Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VISITORS FROM XING, July 4, 2006
By 
Sesho (Pasadena, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 8 (Paperback)
As Volume 8 opens, Greed and his chimerae continue to be wiped out by military forces led by King Bradley, who appears to be a Homunculus himself. Is even Greed's carbon "Ultimate Shield" up to the task of defeating Bradley's flashing swords and "Ultimate Eye"? And which side will Ed and Al be on as they see all this blood being spilled around them? Meanwhile, Mustang and his crew get a break into their investigation into secret military experiments as they capture Barry the Chopper, a former serial killer whose soul was bonded to a suit of armor much like Alphonse. Two new characters emerge on the scene out of the far eastern country of Xing from two different walks of life. Both of them claim to be seeking the secret of immortality. Mei-Chan is a young girl whose skill with alchemy seems on a par with Ed and is accompanied by a miniature panda bear! The other is a prince named Ling, who travels in the company of fighting ninja and claims to be after the Philosopher's Stone, even though he doesn't know anything about alchemy.

What I like about this series now is that since last volume it has completely branched off from the anime series, so this storyline and characters are something I haven't seen. The mysterious mechanations of the Homunculi becomes more and more suspenseful as I wonder what their real plans are and how all these conflicts are going to end, especially with them in control of everything the military is doing. It's kinda like an Emperor Palpatine situation a la Revenge of the Sith, where the real enemy is actually running the whole show. I think one of the strengths of this manga is the humor. Arakawa never takes her book too seriously. The anime at times fills itself up with too much angst and tragedy while the manga takes a more balanced approach. The art is great and I'm excited to find out how the new Eastern characters are going to fit into the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed Release of a Good Story, October 27, 2006
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 8 (Paperback)
Fullmetal Alchemist is arguably one of the best titles out right now, and the story in this particular volume is when it starts to really take off. The only problem, and the one I knocked a star off because of, is the fact that Viz decided to quietly censor the content of this book for religious imagery, a fact they do not mention in this release. It's a relatively minor edit, but stains an otherwise perfect release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 8 (Paperback)
A must have for any FMA fan. The original source material of the hit anime. I really recommend it for any manga fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars xmas gift, December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 8 (Paperback)
my son will love this! it is for Xmas and he's going to be so excited! thank you so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, October 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 8 (Paperback)
The book was just as described and an excellent deal! Thank you very much, we will be sure to come back for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wait for me, Master Edward! I'm coming to you!! <3, September 7, 2010
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 8 (Paperback)
Definitely a very dark beginning for Volume 8. After the huge plot twist at the end of Volume 7 the rest of the fall out occurs in the start of Volume 8. It's very dark and very sinister and while some pieces of the puzzle have fallen into place many more questions remain unanswered. I also thought the soldiers at the beginning wondering who wasn't human (the chimeras and Greed or the alchemists and King Bradley) was very illuminating of where things are in the series right now.

The plot lightens up a bit after that as several new characters (and a whole new country!) gets introduced in the form of Xing. A country that uses a different form of alchemy that is more focused on the healing arts, and as a result thinks of alchemy in a very different way from the war-centric Amestris. Some very humorous scenes commence, especially the ones with the little girl Mei and her reaction on learning about Edward, the Fullmetal Alchemist.

Volume 8 was definitely a turning point in the series as new characters, new countries and a whole new viewpoint is brought into the manga. The moments of darkness offset with scenes of humor and witty banter that are true throughout the series really come to play in this volume. Another winning chapter in the Fullmetal Alchemist saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, September 23, 2012
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 8 (Paperback)
This manga series is in my top 10. Love the story and character development. The book came in great condition and very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 8
Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 8 by Hiromu Arakawa (Paperback - July 18, 2006)
$9.99 $8.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.