Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The running men
More than a decade on, The Fugitive holds up surprisingly well, managing to neatly avoid the usual pitfalls of TV-series-to-movie crossovers by opting to tell a single self-contained story rather than trying to set up a new franchise. Thus Harrison Ford's Richard Kimble doesn't go on the road helping strangers resolve their problems because he's too busy trying to evade...
Published on December 11, 2006 by Trevor Willsmer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Fugitive/U.S. Marshals Double Feature
BEWARE WB SCREWED UP!!!
When I brought this set I looked up the features as I'm a DVD Features guy and saw it said it had all the features that you would get on the individual releases, meaning I'm buying both for the price of one. I thought, cool, unfortunately while The Fugitive has everything that the individual release has(commentary, documentaries, etc), U.S...
Published 19 months ago by Eric C


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The running men, December 11, 2006
This review is from: The Fugitive / U.S. Marshals (Double feature) (DVD)
More than a decade on, The Fugitive holds up surprisingly well, managing to neatly avoid the usual pitfalls of TV-series-to-movie crossovers by opting to tell a single self-contained story rather than trying to set up a new franchise. Thus Harrison Ford's Richard Kimble doesn't go on the road helping strangers resolve their problems because he's too busy trying to evade capture, prove his innocence and catch his wife's killer, making for an entirely satisfying manhunt thriller that stands on its own merits. Chief among them is Tommy Lee Jones, taking over from a dying Richard Jordan and walking off with the movie as his dogged pursuer, getting all the best lines and effortlessly outshining the film's star.

Structurally the follow-up, U.S. Marshals, is a reworking of the original, fulfilling the classic sequel brief of "the same but different": the producers substitute an incredibly impressive plane crash for the incredibly impressive train crash, a fall from a tall building for a fall from a dam and government defense secrets for drugs trials while throwing in the same plot device of an ally who turns out to be an enemy. The main difference here is no Harrison Ford, more Tommy Lee Jones and added Wesley Snipes (presumably on the run from the taxman) and Robert Downey Jr. (who really should have kept the sunglasses on until he finished rehab). There are no surprises, it's somewhat overlong and you won't remember it a day later, but it's energetically directed by Stuart Baird and superbly edited by Terry Rawlings and does its job effectively enough while you're watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Fugitive/U.S. Marshals Double Feature, April 12, 2013
This review is from: The Fugitive / U.S. Marshals (Double feature) (DVD)
BEWARE WB SCREWED UP!!!
When I brought this set I looked up the features as I'm a DVD Features guy and saw it said it had all the features that you would get on the individual releases, meaning I'm buying both for the price of one. I thought, cool, unfortunately while The Fugitive has everything that the individual release has(commentary, documentaries, etc), U.S. Marshals only has a commentary track. I'm assuming the original DVD release of the 2nd film was a two disc or 2 sided DVD, so the rest of the features are not present for this reason(since this is a double sided release with each film on its own side), but what bugs me is that WB list the features. So unless you don't care for features, I'd say buy them separate(watch out for the Tommy Lee Jones 4 Film Collection as well as the U.S. Marshals disc is bare bones)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fugutive/US Marshalls, October 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive / U.S. Marshals (Double feature) (DVD)
great pair of flicks , I never get tired of watching them. Every time I notice something new from the time before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 for the price of one, October 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive / U.S. Marshals (Double feature) (DVD)
These are both pretty good movies with a slight connection of having Tommy Lee Jones and his US Marshal crew being the hunters. The plots are well done with just enough twists to keep your interest. The acting is solid in both but I actually liked Wesley Snipes better than Harrison Fords version. Robert Downey is solid in US Marshals and makes it better because of his acting. Tommy Lee is his usual scene chewing character but always fun to watch. As a 2 film set this is a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love thse movies, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive / U.S. Marshals (Double feature) (DVD)
It was nice to find this as an inexpensive double movie set. Slowly we have been replacing all our old VHS tapes with DVDs so getting to in one was great! My husbnad is an avid movie collector and watcher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars action, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive / U.S. Marshals (Double feature) (DVD)
Action from start to finish for both of these movies. Ive never been disappointed by Harrison Ford, Tommy Lee Jones, Wesley Snipes or Robert Downey Jr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunting for a Wanted Man, February 11, 2013
This review is from: The Fugitive / U.S. Marshals (Double feature) (DVD)
The Fugitive - U.S. Marshals

The 1993 movie "The Fugitive" is great entertainment. Some say it was based on a true crime, the conviction of a surgeon for murder in Cleveland Ohio in 1954. A dozen years later lawyer F. Lee Bailey sued for a new and fair trial based on the biased newspaper coverage; the conviction was then overturned. "The Wrong Man" by James Neff is the latest book on this interesting case. A fictional novel is always better when it is based on a true crime. This is a murder mystery, an example of wrongful conviction, an escape and action movie, plus an expose or warning about a corporation that applies for a fraudulent patent on a medicine. It alone makes this product a good buy.

"U. S. Marshals" from 1998 is a sequel that uses most of the same characters from the earlier movie. It is an old Hollywood tradition to produce another movie based on an earlier successful movie. "Jaws" was followed by "Jaws 2" and "Jaws 3" (with diminishing returns). The 1931 movie "Dracula" was followed by innumerable sequels that used the same idea of a powerful monster that attacked humanity but was defeated in the end. The market for this story died out around 1945. "Abbott & Costello Meet Frankenstein" marked the end of the series. Real concerns of the people led to new horror movies that echoed the threat from invaders from another planet. Some symbolized the threat from atomic warfare. This movie is not as good as the original ,perhaps due to the plot (it has plenty of action). The idea of an innocent man charged with a double murder may have been inspired by a famous court case from 1995. Could this interesting idea from a true crime have failed due to its echo of a controversial crime that was unsolved? Or did parts of the story seem too incredible to the audience?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift Idea, December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive / U.S. Marshals (Double feature) (DVD)
Uhmm..... Fugitive & US Marshalls Double-pack? .. BEST. GIFT. EVER. My Brother's going to freak out. We used to watch the Fugitive all the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy Lee rides again., May 15, 2010
By 
Paul Baker (Wichita, KS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive / U.S. Marshals (Double feature) (DVD)
Our home was burglarized late last year, and one of the casualties was our awesome DVD collection, so we're slowly but surely replacing everything. I have a new sign on my door: "Nothing in this house is worth dieing for!"
This double hitter of Mr. Lee's was high on our list to repurchase.
Now, I'm not a Tommy Lee fan, although I do like most of his movies, my wife made sure this part of the collection was replaced in haste.
Personally, I prefer him in a drama than a comedy, like Men In Black I & II (which we also repurchased). His face is suited for drama. He makes you believe.
Having two movies on one disk is very convenient. Good thinking.

Also, Harrison Ford is a darn good actor, although in real life he has the personality of a tomato. Wesley Snipes is a very good action figure, in the right movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive / U.S. Marshals (Double feature) (DVD)
Great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Fugitive / U.S. Marshals (Double feature)
$12.97 $6.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.