Customer Reviews


303 Reviews
5 star:
 (272)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Full of love and laughter, THE COMPLETE SERIES, Housed in one delightful deluxe set." (taken from the back description)
Though I am sure you already know what the show is about, here is a short summary of it:

Full House first aired on ABC on September 22, 1987. Widower, "Danny" Danniel Ernest Tanner (Bob Saget) is left to raise his three daughters, "D.J." Donna Jo Margaret Tanner (Candace Cameron) Stephanie Judith Tanner (Jodie Sweetin) and Michelle Elizabeth Tanner (Mary-Kate...
Published on November 16, 2007 by musicholickgp

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly good, BUT
Some of the episodes are not captioned. The deaf in my house need captions to enjoy the show. Please caption everything.
Published 1 month ago by R. Bradford


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Full of love and laughter, THE COMPLETE SERIES, Housed in one delightful deluxe set." (taken from the back description), November 16, 2007
Though I am sure you already know what the show is about, here is a short summary of it:

Full House first aired on ABC on September 22, 1987. Widower, "Danny" Danniel Ernest Tanner (Bob Saget) is left to raise his three daughters, "D.J." Donna Jo Margaret Tanner (Candace Cameron) Stephanie Judith Tanner (Jodie Sweetin) and Michelle Elizabeth Tanner (Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen) after his wife, Pam, died in a car accident from a drunk driver. So Danny asks his best friend "Joey" Joseph Alvin Gladstone (Dave Coulier) and his brother in-law Jesse Cochran (John Stamos), but by season two his name changes to Jesse Katsopolis, to help raise his three girls. It's like Three Men and a Baby, but instead it's with raising three young girls. We watch these three dads raise these girls through the trials and errors of parenting. It's not a normal family, but it's a happy one, at least most of the time. Every family has it's ups and downs.

Added to the bunch, Jesse falls in love with and ends up marrying "Becky" Rebecca Donaldson (Lori Laughlin) and they have twin boys Nicky and Alex (Dylan and Blake Tuomy-Wilhout). It sure is a "full house" with lots of love to go around until May 23, 1995 when the show came to an end, but the laughs live on in this DVD set.

This is a great buy! All 192 episodes from all 8 seasons are in this set. There are 16 slim DVD cases, 2 per season. And in each case there are 2 DVDs, making a total of 32 DVDs in the box to store in the Tanner family house.

The DVDs in this set are actually exactly the same as the DVDs sold in the individual season boxed sets. The slim covers for each 2 DVDs in the set, are also the exact same as the individual seasons sets slim cases.

What's also great about the DVDs is that they don't cut out any scenes, like they do when they are on TV. I have noticed many longer scenes that were cut off on TV. Also, the theme song isn't cut either, until the 7th and 8th season, then the song is cut; otherwise every episode has the entire song play in the beginning.

If you are one who wants to know the lyrics to the theme song "Everywhere You Look," here it is:

WHATEVER HAPPEND TO PREDICTABILITY
THE MILK-MAN, THE PAPERBOY, EVENING TV
HOW DID I GET TO LIVING HERE
SOMEBODY TELL ME PLEASE
THIS WHOLE WORLD CONFUSING ME

CLOUDS AS MEAN AS YOU'VE EVER SEEN
AIN'T A BIRD WHO KNOWS YOUR TUNE
THEN A LITTLE VOICE INSIDE YOU WHISPER
PLEASE DON'T SELL YOUR DREAMS SO SOON

EVERYWHERE YOU LOOK
EVERYWHERE YOU GO
THERE'S A HEART (THERE'S A HEART)
A HAND TO HOLD ONTO
EVERYWHERE YOU LOOK
EVERYWHERE THERE'S A PLACE
OF SOMEBODY WHO NEEDS YOU
EVERYWHERE YOU LOOK

WHEN YOU'RE LOST OUT THERE AND ALL ALONE
A LIGHT IS WAITING TO CARRY YOU HOME
EVERYWHERE YOU LOOK

EVERYWHERE YOU LOOK

I was listening to the song while writing down the lyrics. After several hearings of it, hopefully I got most of the lyrics right, but anyways, this is very close to the real words in the song.

It's great to watch with the family and you never have to worry about leaving your child watch this show alone. It may not be a classic, but it sure entertains, but more for those young ones between the ages of 8-12. However, I have plenty of memories watching this show as a child, and I still enjoy it.

Every episode has a life lesson to be learned. I think many viewers can relate to the characters' and their problems. I think that is why it stayed on TV for 8 years, even though I know the first season didn't do too well, at least those other seasons behind it helped keep it on.

The languages spoken in the box set is just English. As for subtitles for the series, well, it varies. I did check each of the seasons, but not each DVD, what the subtitles are, but I'm pretty sure that the subtitles from disk one in season one is the same for disk four for season one and the same goes for the rest of the seasons. Please let me know if this is incorrect, or if I notice that it isn't in any of the seasons and disks, then I'll update this review. Anyways, seasons one through three have English, French, and Spanish subtitles. Seasons four through five have French and Spanish. Season six has no subtitles, and seasons seven through eight have just English subtitles for the hearing impaired. I'm not sure why the subtitles are not the same for each of the seasons.

Extras In This DVD Set:
Season 1
Disc 1: Bonus: Original Unaired Pilot, Commentary by Jeff Franklin (creator of the show) for episode 1: Our Very First Show
Disc 2: Bonus: House of Trivia Fast-Fact Version of The Miracle of Thanksgiving
Disc 4: Commentary by Jeff Franklin for episode 21: Mad Money
Season 2
Disc 4: Special Features: Top Ten Rules of Parenting and Full House Trivia Challenge
Season 3
Disc 4: Special Feature: Joey Impersonations: Season 3 Montage

Though the extra features in this set are great, I wish there were more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this show!, February 13, 2008
By 
J-man (Kirksville, MO) - See all my reviews
I love "Full House" so when I saw this complete series collection I asked for it and received it as a birthday gift. I didn't own any of the season sets so this was a good buy, as it saved about 50 bucks from buying all of the seasons separately. If you own most of the seasons already, don't purchase this (unless you think the box design is really cool, like me); it just packages all of the seasons together. There are no extras; no extra features disc or booklet. I recommend just purchasing the rest of the seasons separately if you already own more than half of them. As for the features, this does contain the unaired pilot, a few trivia episodes, a couple of special featurettes, and commentary on a few episodes from executive producer/writer/creator Jeff Franklin. It also has an episode guide and interactive menus so you can easily access what you want to watch. For those who complain about the lack of special features, this show was in production from 1987 to 1995. They were not planning on releasing the series on VHS, let alone DVD. Shows in production now are planning on DVD releases so they specifically create features for this purpose while filming episodes. Just enjoy the features that are included, and if you really want to know behind the scenes tidbits look up the show on wikipedia. If you want bloopers, just find them on youtube. And if you love "Full House" purchase this collection. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic show, October 4, 2011
By 
M "Delicious Strawberry" (I wait behind the wall, gnawing away at your reality) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I remember looking forward to this show when it was still freshly airing on TV. 'Full House' was certainly an appropriate title for this show even if the plot did feel a bit contrived. I remember watching the first episode and thinking how unfair it was to DJ, her comment of losing her mom and then grandmother and then her room only to be fed some 'but you've still got us!' from her younger sister (the one she is being forced to share her room with) came across to me as lame especially since when Grandma left, two guys moved in. But the overall show itself was good, with many hilarious situations as Joey and Jesse tried to learn how to be parents. The later seasons focused more on individual problems than family (inevitable as the girls were growing up and Joey and Jesse were finding their own lives) but this show is a very solid one and showcases the late 80's and early 90's nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a pricey, yet appealing offer for all those loyal Tanner junkies!, August 6, 2007
By 
If you are an avid "Full House" fan and/or a "child of the 90's" who watched the show regularly while it was on the air, then chances are pretty good that you have been loyally collecting the DVD's as they have been released season-by-season (at a remarkably quick pace, I might add). The individual sets have maintained a very reasonable selling price--no more than $22 or $23 at most places--so if you've grown up as a Tanner fan, then these have probably been tough to pass up.

Now, of course, if you've purchased the first 6 seasons and are patiently waiting for the last two, now you have another decision to make. Will you simply buy seasons 7 and 8 individually once they come out, or will you cave in to this deluxe full-series edition that has been penciled in for a November 2007 release? For some, it will be worth placing on your Christmas list this year, but for others, they will have no problem keeping the sets that they have already begun collecting. When these DVD companies go for the appealing "complete series" gift sets that are treated to more efficient packaging and (sometimes) garnished with some new special features, it's basically a matter of preference--and in many cases, it's tough to say no.

As for me, I am happy with the season sets that I have now, and I am looking forward to picking up the last two, so I don't plan on shelling out over $200 for this (partly because I also have my eye on a similar release being planned for "Gilmore Girls"). However, if you love "Full House" and think you would enjoy owning this, then it looks like it might be a decent investment. Again, the specifics on the bonus features are still unknown, and although I personally don't expect that they'll add anything new for this collection, I suppose anything is possible. Some things to look for, though, include a fancy episode guide, cast photos from over the years, and things along those lines.

If you're reading this, then you most likely know the premise of this show, but in short, it is a sweet, simple, and deliciously saccharine story of a widowed father who enlists in the help of his best friend and rock-n-rollin' brother-in-law to help him raise his three daughters, who ranged from infancy to age 10 when the series premiered in 1987. You've got superachieving oldest daughter DJ, perky middle child Stephanie, and the ever-adorable (yet occasionally bratty) Michelle, the "baby of the family," if you will, whose cute smile and professionally scripted catch phrases (think "You got it dude" and "Whoa baby") made young actresses Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen a necessary staple in the show's success.

Beyond the antics and plights of the growing Tanner kids, "Full House" maintained the attention of its target audience by producing sensitively written stories, with a twinge of humor and family-oriented messages sprinkled in each 30-minute episode. The three leading men (played by Bob Saget, John Stamos, and Dave Coulier) always worked well together, and as a slew of new characters gradually found their way into the plot, the charm was never lost.

Let's face it, though--there are a lot of people who will gladly take any opportunity they can find to bash this show, and if you've watched any of the episodes, you can probably guess what they don't like. The good news, however, is that given the impressive 8-year run that "Full House" achieved--as well as the plentiful television reruns and remarkable success in DVD sales--the critics' opinion just doesn't matter. If you have enjoyed this show, then the soupy plot threads and themes of family unity are probably right up your alley. There's no reason to be ashamed of it; this was a great series, filled with memorable performances, a youthful spirit, and a genuine wholesomeness that you can proudly watch with the whole family. It's nice that there is still something out there that children can see--something that can send out a positive message, reminding them that those common human values are still important.

With that being said, if the idea of having "Full House" immortalized on DVD sounds good to you, then you might want to save up for this set. Even if you've started buying the other sets and just like the idea of having this special edition collector's item, then go ahead--start setting aside your money, or ask for it when Christmas rolls around (hard to believe that time of year is arriving once again). Either way, this is a show that is certainly worth remembering, and if you're looking for something that satisfies your need for both humor and poignancy, there is perhaps nothing that fits the bill better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection, Average quality, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full House: Complete Series Collection (DVD)
Pretty good, although some episodes were not the best quality and showed the VHS lines where it was cheaply converted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super-great!!!, November 10, 2007
I wasn't into this show as a kid, when it was new, but my kids LOVE it. They beg to watch the reruns, so I bought them one season, which has been watched countless times. When I saw the entire series in one collection, I decided that it would be a great gift. They were so happy and surprised. I decided to give it to them during a three day weekend,and I can see it is going to be 3 days of Tanner-laced fun. It seems so corny, but the sound of the theme song gives me this warm feeling. I wish there were more "safe" shows that I could watch with my kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 192 means Complete, December 17, 2011
Episodes inculde:

Season 1 (1987-1988)
Our Very First Show
Our Very First Night
The First Day of School
The Return of Grandma
Sea Cruise
Daddy's Home
Knock Yourself Out
Jesse's Girl
The Miracle of Thanksgiving
Joey's Place
The Big Three-O
Our Very First Promo
Sister Love
Half A Love Story
A Pox in Our House
But Seriously Folks
Danny's Very First Date
Just One of the Guys
The Seven-Month Itch, Part 1
The Seven-Month Itch, Part 2
Mad Money
D.J. Tanners's Day Off

Season 2 (1988-1989)
Cutting It Close
Tanner vs. Gibbler
It's Not My Job
D.J.'s Very First Horse
Jingle Hell
Beach Boy Bingo
Joey Gets Tough
Triple Date
Our Very First Christmas Show
Middle Age Crazy
A Little Romance
Fogged In
Working Mothers
Little Shop of Sweaters
Pal Joey
Baby Love
El Problema Grande de D.J.
Goodbye, Mr. Bear
Blast from the Past
I'm There for You, Babe
Luck Be a Lady, Part 1
Luck Be a Lady, Part 2

Season 3 (1989-1990)
Tanner's Island
Back to School Blues
Breaking up is Hard to Do (in 22 Minutes)
Nerd for a Day
Granny Tanny
Star Search
And They Call It Puppy Love
Divorce Court
Dr. Dare Rides Again
The Greatest Birthday on Earth
Aftershocks
Joey & Stacy and ... Oh, Yeah, Jesse
No More Mr. Dumb Guy
Misadventures in Baby-Sitting
Lust in the Dust
Bye, Bye Birdie
13 Candles
Mr. Egghead
Those Better Not be the Days
Honey, I Broke the House
Just Say No Way
Three Men and Another Baby
Fraternity Reunion
Our Very First Telethon

Season 4 (1990-1991)
Greek Week
Crimes and Michelle's Demeanor
The I.Q. Man
Slumber Party
Good News, Bad News
A Pinch for a Pinch
Viva Las Joey
Shape Up
One Last Kiss
Terror in Tanner Town
Secret Admirer
Danny in Charge
Happy New Year
Working Girl
Ol' Brown Eyes
Stephanie Gets Framed
A Fish Called Martin
The Wedding, Part 1
The Wedding, Part 2
Fuller House
The Hole-in-the-Wall Gang
Stephanie Plays the Field
Joey Goes Hollywood
Girls Just Wanna Have Fun
The Graduates
Rock the Cradle

Season 5 (1991-1992)
Double Trouble
Matchmaker Michelle
Take My Sister, Please
Oh Where, Oh Where Has My Little Girl Gone?
The King and I
The Legend of Ranger Joe *
The Volunteer
Gotta Dance
Happy Birthday, Babies, Part 1
Happy Birthday, Babies, Part 2
Nicky and/or Alexander
Bachelor of the Month
Easy Rider
Sisters in Crime
Play It Again, Jess
Crushed
Spellbound
Too Much Monkey Business
The Devil Made Me Do It
Driving Miss D.J.
Yours, Mine and Ours
Trouble with Danny
Five's a Crowd
Girls Will Be Boys
Captain Video, Part 1
Captain Video, Part 2

Season 6 (1992-1993)
Come Fly with Me
The Long Goodbye
Road to Tokyo
Radio Days
Lovers and other Tanners
Educating Jesse
Trouble in Twin Town
The Play's the Thing
Nice Guys Finish First
I'm Not D.J.
Designing mothers
A Very Tanner Christmas
The Dating Game
Birthday Blues
Be True To Your Pre-School
The Heartbreak Kid
Silence is Not Golden
Please Don't Touch the Dinosaur
Subterranean Graduation Blues
Grand Gift Auto
Room for One More
Prom Night
The House Meets the Mouse, Part 1
The House Meets the Mouse, Part 2

Season 7 (1993-1994)
It Was A Dark and Stormy Night
The Apartment
Wrong-Way Tanner
Tough Love
Fast Friends
Smash Club: the Next Generation
High Anxiety
Another Opening, Another No Show
The Day of the Rhino
The Prying Game
The Bicycle Thief
Support Your Local Parents
The Perfect Couple
Is It True about Stephanie?
The Test
Joey's Funny Valentine
The Last Dance
Kissing Cousins
Love on the Rocks
Michelle a la Cart
Be Your Own Best Friend
A Date with Fate
Too Little Richard Too Late
A House Divided

Season 8 (1994-1995)
Comet's Excellent Adventure
Breaking Away
Making out is Hard to Do
I've Got a Secret
To Joey, With Love
You Pet It, You Bought It
On the Road Again
Claire and Present Danger
Stephanie's Wild Ride
Under the Influence
Arrest Ye Merry Gentlemen
D.J.'s Choice
The Producer
Super Bowl Fun Day
My Left and Right Foot
Air Jesse
Dateless in San Francisco
We Got the Beat
Taking the Plunge
Up on the Roof
Leap of Faith
All Stood Up
Michelle Rides Again, Part 1
Michelle Rides Again, Part 2

Total number of episodes: 192
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great family show, November 9, 2007
I love this show and I'm so glad that the entire series is finally on DVD. I recommend this program to anyone that is looking to add some quality programming to their video library because every episode of "Full House" always had a wholesome message. As a kid watching this, I never realized how good of a show it was. Now when I watch the DVDs I really get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAVE MERCY!, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full House: Complete Series Collection (DVD)
COME ON!!! Who didn't love Full House?! It was the one show that I would look forward to watching when I was a kid. I'm 29 now and have two kiddos of my own. There's this channel that's showing back to back episodes of Full House one night and both my kids sat down to watch it with me, they loved it! They couldn't stop laughing! My 10 year old daughter loves the show so much that I bought this for her birthday in April. She had tears in her eyes. I love this show because it's all about family…. And mainly because of Uncle Jesse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very cute and clever packaging, January 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full House: Complete Series Collection (DVD)
I loved the wholesome family type of show this was...and honestly John Stamos was not hard to look at either. When I bought the series, it was because it was shown in an email just before Christmas at an awesome price. The packaging is a box that looks just like the picture. The roof comes off (so you could easily put it on a shelf), and the front opens to reveal the dvd's in the skinny cases.

It's a nice way to spend some time watching TV with kids and not have to worry about language or content that is inappropriate. Even watching the old episodes by myself is enjoyable. I am very impressed with the quality of the packaging. It's cardboard, but sturdy enough to last and looks cute.

When there is nothing worth watching on TV, it's nice to have an "oldy" to go back and watch. This would be great for someone who has kids, or contact with them, who are too young to have known the show. I'm sure that the kids would get a kick out of John's mullet hair style in the beginning of the series (though I can't help but wonder how he feels about it now. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Full House: Complete Series Collection
Full House: Complete Series Collection by John Stamos (DVD - 2012)
Used & New from: $148.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.