Customer Reviews


675 Reviews
5 star:
 (422)
4 star:
 (116)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (62)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 134 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some missions don't have the option of failure...
Def: "Black Operation" or "Black Ops" is a covert operation typically involving activities that are highly clandestine and often outside of standard military protocol or even against the law.

Def: "Full Black" - a black operation on a six-pack of Red Bull.

Harvath is back and he's in the rare position of having worked a couple of operations that have...
Published on July 26, 2011 by Jason Frost

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Scott Harvath is a favorite character of mine & the scenes that contained him were great. The problem is that there was few of them. Rather there is an incredible amount of speeches (commentary) from characters. Don't get me wrong I do not disagree with much of their opinions & wouldn't mind (too much) hearing it argued on CNN. My problem is that these commentaries take...
Published on February 2, 2013 by Tee


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 134 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some missions don't have the option of failure..., July 26, 2011
This review is from: Full Black: A Thriller (Scot Harvath) (Hardcover)
Def: "Black Operation" or "Black Ops" is a covert operation typically involving activities that are highly clandestine and often outside of standard military protocol or even against the law.

Def: "Full Black" - a black operation on a six-pack of Red Bull.

Harvath is back and he's in the rare position of having worked a couple of operations that have gone horribly wrong. Because of this, the sand cowards will unleash an attack on America that shocked even me. The maniacal nutcase in this book is named James Standing; a billionaire that hates capitalism (figure THAT out). He has the power, the money, the connections, the strategy, and the brain damage to plan for the destruction and forced socialism of America.

The amount of destruction reeked in this book is pretty staggering even for Thor. As with all of Thor's books, your reading will struggle to keep up with the pace as danger and honor come from all sides and every corner of the globe. `Full Black' is Thor doing what Thor does best; stomping the hell out of the radical Islamic terrorist cowards by our favorite human superhero, Scot Harvath. Thor's books are always current, political, steeped in action, and more than a little controversial. This one is going to tick off a LOT of people. On the menu this time, socialism.

Now, I will be honest and say that this book was the first time that I've ever felt that Brad was preaching at me. I know that a lot of people (usually the ones who don't agree with him) have felt that way about his work in the past. It's no secret as to where Brad stand politically but I never felt like it took away from the story until now. There is a small section near the middle of the book where he just goes off! And I don't mean like your backyard 4th of July going off, I'm talking the six barge San Diego 4th of July bang-slam-a-jamma going off!! Usually Brad does his "preaching" within the context of the story amongst the bullets and blood, but this time I felt it was different.

The paradox here is that I agree with Brad but as a reader it caught me by surprise. That's the only hiccup but I felt it was worth mentioning. He does some more preaching in this book but it was within the context of the story. The conversation between James Standing and Julia is just pure brilliance! I think he needs to cut and paste that into an email and send it to the yahoo's in Washington. The difference was that it was within the context of the story and that's what made it powerful. Some of you may think that I'm off my rocker but I'd love to hear what you think when you read it.

The Carlton Group comes across information about a series of attacks that will not only collapse America financially but collapse us... period. The plans of the terrorists are bold in scope and they have the full backing of socio-psychopath (is that a word)? It's hard to believe that Washington could get any friendlier to the terrorists... but they have. Harvath has had enough and devises a plan so dark and so off the books he must go "Full Black". (No spoilers) Unfortunately, despite his best planning and his dance with lady luck, things happen that will make you wonder how things can ever be the same again in America. Despite that little hiccup in the middle, I highly recommend this next installment of the "don't `F' with America cause Scot Harvath is back" series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With "Full Black", Thor pays off the promises found in "Foreign Influence" and delivers a thinking man's thriller., July 25, 2011
This review is from: Full Black: A Thriller (Scot Harvath) (Hardcover)
With "Full Black", Thor pays off the promises found in "Foreign Influence" and delivers a thinking man's thriller. There's plenty of action, military insight, and even more action - but there's also a cogent political, social, and economic story woven into the fabric of the book. Taking a step back and looking to the horizon, we find that while still dangerous, radical Islam is not the only enemy we face. At times nuanced and at other times blunt, Thor pulls no punches in deconstructing the broader adversaries aligned against us in the world today. It's a story about layers, and serves to lay the foundation for the continued evolution of both Thor as a storyteller and Scot Harvath as a character.

When last we saw Harvath (aside from a brief cameo in "The Athena Project"), he was beginning to pull at the strings of a larger conspiracy behind recent terrorist attacks in the United States. Betrayed by someone within the intelligence community, Harvath has nonetheless continued to track down and disrupt terror cells. As he works his way down the rabbit hole, he makes a stunning revelation about the driving force behind further planned attacks.

Where the book really shines is in its exploration of current geopolitical realities as seen through the lens of fiction. Thor has said all good thrillers are rooted in reality and this is no exception. From the threat of radical Islam, to the institutional shortcomings of our intelligence apparatus, to the asymmetrical warfare being waged on us by the Chinese and others, to the frightening reach of our own government, to the elements in our society who want to see us fail as a nation - it's all here.

There's a good reason this book is called "Full Black". Not only does it deal with a black op conducted completely off the books - it also takes an unflinching look at the dangers we face in this country, with a populace still stuck in the soft slumber of willful ignorance. Sure, the bad guys get brought to justice at the end of the story and the extant threat is addressed - but the underlying issues remain. There are still enemies out there, and they are patient:

"You still have your name. You still have your flag. You still believe you have your freedoms, though in reality they have been slowly siphoned away. You still believe you have a Republic when, day-by-day, what you have been left with is merely an illusion of a Republic. Your entire house, as it were, has been rebuilt one brick at a time and no one has even noticed. No one has done a single thing about it."

Not a simple "stop the plot, save the world" story, "Full Black" is instead an intelligent examination of current events and a wake-up call for free thinking people everywhere. It shines the light on a world order I don't want to live in. The America described above is not the America I want to leave for my kids. In this book we are given a glimpse of what real danger looks like. It may only be fiction, but it's a book you should read. Consider it an alarm clock. We've hit the snooze button one too many times already. It's time to wake up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger and better than ever, July 26, 2011
This review is from: Full Black: A Thriller (Scot Harvath) (Hardcover)
Like the phenominal financial thriller I just finished reading, Chaos and Kingdom, Full Black brings up the same dramatic questions of what it means to be American and conspiracy-esque who can you trust in government or society today? Chaos is 100% local while Thor spans the globe in his intricate plot, but the depth of story and philosophy behind the story are right up there.

What could make 9/11 look like a mosquito bite? What the enemies of America (not just the Jihadist) have been planning since well before that fateful day (since the 1940s), according to the latest thriller by Brad Thor, The Dark Knight of the author's career. Full of fantastic but believable international intrigue from China to Sweden and the crux of it boiling down to a plot to completely bring the United States to its knees. How? By pulling the plug. Thor uses the brownout in the Northeast a few years back to illustrate the importance energy has on American society. We can't live without it. After a few hours, we freak out. After a few days, we run out of water and start dying. After enough time, the entire society would collapse--pretty scary stuff. When it's done from the inside, it's even scarier.

Along the way, Thor drops gems of knowledge on the reader making him or her reflect on politics and economics. There are certainly layers in this book--it's deep. In this way, I think Thor is turning more heady and bold in his writing approach. I for one am glad for that.

If you have read Thor in the past, get ready for a shocking eye-opener of a book. This will be your favorite of his works. It's the same detailed Thor but with much more bite. It's a step up in Harvath as a character and Thor as a writer. I've liked Thor's stuff before, but this one I will tell my friends to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, February 2, 2013
Scott Harvath is a favorite character of mine & the scenes that contained him were great. The problem is that there was few of them. Rather there is an incredible amount of speeches (commentary) from characters. Don't get me wrong I do not disagree with much of their opinions & wouldn't mind (too much) hearing it argued on CNN. My problem is that these commentaries take over the novel. I mean, c'mon, this is a spy/Ops novel; I was looking for action, intelligence coups & interrogations leading to a race to save the good guys.

Unfortunately, this is also the same complaint I have about his last book, Black List. Again the book had an abundance of commentary that was very interesting but did not have enough action & interaction w/the characters. SMH, sadly, the next Harvath book will not be an auto-buy for me.

If this is your first Harvath book, don't judge the series by this one. Start with the beginning books, which are consistently fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harvath is back and seeking justice and revenge, July 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We last left Scot Harvath and friends with a problem. The terrorist they had worked so hard to bring to justice was assassinated as they tried to hand him over to the CIA. That left a bit of anger in Scot towards those who rained on his parade.

We start now with Scot having done the hard work of tracking down another terrorist cell that might provide answers for who and how the sleeper cells in the U.S. are doing their work. They infiltrate Chase into the group and are moving in for the take down. But a small problem happens, the leader of the cell is smarter than they think and he lays a trap for the team that is moving in. Scot is left to pick up the pieces again and this time he is not going to loose.

Scot and the Carlton Group are working very hard to find the head of the terrorist group and put an end to the violence once and for all. But instead they have only stirred up the anger of James Standing, the man behind the scenes. So, Standing unleashes his terrorist cells to do their dirty deeds throughout America. Now the race is on. Will thousands of innocents die or will Scot and the Carlton Group intervene and save the day?

During all of this there is another sub story running. A Hollywood Producer, Salomon is putting together a documentary that will shed light on the true agenda of the billionaire James Standing, the man who wants to destroy capitalism and bring on socialism. Standing sends a group of Russian Spetnaz troops to take out the production team. But Luke Ralston, former Navy Seal, steps in and saves Salomon from the plot. Now Luke sets out to find out who is behind the attempt.

Luke and Scot will cross paths as it turns out they are searching for the same man. Unfortunately Thor does not develop Ralston's character as much as Scot Harvath. He doesn't include Luke in much more of the action. Which I think is a bit sad.

But the information that Luke Ralston turns up is the information that is needed by the Carlton Group to put all of the pieces of the puzzle together. Now the race is on. Can they stop what Standing has started? Can they bring Standing to Justice? Can they save the world from a the 'destiny' that Standing feels it deserves?

The book is good and I read it through in two days. But I felt that Brad Thor did get a bit preacher in a couple of spots. I think he could have given us a bit more action and saved some of the preaching on the difference between socialism and capitalism.

That said, I enjoyed the book and think if you have enjoyed Brad Thor's other works you will enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Action, Some Philosophy, Some Good Writing...., August 7, 2011
This review is from: Full Black: A Thriller (Scot Harvath) (Hardcover)
This is the latest offering from Brad Thor in the Scott Harvarth series. The author does a very good job of taking two story lines and dove-tailing them into a single plot that applies to both. The first story deals with a hit on a movie producer by a Russian execution team. The producer is saved by a friend who also happens to have been a former seal and a direct friend of Scott Harvath. The movie producer is presently putting together a documentary on a foreign power which develops a program aimed at taking down the American government and their economy by using well planned terrorist attacks. Of course from the other story line comes Scott Harvath who is tracking a terrorist cell while he operates on foreign soil. Harvath's team attempts to infiltrate the cell with a team member to gain information and to capture the head of the cell. The operation yields some results, but mostly causes a sever loss to the overall assault team when they try to raid the cell. The cell leader escapes and the inserted team member is nearly killed by gun fire as he tries to escape.

Harvath learns of a massive network that the terrorists have established in the U.S., but before he can react they strike and many targets are hit with a great loss of life. Harvath then follows a lead to another terrorist believed to be a part of a cell in America. While observing him Harvath notes a number of people leaving the house under surveilance with suitcases as if they were going to travel or fly somewhere. Harvath persues the groups of terrorists and concludes they are heading for LAX. He alerts the authorities and they start to take down the teams, but one team detonates their bomb before they can be captured. Based on these events other airports are alerted and the teams arriving at them are quickly captured.

Harvath captures one of the terrorist leaders from the LAX bombing and gets him to a safe house for interrogation. While involved in that action the former seal, the friend of the movie producer, calls Harvath to tell him of the information he has uncovered from the attempt on the life of the producer and how it may relate to a much bigger plan to bring down the United States and its government and financial structures. Now the two plots merge into one and from here on the writing provides excellent reading as the main plot is revealed and a plan is formulated to foil the terrorists as well as locate the head of the operation and his assistant.

Brad Thor adds some of his own politics to the writing which is about midway in the book and brought forward by a newspaper reporter while interviewing one of the characters in the story. This made for some dry reading and non-action. The author goes overboard in explaining each character's background as it relates to prior books he had written. Finally, as a piece of fiction the reader may just think that this book could eventually be a possible blueprint for an actual future terrorist plot or maybe an alert to America's defense agencies to check their vulnerability in certain areas that were pointed out in the book. Either way, the book is a great read and most of the time a good thriller that will keep you turning the pages. I suggest you pick up a copy for your enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scot Harvath is back and bigger than ever, August 4, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Black: A Thriller (Scot Harvath) (Hardcover)
Once again, Brad Thor has delivered a very entertaining thriller. Scot Harvath is back and the stakes are higher than ever, and as usual, the beautiful Mary Sue-ness is at a maximum (of course, that's what we love about thrillers). In this installment, the evil mastermind is billionaire anti-American (really, is this a surprise?) James Standing, who is convinced that America is a problem and needs to be destroyed, and he has the means to do it, too - a Chinese-built network of Islamic terrorists designed to take down the United States completely. The only thing standing in his way is the Carlton Group, as well as a famous Hollywood filmmaker by the name of Larry Solomon.

I really only have one complaint with this book, but it's a major one. Like in his other books, Thor does not shy from injecting his politics into the story - doing otherwise is impossible in a story of this type. In this book, however, he spends a few chapters doing nothing but preaching politics. The chapters add nothing to the story and are simply there to get an ideological message across. I happen to agree with most of his politics, but nonetheless, I do not read Brad Thor for the politics, I read Brad Thor for the thriller. I have other books to read if I want to be preached politics to. I understand Thor's need to be somewhat controversial to increase visibility and therefore sales, but the grandstanding was a bit ridiculous in this book.

Still, the action is great as always, and this book is certainly worth the price for the thriller parts of it. If you don't agree with Thor's politics, don't avoid the book, simply skip through the political parts. Great book, and I will be looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging Page Turner, August 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Black: A Thriller (Scot Harvath) (Hardcover)
I cranked through the entire series in 2010 and was looking forward to this release. Like Bourne, Mitch Rapp, Deep Black and the Covert One series, Scot Harvath get's it done. I like the pace of these books, the action, the suspense and thrills. Is the book perfect? No, there were minor details that I scratched my head on, and thought the plot could have tied up better, but that's not the purpose of the book. The text engaged me, it's a page turner, and I enjoy the Scot Harvath character, his crusade, the team, and I look rooting for him to win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Brad Thor hit, August 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book really shows the contemporary scene. The "George Soros" look alike, the extreme left's attitude toward the country, the role of education or should I say brain-washing now. I just hope that there are guys out there like Scot Harvath. I'll leave the more detailed reviews to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting action-packed thriller, July 30, 2011
This review is from: Full Black: A Thriller (Scot Harvath) (Hardcover)
The attacks on Americans abroad and on home soil have the CIA and HSD struggling to react. Intelligence strongly confirms a bigger terrorist assault is coming. While working on a secret documentary, movie producer Larry Salomon exposes an affluent anti-American. An apparent Russian wet team arrives in California to silence the producer leaving three dead and the movie maker alive only due to former Delta operative technical consultant Luke Ralston.

Near Uppsalla, Sweden, covert counterterrorism agent Scot Harvath and his team begin a measure to infiltrate a nasty terrorist network while trusting no one in the Intel community. Thus he and his squad go Full Black starting with the capture of computer guru Mansoor Aleem, the nephew of Jihad Mufti, on his way to meet with a cell run by Mustafa Karami and replace him with Sean Chase. While the attacks intensify, time is running out

This exciting action-packed thriller has its first death on page one and never looks back as the action in Sweden and Hollywood expands to other locales with death counts rising rapidly. The story line is fast-paced from that opening sequence in which Horvath breaks the neck of a terrorist and accelerates from there as the field operatives try to prevent full implementation of Project Green Ramp. Full Black is an exciting tale that showcases how vulnerable Europe and America remains to terrorism.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Full Black: A Thriller (Scot Harvath)
Full Black: A Thriller (Scot Harvath) by Brad Thor (Hardcover - July 26, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.