Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge's Trigger, July 13, 2010
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 23 (Paperback)
I must thank all my young teenage patrons at our library for getting me hooked on this manga series. Unlike so many books I've read, this one has an originality that so few books have, even in the manga world.

If you have not read this series, then I thoroughly recommend it. The story continues where it left off, with Alphonse fighting Pride, and Edward fighting a horde of mindless dolls. But when you think both are about to loss, they impress you with their amazing strategy skills.

But what I love about this series is it's realism, when it comes to revenge. So many people seek revenge in this world, and this book delves into it even further, with it's fine blue line. Mustang has finally confronted Hughes' killer, Envy. It gave me chills reading and enjoying the beautiful art work of Mustangs revenge. I was completely floored at one point, and then stunned further as he doesn't let up on our Envy.

Finally Riza has enough, and knows it's time for Mustang to give up on his revenge. Edward stops him, but will Scar be able to talk him out of it. It is surprising watching the turn of events as Scar, Riza, and Edward try to stop Mustang from killing Envy. As always Mustang is my favored character in this series for his amazing mind, and his ability.

But the question remains will he let his own flames destroy his goal...

A beautiful read, I must take my hat off to Ms. Hiromu Arakawa, her story telling ability is extraordinary and I'm thoroughly looking forward to her next installment in this instant classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 23 (Paperback)
thank you so much and i recommend it a lot, you should buy it quickly you are going to enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, December 25, 2012
By 
Donald Brian Fairrel (Mineral Wells, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 23 (Paperback)
This is a tale of suffering and redemption. A beautiful story of two brothers who refuse to give up in spite of everything life has put them through. It is a wonderful story. A tear jerker. A heart warmer. An inspiration. I loved it. The manga is a bit different than the anime. To get the whole picture i recommend getting the blu-ray anime sets along with the manga. Get FMA and FMA Brotherhood as soon as you can. You wont be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flames of Vengence, September 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 23 (Paperback)
This volume was absolutely full of action, suspense, and emotion. Roy has to face his inner demons as a great secret is revealed by Envy, which leaves us full of anger and resentment. This volume was fantastic and continues the last arc of Fullmetal Alchemist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Homunculi, Edward, and Briggs, oh my!, June 10, 2011
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 23 (Paperback)
Hiromu Arakawa, <strong>Fullmetal Alchemist, vol. 23</strong> (ViZ, 2009)

We get closer to the end, and Arakawa keeps ramping up the excitement factor. While you know the big final battle has to be saved for the last volume in the series, there's plenty of action to be had here, with the government battling the Briggs group, Alex battling gluttony (and jeez, how did HE get to be one of the last homunculi standing?), Al battling Pride and Rolf J. Kimblee, and a ragtag bunch containing Ed, Scar, and Roy up against Envy. There are almost as many jump cuts in this volume as there are in <em>Dawn of the Dead</em> (Romero's original, not Snyder's remake), and that means one thing: nonstop action. Fun stuff. *** ˝
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic emotions and reactions., March 15, 2011
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 23 (Paperback)
Everyone is in the thick of battle now and all of the characters are really showing what they are capable of under pressure. Alphonse has to face a difficult moral decision in his battle against Pride. Various others in this city either face off against the zombie army within or wage an information campaign without to get the people of Central city to understand they are under attack from their own government. But the main focus of this volume is the showdown between Mustang and Hughes's murderer Envy.

I love how there is still character development happening even this late in the series. It is never too late to grow or change or have a new side of yourself be shown in impossible and highly charged circumstances. The choices that the characters are forced to make and the growing that results was not just emotionally charged and beautifully drawn but it was realistic as well.

Things are getting violent and almost gory here leading up to the end but I couldn't help noticing that amongst the gore and all of the fighting over and over again the faces of these characters remains the main focus, what they feel and experience and how this is changing them as they fight to save Amestris and their lives. This battle is not over yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiromu Arakawa's riveting masterpiece., July 20, 2010
By 
TRUTH (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 23 (Paperback)
Hiromu Arakawa's Fullmetal Alchemist is simply one of the finest pieces of literature ever written..yes manga is indeed literature..in this volume one of the greatest villains ever created Envy must face his crimes in the form of Roy Mustang..the battle that ensues is without a doubt one of the most stunning and heartbreaking moments in comic/literature history..the artwork is on such a grand scale that it bleeds out of the pages with such force that you will feel the flames itself at work..the events that take place in this volume is pure brilliance.I must say that the future volumes after this are great but the final volume of Fullmetal Alchemist is where Hiromu Arakawa hits her finest mark..let me tell you right now Father IS the greatest villain of all time..and you will see why in good time readers..So what are you waiting for pick this volume up today..its well worth your money..support this manga and Hiromu Arakawa today!I truly hope Hiromu Arakawa creates another enriching and addictive world in her next manga project..Hero Tales may in time be that next great piece of work from her..we shall see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Metal Lover, December 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 23 (Paperback)
My husband and son LOVE these books! They have read them all and can't wait for each next one to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa70d31b0)

This product

Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 23
Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 23 by Hiromu Arakawa (Paperback - July 20, 2010)
$9.99 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.