Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong all-around!
Whatever subject matter you shoot, you will not be disappointed with this film. It has an excellent tonality that interprets portraits well, but it is vibrant enough for landscape and photojournalism.

PROS
- Provides more contrast and saturation than Kodak portra
- 400 speed for extreme versatility
- Prints very well
- Forgiving in the...
Published on March 22, 2012 by Ciaran

versus
1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Long Ago
Long ago, before SD cards, there were these boxes with plastic canisters inside. Inside the canister was another canister (a metal canister). Was there another canister inside that one? No. You are thinking of matryoshka dolls, which are beyond the scope of photography. Inside the second canister was a filmstrip, which sticks out of the metal canister like a tail...
Published 11 months ago by Sawyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong all-around!, March 22, 2012
This review is from: Fujifilm PRO400H Professional Portrait - Color print film - 135 (35 mm) - ISO 400 - 36 exposures (Electronics)
Whatever subject matter you shoot, you will not be disappointed with this film. It has an excellent tonality that interprets portraits well, but it is vibrant enough for landscape and photojournalism.

PROS
- Provides more contrast and saturation than Kodak portra
- 400 speed for extreme versatility
- Prints very well
- Forgiving in the darkroom (so I'm told)

CONS
- Grain (minutely) too prominent in low-light situations

Given the current trend of over-saturation and high contrast in digital photography, this film doesn't look out-dated, and particularly fits well with modern wedding photography. As a wedding photographer, this is a plus, although I'm not convinced that I wouldn't desaturate a little if taking this on a professional shoot. With good lighting and a decent camera, this film really shines and I would definitely recommend it for photojournalism, street photography, travel and landscape photography. If you're primarily a portrait photographer not into high contrast and color saturation...you're probably better off with Portra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film for Skin, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm PRO400H Professional Portrait - Color print film - 135 (35 mm) - ISO 400 - 36 exposures (Electronics)
If you shoot film (and more people should), this is the best film for skin. The key is to slightly overexpose it anywhere from 1-3 stops (in shade over expose more, in sun overexpose less). This brings out the contrast and the rich and luscious pastels that this film is famous for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitely going to buy this again, September 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm PRO400H Professional Portrait - Color print film - 135 (35 mm) - ISO 400 - 36 exposures (Electronics)
I've only shot one or two rolls of this film, but I really like its characteristics. As others have mentioned, its great for portraits because of the beautiful skin tones it produces, and its not too saturated, so you don't get funky colors with this film. Instead, you get sort of pastel-looking colors, including really soft and smooth skin colors. Don't expect to capture a really vibrant scene on this film. I also did a little macro work with this film, and I was pleased with the resulting images. Though the images don't "pop" the way some colorful macros do, I actually like the sort of subdued colors that this film produces. The grain is prominent in low-light, and this film doesn't work all that well when pushed, so just keep that in mind. Still, sometimes a little natural film grain can add to an image, so just experiment and see how you like to use this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful color, February 18, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm PRO400H Professional Portrait - Color print film - 135 (35 mm) - ISO 400 - 36 exposures (Electronics)
This film made my Pentax IQZoom160 come alive and perform as well as a film based SLR. Good for every type of shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film Lives!, November 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm PRO400H Professional Portrait - Color print film - 135 (35 mm) - ISO 400 - 36 exposures (Electronics)
Great portrait film - excellent skin tones, fine grain and subtle overall color rendition. Gives new life to my collection of F-series Nikons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm PRO400H Professional Portrait - Color print film - 135 (35 mm) - ISO 400 - 36 exposures (Electronics)
I received the film very quickly and the pictures all turned out great. I Would definitely buy this film again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film on the market, March 24, 2014
By 
C. Moraga (New Amsterdam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm PRO400H Professional Portrait - Color print film - 135 (35 mm) - ISO 400 - 36 exposures (Electronics)
I find that if you overexpose by one stop this film turns from amazing to PERFECT! I am seriously in love with this film and we are getting married. Yup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film ever!, October 2, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm PRO400H Professional Portrait - Color print film - 135 (35 mm) - ISO 400 - 36 exposures (Electronics)
I use tons of these. The colors are consistently amazing. I started digital & then transitioned to film (thanks to these!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fujifilm PRO400H, June 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm PRO400H Professional Portrait - Color print film - 135 (35 mm) - ISO 400 - 36 exposures (Electronics)
A great color film with excellent capabilities. I have shot a number of rolls and I recommend it to anyone who shoots color film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Fuji Professional film, October 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm PRO400H Professional Portrait - Color print film - 135 (35 mm) - ISO 400 - 36 exposures (Electronics)
Fresh. clear. sharp and bright I adore this film. 35mm film is still the standard we rate a photograph and this film will not disappoint. Film is hard to get so I am also gratful to be able to buy it online with such positive results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.