Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge in size, not in actual wattage
Wow, these bulbs do look bigger in person. Only right for fixtures that are wide-open with plenty of space in all directions!

I purchased these for use with a "Photo Basics 413 4-Socket Adapter" and a photography umbrella lamp fixture, and everything is working perfect. The diameter of these is large enough that they barely fit, given angle of the four...
Published on December 29, 2012 by person4321

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes they are bright!!!!
Yes these are very bright, but I would not call them full spectrum. It is more of a blueish white.
Published on December 6, 2011 by K. Paden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge in size, not in actual wattage, December 29, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Spectrum Light Bulb - ALZO 85 watt Compact Fluorescent CFL - Pack of 4 - 5500K - 120V - ALZO Joyous Light daylight pure white light - 4250 Lumens (Tools & Home Improvement)
Wow, these bulbs do look bigger in person. Only right for fixtures that are wide-open with plenty of space in all directions!

I purchased these for use with a "Photo Basics 413 4-Socket Adapter" and a photography umbrella lamp fixture, and everything is working perfect. The diameter of these is large enough that they barely fit, given angle of the four sockets; their bases are all touching each other, but this doesn't seem to cause any problems (the bases don't get really hot on the outside).

These are hands down the best CFLs I've ever owned. I am very impressed that these are 100% silent at all times. And the light output quality is very good. They do have a short warmup period, but it is barely noticeable in terms of brightness.

According to my Kill-a-Watt (which is very accurate), these actually consume in the range of 60-73 Watts. I watched the power consumption starting cold and through the entire warmup until it completely stabilized (at a room temperature of 65 degrees Fahrenheit). They started at about 60W (each), gradually rose to 73W, then gradually fell back down to 68W where they remained (at least for several minutes...I didn't leave them on for hours to come back and see where they were when fully hot). So I'm guessing that the 85W number is just a worst-case sandbagged figure, not the actual average power consumption that you should expect.

I'm not sure how that compares to other brands of high-output CFLs. If there is another bulb which actually consumes 85W and is equally efficient, it would probably be even brighter than these. But anyone serious about light bulbs already knows that the lumen rating is the only one you should be looking at if you care about brightness. The Wattage rating is useful only to double-check that your lamp and circuit will be able to handle this much power (which very likely they can).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing is better for the price, October 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Spectrum Light Bulb - ALZO 85 watt Compact Fluorescent CFL - Pack of 4 - 5500K - 120V - ALZO Joyous Light daylight pure white light - 4250 Lumens (Tools & Home Improvement)
I've had these on set rigged up in a giant china ball, and the results are fantastic. the soft light (broken up by the china ball) is really pretty, and the color temperature is nearly perfect for mid-day sun. For the price, these cannot be beat. (these bulbs are ENORMOUS and will NOT fit into most normal household lamps - the screw is the same size but the bulb housing and coil are absolutely HUGE, so just be prepared for that)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True to color temp, bright and well built, February 15, 2013
By 
Steve S (Silicon Valley, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Spectrum Light Bulb - ALZO 85 watt Compact Fluorescent CFL - Pack of 4 - 5500K - 120V - ALZO Joyous Light daylight pure white light - 4250 Lumens (Tools & Home Improvement)
I originally purchased 45 watt bulbs as part of a lighting kit and was extremely disappointed with the light output and color. These are bright but not too bright for studio photography. These bulbs are huge and require some care in handling them but they're well built. There have been complaints about the bulbs breaking or DOA, mine were well packed arrived in great condition and are holding up fine. They do require some care in handling simply because of the size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great daylight bulbs to add to my lighting studio..., August 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Spectrum Light Bulb - ALZO 85 watt Compact Fluorescent CFL - Pack of 4 - 5500K - 120V - ALZO Joyous Light daylight pure white light - 4250 Lumens (Tools & Home Improvement)
I was looking for a way to boost the light output from the soft boxes I use in my studio. Decided on picking up some bulb splitters and extra bulbs to increase the lumen output.

After searching for quite a bit, I came across the ALZO 85 Watt 5500K bulbs. They looked identical to the ones that were already in my studio setup so I decided I would go with them.

After receiving them I was not disappointed, they worked right out of the box, with little variation among the bulbs after some testing. The package they came in was great as well, really no chance of them getting damaged during transport due to the solid package.

I was able to about double my individual box output with these extra bulbs and they definitely saved me from having to purchase a brand new softbox set (which would have drastically increased my overall cost).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Lights, March 22, 2011
By 
djb (Redmond, WA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Full Spectrum Light Bulb - ALZO 85 watt Compact Fluorescent CFL - Pack of 4 - 5500K - 120V - ALZO Joyous Light daylight pure white light - 4250 Lumens (Tools & Home Improvement)
These are very good, cool lights. Keep in mind they are much larger than a standard light bulb even though it has a standard socket. They are designed for video lighting fixtures.

You have to wait a couple of minutes for them to warm up to their full brightness and color, but that's not a big deal, since it takes at least that long to setup for production anyway.

All in all, nice and bright, sunlight color balanced. Also keep in mind that they don't compete with direct sunlight. You'll spend a lot more and use a lot more watts to accomplish that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Light, but still a little blue., October 14, 2010
By 
JBW (Austin, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Full Spectrum Light Bulb - ALZO 85 watt Compact Fluorescent CFL - Pack of 4 - 5500K - 120V - ALZO Joyous Light daylight pure white light - 4250 Lumens (Tools & Home Improvement)
I had high hopes for this bulb based on the previous reviews. I agree that it is an excellent bulb, but "bright white" copy paper still appears slight blue under this light. Better that most 5500K bulbs, but still blue.

In a two bulb fixture, this bulb plus a "soft white" bulb gets pretty darn close to white using the copy paper test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, these are huge!, June 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Spectrum Light Bulb - ALZO 85 watt Compact Fluorescent CFL - Pack of 4 - 5500K - 120V - ALZO Joyous Light daylight pure white light - 4250 Lumens (Tools & Home Improvement)
I knew that they were going to be big, but I never imagined that they were going to be this big. I bought them for studio lighting but there is no way they are going to fit in any kind of household light fixture. They are very very bright and do the job perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright and big, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Spectrum Light Bulb - ALZO 85 watt Compact Fluorescent CFL - Pack of 4 - 5500K - 120V - ALZO Joyous Light daylight pure white light - 4250 Lumens (Tools & Home Improvement)
Purchased these to provide light for photo and video shooting. The spectrum is good, and they are bright for 85 watts! Make sure your housing is big enough, because these are not your average size light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well, September 4, 2013
This review is from: Full Spectrum Light Bulb - ALZO 85 watt Compact Fluorescent CFL - Pack of 4 - 5500K - 120V - ALZO Joyous Light daylight pure white light - 4250 Lumens (Tools & Home Improvement)
Okay, despite reading other reviews about the comical size, I still laughed when I opened the box. They look like a comedic prop! But, they fit just fine in standard reflectors (not in a lamp). The color appears to be good and they are ridiculously bright. Item was packaged securely and there was no breakage in transit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for my art studio, August 11, 2013
By 
Andre "Andre" (New York City, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Spectrum Light Bulb - ALZO 85 watt Compact Fluorescent CFL - Pack of 4 - 5500K - 120V - ALZO Joyous Light daylight pure white light - 4250 Lumens (Tools & Home Improvement)
I have bough Limo Studio 85 watt 4 bulbs and ALZO 85 watt 4 bulbs so I can replace the original 45 watt bulbs in my LimoStudio light kit (3 light with 4 fixtures in each light and each light has 3A fuse on it). Using bulbs in my art studio when working with colors. Good quality light: the light quality is better and the bulb base is smaller so I can fit it in LimoStudios Light, compare to LimoStudio same wattage bulbs what have a greenish deviation from the day light temperature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.