherwise outstanding. I have ordered these a couple of times online, and they always arrive in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Like It, April 4, 2014
By 
MacGeezer (Cleveland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fruit Cake Boxed 3 - 1 lb Dark Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Grocery)
when I was a kid Christmas and other holidays meant Fruit Cake and Mincement Pies; I still like both and the Claxton fruit cake is enjoyable at any time of the year as well as reasonably priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fruit cake, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fruit Cake Boxed 3 - 1 lb Dark Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Grocery)
I got this for my father for Father's Day and he loved it. Fast delivery and a great price. Will be ordering more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fruit cake, March 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fruit Cake Boxed 3 - 1 lb Dark Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Grocery)
The Claxton Fruit cake is the best. It was just as described and very fast delivery. Will probably order again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The person enjoyed her fruitcake, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fruit Cake Boxed 3 - 1 lb Dark Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Grocery)
sent as a gift. The person enjoyed her fruitcake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dark Fruit cake, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fruit Cake Boxed 3 - 1 lb Dark Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Grocery)
The fruit cake was a little dry and didn't have all the fruit I was used to in the light fruit cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice but this cake is a bit too sweet for me, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fruit Cake Boxed 3 - 1 lb Dark Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Grocery)
A wonderful treat, especially with a good ice wine.

Tried this recipe and some others. Haven't found the one yet. The problem is me. like nice treat but not the colories come with them. Guess i am not alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fruit Cake Boxed 3 - 1 lb Dark Recipe Claxton Fruitcake
$31.99 $30.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.