Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an unusual and excellent mystery
"F is for Fugitive" is one of the better Kinsey mysteries: engrossing from the first chapter, it reads quickly and consistently. Although the book is 300 pages long - longer than most of Grafton's novels - there is no mid-story lull. It bypasses much of Kinsey's usual backdrop: the action takes place in a small town ninety miles away from Santa Teresa, so...
Published on December 7, 2003 by erica

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favorite
Normally I truly relate to the main character, Kinsey Millhone, who is sufficiently offbeat to make me appreciate her. However, in this one there were so many references to fat and flab, and so many outright disparaging descriptions in general that I found myself entirely distracted from the story. I hadn't pegged Ms. Millhone as that shallow.

The story itself...
Published on July 29, 2005 by Linda Raven Moore


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an unusual and excellent mystery, December 7, 2003
By 
"F is for Fugitive" is one of the better Kinsey mysteries: engrossing from the first chapter, it reads quickly and consistently. Although the book is 300 pages long - longer than most of Grafton's novels - there is no mid-story lull. It bypasses much of Kinsey's usual backdrop: the action takes place in a small town ninety miles away from Santa Teresa, so Henry Pitts, Rosie, the California Fidelity crew, and Kinsey's bachelorette life in her small apartment are peripheral or entirely absent from the story. The book focuses entirely on the mystery of an twenty-year-old murder in a small town and a cast of characters who all seem to have something to hide. It's quintessential Sue Grafton: suspenseful and well-written, a pleasure to read from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F is for Fabulous!, March 23, 1999
It is probably pretty easy to write a book where a one-dimensional, uninteresting protagonist solves an easy mystery. It would be harder to write one where that same character solves an intriguing mystery, or where an interesting, multi-faceted protagonist solves a boring mystery. It is perhaps easiest of all to baffle the readers throughout, then pull a rabbit of the the hat at the end, trying to be clever. Sue Grafton does not take any of these easy routes. Kinsey Millhone is a very interesting, believable, just plain human, character. The mystery in this 6th installment plays fair. Until the very end, you have several choices of who the culprit might be. The actual killer was not a total surprise, but wasn't one of the ones I was thinking were most likely. I enjoyed this book, and I recommend it highly. By the time I get a chance to read the rest of the current books, "O is for Outlaw" should be out, then I guess I will have to eagerly await each future book, just like those who have been reading this series all along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Secrets, suspects, and schemes., June 3, 2000
By 
Sharon Wylie (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "F" is for Fugitive (A Kinsey Millhone Mystery, Book 6) (Hardcover)
Sue Grafton's books are so GOOD that she makes mystery writing look easy. But it's not, she's just excellent at what she does.
"F" takes Kinsey Millhone out of town to solve a 17-year-old murder case, and she's soon up to her ears in decades-old clues and crimes. One of the things Grafton does best is to create vivid and realistic communities of people. "F" is a great example of this--each character we meet is interesting, complex, AND has interactive relationships with other characters we've met. Everyone's connected, and when Kinsey solves the mystery, it makes sense because it FITS the characters.
My only (minor) complaints are that I missed the usual cast of characters (especially that Hungarian-type woman at the bar where Kinsey eats) and that Grafton indulges in a little moralizing at the end, which seemed heavy-handed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favorite, July 29, 2005
Normally I truly relate to the main character, Kinsey Millhone, who is sufficiently offbeat to make me appreciate her. However, in this one there were so many references to fat and flab, and so many outright disparaging descriptions in general that I found myself entirely distracted from the story. I hadn't pegged Ms. Millhone as that shallow.

The story itself was the typical riot, but it seemed to have less humor than previous ones. In "E", for example, I loved the relationship Millhone had with her pet policeman at the local station. Those descriptions were warm and human. These just seemed...snippy. Of course, there were still some laugh-out-loud moments. I think there always will be.

I liked the idea of solving an old mystery and, while this took me two road trips to get through, I was satisfied by the end, which as always caught me by surprise.

Onwards to "G" I go...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixth Kinsey Millhone Mystery, November 10, 2003
By A Customer
Seventeen years ago, Jean Timberlake (a promiscuous, six-weeks-pregnant high schooler) was murdered on the shore of Floral Beach, California, apparently by her ex-boyfriend, Bailey Fowler, who was consequently sent to prison. However, after repeated escapes--and spending much of his time out of the picture in this book--Kinsey Millhone, the 32-year-old no-nonsense private investigator, is hired by his father to investigate Jean's death and hopefully prove Bailey's innocence.
"'F' is for Fugitive" is yet another enjoyable Kinsey Millhone mystery with lots of quirky characters, particularly Bailey Fowler's family, who own the motel near where Jean was killed. It's also Kinsey's temporary residence while her apartment is being rebuilt after the happenings in the previous book ("'E' is for Evidence"). "'F' is for Fugitive" is relatively fast paced and has a more rounded ending than in some of Grafton's other books. And, as usual, I enjoyed Kinsey's sarcastic humor and refreshing first person narrative. Worth reading if you're into this alphabet mystery series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise after Surprise!, May 6, 2005
By 
F IS FOR FUGITIVE is one of my favorites! Bad girl Jean Tiberlake was killed and her ex-boyfriend, Bailey Fowler, convicted of her murder. After seventeen years in prison, he escapes. Kinsey Millhone is hired to find the killer. The catch: Is the killer Fowler or someone else?

Typical Grafton style in this book, you won't know who the real killer is until the end. Sue Grafton not only keeps you on the edge of your seat, but has you second-guessing yourself when you think you've figured it all out.

Surprises abound in this book, from the unknown dangers, to the love and caring shown to Kinsey by her buddy Henry! Everyone should have a friend like Henry! I can't say enough good things about F IS FOR FUGITIVE without giving away all of the little curves Grafton throws at you in this book. Suffice it to say, it's absolutely wonderful!!

If you want to read a book that will make your heart race, make you take the book everywhere with you until you're finished - this is the one for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good Kinsey Millhone Mystery, December 29, 2002
By 
Karen Potts (Lake Jackson, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kinsey Millhone is hired by a man named Royce Fowler to gather evidence that his son, Bailey, did not murder his girlfriend, Jean Timberlake 17 years ago. Bailey was imprisoned for the murder, but managed to escape until the police picked him up just 3 weeks before Kinsey is called on the case. Realizing the difficulty of finding evidence in a case that old, Kinsey still persists in her investigation. The small town where the murder occurred is just as inbred as most small towns and Kinsey hears gossip which tells her that Jean was a very promiscuous young lady. She was also pregnant at the time of the murder, so that gave a motive to any of the various men she was involved with at the time of her death. Kinsey keeps evolving throughout Sue Grafton's novels, both as a character and as an investigator. It's enjoyable to see the twists and turns which these books take as the series progresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F is for Fugitive tells the sordid tale of a Peyton Place town Lolita who was murdered, March 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kinsey Millhone is the star of author Sue Grafton's alphabet series of murder mysteries. F is for Fugitive is a fast paced, well written absorbing page flipping story:
The Plot: Kinsey Millhone is a 30something PI living in the fictional town of Santa Teresa California. She is hired by Royce Fowler a motel owner in the small northern California town of Floral Beach. Royce's son Bailey has just escaped from prison where he was serving time for the murder of Jean Timberlake. Jean was a seventeen year old town tramp who was found dead on the beach after being strangled to death. She was pregnant at the time of her murder. Royce wants Kinsey to investiage the crime.
The result is an exciting tale where town secrets are revealed and two more persons are murdered. Along the way we learn of secret love affairs and a murderer who is adept with a shotgun. To reveal more is to spoil this riveting tale of a murderer brought to justice. The story is rich in atmosphere, character development and plot surprises. A is the grade for this fine murder mystery by one of the masters of the genre. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kinsey is always cool!, April 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really like Sue Grafton's charater Kinsey Millhone. There's never a lot of violence, it's not saturated with sex or bad language either. Her books are just enjoyable and her character's sense of humor (Kinsey's) is absolutely marvelous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "F" deserves an A+, April 11, 2001
By 
Paul Skinner (Manassas, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
I've read at least 25 books over the past 12 months, and this is easily the best. I've enjoyed Millhone's A-E mysteries, but F took her detective skills to a new level. What a pleasure it was to take a vacation with Kinsey, in Floral Beach. I thought Santa Teresa was interesting, but this town made Peyton Place look like Leave it to Beaver. There were so many interesting and inter-related characters, that in order to keep up (and not miss out), I had to keep a notepad, jotting down the relationship each character had with others. Several times I thought I was onto the murderer, but this one kept me in the dark until the thrilling end. I could just feel my heart beating faster as Kinsey was on the run. I was pleased that all the loose ends got tied up in the end, with good explanations for all the bizarre behavior. Sue Grafton, you hit the top with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

"F" is for Fugitive (A Kinsey Millhone Mystery, Book 6)
"F" is for Fugitive (A Kinsey Millhone Mystery, Book 6) by Sue Grafton (Hardcover - May 15, 1989)
$30.00 $24.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.